Monday, November 30, 2020

Catoma Responds - End of an Era - Military Tents


Recently I have been testing out some military tent shelters from a company known as Catoma and today, I am sharing with you some very interesting information which they shared with me.

I was contacted by Catoma and it's the end of an Era!

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Friday, November 27, 2020

Flooded Trails - Truck Camping in Cold Rain, Thick Fog and Strong Winds


In this adventure episode, TOGR takes you all to a remote section of Virginia to take advantage of a break in the weather....while it lasts!

Within hours of arriving, thick fog engulfs the area, strong winds begin to blow, rain begins to fall and Luke and Susie have to utilize their gear to make it through the night.

...

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

How Bad Can It Be? MSR Zoic 2P Tent - Before You Buy


Today Luke is setting up the MSR Zoic 2P Tent and as you know, the Setup process is very important when it comes to the purchasing of a tent; 

how easy or how complex will it be?

...

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
MSR Zoic 2P Tent - Before You Buy

Monday, November 23, 2020

LiteFighter Military Tent 4 Season Conversion Kit


Have you ever wanted to convert your 3 season summer tent into a 4 season winter tent?
This is a product that I have been waiting to show off all year and finally it is beginning to get cold enough to use and to begin testing it out. The purpose of this product is to act as an add-on for the LiteFighter military tents as it converts their 3 season tent to a 4 season tent by adding a layer of rip-stop nylon over the top of the existing mesh fabric which holds in warmth and blocks wind from circulating inside of your tent.

This is the LiteFighter 1 – Cold Weather Kit (Windbreaker) and it is going into testing now. 
...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

LiteFighter 1 – Cold Weather Kit (Windbreaker)

While I can’t comment on how effective it is yet I can tell you that if this works as it is meant to, it could be a game changer as far as 3 season tent use within the 4th season.

In the warmer months, you run the tent as-is but when the temps drop, you grab the cold weather kit and you can stay far warmer by holding in some warmer air and by blocking the wind.

At the same time, you still retain all of the ventilation performance of the original tent design.

Agenda Free Link : http://litefighter.com/product/litefighter-1-cold-weather-kit/

Price : $102.15

Weight : 14.6oz

Materials : 30 Denier water resistant nylon.

From the Company :

The LiteFighter 1 Cold Weather Kit adds a custom windbreaker layer and snow/sand anchors to the LiteFighter 1 Individual tent. This windbreaker is made out of a lightweight 30 Denier water resistant nylon.

It is compatible with all LiteFighter one-man tents and attaches onto the inner tent. The windbreaker covers all of the exposed mesh on the inner tent and allows the system to retain body heat while decreasing the amount of wind that circulates through the tent. Since the system sits directly on the mesh it still allows air to pass in between the windbreaker and rainfly, and eliminates condensation inside of the inner tent. Four included snow/sand Rip-Stop tent anchors offer more holding power than similar-sized aluminum anchors, but at half the weight.
Included with the LiteFighter 1 Cold Weather Kit

Wind breaker cold weather inner tent cover.
4 snow/sand anchors designed for filling with snow or sand.

Going into testing now and my review will be coming up into the future.

Friday, November 20, 2020

Remote Wilderness Camp Adventure with a Tarp and Bug Bivy Shelter


Luke is off trail in this Overnight Adventure and this time, he is in a boreal forest just like those found in Canada. 

Tarp...
Bug Bivy...
Off Trail....
Middle of Nowhere...
Lots of Mystery...
...
100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Thursday, November 19, 2020

Real Review - Small, Bright and Compact - Fenix E28R Flashlight


This is the Agenda Free Real World Review of the Fenix E28R rechargeable flashlight!

Small. Powerful. 
1500 Lumens. 
18650 Battery.
Almost perfect....almost!

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR 

or Support TOGR through YouTube

Fenix E28R Flashlight 


Price : $65

Weight including Battery : 4oz

Measurements : L 4.2” Head D 1.04” Body D .88”

Battery Type : 3400mah 18650 or 2x CR123A batteries

Materials : premium anodized aluminum

Button : Side Switch on and off and mode selection

Lens : Lightly frosted

LED : SST40 Cool White

Modes : 6 Modes – ECO, Low, Medium, High, Turbo, Strobe

Tail Stand Non Magnetic base Electronic lockout Indicator LED

USB – C Fast Charging port Rotatable pocket clip that doesn’t offer deep pocket carry
....
Usage :

Fenix E28R features single button UI with a multicolor LED indicator at the center of the button/switch. The LED indicator shows the battery status:

Green light ON: 85% - 100%

Green light Blinking: 50% - 85%

Red light ON: 25% - 50%

Red light Blinking: 1% - 25%

and can only be activated at flashlight OFF state.

A single click will light up the indicator LED for 3 seconds to show the battery status. The UI of Fenix E28R follows its usual press-and-hold for 0.5 seconds for ON/OFF, single click to cycle the modes of Eco-Low-Medium-High-Turbo. Strobe must be activated explicitly by holding the switch for 1.2 seconds (just hold it down until your flashlight flashes) in either ON/OFF state.

There are mode memory in all modes except strobe.

Electronic lockout can be engaged by double-clicking the switch button from OFF state, Fenix E28R will flashes twice to indicate the flashlight is in locked state. When in electronic lockout state, Fenix E28R will just flashes twice to indicate its electronic lockout is engaged. There are several ways to unlock Fenix E28R:

Method 1. Double-clicking the switch button again, Fenix E28R will flashes twice, Fenix E28R will turned-On in Eco mode.

Method 2. Connect the USB-C fast charging port to a power source via USB-C cable, this will disengage the electronic lockout.

Method 3. Loosen the body quarter turn, this will effectively cut-off/open the current flow. This is also an effective method to mechanically/physically lockout Fenix E28R.

Review Pros :
Excellent fit and finish – looks good Feels good in the hand good size for those who like a smaller flash light – compact lightweight lightweight good performance all around with good stepping adequate switch detection which means that you can find the button within a reasonable amount of time even in the dark. Good battery life Button gives good feedback when clicked USB-C port is a great….if there has to be a physical port I like for it to be USB C. - flip-over the cover will reveal the USB-C fast charging port, in my charging test, the port pulls ~1.8A for charging and the whole flashlight feels warm during charging. Fenix claims to feature an inner waterproofing treatment to the USB-C port, thus, it should be safe even if the cover was broken or the charging port was subject to water immersion. The beam is particularly wide and well defined.

When charging - During charging, the status indicator will light up constant Red and turned into Green when E28R is fully charged. You can still use Fenix E28R during charging, however, there is only single Eco mode brightness available for use during charging.

Interesting : Interestingly, Fenix E28R can also be use without the body tube when connecting the USB-C fast charging port to a power source as seen from above picture. However, you only have access to Low mode (not Eco mode) when used in this manner.

Review Cons :
Rubber covered charging port; it is 2020 and it is time to move passed charging ports as they are a weak point for the light. Magnetic charging is the future and it would be easy to develop a magnetic charger that features a detachable usb – c base.

As for other cons, I don’t have any. In the end it is a good quality flashlight that is small, light, compact and performs very well. While I would like to see magnetic charging USB C is a definite plus for myself and my personal preferences.

Monday, November 16, 2020

Sierra Designs Responds - Making Better Tents for Target


Thanks to The Outdoor Gear Review some big changes are taking place at Sierra Designs as some major improvements are being made to their products that are exclusively offered at Target.

This is an episode of Company's Respond and Luke will be sharing with you all that was discussed with his conversation with the company!
....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Friday, November 13, 2020

Good Grief This Tent is Terrible - Catoma Combat II Tent - Test Night


As Luke was testing out the Catoma Stealth 1 Person Military Tent in Hurricane Zeta, he was also testing out the Catoma Combat II Tent which has proven to be even worse in some ways.

Will it leak?

How good or bad is the ventilation?

How bad will the condensation be?

Are there quality issues?

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Helikon-Tex Pilgrim Anorak Jacket - Real Review


This is the Helikon-Tex Pilgrim Anorak and today with The Outdoor Gear Review Luke is passing on his 100% Agenda Free Review of this excellent mission ready jacket!

Helikon Tough!

Bushcraft Ready!
....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Sizes : 2X Small to 2X Large
Colors : Black, Coyote and Taiga Green
Price : Retail $114
Weight of the Size : 2lbs 1oz for small size
….
Materials :
Duracanvas - 63% Polyester, 34% Cotton, 3% Elastane
YKK Zippers 

Benefits :
Can be impregnated with wax
Dries faster than cotton
Fire/spark resistant 

From the Company :
We’ve designed the Pilgrim® jacket for demanding outdoor activities in dynamically changing weather. Based on the zipped "kangaroo" construction proven for decades, it has been clearly refined to meet the expectations of modern travelers, while still hitting the aesthetics of the "old guard". Numerous pockets will allow for convenient placement of equipment, while their characteristic arrangement will make them constantly available, even when working in a sitting position or kneeling. We have elongated the whole construction of the jacket, thanks to which it protects our body regardless of the equipment we carry. By lowering the "kangaroo" pocket, we were also able to extend the front zipper of the jacket, which allows the user to better ventilate his body during strenuous approaches or work

Features :
Insulated Kangaroo Pocket Zippered Bicep Pockets Adjustable Hood Zipper Chin Guard Zippered Front pockets with internal organizer Internal Loops Zippered Hip Pockets Adjustable bottom via Shock Cord Adjusters Button Chest pockets with internal loops Pit Zips Adjustable cuffs Duracanvas 

Review Pros
I have been running with this anorak or jacket, whatever you wish to call it for over half a year and here are my thoughts and observations concerning it; Awesome quality which Helikon-Tex is becoming known for. The company makes awesome products and this is one which I can easily recommend for any outdoor adventure. It’s comfortable enough for a hike in the woods after work and is tough enough for a bushcraft trip. Built tough; as soon as you get this in your hands it is going to impress most people; it’s feel like it is going to last and with my experiences it certainly has.

Good wind resistance

Good breathablity especially as you open the zippered pockets - that helps with ventilation

Hip pockets are low enough to be accessible with a backpack waist-belt

Quick drying

Price is very much fair for what you are getting; I’ve mentioned this before with other Helikon Anoraks; the prices of similar products can be absolutely insane. The Fjallraven Anorak no 8 which is similar to this is $450!

Large center zip which makes putting on and taking off the Anorak easy. Not all designs are like this and some can be difficult unless you go with a much larger size.
Sizing is on the larger than side which I like as it provides enough space for additional layering but you need to be prepared for this before you make a purchase. 

Review Cons :

Picking up from the last pro, Sizing is on the larger than side and for myself, I had to go down in one size for a good fit; I’m a medium to large and I had to go with a small and fits fine.
No Velcro on the shoulders or chest for patches - 

Pro Tip :
While you can wax it for added waterproof protection, you can treat this with a nikwax dwr and it does an awesome job and it’s a hell of a lot easier. Waxing will offer overall better water resistance but limits breathability and don’t think for a second that even with wax that this will become a rain jacket.

With a Nikwax Cotton Proof treatment, you add Durable Water Repellency; add virtually no weight while maintaining the breathability of the polycotton in wet weather. Also, it will dry faster with a Nikwax treatment

Monday, November 9, 2020

Inexpensive British Military Fire Dragon Solid Fuel Stove - Real World R...


This is the British Military Fire Dragon Stove which is a NATO / Military approved product from across the pond that utilizes Solid Fuels.

In this Agenda Free Review, Luke goes over the Pros, the Cons and why this may be the right stove for you.

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
British Military Solid Fuel Stove Fuel Cooker

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Dragon-Unisex-Foldable-Burner-Silver/dp/B01CJZWBPK

Cost : $8 at the time of filming and that is only for the stove – no fuel – in the UK, these are even less expensive with common pricing being around 2 euros

Weight without fuel cubes : 3.8oz

Weight with 5 .5oz (14g) fuel cubes : 6.4oz

Dimensions : 3" X 1" X 4.5"

Features : Retractable side walls and removable windshield. Integrated fuel receiver channels heat from fuel to mess tin, cup or pot. Can store fuel blocks within closed cooker.

…..

Made by BCB International, the FireDragon Stove is a British military product; even though the name of the product is the BCB FireDragon Multi-Fuel Cooker it doesn’t come with any fuel even though the packaging states FireDragon which is weird.

Fuel : Can be used with any type of solid fuel including Hexamine and Trioxane and some liquid fuels.

Use : With 14g/.5oz Hexamine tablets; each tablet burns approximately 12 minutes and one tablet boils 500 ml (2 cups) of water in about 8 minutes – Results will vary greatly with such a fuel and stove

Benefits of Hexamine :

✔ Clean - very little soot 
✔ Renewable 
✔ Burns even when wet 
✔ Suitable for extreme conditions 
✔ Easy to light 
✔ Lightweight 
✔ Cost Efficient 
✔ Low luminosity 
✔ Easy storage

FireDragon Fuel : This company has their own fuel which you can purchase separately which is like hexamine but is reportedly nontoxic and is alcohol based. I haven’t tried the fuel myself but I will get some in to test out and to compare.

Hexamine Fuel Cost : 40 tablets cost around $30 – burn up 1300F degrees

About the BCB Company :

Since its creation in 1854, BCB International has been developing pioneering innovations that have helped generations of armed forces personnel, seafarers, aid workers and adventurers operate and survive in some of the world’s harshest environments.

Review Pros :

Very simple designed

Good quality

Light weight

Hold multiple fuel Tablets

Features a windscreen

Lightweight

Inexpensive

Easy & Quick To Use

Retractable Side Walls which allow for multiple angles of use which allows for many sizes of cup or pot to be used

Fuel Channels allow for multiple tablets to be used at once; 1 – 3 at a time for faster use and for larger pots and longer cooking events.

Can be used with multiple fuel types and fuel sizes; hexamine can be found in multiple sizes.

Hexamine is excellent for high altitudes and sub-zero temperatures

Review Cons :

With the BCB FireDragon stove, it doesn’t actually include any FireDragon Fuel

There isn’t much to complain about; it’s inexpensive, fuel is inexpensive and it doesn’t weigh much.

Is a stove actually needed?

There are lighter weight solid fuel stoves but they aren’t expandable for larger pots and cooksets.

Summary :
These little stoves are great for those who want to go out on adventures with a lightweight, small form factor stove and fuel solution. Inexpensive, simple to use, compact and fuel is easily available.
If you are looking for an alternative to this brand, one that comes with some fuel, Esbit has a version which is very similar;

It is very similar in size, weight and design. Cost is around $13

Saturday, November 7, 2020

I Didn't Expect it to be this Bad - Catoma Stealth 1 - Test Night


Hurricane Zeta approaches and Luke the Lone Wolf is out to weather the storm in the Catoma Stealth 1 Person Military Tent.

Will it leak?

How good or bad is the ventilation?

How bad will the condensation be?

....
100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Lightest in the World - NITECORE 10,000mAh Power Bank - Real Review


Luke is back for another Agenda Free Review and this time he has the NITECORE 10000mAh Power Bank which is the lightest 10,000mAh battery bank in the world today!

In this action packed (hehe) review, Luke goes over the pros, the cons and his experiences while testing out this product for numerous months.
....
100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
NITECORE NB10000 Quick-Charge USB/USB-C Dual Port 10000mAh Power Bank

Agenda Free Link : https://www.nitecorestore.com/NITECORE-NB10000-QC-Dual-Port-10000mAh-Power-Bank-p/bat-nite-nb10000.htm

Price : $60

Capacity : 10000mAh
- There is also a 5000MAH version

Input Port : USB-C: 5V-2.4A / 9V-2A

Output Ports :
- USB-C: 5V @3A / 9V-2A / 12V-1.5A - USB-A: 5V @3A / 9V-2A / 12V-1.5A

PowerCap : 38.5Wh

Features :

- NB10k is IPX5 rated water resistant, and comes with a slew of safeguards against short-circuit, overcharge, over discharge, or overheat.
- Dual Charge from both ports
- When quick charge is not needed, the NB10000 has a one-touch low current mode for delicate devices such as Bluetooth headphones and smart watches.

- It can charge and discharge at the same time
- Features a low current charging mode for Bluetooth headphones and smartwatches – Hold mode button until white light turns on. Hold mode button again to turn off.
- Has a LED indicator which shows power level : *** 100% Remaining ** 70% * 30%
- Supports quick charge 3.0 for fast charging
- Blinking LED indicator lets you know when it is charging

Materials : Carbon Fiber Case and a Carbon Fiber Frame

Weight : 5.4oz

Dimensions : L-4.8" x W-2.32" x H-0.42"

Includes : Power Bank, USB charging cable

Testing :

My testing has involved roughly 3 months of use throughout the summer; in the colder months if I have any notable issues, I will do a followup video but as of the time of this video, with temps down into the upper 30’s F, I’ve had no issues.

As it, my typical charging habits tend to involve charging my phone, headlamp, and camera batteries and I have had no issues with my use.

My Note 9 charges two full times with an estimated 30% of power remaining...I say estimated because the bar indicator isn’t accurate.
…..
Review Pros :

- Extremely light weight – one of the lightest on the market - Very small power bank - Excellent quality - No issues with charging : no glitches experienced - Excellent waterproofing : IPX5 rated water resistant – there are other channels completely submerging these are they keep working - Looks great, feels great, feels very sturdy even though it is so lightweight - It recharges quickly too; from one bar flashing to full charge in just under 3.5 hrs. - Can dual charge – charge two devices or charge a single device while charging the power bank

Review Cons :

- Power remaining indicator is very hard to see – it’s small and blue in color - only 3 bats on the remaining power indicator which is odd and make it difficult to know exactly how much power remains. - No USB C adapter cables were included so if you wish to use the USB C port to charge a second device, you will have to get your own adapter cable so that it can work with what type of port that you are connecting to.

Would like to See with Future Models :

- Improved power indicator which is easier to read and that depicts more accurately how much power is remaining. - Would love to see a larger size of power bank; 20,000mAH is what I am interested in myself. - With larger models, I would like to see 2 USB A ports and one USB C

Summary :

As it is, this has become my go to battery bank for single overnight trips. It’s incredibly lightweight, performs extremely well and I can easily recommend it. The Carbon Fiber material makes a true difference in terms of weight and also assist with being shock resistant to drops and bumps.

At 5.4oz, this power bank is impressively lightweight and features a very small form factor and in fact, it is smaller and lighter weight than any powerbank that I personally own.

Monday, November 2, 2020

Inexpensive Military Tent - Catoma Stealth 1 Tent - First Look


In this episode, Luke is discussing the Catoma Stealth 1 Person Military Tent as it is going into testing now and in fact, the Test Night Episode will be coming up on Thursday as the Stealth 1 will be enduring Hurricane Zeta as it comes into the area!

....

100% Agenda Free : 

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Saturday, October 31, 2020

Survival Overnight Adventure with only a Mylar Emergency Tent and Bivy


This is the second Survival Overnight Adventure and for this episode, Luke the Lone Wolf is headed into the woods with very little in terms of food, gear, clothing, and supplies. 

The focus of this trip is a Mylar Emergency Shelter and Bivy and Luke will show you how to use mylar, how not to, will explain the pros and cons and how it can save your life.

At the same time, he will also explain the marketing BS which surrounds these type of products and how the material can be deadly if used incorrectly.

Mylar is amazing but it isn't what most companies make it out to be!

In this episode you will see a beautiful remote forest, deer, owls, and experience real survival with temps close to freezing with absolutely no overnight gear. .

...

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

Expert Bushcraft, Survival and Wilderness Tips - Part 1


Join Luke as he goes over 16 minutes of extremely important tips that will keep you not only safe but also healthy when you are practicing your outdoor skills.

Topics covered include;

food, water, focus, wilderness, survival, bushcraft, do's and don'ts and will even touch upon the mistakes made by "experts" that you see on tv and online.

This episode is all about increasing your skills as an outdoorsman / outdoorswoman and covers points not often mentioned by others. 

....
100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Opening Stuff You Sent In - Viewer Mail #82


The generosity of our viewers continues to blow us away; thank you all for the kindness which you have blessed us with. 

This is Viewer Mail Episode #82!

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube

Monday, October 26, 2020

My Pick for the Best Ultralight Rain Pants - Outdoor Research Helium Pants


These are some of the lightest and also compact rain pants on the market which make them an excellent choice when packed space and weight are important!

This is the Agenda Free Review of the Outdoor Research Helium Pants.

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

...
Outdoor Research Helium Pants

Agenda Free Link : https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/mens-helium-pants-242968

Price : $119

Weight : 6.3oz

Colors : Black, Gray (pewter) and Coyote Brown

Sizes : XS - XXL

Versions : Mens and Womens

Materials : Pertex® Shield Diamond Fuse 2.5L, 100% nylon, 30D ripstop – YKK AquaGuard Zippers



From the Company :

Building on the legacy of our award-winning Helium Collection, the completely revamped Helium Rain Jacket and Pants take durable lightweight waterproof protection to an entirely new level. Diamond Fuse technology enables the Helium Rain to be 5x more tear-resistant than the Helium II, and an even lighter weight. Completely seam-taped, waterproof, yet still breathable and comfortable in rugged conditions, the new Helium Rain Jacket and Pants will be the first thing any hiker, peak bagger, or off-trail adventurer will pack for the most durable lightweight rain protection.

The 5.4 ounce, Pertex® Shield+ Helium Pants—inspired by our best-selling flash-storm insurance Helium II rain shell—come with all the waterproof performance and lightweight packable protection you’ll need in a serious deluge.

Review Pros :

Durable Impressively Lightweight Waterproof Fully Seam-Taped Good but not great Breathablity – if you push it hard enough you will sweat it in but it offers better performance in this regards than less expensive products.

Good overall fit with pants but could be a bit more spacious; you may want to consider going up in a size – I would classify this as a trim fit so keep that in mind when placing your order if you decide to get a pair. Windproof

Packs down very small YKK AquaGuard Zippers are smooth but do take some work which is a characteristic of a waterproof zipper. Single Separating Center Front Zipper Reflective Logo and Overlay at Forearm Carabiner Loop and Key Clip Elastic Drawcord Hem Elastic Cuffs

surprisingly tough; on some rough hikes where this jacket has been pulled across rocks it has shown no damage.

Review Cons :

Two complaints;

No side pockets – they are missed…

No Easy access to your pant pockets which means that you have to pull down the rain pants to gain access to something that is in your pocket.

Note : This material doesn’t give much in terms of stretching so they may not be a good match for activities which require a high range of motion.

Summary :

What I said about the Helium Jacket applies here as well;

Outdoor Research is a company that makes excellent products and what I really respect about them is that they back up every item they make with a lifetime warranty. I was a fan of the Helium Line when it was first introduced years ago and I’m still a fan today with the latest version.

The quality is excellent. The performance is excellent and in my opinion, it is worth the money 100%.
Something to keep in mind with this jacket is that it is minimalist in terms of design so it lacks some features which may be important to you. Depends on what you want and in the end, I have no problem with recommending it fully.

Again I would like to point out that one should consider sizing up for the pants if they want additional room to maneuver as these pants off a trim fit.

Friday, October 23, 2020

A Lone Wolf Mountain Adventure


Join Luke the Lone Wolf for an adventure up on Lone Wolf Mountain as he works the land and cooks a delicious gourmet meal! 

On the menu, cast iron fried Salmon, Sweet Chili Noodles, and some fried Green Beans!
Amazing!

This is Chronicles Adventure #6!

....

100% Agenda Free

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Smart Design - Japanese Quality - SOTO Thermostack Cook Set Combo


Luke is back with an Agenda Free Review of the SOTO Thermostack Cook Set Combo! This is a unique, smartly designed system of cups and pots which are insulated!

Japanese Quality all the way!
...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or 


... 
SOTO Thermostack Cook Set Combo 

Agenda Free Link : https://sotooutdoors.com/product/thermostack-cook-set-combo/ 

Price : Retail $70 

Components :
750ml Pot with lid
400ml Titanium Cup with lid
350ml Stainless Steel Cup that can be used standalone or to make the 400ml cup a double walled cup – Titanium Cup Lid will also work with the stainless cup
Pot Cozy that also works as a storage bag of sorts for the kit
Pot/Cup Lifter 

Full Kit Storage Size and Weight :
Diameter : 5” tall x 4” wide : 

Total weight : 10.9oz

750 ml/26 oz cup : Weight : 3 oz Material: Aluminum 

400 ml/14 oz cup : Weight : 1.8oz Material : Titanium 

350 ml/12 oz cup : Weight : 3.1oz Material : Stainless steel 

Lifter Dimensions : width 3.4” long, less than an inch wide Weight : 0.6oz

Materials : Aluminum, Stainless steel

Large Lid : Weight : .6oz Materials : Resin, O-ring–Silicon

Small Lid for both the 350 and 400 ml (12 and 14 oz) cups : Weight : .5oz Materials : Body–Resin, O-ring–Silicon

Cozy : Weight: 1.5oz Materials : Tarpaulin, Aluminum evaporated sheet

……………………..

Review Pros :

Price is excellent consider the fact if you were to purchase a 750ml pot and two cups of a similar size, you would pay more than what you will for this kit and you wouldn’t get the cozy, the lifter, nor the double walled functionality

Very lightest

Small form factor

Excellent quality

Pots and Cups are of a good size for most people

Incredibly versatile kit – take with you what you need depending on the trip – you can take the pot for cooking, one cup for coffee or the rest of the kit if you have others with you.

Very smart design

Cozy works as it shouldn’t

Double walled cup does keep contents warm for a long period of time

Pot/cup lifter is excellent

Mesh part of the cozy is big enough to hold a fuel can (read oz on can)

Lids feature drinking ports and pour ports as well

Plenty of room inside of the system for a stove.

Review Cons :

The lifter isn’t doesn’t have a spring in it which makes it a bit more fiddly to pick up and use

Summary :

SOTO has been impressing me for a while now with their unique designs and high quality and this kit impresses. You can head out on your adventure with the full kit or scale it down when you needs are less.
The price is excellent and ultimately, there isn’t much to complain about; I can easily recommend it.

Sunday, October 18, 2020

Gregory Maya 16 Backpack - Real Review




Susie is here today to share her review of the Gregory Maya 16L Backpack; this is the women's version of the Miwok which Luke reviewed some time back and in this episode, she is going over the Pros and Cons as part of her Agenda Free Real World Review.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join


... 
Gregory Maya 16 Backpack Review : 

You can find this pack online at gregorybackpacks.com. The price at the time of filming is $99.95. 

Agenda Free Link : https://www.gregorypacks.com/packs-bags/day-packs/maya-16-111477XXXX.html

The weight of this pack is 1.65lbs and it is a one size adjustable torso pack. 
It will fit torsos from 14 to 19 inches and hips and waists from 27 to 45 inches.

The pack I am using is Mercury Gray, but you can find it in Red, Blue, and Teal.

The materials are :

External Material 100% Nylon Pack Body 210D Honeycomb CryptoRip HD Nylon Pack Bottom 420D High Density Nylon Lining 135D High Density Embossed Polyester Suspension 3D Perforated EVA Foam

Dimensions : 19" x 9.5"

For the features of this pack:

It has a biosync dynamic suspension which means this pack moves and stretches with your body.

It offers the adjustable torso length and a 3d foam breathable back panel.

The hipbelt is women specific and hugs the body while offering dual zippered pockets on either side.

The shoulder harness is also women specific and offers a sternum strap and hydration clip. It is very flexible as well.

There is a sunglasses stow system.

There is a dedicated hydration pocket with a speedclip hydration hangar. This is compatible with the Gregory 3D Hydro reservoir. That specific bladder is not included with this pack.

You have a top zippered soft lined pocket.

An interior mesh zippered pocket with a key clip.

Two side stretch mesh pockets.

One front stretch mesh pocket, buckle closure and reflective webbing.

Trekking pole attachment

Molded webbing keepers for strap management which is nice to have.

Now onto the review of this pack. The Gregory Maya 16 Liter pack is a small pack that offers a lot of features. I like that. It offers excellent organization for all your gear. You have numerous pockets to use. You can easily fit your lunch, rain gear, 3 Liters of water, and still have plenty of space for more. This pack is women specific so I feel that it offers a lot of comfort with it and fits my body well. The recommended weight is 20 lbs for this pack and I agree with it. I have packed it full and have never had any quality issues, but noticed that the heavier it is, the shoulder straps can start to dig into your shoulders. You lose a little bit of comfort obviously with it being heavier. It’s hydration compatible with room on the side for an extra bottle. The hip belt has two pockets on it which Iike so I can keep my items that I go to most often such as my phone and my chapstick. It’s a small pack with a roomy feel.

For the cons of this pack, I will start with price. At $100 and for the size, it is only going to be a daypack. It isn’t the right pack for overnight trips.

Also, the hydration clip that is compatible with the Gregory reservoir may cause issues with other bladders as I clipped one onto it and almost got it stuck on it. I almost broke the clip trying to take it off. Just be aware that the clip may not work with any other bladder easily.

That pretty much covers with the Maya 16 Liter pack from Gregory. I like that this is a women specific pack. It offers so many features for being a daypack. You have comfort, breathability, and organization. It all comes with a bit of a high price, but what do you all think? Let me know your thoughts.

Friday, October 16, 2020

No One Can See Me - Solo Stealth Camp Adventure





Luke the Lone Wolf is out for a Solo Stealth Camping Adventure;

he is dropped off at a remote mountain park and within minutes his plans are shattered and he is forced to come up with a Plan B!

Where will he go?
What will he do?

Some strange events take place on this trip....some of which, can't be explained....

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

I Can't Recommend It - OneTigris ROCUBOID Splicing Wood Burning Stove




This is the OneTigris ROCUBOID Splicing Wood Burning Stove and after testing it out for numerous months, it has become clear that this isn't a product that I can recommend as it simply has too many problems.

In this Agenda Free Review, Luke goes over the Pros, the Cons and why this may not be the right wood burning stove for you.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

...

OneTigris Splicing Wood Burning Stove

Agenda Free Link OneTigris : https://www.onetigris.com/rocuboid-splicing-stove.html

Agenda Free Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/OneTigris-ROCUBOID-Collapsible-Stainless-Weighs/dp/B0899R9CT9

Price : $23

Weight : 1lb 1.8oz

Dimensions :

Folded – 6.1”(L)*6.5”(W)*0.4”(D) (Encased)

Setup - 4.7”(L)*4.7”(W)*6.7”(H)

Material : 304 Stainless Steel, Nylon Fabric Casing

Versions : There is an “evil eyes” version of this stove available which features a slightly larger feeder hole. It is slightly bigger and heavier than the regular version.

Fuel : Can be used as a wood burning stove, stand for your alcohol stove, or a solid fuel burner stand. In my opinion, the stove is a bit heavy and if I was using an alcohol stove or solid fuel, I would leave this behind completely and build something out of rocks or sticks; it would be faster than putting this together and using it.

…..

Review Pros :

Good quality Good price

Good volume burn chamber

Because of the stainless steel materials, alterations can be made easily….or you could buy the evil eyes version which solves some of the issues which this model has.

Good quality pouch

Review Cons :

Surprisingly heavy; heavier than many similar products

Smaller feeder holes

Fiddly setup – there are faster to setup wood stoves

Marketed at being use with an alcohol stove; it’s very heavy for that purpose

Stove requires flat ground for use due to the design; a very significant issue is the way the bottom of the stove sits on the ground. Most backpacking stoves are cut out a little on each of the sides, and essentially only sit on the ground at the corners. With this stove, three of the four plates sit flush on the ground for the whole bottom of the plate. That's fine if you're sitting on a perfectly flat surface, but that practically never happens out in the field. Having fewer contact points on the ground makes it much easier to find a level spot to set the stove. Because of the way this stove fits together, the front and back sections just sliding down to connect with the side sections, they can easily lift up as the stove tries to adjust to ground it isn't perfectly level on all four sides, which, under the worst of circumstances could actually cause the stove to Fall apart. even at the corners, the plates that are sliding down to fit would be better off cut so they don't even contact at the corners, just allow the side plates to make contact at those corners.

Summary :

After testing this product out for a while now, my thoughts are this;

it’s a functional stove and the price is good but it has issues which many other wood stoves don’t have; it’s a good first try at a collapsible wood stove but it would be my advice to wait until a version 3 comes out. There is the evil eyes version which is a version 2 but it only fixes some of the issues which this stove has. There are also stoves which require less fiddling to get it together than this, there are lighter weight stoves and that perform better than this so I would recommend researching and considering other options before making any purchase.

Monday, October 12, 2020

Onewind Quilt Review - Helikon-Tex Alternative?



Interested in seeing a much less expensive alternative to the Swagman Roll from Helikon-Tex?

This is the Onewind Quilt which shares in many of the same features which makes the Swagman Roll so capable/versatile but costs a lot less.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Onewind Top Quilt Review -

Agenda Free Link : https://www.onewindoutdoors.com/products/topquilt-winter-poncho

Amazon Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/onewind-Topquilt-Ultralight-40F%EF%BC%8CCompact-Backpacking/dp/B07YTH2TS3

Sizes : 86”X55” and 78”x55”

Pack Size : 11” X 6”

Colors : Olive Green with Black inside

Temp Ranges : 50f to 70f and 40F to 60F

Price : Retail price on the OneWind site is $69 for the 78” - $70 for the 86” The 40F version at 78” is $70

Price on Amazon is lower

Weight of the 78” 50F Model : 2lbs 1oz

Includes : Compression bag and Quilt

….

Materials :

20D 400T 1.1oz Nylon Fabric

Teflon treated to resist stains and features a DWR treatment

Sustans Insulation which is made by Dupont; this is made from plant fibers- I’m impressed with this insulation as it punches well above its weight class.

From the Company : The lightweight nylon top quilts are with DWR materials and water-resistant, keep you all night dry and warm, you can use the hammock quilt as blankets, warm poncho when both camping and backpacking, making it a versatile option for your four-season hammock sleeping system


This topquilt shell fabric and lining fabric are 20D 400T ultralight(1.1 oz) nylon fabric. The shell fabric is Dupont Teflon (DWR, protects from stains), Fabrics and quilt fillers are ultralight materials with a total weight of only 1.8LBS for Size 78"*56" With a compression bag, the compact Top quilt is packable easily into the 11"*6".

…….

Can be used as;

- Blanket
- Quilt
- Poncho
- Top Quilt

Single Snap at the top

Multiple Snaps for the footbox along with a drawpull

Strap and buckles to secure when wearing as a poncho

Snaps to head hole

Review Pros :

Versatile-can be used in many ways. - Works for ground sleepers and hammock users Easy to vent if you are getting warm

Price is excellent!

Good size for most people- easy to stay covered

Weight is also very good

Material is comfortable against the skin

Warmth; far warmer than what I was expecting. It’s rated for 50F but I have taken into the mid 40’s and was still warm. Your mileage will vary but 50F is accurate for most people. Excellent quality all around with only Minor loose threads here and there Good compression bag; it works and compresses quite small

No hood which allows for a seamless blanket/quilt use – with other similar products, I have never used the hood myself.

Review Cons :

For some, a lack of hood could be a negative.

I would love to see snaps all the way to the top of the blanket so it could be used as a sleeping bag of sorts

It lacks a way to secure itself to a sleeping pad so that the user can toss and turn without it moving with them

Compression bag could be a bit bigger and that would make getting the blanket into it with a sloppy roll.

Because the nylon material is silky, rolling it tight enough to fit can be problematic.

Friday, October 9, 2020

A Strong Storm Forces me to Setup Camp - Solo Adventure




A powerful cold front is approaching the high mountains and Luke the Lone Wolf is out in the middle of nowhere facing the elements while exploring old farm land;

A storm is coming that will force him to take shelter!

Strong Winds! Heavy Rain! Lightning! Adventure!


....


100% Agenda Free :


This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.


Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

Inexpensive DIY Overland and Camping Toilet System




As a couple who have spent decades Overlanding and Camping across the country, we have used countless camp toilets and none of them come close to the system which we have put together ourselves.

This is an inexpensive DUY system which can be used by anyone for any purpose ranging from Overlanding to Car Camping!

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

Agenda Free Gear Links :

Camco Portable Toilet Bucket with Seat and Lid Attachment : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B075BZVVLD

UltraSac Contractor Trash Bags : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DH4IUMQ 

Reliance Products Bio-Blue Toilet Deodorant Chemicals : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0011MXVD4

Monday, October 5, 2020

Test Night! Rain and Storms with the Wildlands UL2 Tent




This is Test Night with the Wildlands Outdoor Gear UL2 Tent;

Will it Leak?

How does it manage with AirFlow and Condensation?

How is the quality of the tent?

Are there any issues?

Find out now!

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Friday, October 2, 2020

River Camping Wilderness Adventure - Mysterious Forest




In this Overnight Adventure the The Outdoor Gear Review is backpacking through an old hand planted forest (never seen anything like it before) to camp next to the 2nd oldest river in the world!

Following closely behind is Hurricane Beta....Rain is on the way!

...

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Jackery Explorer 1000 Power Station - Real Overland Review




When It comes to products like this, you will often times find videos on Youtube which amount to nothing more than unboxings but with TOGR we do things differently;

I've been testing this product for over 6 months, I've taken it across the country to Colorado and have relied on it for countless adventures into the middle of nowhere and I have a lot to share.

This is a real overland review of the Jackery Explorer 1000 Power Station. Also, I review the Jackery 100w Solar Panels.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR


...

Jackery Explorer 1000 Review

Agenda Free Link Explorer 1000 : https://www.jackery.com/products/explorer-1000-portable-power-station

Agenda Free Link Solar Panels : https://www.jackery.com/products/solarsaga-100w-solar-panel

Price : $1000

Weight : 22lbs Dimensions : 13.1 x 9.17 x 11.1”

Capacity : 1002Wh (21.6V, 46.4Ah)

Output Max : 1000W Continuous, 2000W Max

Battery Type : Li-ion NMC

Protection Systems : Over Voltage Protection, Short Circuit Protection and so on.

Ports :

USB A : Two USB-A ports (5V 2.4A,Quick Charge 3.0)

USB C : Two USB-C ports PD18W (5V 3A / 9V 2A / 12V 1.5A)

AC : 3*110VAC, 60Hz, 1000W Continuous, 2000W Max

DC : DC 12V, up to 10A

Operating Temp Range : 14-104F – I’ve had this running in temps around 102F with no issues.

Included : 1* Jackery Explorer 1000 Portable Power Station, 1*AC Adapter, 1* Car Charger Cable, 1*SolarSaga Parallel Adapter Cable, 1* User Guide

Review Pros :

Excellent quality – I’ve had no issues with this device; it has always worked flawlessly with no errors nor problems

3 standard PURE SINE WAVE AC outlets

Multiple ways to charge – Wall, DC, Solar

Power Levels is in percentages and not bars; bars are absolutely pointless and will get you into trouble as you will never be able to know exactly how much power you have left. Also, you won’t be able to determine how much power something that you plug in is being used.

1000w limit is great for running multiple items and appliances all at once and for running appliances that are under 1000w range.

Excellent Warranty – easy to contact the company via their web site and also via phone. Not all companies who make and sell power stations provide a phone number to call.

Dual Solar panel adapter cable included

Quick Charging via all methods;

8 hours by connecting two SolarSaga 100W solar panels together with an adapter cable

16 hours to charge via a single panel -

Solar Charge times are very much subjective and will be based on solar intensity, direction and so on.

Time for full recharging is approximately 7 hours from an AC outlet

11 hours from 12v car ports but your mileage will vary as there are differences in vehicles.

Features an Anderson Power port so you can use solar panels with this system

Good weight : I have larger power stations but they are a chore to move as they are very heavy. 22Lbs, isn’t bad

If charging via your start battery when the vehicle isn’t running, it does have built in protection so that you have enough juice to start. I don’t recommend doing this as you should drain your start battery.

Silent operation

Simple power solution for those who don’t want to mess with a dual battery system.

Review Cons :

Wattage usage can be slow to present on the lcd screen.

Flashlight isn’t super reliable.

Review Summary :

Without a doubt, the Jackery brand is the one Power Station Brand that I can easily recommend as it checks off all of the boxes for what I feel makes an excellent power station.

Lots of power, excellent peak wattage range, reliable, lots of ways to charge, quick to charge, power levels are in percentages, and can be charged via dc 12v.

1000wh is an excellent capacity for overlanding and also for emergency use; speaking of which, I’ve ran this station for months now and not once have I had any issues. I use it mainly to power my DC fridge/freezer and it has been excellent.

Monday, September 28, 2020

Real Review - Helikon-Tex Swagman Roll Blanket - Sleeping Bag - Poncho -...




This is the Helikon-Tex Swagman Roll;

Blanket, Sleeping Bag, UnderQuilt, Poncho Liner and in this episode Luke is giving his Agenda Free Review!

Pros and Cons after 6+ months of use!

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

Helikon-Tex Swagman Roll Review


Agenda Free Link : https://www.helikon-tex.us/swagman-roll-poncho.html

Price : $126.

Colors : 3 shades of Green, Black, Coyote, Flecktarn, Wildwood,

Claimed Weight : 1.64lbs

Actual Weight : 1lbs 11.4oz with storage bag

Storage Bag weight : 1oz

Bag weight : 1lb 10.4oz

Included : Blanket, Stuff bag

Measurements Blanket Mode :

55” wide

79” long

Measure Meants Sleeping Bag Mode :

27.5” Wide

79” long

Measurements when stuffed :

6.5”

12” long Materials : Dupont Teflon fabric protector and extra warm liner filled with Climashield Apex insulating material , YKK zippers,

Insulation : Climashield Insulation - Proven performance in side-by-side comparisons of warmth-to-weight ratio and durability is the reason Climashield® has supplied the U.S. Armed Forces for over 30 years.

Review Pros :

Excellent insulation for temps down to around $50. This is of course subjective for everyone but once the temps went into the 40’s, I was getting cold. I’ve heard from some viewers who were told by other youtubers that this would take them comfortably into the 30’s. That’s not true at all; I’ve confirmed this with my own testing and with the experiences of those viewers who I spoke it. You might be able to push it down into the 30’s but you would have to be wearing some seriously warm layers. Realistically, 50f is the comfort zone.

Excellent quality.

Awesome design

Very functional

Easy to use as a blanket, sleeping bag, sleeping bag liner, poncho, great for hammock in warm weather

Is fully USGI poncho compatible

Hood is warm

Very good price.

Small form factor – larger than a woobie blanket but it is more versatile.

Sheds water thanks to a DWR coating

hood is adjustable

Review Cons :

My biggest con is size; for wider individual it could be an issue. Not height wise as it is 79” long, but it is rather narrow at 27.5” If you have wide shoulders or are just a big individual, it may be too small. For myself, length wise it fits fine but width wise, it is at the point of being uncomfortable. I have a shoulder diameter of 48” and if you are any larger than that, it will be too tight.

Nylon material is what I would label as civilian grade; not military. While I haven’t had any issues and I don’t see any reason why I would, I have seen reports of some rips and tearing online with hard use. I’ve read that the outer and inner materials not not mil-spec.

Smallish head hole size; big heads or wearing a hat it may be snug if not impossible. Also, small face hole.

Summary :

Do I recommend this product? Absolutely! This is another product from Helikon that is absolutely top notch. The quality is excellent, very versatile, price is reasonable, warm for what it is, great form factor and it is everything that the Woobie blanket isn’t and I have no problem recommending it.

Again, for wide individuals using this in sleeping bag mode may be impossible. For myself, it’s right at the point of being uncomfortable. I can make it work but I wish there was more space. Keep that in mind before purchasing and also, keep in mind the temp range. Realistically, 50f comfort. Don’t listen to nonsense; commonsense will tell you that this won’t keep you warm at 30f unless you have VERY warm clothing layers….if you do, that makes you wider and it may not fit.

Friday, September 25, 2020

Solo Stealth Camping Adventure in a Park




This Stealth Camp Solo Adventure begins with Luke the Lone Wolf being dropped off at a park on the outskirts of a city. From there he connects, travels, and crosses multiple trails, roads and fields as he remains hidden...

Hiding in Plain Sight!

Rain is on the way and his goal is to get in and out before it hits....but things don't go according to plan....

...

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Junk! - Walmart Lithic 65L Expedition Backpack – Review






Luke has been testing out the Walmart Lithic Backpack for months now and it is time to pass on his review of a product that should be avoided.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

Walmart Lithic 65L Expedition Backpack – Review

Agenda Free Link : https://www.walmart.com/ip/LITHIC-65L-Expedition-Pack/285548223

Price : $98.00

Colors : Black

Sizes : 40l, 50l, 65l,


Weight : 4lbs 4oz

Measurements : 14.1x12.6x30.7 in

Materials : Duraflex buckles, 200D Nylon – NO NAME Zippers

...

Review Pros :

If the quality was better, the design of this backpack wouldn’t be bad. It has all of the features and pockets that the average backpacker would need.

Good amount of pockets so you can organize as you please. 9 pockets in total; for some reason Moosejaw and Walmart claim 11 but that isn’t accurate.

Strap keepers!

Lid is floating so you can raise and lower it as your loadout changes.

Two access points; top and side – Awesome.

Good looks

Adjustable for different torso lengths

Rain fly is included

The shoulder harness padding and waist belt is thick and comfortable….but not thick and comfortable enough to make up for the issues with the pack frame.

Review Cons :

All of the pros that I mentioned mean absolutely nothing if the backpack isn’t comfortable to wear and it isn’t!

My issue with this pack is the frame-sheet and the stays which make up the support of the suspension system. It’s so weak that depending on how you wear the pack, it can literal bow away from your back which puts virtually all of the weight on your shoulders while stressing your spine. I’ve taken this pack out for 2 overnight trips which amounted to about 22 miles of hiking and I won’t be doing any more. It’s simply uncomfortable and as you adjust the load-lifters the pack isn’t rigid enough to handle those adjustments and bows and flexes away from you body.

If you take a look at the pack, the top is completely limp and offers no support for the load-lifters to be used. It shouldn’t be like this as this renders them useless.

Then if you look at the middle of the frame-sheet, the sides are the same way. Very weak and flimsy. Only the very center is rigid and that isn’t enough to support this pack.

If you can wear it with no load lifter adjustment and it is comfortable, this pack may be somewhat more comfortable than what I experienced but I like having the loadout pulled up and towards me just a bit to be comfortable with most backpacks.

Hip pocket are small and only very small, very slim items will fit in them.

Feels cheap and as you look around the pack you will see that it doesn’t feel very sturdy

Outside of the pack has a daisy chain of looping on the front; if you look at the inside of what it has been sewn to, you will find this mess of stitching and fabric for whatever you put in this pocket to get caught on. I’ve had items get caught on this and the lower section of the fabric ripped.

The pack was designed to be hydration compatible but it isn’t really. There is ports for hoses but there isn’t a clip or strap to hold the bladder but it looks like there was meant to be one. There is a strap which is sewn and is completely useless hanging on the inside.

There is no dedicated sleeping bag pocket – for me this isn’t that big of deal but for some it might be. Where the sleeping bag pocket should be is a small pocket which is absolutely useless once you put anything in side of your pack. As it fills up that space, the zippered pocket becomes so tight that it can’t be used.

The lid cinch is in a really weird place and in fact, I don’t know if I have ever seen another company do this before. It’s not centered at the top of the pack, it’s off to the side and it does in fact make opening this pack slightly more difficult than it needs to be. Also the cincher is terrible and more times than not, result in your unzipping the side of the pack instead of opening the top of the pack.

Speaking of which, if you are going to implement a side zip, you have to have a snap or a clip to tension it so you can unleash the pack or every time that you go to do so, it unzips instead.

Due to the design, it is difficult to seal up the top of the pack and you’ll waste time messing with it.

Monday, September 21, 2020

Opening Stuff You Sent In - Viewer Mail #81




The generosity of our viewers continues to blow us away; thank you all for the kindness which you have blessed us with.

This is Viewer Mail Episode #81!

...

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Friday, September 18, 2020

Rain....Lots of Rain! - Testing Grounds 5 Solo Camping Adventure




This is Testing Grounds...

A Solo Camping Adventure featuring all sorts of new gear which Luke is currently testing out and amongst those products the focus is on the OneTigris Outback Retreat tent which horrifically failed!

Rain is on the way.....how bad can this possibly be?

Gear in this adventure includes companies such as;

OneTigris

Helikon-Tex

Military Surplus

SOTO

DeWalt

and More.


...

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon
: https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Winners Announcements - $100 Gift Card, Hammocks, Pillows





Wolf Pack!

It is time to announce the winners of the recent giveaways!

This includes the winner of the $100 REI Gift Card, the Winners of the Hammocks and the Pillows!

Thank you all for supporting TOGR!

....

Special Thank You :

A special thank you goes out to all who made this possible!

...

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Monday, September 14, 2020

OneTigris Roc Shield Bushcraft Tent - First Look and Thoughts So Far




This is the OneTigris Roc Shield Bushcraft Tent and my testing of this shelter has begun; in this Episode Luke is going over a number of setup possibilities and his initial thoughts after a few trips out.



Agenda Free Link : https://www.onetigris.com/roc-shield-bushcraft-tent.html 

Price : $159 

Material: 75D Nylon Fabric, YKK Zippers, Aluminum Stakes and Poles 

Dimensions Folded : 23”x6”x6” 

Waterproof Rating : 1500mm 

Adjustable Height : 4.1ft or 5.2ft 

Weight : 7lb 

Tent Pole Material : 7075 Aluminum 

Package Includes the Following
OneTigris ROC SHIELD Bushcraft Tent 
Tent Stakes : 14 
Guy-line : 10 
Tent Pole : 4 
Stuff Sack : 1 

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Friday, September 11, 2020

Rest Area Camping - USA Overlanding Adventure - Part 2




The Overlanding Colorado trip picks up immediately following the EPIC Overnight Adventure upon Notch Mountain which is part of the Holy Cross Wilderness!

In this episode, Luke and Susie begin by finding a campsite so that they can clean up after a week on the road. From there, some decisions have to be made!

What to do Next!


Tuesday, September 8, 2020

The Slip Knot - My Favorite Knot - How to Tie and How to Use




This is the Slip Knot which happens to be my Go To knot for many applications and once mastered it can greatly improve your bushcraft and outdoor skills greatly!

In this episode Luke shows you how to tie it, how to use it and more.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Monday, September 7, 2020

Will It Leak? LiteFighter 1 Person Military Tent -Test Night






This is Test Night with the LiteFighter 1 Person Military Tent; Will it Leak?

How does it manage with AirFlow and Condensation?

Find out now!

.... 
100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

LiteFighter Tent Agenda Free Link : http://www.litefighter.com/product/litefighter-1-shelter-system/

Friday, September 4, 2020

☠️ Backpacking Colorado's Bermuda Triangle - Holy Cross Wilderness




In this episode, The Outdoor Gear Review is out West backpacking what is known as the Bermuda Triangle of Colorado!

People Go Missing and are NEVER to be seen again.
Plane Crashes
Death!

This is an epic adventure in some incredibly beautiful mountains and we hope that you enjoy it!

...

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon
: https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Best Camping Utensils - Custom Cutlery Set




After the FinessCity Cutlery set review that I did recently, I had numerous viewers asking what I personally use and that is what this video is all about.

I go over two types of long handle spoons and an incredibly sharp Opinel Knife.

This is what is in my kit and why!

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR 

...

The Cutlery Set That I Use :

TOAKS Titanium Long Handle Spork with Polished Bowl :

Toaks Titanium Sport Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/TOAKS-Titanium-Handle-Spork-Polished/dp/B01M69WHEA

Toaks Price : $13 at the time of filming on Amazon

Toaks Weight : 0.6oz

Measurements : 8.5”

Note : Toaks no longer offers a non-polished version of this Spork….or at least I couldn’t find one when getting all of the details together. My preference would be for a polished bowl over a non-polished one.


Stoic Ti Spoon : No Longer Available 

TOAKS Titanium Long Handle Spoon with Polished Bowl 

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/TOAKS-Titanium-Handle-Polished-SLV-11/dp/B00J1BV01C

Price : $11

Weight : 0.5oz

Measurements : 8.5”

Note : Toaks offers an unpolished version of the spoon for a $1 less.

Pros for Both :

- Ultralight weight. 
- Excellent quality. 
- Have held up extremely well over the years with absolutely no problems. 
- No weird issues with taste nor smell like with some cheaper products 
- Excellent length – long enough that you can easily eat from a freeze dried meal bag without nastying up your knuckles or having to cut the top of the bag off 
- Also great for eating MRE’s out of their packages. 
- Easy to clean 
- Hasn’t stained 
- Good prices

Cons :

Not really a con but I think it is fair to say that there is likely one manufacture for both of these items and likely the offerings from other companies. The Toaks products, those by Stoic, Core, Tito and so on all share in the exactly same design. If it was me, I would stick with the more well known brands….such as Toaks which has been tested thoroughly by individuals like myself.

Toaks claims that their products are designed in CA but made in China; it must be designed by someone other than Toaks because everyone has the same design.

…….

Knife :

Opinel No. 8 Folder

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Opinel-Pocket-Folding-Knife-Black/dp/B07F7BR52S
Cost : $20

Excellent folder for cutting and process food. Makes a good forest knife as well in a pinch.

Famous!



Sunday, August 30, 2020

Walmart Lithic 35F Down Sleeping Bag – Review






Luke has been testing out the Walmart Lithic Sleeping Bag which claims to be a down filled 35F bag but it's not!

Also, the quality of this products is of a MAJOR concern!


But, could it be used by some?

Find out in this Agenda Free Review now!

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

...

Walmart Lithic 35F Down Sleeping Bag – Review :

Agenda Free Link : https://www.walmart.com/ip/LITHIC-35-Degree-Down-Sleeping-Bag/272974045

Price : Retail $130, on sale at the time of filming for $110

Claimed Weight : 1lb 14oz

Actual Weight : 1lb 14oz

Stuff Sack Weight : .6oz

Claimed Insulation : 400 grams of 600 Fill power down

Materials : 20D Nylon Shell which has been treated with water repellent coating. Ykk zippers.

Included : Sleeping bag, stuff sack and mesh storage bag.

Claimed Comfort Temp Range : 35F

Claimed Pushed Range : 25F

Claimed Extreme Range : -5F

Pockets : One on collar

Measurements :

Length : 82” Shoulder Width : 29” Footbox Width : 19” Stuff Sack Size : 7.5 x 14.5”

Zip : Right Side

From the Company :

The LITHIC 35-Degree Down Sleeping Bag is an ultralight sleeping bag for 3-season backpacking trips. Insulated with 600 fill power down, it weighs less than two pounds and compresses into a water resistant stuff sack to keep bulk to a minimum. The 20D polyester shell fabric features a water-repellent finish to protect the precious down and preserve warmth in wet or humid conditions. Other features include a no snag zipper, which allows you to get in and drift off to dreamland with ease. All of that, and it won’t bust a hole in your wallet.

Review Pros
:

Light weight! Good quality stuff bag. Good quality storage bag. Zipper is smooth running with little catching Can be used as a quilt in warmer conditions thanks to the long zipper. One year warranty….which you might want and have to use considering how much down is being lost by this bag.

Review Cons :

Questionable quality; lots of loose threads.

Quality of the nylon material has to be questioned as I have begun experiencing a large amount of down loss. On my last trip out with this bag, I was absolutely covered in feathers. So many that my wife even commented on it. “you are covered in feathers.”

Not 100% down fill.

Not nearly as warm as claimed.

Friday, August 28, 2020

Overland Camping Across the Country - 3 Day Adventure to Colorado




Traveling across the USA and truck camping along the way.

Our first stop is in Illinois and our second is in Kansas!  Our 3rd night is in the mountains of Colorado as smoke from the quickly growing forest fires come into the area.

This is our longest trip yet in Drifter, our Toyota Tundra and it proved itself to be excellent!


In this episode, we experience it all;
Heat,
Storms,
Mountains and more!

Next week will be part 2 and involves backpacking into the high mountains of the Holy Cross Wilderness which is known as the Bermuda Triangle of Colorado.

By the way, thank you all for the amazing emails and messages concerning this video, we really appreciate it.


Wednesday, August 26, 2020

For the Minimalist - 2020 Outdoor Research Helium Jacket




Today Luke is reviewing one of the lightest rain jackets ever made; this is the Agenda Free Review of the 2020 Outdoor Research Helium Jacket.

....

100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers;
No Store. No Affiliates. No Sponsors. No BS!

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

Ultralight Rain Jacket2020 Outdoor Research Helium Jacket

Agenda Free Link : https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/mens-jackets/mens-helium-rain-jacket-275386?cat=368

Price : $159.00

Weight : 6.3oz

Colors : Black, Orange, Blue

Sizes : Small - XXL

Versions : Mens and Womens

Materials : Pertex® Shield Diamond Fuse 2.5L, 100% nylon, 30D ripstop – YKK AquaGuard Zippers




From the Company :

Building on the legacy of our award-winning Helium Collection, the completely revamped Helium Rain Jacket and Pants take durable lightweight waterproof protection to an entirely new level. Diamond Fuse technology enables the Helium Rain to be 5x more tear-resistant than the Helium II, and an even lighter weight. Completely seam-taped, waterproof, yet still breathable and comfortable in rugged conditions, the new Helium Rain Jacket and Pants will be the first thing any hiker, peak bagger, or off-trail adventurer will pack for the most durable lightweight rain protection.

Review Pros :

Durable Impressively Lightweight Waterproof Fully Seam-Taped Very good Breathablity – if you push it hard enough you will sweat it in but it offers better performance in this regards than less expensive products.


Good hood adjustability Windproof


Good fit; what I would call standard; it’s not too tight nor too loose


Sizing is right – it’s a medium and it fits like a medium should


Packs down very small - Chest Pocket Doubles as Stuff Sack Adjustable Hood YKK AquaGuard Zippers are smooth but do take some work which is a characteristic of a waterproof zipper. Single Separating Center Front Zipper Reflective Logo and Overlay at Forearm Carabiner Loop and Key Clip Elastic Drawcord Hem Elastic Cuffs

surprisingly tough; on some rough hikes where this jacket has been pulled across rocks it has shown no damage.

Review Cons :

Two complaints -

This jacket would be perfect if it only had pit zips but unfortunately it doesn’t. Luckily the breatability isn’t all that bad to begin with thanks to the Pertex material.


No side pockets – they are missed...but it is a minimalist jacket

If you wear the jacket without a long sleeve shirt or other layer, the material will feel clammy and slightly sticky as soon as you put it on.

Summary :

Outdoor Research is a company that makes excellent products and what I really respect about them is that they back up every item they make with a lifetime warranty. I was a fan of the Helium Line when it was first introduced years ago and I’m still a fan today with the latest version.

The quality is excellent. The performance is excellent and in my opinion, it is worth the money 100%.

Something to keep in mind with this jacket is that it is minimalist in terms of design so it lacks some features which may be important to you. Depends on what you want and in the end, I have no problem with recommending it fully.

Helium Pants : My review of the pant counterpart will be coming up shortly so make sure to look out for that.

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

What Is That Smell? - FinessCity Titanium Cutlery Set - Spoon Fork Knife




Today Luke is reviewing a Spoon, Fork and Knife kit which he doesn't recommend! The quality isn't there and that smell.....

This is the Agenda Free Review of the FinessCity Titanium Cutlery Set.

....
100% Agenda Free :

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

...

FinessCity Titanium Cutlery Set Review


Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Titanium-Utility-Cutlery-Lightweight-Eco-Friendly/dp/B077RGX38D

Cost : $20

Weight : 2.2oz

Version : There is 3 versions of this utility set; 3 piece which you see here. 4 piece which includes chop sticks 5 piece which includes a straw and brush for cleaning.

Pros :

Compact set Lightweight Has everything one person could need as far as your main utensils go.

The utensils have held up well with my use...but I can’t say that the quality is good.

Thickness is good enough to eat and to cut any food item.


Price is good and this set is $3 dollars less expensive than the Toaks version which is virtually the same. The Toaks version doesn’t screw together but it does feature carabiner. The Finesscity set is $10 cheaper than the Esbit version which looks to be basically the same as the Toaks version.

With some looking, it wouldn’t surprise me if you could find a set which is very similar; some may even be sold for a few dollars less.

Keith, Core, Valtcan

Gets the job done

Cons :

Questionable quality : poorly cut spoon with uneven dimensions. While the set does screw together and is a neat package, it does take a few moments to unscrew the set and to get what you need. In other words, it takes more time to use it than with some other solutions.

With the focus of this kit being as lightweight as possible, each utensil is rather short and wouldn’t be a good fit for those who like to eat mountain house meals or other camping meal straight from a bag.

Knife is functional and will cut through food products with enough work but isn’t especially sharp. Teeth could be more aggressive.

As an FYI, most of the reviews on Amazon are fake for this set: I noticed it immediately and sites that analyze Amazon reviews confirmed it; roughly 40% of the reviews are fake.

Screwing the set together can be a little awkward.

The set has a slightly rough finish to them and when eating you will feel that texture in your mouth; it’s not bad but some people may not like it. There are other titanium products on the market where the spoon and fork are polished and they are in fact, nicer products in my opinion.

There is an odor which I believe comes from the coating of the set; it smells of very cheap metal and it remains on your fingers after handling the set which I really don’t like.

Coating stains easily and is rubbing off.

...

Summary :


Do I recommend this set?

It’s not a bad set but in my opinion it has enough cons where I would consider other options. It is light, functional but I don’t like the fact that after using the set that my fingers have a slight strange smell to them; it makes you wonder what is going into your food and also, into your mouth.

It should be mentioned that I have plenty of titanium cutlery items and none have such an issue.

My advice is to go with another cutlery set as you are able to get more and better for the money.