Monday, March 30, 2020

Did You Win? - River Country Trekker 2.2 Tent Giveaway Winner Announcements




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time to announce the winners of the River Country Trekker 2.2 Tents!  Did you win?  Find out now and if you did, please contact me ASAP with your shipping address and I will get these out ASAP!

More giveaway are coming up soon!


Friday, March 27, 2020

Hot Tent Wild Camp - Escaping the Virus 2 Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

As the world goes into lockdown, the Lone Wolf is out for another adventure and this time, he's in a HOT TENT!

The viewers selected the tent, they also selected the stove and Luke selected the location!

This is the Hot Tent Wild Camp Adventure - Escaping the Virus 2!


Wednesday, March 25, 2020

The Most Dangerous Stove - VINIDA Survival Stove - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is without a doubt the most dangerous wood burning stove that I have ever tested and I do not recommend it!

This is my review of the VINIDA Survival Stove!

..

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07F8PFQ53

Price : $20 on Amazon

Weight Stove : 7.4oz

Weight of Storage Bag : .5oz

Measurements Standing : 8” x 4.5” wide

Measurements Broken Down :  4” x 4.5” wide

Materials : Stainless Steel

Stove Features :

Stainless steel copy of the Toaks Titanium wood stove which costs $45.

Gasifier Stove

4 piece system

Stove Review Pros :

Not difficult to lite and get doing.

Easy to use

Fun as well.

Reasonable size; not the smallest when it comes to gasifier stoves

Gasification process can begin quickly but it will depend on the dryness of your materials.

I’ve had no issues in terms of quality with the storage bag

Pot supports are good and offer a stable platform.

Fuel is free

No warping so far with my testing.

Large feeding port

Stove Review Cons :

Quality isn’t impressive even for the money.

Has lots of sharp jagged edges which could possible cut you. There are some minor dents in the material around the edges.

Be careful what you place this on as it could scratch table surfaces and even rip fabric. It should be mentioned that this is a common complaint with this stove.

Metal is thin but haven’t had any issues with use.

Arrived in a state of filth; the stove was covered in black metal dust.

Storage bag quality is….just ok and looks like it could begin coming unraveling at any moment.

No instructions included; for those who have never used a stove like this, it could be confusing.

Holes in the bottom are WAY to large; coals, burning sticks/twigs will fall through onto the ground.

Also because of this, you can kill grass that is below the stove and can causes external fires easily.

This is a natural aspect of all wood burning stoves; it takes work and it takes time.  Do you want to collect fuel and feed the stove; that is up to you.  Such stoves are much slower to use than your average canister stove and that needs to be considered; for myself, when I am on the trail, there are times where I want to wake up, pack up, boil water for coffee and go but that isn’t going to happen with such a stove. You will have to collect unless you did so previously and take time feeding the stove until your water is ready to go.

Another con for such stoves is that efficiency will vary depending on numerous factors; you aren’t guaranteed to boil water at a certain time nor will you have a consistent level of heat throughout your cooking experience. It can be difficult to achieve a consistent hot flame.

While the stove is efficient it will leave your pot very dirty and you need to be prepared for storing this in your pack.

You could always do the soap and water treatment trick for easier cleanup but you are making the pot slick which doesn’t bode well with an already slick system.

In windy situations, a wind screen is recommended as performance of the stove will be hindered in adverse conditions.

I mentioned in the pros that fuel is free but there is something that you need to consider; if you are taking this to heavily trafficked area finding fuel can be a problem. Some areas are going literally be picked clean so make sure to plan accordingly.

Summary :

If you have followed the channel for a while, you know that I generally like type of gasifier stoves; their designs are interesting and in most cases their quality is good.

With this one, the quality misses the mark even though the design isn’t bad at all.  Because of the quality issues and a potential to get cut, rip clothing and scratch/damage surfaces, and cause external fires, I would advise skipping this stove.  For the money, there are better gasifier stoves out there. 

Good for backpacking, camping, kayaking trips and even emergency use.  Not well used for long distance hikers or those who want to go light and quick.  Those in wet environments may not want to consider a different stove type.

Side Note :

Taking a look at sites which analyze Amazon Reviews, one such sites stated that around 40% of the reviews were fake on Amazon and that deception was likely.  They also stated that once the fake reviews were removed, it was a 2.5 star product instead of a 4.5 star product.


Monday, March 23, 2020

Someone Actually Made This!!! - Viewer Mail Episode #73





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke and Susie are opening some awesome packages from our friends and we can't believe that someone actually made this....actually, these!

As always, we are very, very thankful for all of the kindness and generosity.


Thursday, March 19, 2020

The Dead Trail - Wild Camp Overnight Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

While the world is facing the Coronavirus crisis, why not leave it all behind for an hour and join me on the trail.  Speaking of which, there are trails out there which time has forgotten; those which no longer see the foot prints of humans...

It is those trails which I like to travel and for this adventure, I am Pathfinding Dead Trails within the backcountry.


Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Fjallraven Quality! Fjallraven Keb 52L Backpack Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

After over 6 months of testing Luke is ready to pass on his Agenda Free Review of the Fjallraven Keb 52L backpack!

Will it live up to the high standards which are often associated with Fjallraven?

Find out now!



Price : $275

Weight : Almost 5lbs (4lb 15.7oz)

Agenda Free Link :  https://www.amazon.com/Fjallraven-Keb-Storm-Dark-Navy/dp/B07HFGYF52

Colors : Men, Blue and black

Women : Black, red navy blue

Versions : 52L (3173cu in) and a 72L

Sexes : The Keb is available in men and womens makes.

Sizes : One fits all

Made from new Bergshell fabric and well-proven G -1000 HeavyDuty Eco S  – it offers outstanding performance in challenging terrain.

trekking backpack with ski touring functionality.

Made from G-1000® HeavyDuty Eco S with base and side sections in Bergshell, a waterproof 400D ripstop fabric made from 31% recycled nylon.

YKK zipers

Wooden frame made from FSC-certified birch.

Narrow profile gives freedom of movement on technical treks/ski trips.

Ergonomic carrying system with snow-repellent stretch fabric.

Carrying system can easily be adapted to fit a wide range of back lengths.

Supportive hip belt and shaped shoulder straps.

All features designed for easy handling with winter gloves on.

Large main compartment with snowlock closure.

Top lid with two zippered pockets.

The hip belt has two pockets plus loops for pulling a toboggan.

Hydration system compatible.

Rain cover included.

Pros :

After countless months and dozens and dozens of trips out, I’m ready to share with you all my thoughts on the Keb pack.

Top notch quality

Excellent burly materials which will last

Torso length can be adjusted

Fit & Wear Comfort : is absolutely excellent and in fact, this is without a doubt one of the most comfortable packs that I have ever used no matter how much weight I have put in it.  Even with loadouts up to 35lbs the pack continued to be comfortable and manageable.

Excellent weight distribution.

 It sits where it needs to sit on your body, is adjustable where it needs to be and has excellent padding on the shoulders and waist belt.

Dual access; size and top is excellent.

Excellent side pockets for bottles and additional gear; nicely designed so you can use them when you need them or get them out of the way when you don’t. Stretchy is a plus.

Excellent compression straps

Sleeping bag zipper at the bottom

Good amount of pockets for organizing and quick access items.

G-1000 HeavyDuty Eco S material, made from recycled polyester and organic cotton (can be made water-resistant with Greenland Wax for more extreme weather conditions).

Keb has a very slim profile and doesn’t fall far from your back.  It’s a good shape that leads to stability when hiking even on slick or steep terrain.

 The bottom and sides are made from the completely new waterproof Bergshell fabric, made from recycled nylon. Then there is the external frame of (FSC certified) birch. According to Fjällräven, CO2 emissions during the production of the backpack are reduced by 90%.

Cons :

Back of pack offer padding but isn’t the most breathable of packs.  Not the best, not the worst as far as ventilation goes.  With that being said, you will sweat with enough effort with any pack on.

Hop pockets are not very good in my opinion.  Big enough to hold small items but unfortunately can’t be opened one handed.  To open and close, it takes two hands; one to hold the pocket and one to pull the zipper

As you fill the main compartment the front pocket becomes tighter and tighter;

This is a slender pack which can make accessing your gear from the top…luckily you have the side access!

Summary :

comfort, durability and robustness

Truly one of the best packs that I have used in years and is worth every penny in my opinion.  I purchased this with my own money, I don’t care if you buy one as that isn’t of any significance to me.

Consider : 52L may not be enough space for everyone; consider what you carry and whether or not you need a larger pack. If you are in doubt, there is the 72L version to consider.


Monday, March 16, 2020

Simply Excellent - Helikon-Tex Woodsman Anorak Jacket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Over the last 6 months Helikon-Tex has continued to impress me with their value, good designs and functional gear/clothing/equipment and after much use, it is time to share my Agenda-Free review of the Woodsman Anorak Jacket.
...

Agenda Free Link : https://www.helikon-tex.com/en_usd/ku-wdn-dc-woodsman-anorak-jacket.html

Price : Retail $94

Weight : Around 1.7lbs for Medium size

Materials : 55% Polyester, 23% Cotton, 19% Nylon, 3% Elastane

Sizes : WX/Regular – XL Regular

Colors : Lots of Colors including numerous color combos which I really like

Features :

  Made of DuraCanvas® fabric

  Additional gussets made of StormStretch® fabric

  Large kangaroo pocket with internal organizer

  Adjustable hood

  Adjustable cuffs with hook&loops

  Ventilation zippers in armpits

  YKK® zippers

Based on the Mistral Anorak, Woodsman Anorak jacket is made of DuraCanvas® - the fabrics more suitable for outdoor and camping. The front is made of DuraCanvas® fabric, therefore it is fire-spark resistant and durable enough not to be damaged by sharp objects and branches. The back of the jacket was made of StormStretch® fabric, to provide higher breathability and better freedom of movement. The whole jacket is highly wind resistant. Woodsman anorak has three pockets, including one kangaroo on the front with internal organizer. Sides are fully zippered up to the arm pits to provide easy don and doff. The side zippers can also be used as ventilation. Additionally the jacket has adjustable, hood with visor.

Review Pros :

Top notch quality

Excellent design

Good Value

Excellent hood which is adjustable in all of the ways that it needs to be.

Material is excellent for blocking wind, keeping you slightly warm and is very breathable.

Material is also a little stretchy which makes it more comfortable for daily use and activities.

Zippers are excellent; they aren’t sticky, flow easily and don’t get caught.

Plenty of pulls to get the fit that you specifically want/need.

It layers very well with small insulative under layers – fleece sweaters, flannels, etc.

Chest pocket is excellent and offers a lot of space.

Size zips are awesome and make putting the jacket on easy; this is important, as a muscular guy, putting on some Anoraks can be difficult.  The sides of the jacket zip from the hip all the way to the arms pits. Zips go from arm pit bottom of jacket.

The side zips serve three purposes:

Ease of putting it on and taking it off, ventilation and ease of access to belt warn items

The materials used in the Anorak are water and spark resistant which make it perfect for those who spend a lot of time next to a fire.

Water resistant, but not waterproof.  It wouldn’t replace your raingear - Can be impregnated with wax but you will loose breathability.  If you have never done this before, it can be a chore and I tend not to do it.  For something to be made waterproof takes a lot of time and attention; miss a spot and you’ll get wet.

Kangaroo pocket features internal organization and a D-ring.

Review Cons :

Cons?  Hmmm, there really aren’t any…

No hip pockets – this really isn’t a con but more a trade off; you forgo the hip pockets for the chest kangaroo pocket.

Summary :

I absolutely love this piece of clothing and it is perfectly suited for how I like to dress;

It makes for an excellent companion for a wide range of uses including hiking, camping, backpacking, bushcraft and in general daily life.  I personally wear this jacket on a daily basis, I wear my Fjallraven Barent Trousers on a daily basis and if doesn’t matter where I am heading.  The point being that such equipment is comfortable for the trail and life use.

I mentioned Fjallraven and I have to say that I have been a fan of their gear for a long time and finding a company who makes gear as good is difficult but Helikon Tex fits the bill.  Their quality is just as good, their designs are even better in many ways and their prices, are fair more reasonable.  If Fjallraven made this jacket, it would easily cost $300-$400+ or more.  By the way, I say that because Fjallraven does make Anoraks and they literally cost that much.

Friday, March 13, 2020

Pathfinding Forest Roads 2 - Lost on the Backroads - Overnight Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

In this Episode :

Luke is searching for an old forest road which he has always wanted to hike and things don't go according to plan.  That night, a visitor of the forest arrives.....

Thank you for joining for this overnight adventure.

S&H

...

: Gear used in this Adventure :

Warrior Assault ELITE OPS X300 Backpack

OneTigris Bungalow 2 Tent

MLD Groundsheet

Helikon-Tex Swagman Roll

Helikon-Tex Chest Rig - Firearm

Helikon-Tex Woodsman Anorak

Solo Stove Lite and 900ml Pot

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

How to Save Money on your Outdoor Gear Purchases





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about saving LOTS of money while purchasing high quality gear even with a low budget!

Watch this before purchasing your next piece of gear.


Sunday, March 8, 2020

Razor Sharp - Woox A1X Hand Axe - Field Test




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Woox A1X Hatchet – Field Test



Agenda Free Link : https://wooxstore.com/products/axe-ax1

Price : $229 retail Made in Italy, developed in US – woox describes themselves as a high end tool and stock company

Weight : 2.3lbs on my scale

Colors/Finishes : Walnut / Midnight Grey

WOOX AX1 is a unique tomahawk-style hand axe that features an octagonal Appalachian hickory handle to bring durability and ergonomics. Finished with Cerakote to enhance the performance of the ax, make it more resistant to abrasions, wear and tear, corrosion, chemicals, and impact.Featuring a tempered carbon steel head and diamond heel, this ax is perfect for camping or clearing trees and bush in your back yard.Get the best from your AX1 with WOOX's leather sheath, Arkansas Whetstone and all the other ax accessories.*Italian leather collar included with each ax. Custom leather sheath available for purchase separately.

The WOOX AX1 is a quality tomahawk style hand axe. Sporting a solid wedge-shaped axe head made of tempered carbon steel, along with Cerakoted in either black or gray for improved weather resistance, this axe is one of a kind.

WOOX has developed a leather and collar sheath (protects handle) specifically designed only for the AX1 to keep it safe and clean when not in use.

(sara-coated)

Observations :

No sheath included and I personally don’t like this.  For the price, one should be included especially considering how sharp this tool is.  It doesn’t have to be as elaborate or as feature rich as the  $70 version but something needs to be included to cover the blade.– one can be purchased for an additional of $70.  It’s nice but for an axe of this price, something should have been included.

Impressions : Without the doubt, the nicest axe/hatch that I have ever used.

Gimping is a nice touch; does allow for finer control over the axe head with finer work.

My thoughts so far are :

Price : Without a doubt, this is one of the more expensive hand axes out on the market that I am aware of; In fact, this is more expensive than most full size axes and that is a problem.  While is exceptionally nice and the quality is top notch…price is always going to be a touchy topic especially when you can buy a quality hatchet/hand exe for $50.  Something to keep in mind, higher end products can provide a higher end experience which can make your life easier and can also be safer.

If you purchase too inexpensively you may get something dull out of the box or a tool which dulls quickly and won’t hold an edge. The other opposite end of this is that you can spend too much and you can go past the point of even returns for the money.

Speaking of which, coming up soon I will have a more budget friendly hatchet to put to through the paces in another Field Test!

…………….

Delimbing -  Chopping Test

Standing Splitting – remember, when splitting, the trick isn’t strength and power, it is finesse.  With finesse you can balance power and control, wildly swinging will result in someone getting hurt.

Lay-down – Center Split - Feather stick - Hammering

Strike guidance – straight or does it curve – this is important as not axe heads are created equal.  Some heads will guide one way or the other

How does the handle absorb impacts : Much better than metal handles as wooden handles do a better job of absorbing vibrations.

If you're chopping with a hatchet, unless you are very well trained, chop from a kneeling position. This way an errant swing stops at the ground, not your leg.

If you're using a block, place the piece of wood being chopped towards its rear edge.


Friday, March 6, 2020

3 Day Winter Overland Adventure - Pisgah in the Truck




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Luke and Susie are back on the road again for a 3 Day Adventure which spans some beautiful locations in North Carolina.

Join Luke and Susie for an Overland Camping and Hiking Adventure in the Rain, in the Snow and with a lot of Mud!


Wednesday, March 4, 2020

Dark Peak NESSH Women’s Down Jacket - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Join Susie today for her very first solo review as she goes over the Pros and Cons of the Dark Peak NESSH Women’s Down Jacket.

Way to go Susie!

….

Dark Peak Jacket Revew

Agenda Free Link : https://darkpeakgear.com/product/nessh-womens-down-jacket/

Price : $229

Fill : 850 fill power down from responsibly sourced goose down

Weight : 11.3 oz

Packs down into waist pocket

Longer back than front

Nylon shell

Baffles (vertical side channels) very flexible

2 way front zipper allows you to unzip from the bottom when you need to sit down or as needed

Integrated wrist mitts/gaiters – these are awesome because you can tuck them in when you don’t want them

2 external insulated waist pockets and 3 internal pockets.

Available in 5 colors and sizes XS to XXL – but remember this is UK sizes so for the USA it would be minus one size. Like the M is a USA Small.

Black, gray, maroon, blue, and red

Also this is a down jacket and you don’t want it snug. Leave room for layers.

Specifications:

 Lightweight: 11.3oz (322g)

 Drop-back / dipped hem design (Longer in the back than the front)

 Insulated hood (helmet compatible), with elastic adjuster

 Rip-stop 10D Nylon outer & inner shell (light & highly wind resistant)

 Water resistant (DWR) coating

 850 Fill Power, Responsibly Sourced Goose Down.

 Zipper internal phone pocket

 Insulated waist pockets with zippers

 Packs away into its own pocket

 2x internal glove pockets

 Elasticated (adjustable) hem

 YKK® 2-way front zipper with wind guard.

 Elastic wrist mitts / gaiters (wrist warmers).

Fill Weights:

The NESSH Jacket has a fill weight of 90g per sq m. The actual fill weight of a jacket varies depending on the jacket’s size e.g. a size XS jacket would contain significantly less down than an XXL, but proportionally they are the same based on the amount of down spread across a jacket’s surface area.

Actual Fill weights for each size are listed below:

 XS = 111.7g (3.94oz)
 S = 119.2g (4.2oz)
 M = 126.6g (4.47oz)
 L = 134.1g (4.73oz)
 XL = 142.1g (5.01oz)
 XXL = 150.1g (5.29oz)

The jacket offers a lot of pros.

Cons for me is that the company showcases the One Sold One Given motto on the back of the jacket.

They do give away a different jacket to homeless for every jacket sold. It’s great that they do that, but it doesn’t make me want to purchase this jacket over another.

Also, the jacket they give away is different. All the information is on their website in regards to it. They are very open about why they do it and what they do.

A portion of what you pay buys another jacket? Just something to consider.  I like the color variety.

Price really isn’t that different in my opinion. There is a big range, but this one isn’t so cheap that it will blow your mind. It falls into the range of them. You can find something similar in the same price range. You can also find a good deal.

To sum it all up, there really isn’t anything to complain about. It’s a jacket that offers a lot of features. My only complaint goes back to the Buy One Give One  Business Model and the logo of that on the actual jacket itself. What are your thoughts?


Monday, March 2, 2020

Enter NOW - Giveaway - River Country Trekker 2.2 Tents




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I've had enough people show interest in these River Country Trekker 2.2 Tents that I have decided to do a giveaway.  If you want one, enter now in the comments on Youtube for your chance.

There will be two winners; good luck.

Remember...these tents leak; BE SAFE with them.




Thursday, February 27, 2020

Ice and Rain - Setting up a Winter Camp




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The day is cold and wet as freezing rain settles into the mountains...the Lone Wolf heads out to sets up a Day Camp.

Thank you for joining Luke on his latest adventure...this is a wet one!


Wednesday, February 26, 2020

$140? No Way! - Hazard 4 Poncho Villa Softshell Poncho Review




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Let me get this straight...
$140 for a poncho that isn't waterproof?

Why does this even exist?

Today Luke is reviewing the Hazard 4 Poncho Villa Soft-Shell Poncho.



Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AJ5FQF0

Price : Retail is $140.  On Amazon the older black version can be found for $94

Weight : 2.3 lbs.

2020 Version : What you see here is the previous gen. of the Poncho Villa; there is a 2020 version and it isn’t all that much different.  In the end, the main points in this review will apply to the new version.

Colors : Black, Coyote, OD Green (The colors have been refreshed for 2020 and are slightly different than the old version.  I have the old version)

Waterpoof : No!  Water Resistant

Material : (86% polyester, 14% spandex; liner is 100% polyester)

Taped seams throughout

Expanded Size : 79.5" L x 53.5" W (201.9 x 135.9 cm)

Folded Size : 13" L x 11.2" W x 2.2" D (33 x 28.5 x 5.5 cm)

Features :

Our thoroughly modernized version of the classic military poncho has more in common with technical sport jackets than the old vinyl camping stand-by that usually comes to mind.

The poncho can be stuffed into its own front pocket for storage. It even has a vent for drying!

Water-resistant breathable softshell

Modernized version of the classic military poncho.

100% waterproof fully-taped seams throughout.

Can be stuffed into its own front pocket for storage.

Size: One size fits most.

Review Pros :

Excellent design.

Very good quality.

Breathable

Can be stowed in its own pocket

Quiet

Suitable for light to moderate rain, snow, mist and light pressure type of conditions.

Can fit over packs/bags/chest-packs

Front and back velcro panels for agency i.d.

Velcro panels on the shoulders and head-back

Hood with brim section fits over head-wear

Hood-cinchers for front and back-of-head adjust

Zipper front to chin for full rain-coverage of throat

Large perimeter grommets for hanging as tent/tarp

Side snaps for closing edges in severe weather

Fully covers the torso and most of legs; some of arms.

Allows access to pockets and chest bags

Can become a SMALL make-shift tent in an emergency

Two ponchos combine for a larger tent – I don’t have two of these and haven’t been able to test this out.

Easy to put on

Easy to take off.

Cool looking

Easy to clean

Review Cons :

Heavy and with enough exposure to rain, it will get heavier as water soaks through

Not suitable for long duration, heavy rain events.  This will eventually wet through. Waterproof only under light pressure.  In truth I shouldn’t count this as a con as the poncho performs exactly has Hazard 4 has designed for it to but you do need to be aware that this is not a waterproof poncho.  Water resistant, not waterproof.

Expensive especially consider its performance.

Stowing this into the chest pocket can take time and patience. Not super easy to do. no instructions on how to refold it back up

Takes up a lot of space inside of your pack for a poncho

Summary :

Do I recommend this poncho; for the most part I don’t but ultimately it depends.

I like the looks of the poncho but the performance of this poncho is very limited considering it’s limited water resistance. In my opinion, in the snow is where this really shines and that is what I would recommend it for. While it is water resistant it isn’t a waterproof poncho; consider that for a moment, $140 for a poncho which isn’t waterproof!

For snow adventures, yes.  For rain conditions, no.

If you want something to wear that block minor amounts of rain and looks cool; then yes.


Monday, February 24, 2020

Behind the Scenes - Viewer Mail Episode #72 - Best Coffee in the World




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke and Susie are opening some awesome packages from our friends.  Also in this episode, they discuss the body that was found at the campground which they recently visited and share some behind the scenes experiences.

As always, we are very, very thankful for all of the kindness and generosity.


Saturday, February 22, 2020

Pathfinding old Forest Roads - Surrounded by Coyotes - Solo Overnight Ad...



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Picture this;

The sun has gone down and the moon is rising.

The crackle of the fire is all that you hear while enjoying your dinner when a sharp howl releases from the forest followed by dozens more.

You're Surrounded!

You see eyes in the forest watching.....

Thank you all for joining me for my next adventure, this was an awesome trip and I am excited to share it.

S&H

...

Gear List :

Warrior Assault ELITE OPS X300 PACK :

This pack is hard to find in the USA but can be found and ordered here; https://tacsale.eu/product/warrior-assault-systems-elite-ops-x300-pack-od-green

Kelty 1 Person Field Tent

MLD Ground Sheet

Rakaia Designs Yekka - Double Sided Sleeping Pad

Thermarest Sleeping bag

Woox Rock 62 knife

EKA Viking Combi Stove

Woox AX1 Bushcraft Wood Axe

Befree Water Filter Bag

SOTO G stove ST 320

Butane Bottle

Thermostack Cook Set Combo

Helikon-Tex Numbat Chest Rig

If you have any gear questions, email me.


Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Serious Waste of Money! - Rothco General Purpose First Aid Kit




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

...

It is a windy and rainy day in the mountains so Luke is indoors to take a look at the Rothco General Purpose First Aid Kit and it becomes clear that this is one of the worst first aid kits on the market for the money.

$53 for this?

I don't think so!



Agenda Free Link : https://www.rothco.com/product/rothco-general-purpose-first-aid-kit

Price : $53

Weight : 1lb 6oz


Sunday, February 16, 2020

Ask Us Anything - Part 9 - Question Submission





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



It has been a while since I have done one of these;

Ask any question that you like and Susie and I might just address in in the next Q&A.



Thank you everyone!


Friday, February 14, 2020

Camping in the Truck at an Abandoned Campground (Overland Adventure)





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is one wild trip which involves an Abandoned Campground in the middle of nowhere and a human body being discovered nearby which is now part of a murder investigation.

Join Luke and Susie for an Overland Camping Adventure!


Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Japanese Backpacking Coffee Dripper - SOTO Helix Coffee Maker





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a Japanese Coffee Dripper and today Luke is here to share his review.



Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HUIWK1W

Price : $16.49

Weight : 1.6 oz for the basket – 2.3oz for the basket, bag and filters

Materials : Stainless steel


KIT – Set includes mesh bag and 10 coffee filters. Uses #2 cone filters

SPECS – Stainless steel, Weight: 46 g (1.6 oz), Carry Case Size: 135 x 120 mm (5.9 x 5.5 inch)

Pros :

Lightweight (half the weight of the gsi product)

Compact – folds flat enough

Not bulky

Dries quickly so you can stow it again.

Bag carries the stand, filters, and coffee which I put into small zip lock bags

Makes good coffee

Included coffee filters work just fine and I haven’t had any issues with them. 

#2 filters are easy to find and can be purchased very inexpensively.

Easy to clean up- there are numerous products which have integrated filters which can be a pain to clean and stay wet for a long time.  With this one, you remove the filter, air dry for a moment and you are good to go.

Price isn’t bad even though I don’t blame anyone for questioning $17 for a wire basket but if you go out and look at similar products, some cost $40, some plastic models cost $13 and so on.

Cons :

Can be challenging to use if you are in forest as you will need a flat spot to put your cut and then the Soto on top. If it isn’t flat, it will slide.

Time – using this product will take a bit of time for you to have a full cup of coffee and it may not be as hot as you want it to be once full.  Because of the small design, the amount of filtering that it can do is less than larger products which are out on the market.

For Two – The product states that this is for two cups of coffee but I use it for one

…..

Summary :

The most important thing to keep in mind with this product is that it is super simple; it’s ultralight and if you are seeking the ability to make coffee while hiking, backpacking, traveling and so on, this will allow you to do that.  It’s fun to use but if there isn’t a flat surface nearby, you will have to make one. Folds flat, no bulk,

I’ve read of this product being popular with soldiers who are able to take it out into the field.  In my opinion, it’s a great portable option that I will be sticking with.

Monday, February 10, 2020

Company Responds - River Country Trekker 2.2 Updated Version Review





Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Are you a Lone Wolf?

Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is here to review the latest version of the Trekker 2.2 tent from River Country Products and will share with you what the company has told him concerning the problems with the latest version and what is in store for future versions.

------------------------ Video Links ------------------------

Adventure with Latest Version of this Tent : https://youtu.be/meeBWBQIcCQ

Link to setup/first look video : https://youtu.be/9HVN3rP6Ga4

River Country Responds about the Original Trekker 2.2 Tent Failures Link : https://youtu.be/NakmwDAe7d8

⚠️Warning ⚠️ Do Not Buy the River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 Link : https://youtu.be/bX0uH6DQKKk

⚡ Incredible Failure! ⚠️ - River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 - Test Night Link : https://youtu.be/gRdKSNcrZ3Y

This Tent Costs How Much? - River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 First Look Link : https://youtu.be/9HVN3rP6Ga4



Agenda Free Link to Product : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FNVTNSL




Friday, February 7, 2020

They Stole From Us and Others and We Took Them Down! - Viewer Mail Episo...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke and Susie are opening some awesome letters and packages from our friends.  Also in this episode, they discuss someone that was caught stealing from them and other Youtubers and what they did about it.

As always, we are very, very thankful for all of the kindness and generosity.


Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Worth $30? - Coleman Folding Table - Overland and Car Camping



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Coleman Folding Table and Luke is here to go over the pros and cons and as a bonus, he has a hilarious online review to share concerning it.

That is why you never trust an Amazon Review.



Agenda Free Linkhttps://www.amazon.com/Coleman-Outdoor-Compact-Table/dp/B00VWA1XZ8

Price : $28 at the time of filming

Weight : 9 lbs. 8 oz.

Materials : Aluminum and Plastic Construction top – Steel Frame

Features : A Slat Top

Includes : A carry bag

Weight capacity : 100 lbs

Folded Size : 5.5" x 5.5" x 27.5"

Measurements – Grab Tape Measure

Color : Silver only

…………….

Uses : Perfect for car camping, beach, hunting camp, RV and so on.  Too heavy to backpack with naturally.

……………..

Pros :

Easy to setup – takes 2 minutes or less once you know what you are doing.

Excellent size for a car camping table

Excellent price – there are a lot of rather inexpensive tablets out there and at the same time, there are a lot of very expensive ones with some running over $100 easy.

Surprisingly stable considering the weight capacity and the weigh of the table itself. Wont tip over unless you personally do something strange with it.

With my use so far, no staining.

Easy to clean

Folds up nice and small

Easy to break down

Because of the materials and coating, you will not have issues with rust.

…………………………

Cons :

Coleman says that it is perfect for 4 people; in my opinion, no.  2 people yes with full size plates. 4 people would have to use smaller plates for there to be enough room on all 4 sides.

Surface can be scratched and if you slide something course enough across it, it will scar it

Because of the design, it isn’t possible to put your legs under the table unless you have a really low chair.  There is enough space to store gear, a cooler and so on under the table though.

Due to the slated design, it can be troublesome to cut on it; most people will have zero problems with this as I have personally used it as a cutting board with not problems.

While I haven’t had an issue yet, I could see the plastic caps on the bottom of the legs popping off.

The weak point is the elastic cording that holds the table together.  Luckily if you had a problem with this a repair shouldn’t be that difficult.  The plastic pieces are also of a concern.

Could be a little taller; I’m short and I could feel my back beginning to burn a bit after hunching over to food prep.

….

Summary :

The low cost of this table makes it an excellent option for many uses and it is a Coleman product which means that the warranty actually means something.   There are a very companies which have tables with the same design, most of them are Chinese companies and are even more expensive.  Alps Mountaineering has a version which looks to be the same but I have to admit that I haven’t seen it up close so I can’t comment on differences but it costs over twice as much.

……………………

Mentionable Funny Review :

When it comes to Amazon reviews, you have to take them with a grain of salt and that’s because companies can hire other companies to leave positive feedbacks for their products.  Competitor products can also hire companies to leave negative reviews for competitor products and when I was getting my details together for this review, I saw one which I felt was funny enough to mention;

Total waste of time and money, unless you are backpacking. Don't waste your money on this, and forget trying to return it, that won't work out well for you! The table is extremely difficult to assemble, and when assembled, it is very flimsy!

Monday, February 3, 2020

German Elephant Skin Groundsheet – Military Classic Surplus




Want to support a channel that is 100% Agenda Free?  That is what the TOGR is;
No Store
No Sales
No Affiliates.
No BS.

Just Honest Reviews.

Support Now through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

Today Luke is taking a look at an interesting Classic Military piece of gear; the German Elephant Skin Groundsheet.

Agenda Free Link : https://colemans.com/german-military-waterproof-camping-tarp

Price : $15 (not sure if there is a shipping fee with this site) – price can range depending on where you find it for sale.

Weight : Weight will vary due to size; mine is – 14.2oz

Measurements : These were never made to an exact spec so the size will vary by a few inches; mine is – 8’ x 3.2’

NSN : 8465-12-301-9147

Genuine European Military Surplus. Made in Germany former west germen forces.

Made of strong, durable and waterproof 100% ripstop nylon. Color: Olive Drab OD.

Rubbery sort of feeling to it.

These are very popular overseas; not so much here in the USA.

Known as "Elefantenhaut" (Elephant Skin) in Germany -Made in the Former West Germany in October 1985

Designed To Protect Sleeping Bag from Wet Surfaces

The BW Ground Sheet is also known by German soldiers as elephant skin. The name comes from the reinforced fabric structure of the tarpaulin, which is robust and durable. As a ground sheet for the sleeping bag when lying directly on the ground, it protects against sharp stones and also from moisture. Also suitable for other equipment.

This is often described as a tarp but that really isn’t accurate.

Pros :

Excellent price.

A history of being strong and durable.

Much stronger than the groundsheets that I generally use

Good size for a one person tent groundsheet

Cons :

The biggest problem with these is that it wasn’t designed to be staked down; luckily you can correct this in numerous ways.

I wish that they made larger versions of this

Summary :

Heavy in my opinion for backpacking but if you can come up with a use which justifies the weight, more power to you.  Excellent for camping, overland use and so on.

A single modification of tie off points would make this a much more versitale product – as it is, the amount of uses is basically limited to groundsheets and sitting pads as there is nothing stopping it from being blown away.

Make sure to pay attention and ask questions if purchasing used – you want to make sure that your sheet doesn’t have any holes.

The question is; what would you use one of these for?  How would utilize it with your kit?




Friday, January 31, 2020

Camping in the River Country Trekker 2.2 Tent - Testing Grounds 4




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is Testing Grounds...

A Camping Adventure featuring all sorts of new gear which Luke is currently testing out and amongst those products the focus is the newest version of the River Country Trekker 2.2 tent.

Rain is on the way.....how bad can this tent possibly be?


Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Hot Tent Challenge Part 3 - Fixes and Improvements




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is part 3 of the Hot Tent Challenge and in this episode, Luke is working on some Fixes and Mods for the Black Orca Iron Wall.

In the previous episodes, you all got to vote on the tent that we are to use and the majority selected the Black Orca Iron Wall Tent.  From there we took it out for a night of rain to discover if it would leak and it did; now it is time to fix the shortcomings and issues of the Iron Wall before we vote on the stove that we are to buy to use with it.

With the Hot Tent Challenge, this is the order;

Part 1 involves a setup, overview and initial impressions of the tent which you decide to base the challenge around.

Part two will be to test out its waterproof abilities to learn if anything needs to be addressed before moving on to the next step.

Part 3 will be the installation of a stove jack and fixing issues.

With Part 4 we will locate and install a stove.

Part  5 Lastly it will be the adventure with the stove itself.

...
Video Links :
Part 1 : https://youtu.be/41pOqjoDHpo

Part 2 : https://youtu.be/owgMbLKWqNg

...

Agenda Free Iron Wall Link : https://www.onetigris.com/iron-wall-chimney-tent.html




Monday, January 27, 2020

Sportneer Adjustable and Non Adjustable Foldable Chairs





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing two foldable chairs from Sportneer; one is Adjustable and the other is not.....but does it really make a difference?

Which one does he recommend?

Find out now!



Agenda Free Link Adjustable Version : https://www.sportneer.com/product/Sportneer-Folding-Camping-Chair-with-Adjustable-Legs-1-Pack

Agenda Free Non Adjustable Version : https://www.sportneer.com/product/Sportneer-Portable-Folding-Camping-Chair-1-Pack

Adjustable Price : Retail is $34 for 1 or $53 for 2

Non-Adjustable Price : $30

Weight of Adjustable : 2lb 5.2oz

Weight of Non Adjustable : 1lb 15oz

Colors : Black and Orange

Features :

Material : Aluminum +60D Nylon

The frame made of heavy-duty aluminum ensures stability and durability of this camping chair. Also, each camping chair comes with small attached storage bags to keep your small accessories organized.

HEIGHT ADJUSTABLE : Sportneer folding camping chair has 3 adjustable height level:

I measure approx. 13" at the lowest, 14", 15" at the highest content you different heights need, give you better seat experience.

Non adjustable version sits at approx. 13.5”

ULTRALIGHT & COMPACT : These portable chairs can be folded into a small piece of 14.25" x 5.25" including the carry-on bag and still weights 2 lbs. It is extremely easy to carry during outdoor activities such as hiking, camping and backpacking

EASY SET-UP : Aluminum shock-cord pole structure makes this camping chair for quick intuitive setup

WEIGHT CAPACITY : This robust chair is capable of taking weight up to 350 lbs. This heavy duty chair is a necessity for campers, hikers, backpackers, adventurers and anyone who loves outdoor activities

Review Pros :

For the money, excellent quality.

Have held up without any issues with all of our use.

Easy to setup; easy enough to do so without instructions – takes a minute

Stable when on flat and semi-flat ground

Adjustable

Comfortable – not oversized and I like that – there are a lot of camping chairs and some are overly huge – you’ll see people sitting in them and they are swallowed in material

Light enough to hike with and to carry; I like to bring one with me on day hikes

When sitting on a hill or any other uneven surface the adjustable legs are a must!

Review Cons :

Low profile even with being adjustable.

For large users, they may want a larger size chair to be really comfortable.

Heavy storage back; you can drop some weight by not using it

Storage bag is a little small; can take some work to get the chair back into it.

Legs can be a bit finicky to adjust as you have to hold the leg with one hand and pull with the other.

Summary :

When it comes to small backpacking chairs, there are numerous companies who make similar products with some of them being really, really expensive.  This is a budget friendly version which offers you very good quality for the money.

Excellent for day hikes and if you don’t mind carrying the weight, overnight trips too.

Car camping, fishing, hunting, etc.

When it comes the two chairs, the adjustable one is the version that I would select as it’s only a few dollars more and the legs allow for versatility that the other version doesn’t.  The height differences between the two is so little, it really doesn’t matter as you won’t notice the difference but for setting up on uneven terrain, this does give you options.

Also, it has pocket for your drink and so on.

It is slightly heavier than the  non adjustable version but only slightly and in my opinion, with the adjustable version, there really isn’t a need for the non adjustable version especially since they are so similar in terms of design, weight and cost.  Think of the adjustable version as the upgraded version and the non as the old gen.


Saturday, January 25, 2020

Best Chest Rig for the Money? Helikon-Tex Numbat Chest Pack



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today I'm reviewing the Helikon-Tex Numbat Chest Pack;
is it the best Chest Rig on the Market Today?

….

Agenda Free Link : https://www.helikon-tex.com/en_usd/tb-nmb-cd-chest-pack-numbat.html

Price : Retail price is $65 – That’s what I paid on Amazon.  When I looked at the cost last night, I couldn’t find them for this price as the sellers there were offering these for $75 plus shipping.  $55.25 on the Helikon-Tex web site.

Weight : 17.28oz

Dimensions :

19.5 X 28 X 6 cm / 7.68 X 11 X 2.36 in

Colors : Numerous Colors – 9 variations (Shadow Gray)

Part of the Helikon-Tex Bushcraft Line;

FEATURES

Made of 500D Cordura® - YKK zippers

Two elastic pockets on front

Made of laminate, compatible with MOLLE/PALS mounting points on front and bottom

Elastic cord on bottom

Internal organizer

Internal velour panel, compatible with VIS

Detachable organizer with map pocket

Up to 90 degree opening angle

Minimalistic, comfortable harness with mesh panel on back

Back covered with 3d mesh

Pros :

Excellent quality – top notch materials

Excellent zipper pulls – easily opens

Very adaptable – lots of pockets and is user adjustable

Can be used easily with backpacks

Comfortable - The shoulder harness is excellent with no issues with rubbing or even moving around and causing issues.

Easy to use and open

Easy to put on and take off – TIP : undo one buckle and throw it over your shoulder and then buckle it in.  I’ve seen people try to put it on in other ways – talk about awkward.

Can hold a lot - Great size, not too bulky.

Two front stretchy pockets

Impressively water resistant

Excellent solution for Concealed Carry

You can easily attach to the pack and even to the straps

Opens in the form of a tray

The main compartment has a velcro loop back panel to attach your own pouches or dividers

Stretchy material allows for additional stuffing.

Shock cord on the bottom so you can attach addition items such as a rolled up poncho

Middle of the road design – it doesn’t scream tactical which can be a good thing as you can carry this in town or on the trail.

Strap keepers on all for points.

Buckles at each corner so you can easily put it on or take it off no matter what your dominate side is

Cons :

Map sleeve (aka admin pouch) took me a while to remove; it is nice that the carrier is included but I tend not to need it often so I have taken it out.  My preference would be simply stow it in side without attaching it so you can take it out and view it as needed.

With the map sleeve is fairly small for serious navigation but does feature lots of pockets – can be locked to the back of the rig

Will you sweat while wearing this?  Yes!  You do have ventilated padding on the back of the pouch but if you are pushing hard enough, there will be some moisture build up.

Features laser cut MOLLE; I’m not the biggest fan as I like strap based more.  Yes this looks more modern but it’s not as ridged which can be a negative.  It certainly doesn’t feel as robust as traditional MOLLE

Can take some work to adjust to go over larger jackets/layers

Summary :

I purchased this numerous months ago and I have no problem recommending it to those who are interested in such a carry system.  It’s a high quality, versatile system which you can easily adapt to your needs.

This chest rig is excellent for just about any sort of outdoor adventure that you are to go out on; hiking, backpacking, fishing, kayaking, law enforcement, military, Motocross, etc; whatever you do, it'll work for you.

I personally use this rig in all sorts of situations; it’s great for a day hike with all of the smaller items that you need quick access to –

I often wear this for filming purposes as I can throw batteries, lens cleaning kits, my GoPro and even a small tripod.

For Bushcraft, it’s excellent; you can mount a knife to the straps, throw in your gloves, add a saw, ferro rod, compass, flashlight and so on.

This is an excellent alternative to a Hill People Chest rig and in fact, I personally like it better than my Hill People setup and it is less expensive.


Thursday, January 23, 2020

Thin Air : LiteFighter Olympus II Deployment Bag (Travel, Overland, Vehi...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

LiteFighter Olympus II Deployment Bag



Agenda Free Link : http://www.litefighter.com/product/olympus-ii-load-out-bag-mil/

Price : Retail is $360 – Used military surplus can run $50 up to around $170

Weight : I haven’t thrown this on a scale but it is substantial; around 18, 20lbs is my best guess

Colors : OCP Camo, Black, Coyote, Green and others. Four of these colors are Military and have NSN numbers from what I understand.

Thin Air and LiteFighter :

The pack is made my Thin Air but is also known as the LiteFighter Deployment bag and I want to explain why that is;

This bag is made by Thin Air Gear and isn't exclusive to LiteFigther but LiteFighter represents Thin Air when it comes to the US Government concerning contracts?

LiteFighter is a sort of middleman so to speak when it comes to government acquisitions and so on.

Features :

·      ABS Frame w/ 360 Foam Protection
·      Fully Retractable 14” Steel Handle with Two Settings
·      Integrated Ruck Suspension System W/ Adjustable Padded Shoulder & Waist Straps
·      Three Point Entry Lockable System with #10 YKK Pulls
·      4” Heavy Duty Polyurethane Wheels with Replaceable Steel Housing
·      Top Opening 12” Wide Lid for Easy Access and a Clear Marking Window
·      Three Removable ABS Divider Shelves Turns Bag Into Rolling Footlocker
·      Integrated Front Document Pocket
·      Lifetime Warranty

Unexpanded Dimensions: 30x15x15 (6,750 cubic inches)

Expanded Dimensions: 40x15x15 (9,000 cubic inches)

Expandable, Wheelable, Ruckable
Retractable Composite HD 14" Metal Telescoping Handle
9" Cloth Pull and Hanging Handle
1000D Cordura Fabric
Ballistic Back
Top Opening 12" Access Flap
Vinyl 4 x 6 Marking Window

1 Identification Insert

Front Document Pocket

4" Polyurethane HD Wheels

3 Point Removable Wheels

YKK #10 Lockable Zippers

360 Degree Closed Cell Foam Protection with Removable Side Panels

210D Packcloth Interior

3 Shelves with Top 360 Degree Velcro

3 Interior Compression Straps

3 Inside Storage Pockets

3-D Aerospace Mesh

TEK69 Twisted Filament Thread

Double Stitched/Bartacked

TSA, TAA, and Berry Compliant

Summary :

In the future if you all like, I could do a VS episode comparing these Thin Air / LiteFighter Deployment bags against others which I have from Force Protector Gear.

Excellent quality

Very well thought-out

Excellent for travel.

Excellent for overland use

Excellent for an emergency bag that you keep in your truck –


Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Thankful! - Viewer Mail Episode #70



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It's mail time once again and the question is; will it fit?
Find out in the video what I'm talking about.  :D

As always, I am very, very thankful for all of the kindness and generosity.


Saturday, January 18, 2020

60MPH Winds - 3 Days in the Windy Mountains



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Windy....Really Windy and Luke and Susan are heading into the high mountains for a 3 Day Adventure which promises incredible views, some snow and bitter conditions!


Thursday, January 16, 2020

Japanese Fire Pit - Snow Peak Pack and Carry Fireplace Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Japanese Design and Japanese Quality!
This is my review of the Snow Peak Pack & Carry Fireplace!



Agenda Free Link : https://snowpeak.com/collections/fireplace-grills/products/pack-and-carry-l-fire-place-st-032

Cost : Retail $190.

Weight : 11.9 lbs (5.4 kg)

Sizes : This is the Large version but there is a small and medium available

Material : 1.5 mm thick chrome coated steel - Stainless Steel

Dimensions :  17.75" W 17.75" H 13"

Size Stowed : L 22" W 1.7" x H 25"

Contents Include : Fireplace and Nylon Case

Made In : Japan

…..

Attachments :

Base plates for ashes

Grill grates

And more.

By the way, any grill grate will work perfectly so if you want to save some money and go with a less expensive wire option you can.  You can also use any sort of pan or plate to prevent the burning of grass, ground and containment.


Uses : Car camping, rv, hunting, overland, heat, cooking, tail gating, rafting, etc


Pros :
Compact design

Operates perfectly – plenty of air holes

Easy to setup

Easy to ignite

Easy to add wood too.

Easy to clean

Exceptional Warranty!

Add a grill to and you can easily cook

Smartly designed

Very stable

Excellent materials

Top notch quality – there are a lot of rinky dink fireplaces out on the market, this isn’t one.

Folds flat and can be stored basically anywhere

Lots of attachments available

The large size allows for you to loud the stove up with wood for warmth or control it for cooking

Offers level cooking surface

Excellent heat radiance

Because of the design, you can warm your feet as well as the body when sitting close to it.

Cons :
Very, very expensive.

Carry bag is nothing to write home about but it works.  If you really fall in love with the stove, a canvas carry bag is available…..at a cost.

Summary :

With this stove, it does come at a price but for that price you are getting a product that will truly last a life time.  It’s heavy duty, very well made and includes one of the best warranties in the business.

Out of the three sizes, my advice would be to go with the large size as it present you with the most options including larger pieces of wood.

After spending my hard earned money on this fire pit, would I do it again?  Absolutely!  It’s an incredibly well made piece of gear which offers you the perfect balance of portability, function and strong construction.  All of which comes at a price!




Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Wow, That is Different! - Viewer Mail Episode #69



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Say, this axe is different!

Without a doubt Susie and I have the best viewers in the entire world and we are thankful for every single email, letter and package.





Friday, January 10, 2020

�� Cut Chop Feather - Hogue EX-F01 5.5" Knife - Field Test



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Thanks to a friend who encouraged me to pick up this knife, we have a new blade to test out!  This is the Hogue EX-F01 5.5" Knife and today I'm getting it out into the forest for a Field Test!

...

Agenda Free Link : https://www.hogueinc.com/ex-f01-fixed-blade-5-5-black-cerakote-drop-point-blade-cocobolo-hardwood-scales

Price : $200 on amazon at the time of filming; retail is $240

Weight of knife : 10.1oz

Weight of Knife and Sheath : 17.2oz / little over a pound

Made in the USA

Limited Lifetime warranty

Versions : At the time of filming, there are 23 different versions of this knife.  I have linked to the Hogue web site and the version that I purchased. It’s available with different materials and finishes for a low-key visual footprint. It’s available with either a drop-point or Tanto blade profile. Tanto blade models feature a saw back.

Hogue : Hogue, well known for their gun related accessories was founded in 1968 by Guy Hogue and the company today is carried on by his son’s which I think is cool.  While they are well known for their gun grips, stocks and hostlers they have ventured into the knife market with excellent results from what I have been told.

All Hogue knives are designed by custom knifemaker and former Recon Marine. Allen Elishewitz

This is my first experience with a Hogue knife with a friend of mine hounding me to death about his EX-F01 blade.

SPECS
• Blade Length: 5.5”
• Overall Length: 10.5”
• Weight: 10.4 oz

BLADE

• Style: Drop Point with Flat Grind
• Thickness: 0.235”
• Material: A2 Tool Steel
• Hardness: 57-59 HRC
• Treatment: Cryogenically Heat Treated – fire arms finish
• Finish: Black Cerakote®
• Flat Grind - Hand Honed Edge
Full tang

FEATURES

• Frame: Cocobolo Hardwood Scales
• Includes Ballistic Nylon MOLLE Sheath
• Lanyard/Lashing Holes
• Impact Pommel

Thoughts :

The blade size is perfect for myself; this is a 7 inch version but for most tasks I find that 5.5” is the perfect balance of useability and utility.  Not so big that it becomes awkward for certain tasks.  Generally once you go pasted the 5.5” length, in my opinion the blade becomes excellent for very specific tasks such as battoning and less effective as an all around camp tool

Excellent balance.

Most comfortable grip I have ever experienced.

Sheath is fine but isn’t my personal preference. It doesn’t have any glaring issues. The quality is excellent and if you are into tactical, then it will serve you well. Cordura® Ballistic Nylon with bar-tack stitching. The sheath is ambidextrous and jumpable. MOLLE Compatible. – When fully seated, there is absolutely no rattle!

Excellent quality
Sharp
Thick steel
Well designed

Middle of the road design; Combat/Tactical/Survival type knife

A2 is known for its toughness and edge-holding ability. It will hold an edge better than 01 tool steel and 1095 and is more corrosion resistant. It takes a very sharp edge and is fairly easy to resharpen. The EX-F01 blade features a durable, non-reflective black, green, or tan Cerakote® ceramic coating that provides additional corrosion resistance.

Tool : The hidden storage spaces in the handle of the EX-F01 can be used to store small survival items. A Torx wrench nested in the handle allows easy removal of the scales to access the compartments. Milled recesses in the scales match up with the skeletonized compartments in the tang.


Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Japanese Folding Table - SOTO FieldHopper Mini Pop Up Table ST-630 - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke has been testing out a Japanese Folding Table for the last couple of months and it is time for the review!  This is the SOTO Field Hopper Mini Pop-Up Table (ST-630).



Agenda Free Link : https://sotooutdoors.com/product/field-hopper/

Price : Retail price is $40. At the time of filming it was $62 on amazon but it was $36 on Campsaver.

Weight : 14.1oz with bag

Materials : Table Top: Aluminum. Legs: Stainless steel – Nylon storage bag

Measurements -

When Open : W 11.7 x D 8.3 x H 3.1 inches

When stowed : W 11.7 x D 4.3 x H 0.7 inches

……………….

Book style table which opens and closes….like a book.

Can be used for just about anything; I like to bring this along when I am going to be doing some cooking as it makes an excellent surface to prep and to cook on.  If you are going to use it to cook on, you may need a tall wind screen to block out the wind.

You can even dual use it; for an example, you could use it as a night stand in your tent; put your phone on it, you glasses, whatever you have in you pockets.  That’s just an example that comes to mind.

If you use a tarp for camping or a tent without a floor, this gives you a clean/dry place to place some items so that they don’t get muddy.

Pros :

Excellent quality
Excellent design
Slim
Compact
Easy to deploy and put up
Good sized storage bag – large enough for table and a windscreen
Sturdy
Not flimsy at all

Cons :

A little heavy – definitely a luxury item

Costly but at the same time, comparable to other products that are on the market.  There are a handful of similar products and most of them are around the same cost.

If you want one of these, make sure to pay attention to the details so that you don’t pay too much for these.  You can find them on Ebay but the shipping fees can be high.  The same applies for Amazon; some sellers charge for shipping, some don’t.


Monday, January 6, 2020

These are the Winners! Christmas Hammock Giveaway





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time to announce the winners of the Go-Outfitters Hammocks as part of the Christmas Giveaway!

A special Thank You to Go-Outfitters for making this giveaway possible.  It was incredibly generous of them to donate these hammocks to the channel so make sure to check them out.

Email : theoutdoorgearreview@gmail.com

Agenda Free Link : https://go-outfitters.com/

Thank you to Go! Outfitters for making this giveaway possible; make sure to check out https://go-outfitters.com/ for a wide range of gear and products including specialized cordage, hammocks, under quilts, and more.




Friday, January 3, 2020

Setting Up a Day Camp in an Ice Storm



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Freezing rain hit the area and roads are closed;
in this episode, Luke is exploring the mountains alone and sets up a Day Camp in the ice and rain!




Thursday, January 2, 2020

Hot Tent Challenge Part 2 - Onetigris Iron Wall Tent - Test Night




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is part 2 of the Hot Tent Challenge!

The majority voted to use the Black Orca Iron Wall Tent and now it is time to see just how waterproof that it is.  Will it leak?  Will we have problems which need to be addressed and fixed?

Find out now!

With the Hot Tent Challenge, this is the order;

Part 1 involves a setup, overview and initial impressions of the tent which you decide to base the challenge around.

Part two will be to test out its waterproof abilities to learn if anything needs to be addressed before moving on to the next step.

Part 3 will be the installation of a stove jack and fixing issues.

With Part 4 we will locate and install a stove.

Part  5 Lastly it will be the adventure with the stove itself.

...

Agenda Free Iron Wall Link : https://www.onetigris.com/iron-wall-chimney-tent.html

Agenda Free Wild Haven Link : https://www.onetigris.com/wild-haven-chimney-tent.html