Friday, May 17, 2019

My Favorite Hammock Tip that Everyone Should Do



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This happens to be my favorite hammock tip and if your hammock has a mesh bug net this is going to make your life a whole lot easier.

This is Backpacking Basics!


Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Backpacking and Hiking Concealed Carry Pouch - Zpacks Pouch





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about the Concealed Carry system which I personally use whether I'm out on a day hike or a backpacking trip.


Link : https://zpacks.com/products/belt-pouch


Monday, May 13, 2019

My Favorite Tent Tip - Backpacking Basics





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

If I could go back in time and give myself some advice in relation to tents and backpacking, it would be this!

This is Backpacking Basics and this is my favorite tent tip!


Friday, May 10, 2019

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

How Bad Can It Be? - Alps Mountaineering Lynx 1 Tent - Setup




Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being able to see how easy a tent is to pitch is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Alps Mountaineering Lynx 1 Tent.

Link :  http://www.alpsmountaineering.com/products/tents/backpacking-tents/lynx-1




Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Maxwell Edition 1 - Viewer Mail Episode #59



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR


This is the very first episode of the Maxwell Edition of Viewer Mail!
Maxwell, I can't thank you enough for all that you have done.
I hope that you all are ready to see some Military Surplus!

Also, in this episode we prove that Turkeys love Viewer Mail too!  :D


Monday, May 6, 2019

Spring 2019 Campfire Chronicles : Episode 5



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time for a Campfire Chronicles episode; I can't believe that it has been so long!
In this episode, I discuss Maddie, Moose, Youtube, and more while testing out a new Bushcraft Stove.


Friday, May 3, 2019

The Lost Community - 32 Water Crossings - Overnight Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Luke and Susie's most recent overnight adventure which involves the Lost Community where lives were lost in the 1916 flood.

Enjoy the adventure and see what remains to this day over 100 years later!


Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Spring Adventure - Gear Loadout




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan and I are gearing up for another adventure; join us as we pack our bags and talk about why we are using the gear which we are.

Monday, April 29, 2019

Test Night Returns! - Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 Tent



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the first Test Night video of 2019 and it involves the Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 tent!  How will it perform with a night of rain?

Find out now!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/clearwing-2/




Friday, April 26, 2019

Before You Buy - Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 Tent - Setup




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Before you buy any tent it is important to check on the setup process; how easy or how complex is it?

This is the Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 setup video!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/clearwing-2/




Thursday, April 25, 2019

M1008 CUCV Military Truck Daily Driver 2019 Update



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's 2019 and I've had Moose as my daily driver for almost 3 years now and today, I'm giving you all an update on the old military truck.


Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Why I Adventure in the Outdoors




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently in one of my overnight adventures, I received a comment from a guy who asked why I went through all of the effort which I did just to camp out in a nasty storm.  At the time, I didn’t think much about the question but the other day I was thinking about it and that was actually a good question and it is one which I will answer for the channel in the form of a video.


Monday, April 22, 2019

Workhorse NiteCore NU32 Rechargeable Headlamp - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time to review the NiteCore NU32 Headlamp; this is a true Trail Review, not an overview which some channels present as it covers the Pros and Cons and whether this is a good fit for you.



Link : https://www.nitecorestore.com/NITECORE-NU32-550-Lumen-LED-Rechargeable-Headlamp-p/fl-nite-nu32-bk.htm

Price : $40; more if you want to add a USB AC & Car Power Adapters
Weight : 3.6oz including band

Dimensions: Length - 2.48" (63mm)

Head Size - 1.71" (43.5mm)

Battery: 1800 mAh, Li-on

5 LEDS

NITECORE NU32

Max output of 550 lumens with up to 136 yards of throw

3 output sources: White LED, Red Auxiliary LEDs, High CRI Auxiliary LEDs

4 brightness levels and 2 special modes (SOS and Beacon) of white light


Friday, April 19, 2019

I Feel Terrible - Viewer Mail episode #58



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Folks I have no idea how I overlooked this package for this long!
This is Viewer Mail episode #58 and as always, I am incredibly thankful!


Thursday, April 18, 2019

Osprey Packs UL Packing Cube Set - Kit Bag Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Osprey Packs UL Packing Cube Set!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06VVVMYC6

Weight : 2.3oz for all three bags

Price : $38

Colors : Shadow Grey which has a hint of green to it and a neon green which they call electric lime

In most cases you will see these bags being used with traveling and while they work great for that purpose, they also work exceptionally well for hiking, backpacking, and so on.

40D Nylon Ripstop
YKK zippers

Created with travel and off road adventure in mind, the Ultralight Packing Cube Set from Osprey are designed to keep adventure packing simple. Created with a rectangular shape for efficient packing, zippered top access pockets and webbed grab handles, the pack set is ready for your next adventure. – Weight of all three bags :

Size small: 1 Litre/15g
Medium: 2L/20g
large: 5L/30g

Kit bags are a great way to keep your gear organized within your backpack; you can have a power kit, fire kit, clothing bag and so on.


Cons :

The only real con for these bags is the cost; $38

that’s Kifaru pricing but the quality is good, the warranty is the best in the busy and these bags are very unfunctional without adding any real weight to your pack.

The Osprey web site continues with the theme of odd and inaccurate information.  For this product the site didn’t include any product specs, and it claimed that a selling point was that the zippers secure the contents.  Yeah osprey, I guess the zippers do secure the contents….thanks for letting us know.


Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Fenix CL26R Rechargeable Camping Lantern Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time for my review of the Fenix CL26R Lantern;

is it worth your hard earned money?

Find out Now!

Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-cl26r-high-performance-rechargeable-camping-lantern/


Sunday, April 14, 2019

Snake Island - Kayaking Adventure





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Kayaking Adventure to 'Snake Island' and I hope that you all enjoy it just as much as I did.

...

:: Kayak Adventure Gear List ::
Emotion Glide Kayak

Carlisle Day Tripper Aluminum Kayak Paddle - 2 Piece (Black/Silver, 220 cm)

Yakgrips Kayak Paddle Grips

Outdoor Products Large Watertight Box

Gerber 05640 River Shorty Knife

O'Neill Superlite USCG Vest (Blk)

Outdoor Products Rafter 50L Weather Defense Duffel

Hammock - Hennessy Ultralite Backpacker Asym Zip

Jacks are better High Sierra Sniveller

Stakes - Shock Cord Lines

Sealline Dry Bag

Cheap Water shoes

Power bag

Fire Kit -Stove – pots - Spoon

Misc kit

Sunblock

Ombraz Armless Sunglasses

Sealskinz Sunhat

Chapstick – Sunblock

BeFree Water Filter Bag 3L

1L Nalgeen


Friday, April 12, 2019

I'm Keeping This Forever! - Viewer Mail Episode #57




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wow!

I am going to keep this Forever!
This is Viewer Mail Episode #57.
I'm thankful!

Link to the plaque video;
https://youtu.be/sgrgtpUjSGs

Thursday, April 11, 2019

My Gear Collection and Storage - 2019



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It's 2019 and this is what my gear collection and storage is looking like.
Also, thank you to everyone who has sent me pics of the gear storage; awesome!

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

The Final Word - AmazonBasics 55L Backpack Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the episode that Youtube doesn't want you to see (limited Ads)!

This is the Final World on the AmazonBasics 55L Backpack which includes my full review of this piece of junk!

Link : https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Internal-Hiking-Backpack-Rainfly/dp/B077P17P2N


Monday, April 8, 2019

Winner Announcements - Fenix CL26R Lantern Giveaway




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

3 Lucky Winners are going to receive Fenix CL26R Lanterns;
Find out if you are one of them NOW!

My review of this product is coming soon.

Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-cl26r-high-performance-rechargeable-camping-lantern/


Friday, April 5, 2019

Backpack Giveaway - Enter Now



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

I like you all so much that I'm doing a Backpack Giveaway!
Enter Now to Win and Good Luck!

Also, Stay Tuned for The Final Word Review of the AmazonBasics 55L Pack.  ;D


Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Protection - Fjallraven Abisko Summer Hat - Review





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Here is something that you don't see every day on Youtube;
the Fjallraven Abisko Summer Hat and it is time for my review!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Fjallraven-Mens-Abisko-Summer-Hat/dp/B00IKQ5N08

Price : $50

Weight : 3oz for small size

Sizes : S- XL

Colors : Grey, Olive and Tan

Developed and tested during Lapland's Arctic summer, Fjallraven made the Abisko Summer Hat to shield the always-present sun from cooking your brain like an over-easy egg. The hat's wide brim folds onto the sides of the hat for less flapping when you're hiking, and an adjustable chinstrap secures it to your head. G-1000 Lite fabric isn't too heavy and allows excess sweat to evaporate. A UPF 40 rating ensures your dome won't burn when subjected to intense sunshine.

·       G-1000 Lite (65% polyester, 35% cotton) fabric
·       Wide brim can be folded and attached to sides with buttons
·       Adjustable chinstrap with cordlock
·       UPF 40

Note : Forget looking this hat up on the US Fjallraven website; to be honest, I have often found the site to be very poor and it can be hard to locate information on products.  For an example, the Abisko hat can’t be located on their site even though the hat came direction from their distribution here in the states.  I had this ordered locally

Note 2 : This is not the Fjallraven Hatfield Hat

Review :

Pros :
Wide Enough to offer excellent protection
Stiff Brim; not floppy.
Continues to wear well even when wet; not waterproof at all but does keep the rain out of your eyes.  You could wax it but if you wax it you lose out on the breathable properties of the G1000
Breathable.
Excellent quality
Strong; the snaps have held up well and Im constantly adjusting this hat based on the changing conditions that we have here in the mountains.


Cons :
The low cut nature of this hat means that it isn’t going to be compatible with all sunglasses.  Depending on the design, it may lift your sunglasses up because the hat is pressing down on the arms.

Material 'holds' dirt!


Monday, April 1, 2019

Waterproof? - 5.11 Tactical Aurora Shell - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to review the 5.11 Aurora Shell,
is it an awesome waterproof jacket or are their seriously problems?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.511tactical.com/aurora-shell-jacket.html

Price : $150
Colors : Black, Brown, Green and Blue

Size : XS – 3XL

From 5.11 : "For some of us, being outside is mandatory, no matter what the forecast shows. Whether it's a hike, a hunt or a long walk on your favorite path, the Aurora Shell Jacket is a great choice. It's 15K/15K water resistant and breathable, so you stay drier, longer, even when those gray clouds turn into a good shower. The underarm zippers give you extra venting, and articulated sleeves and shoulders free up your arm motion for those inclines. And because you're never without your phone, podcasts or music, internal media ports help keep cords out of your way. Trek on."

Breathable
Fully seam sealed

Articulated sleeves and shoulders
Left chest zipper pocket with internal media ports for cord management

Hand zip pockets with internal RapiDraw™ pass through access

Adjustable hem with shock cord system

Regular Fit

2.5L 100% Nylon Plain Weave Face with Coffee Print Backer, DWR


Pros :

Looks terrific.

Comfortable

Excellent quality

Nice feature set

Very breathable – excellent in this regards.

Makes a good shell for wind, light rain, dry snow.

It works well as a wind-shell especially when combined with a quality insulating mid layer, and its breathable and has pit vents for when its a little warmer and you want to stay dry. The waterproofing is good for light rain and will repel water nicely to a certain point, but if its really down pouring and you expect to spend a lot of time in the rain, you may want to treat it with a hydrophobic product.


Good visor

Easy access to your front carry concealed firearm – While I like this feature, how compatible it will be with your carry system will depend on your training, layers, and the size of your firearm.

.....

Monday, March 25, 2019

The Forgotten Loop - 3 Day Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

The Forgotten Loop is a trek that Luke and Susan put together in the mountains of Virginia which utilizes a number of existing trail systems.

This is a three day adventure and it features Crazy Horse!

.......

Gear List :
Big Agnes Slater Tent 2p
MLD Ground Sheet
Zpack Arc Blast Pack (Luke)
Hanchor Marble Backpack (Susan)
Golite Adrenaline Sleeping Bag (Susan)
Jacks R Better High Sierra Sniveller Quilt (Luke)
Thermarest XTherm Insulated Sleeping Pad (Susan)
Klymit Static V Insulated Sleeping Pad (Luke)
Stove : Pocket Rocket 2
Fuel Canister x2
Pot : Toaks Titanium 750ML
MSR Titanium Cup
MLD Titanium Cup
High Route Gear RectangleLight Food Gear
2 Long Titanium Spoons
Paper towels
Katadyn BeFree Water Filtration System 3L
Fire Kit
Power Kit
Misc Kit

Clothing :
Hat
Gloves
Beanie
Sweater
Down jacket
Tights (night)
Extra socks x2
Long S. Shirt
Rain Gear – Jacket and Pants

Misc :
Hand Warmers
Quilt Strap
Sun Glasses
Toilet paper
Sun Block Lips
Food
Snacks
Coffee
Drink Mixes
Pocket knife




Friday, March 22, 2019

Not Worthy - Viewer Mail Episode #56



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

I'm speechless...
Absolutely Speechless...
Seriously, I can't believe it!

This is Viewer Mail Episode #56 and I'm floored at the generosity...
thank you so much Maxwell and Eric!
Wow!


Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Eberlestock Responds - Bandit Backpack Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to review the Eberlestock Bandit Backpack;

Pros
Cons

And Eberlestock has responded to my previously mentioned issues concerning this pack.

Link : http://www.eberlestock.com/store/bandit-pack




Monday, March 18, 2019

Outdoor Pantry Smoked Pork with Salsa and Beans - Camper's Cafe Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have Smoked Pork with Salsa and Beans from Outdoor Pantry.

Link : https://outdoorpantry.com/products/smoked-pulled-pork-with-salsa-black-beans


Friday, March 15, 2019

Rime Ice Hike - In the Clouds Day Hike Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Hot on the heels of the Creeper Walk adventure, Luke and Susie are out for another hike and this one involves ice; lots and lots of Rime Ice!


Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Whoa, Look at That! - Viewer Mail Episode #55




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wow, Check That Out!
Today in this episode of Viewer Mail, Luke is blown away!

A special thanks goes out to everyone for the kindness and generosity.


Monday, March 11, 2019

5.11 Responds - Customer Service Changes



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Remember my review of the 5.11 Insulator Jacket?  Remember the issues which I had with their customer service?

5.11 has responded to my video; find out what they had to say now!


Friday, March 8, 2019

34 Mile Creeper Walk 2019 - Into Darkness




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Creeper Walk 2019 and in this adventure Luke is facing a challenging 34 mile hike with roughly 6 hours of light and 6 hours of darkness!

Join Luke as he heads into the Darkness and a body is found in the river!




Wednesday, March 6, 2019

The One With the Watch! - Viewer Mail #54



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

In this episode;

A GPS watch, a package hits the ground, Luke discusses the downed tree at Lone Wolf, flashlight goodies, cookies, and more.

This is Viewer Mail episode #54!

Rock T. and AM, thank you both so much for your generosity!


Monday, March 4, 2019

Vanquest FTIM 6x9 Gen 2 Maximizer - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing the Vanquest FTIM 6x9 Gen 2 Maximizer.
Good? Bad? Worth the cost?
Find out now!

Also, what was that noise at the end of the video?



Link : https://www.vanquest.com/ftim-6x9-gen-2-fast-totally-integrated-maximizer/
Cost : $35
Weight : 6.5oz
Size : 6x9

Colors : Black, Coyote, Gray (red on the way in march)

FTIM 6X9 (Gen-2) New Features: (1) 29 elastic webbing slots; (2) Gear shelf bottom to support vertical items; (3) Hypalon zipper pull tabs and Spartan zipper pulls; (4) 500-D CORDURA coated with Durable Water Repellent (DWR); (5) Movable/removable 2 position key fob.

The re-designed Fast Totally Integrated Maximizer™ FTIM-6X9 (Gen-2) is an evolved organizer that offers lightning-fast pull-down access and gear-taming organization. It is a hybrid of our signature PPM/EDCM Maximizer™ organizers, and the popular FATPack medical pouches.

We enhanced the zipper function to be as smooth as possible, include two Spartan Zipper Pulls, redesigned the front slip pocket to be easier to access and updated the front hook and loop field to seamlessly flow with the bag. The back MOLLE attachment now uses less nylon webbing for weight savings without losing any compatibility to MOLLE/PALS webbing.

With maximizer staggered/offset elastic loops, 2 included anchor wraps, two internal large slip pockets, two 1” paracord attachment loops with keeper, and 29 vertical and horizontal elastic loops, every slot/pocket in the FTIM is designed to keep every piece of EDC gear the perfect spot! The main compartment bottom shelf also helps retain small gear and prevents accidental drops.

A sturdy grab handle and user-selectable FASTab system lets you quickly unzip the #8 YKK lockable zippers.With one instinctive pull, the FTIM's contents are at the ready. Loop ID panel, exterior slip pocket, and MOLLE/PALS side panels allow expansion of gear carried.

You can attach the pouch onto any MOLLE/PALS surface with MOLLE Sticks (#99MS5X4*); or convert it for hook-and-loop attachment using the MOHL-Air adapter panel (#017700*); or use our 1" UNIVERSAL STRAP (#012001*) to carry it around your shoulder.

Net Weight: 6.5 oz | 184 gram

Internal Dimension: 9” (H) x 6.5” (W) x 2” (D)

One external and two internal storage pockets with 29 elastic webbing slots

Staggered and off-set stitching on elastic webbing reduces unusable space

Grab handle eases hand carry and removing from pockets

Internal 5.5” keychain fob and 1” paracord attachment loop

1.75” (H) x 3” (W) ID/Morale patch loop panel on front

MOLLE/PALS webbing on sides / rear for modular attachment

Compatible with MOLLE Sticks and MOHL Adapter Panel for loop panel attachment

Materials: 500-D Military grade Cordura® fabric with DWR (Durable Water Repellent) for all weather performance.

Subdued Hi-visibility, lightweight & moisture resistant 210-D Ripstop nylon interior.

Durable & abrasion resistant RC-Class locking YKK® #8 zippers, reversed for protection.

Spartan zipper pulls and Hypalon zipper tabs for easy closure

High tensile strength nylon webbings and binding tapes

Finished with high tensile strength bonded nylon thread

Pros :

Excellent quality

Improved zippers – easier to run

Tons of potential organizing.

Will blow your mind when it comes to how much these can hold.

Versatile – I have friend who takes this pouch and connects another pouch with PALS connections and weaves them together and it’s a great way to have a unified system of organizing.

Cons :

Still require MOLLE Sticks to attach to MOLLE and PALS which require an additional $14. I’ve personally never cared for those and would prefer traditional connections. The good news is that the pouch if desired to be carried on the outside can be attached via grimlocs and they work very well.

Expensive – plan and simple but the quality justifies the price and is in-line with similar products




Monday, February 25, 2019

Virginia to Tennessee - V.D. on the A.T. - Overnight Adventure





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Luke and Susan are on the trial again and in this episode we hike from Virginia to Tennessee along the Appalachian Trail!

STEEEP!
Windy.
Rain.

Also, we make some interesting discoveries along the way including
artwork done by Dome (Do-Me).

Enjoy the adventure, more is on the way.

Gear List :
Tent : Nemo Losi 2P
MLD Ground Sheet
Exitus 35L Pack from Paratus Exploration Equipment (Luke)
Golite Adrenaline 0 Sleeping Bag (Susie)
Jacks R Better High Sierra Sniveller (Luke)
Gregory Deva 60 Pack (Susan)
Fajllraven Vidda Pro Pants (Luke)
Casio Pro Trek F20 Watch (Luke)
Fitbit Versa Watch (Susan)
Filmed with Panasonic GH5
Mic : Rode Video Mic Pro Plus
Edited on Final Cut Pro X
Trek : Started at Damascus VA, South Bound on the AT into TN.


Friday, February 22, 2019

Ultralight, Stable, Versatile - Sierra Designs High Side 1 Tent - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Luke is ready to hand down his verdict on the Sierra Designs High Side 1 tent!  This is the full review;

pros, cons, and more!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/high-side-1/

Cost : $279.95 retail

Highlights :
Pre-bent pole sections create "high side" over door maximizing livable space while minimizing weight

Low profile design reduces weight, without feeling too cramped.

Compact storage size takes up minimal space in your pack

Secondary vestibule zipper creates "awning panel" that provides covered storage and improved ventilation

Materials :
Number of Poles: 2 poles
Pole Material: DAC Featherlite Aluminum
Fly Fabric: 20D Nylon Ripstop, Silicone/1200mm PeU, FR CPAI84
Floor Fabric: 30D Nylon Ripstop, Silicone/1200mm PeU, FR CPAI84
Body Fabric: 15D Nylon No-See-Um Mesh

Specs :
Minimum Weight: 1lb 15oz / 0.88kg
Packaged Weight:  2lbs 7oz / 1.11kg
Number of Doors: 1
Number of Vestibules: 1
Vestibule Area: 7.7 ft2 / 0.72 m2
Floor Area: 17.2 ft2 / 1.60 m2
Peak Height:  32" / 81cm

Dimensions (L x W): 88 x 34 (head) x 26" (foot) / 224 x 86 (head) x 66cm (foot)

Packed Size (L x W): 13.5" x 5.25" / 34.3 cm x 13.3 cm
Design Type: Semi Non-Freestanding
Number of Guylines: 6
Stake Quantity: 13

Testing :

I received this tent at the end of summer and have been using it since then.
Temp ranges from 60’s to the lower 30’s.
I’ve experienced strong winds, moderate rain for hours at a time and light ice

Pros :

Very good price considering how light this tent is.  Most tents in this weight range will run hundreds more.

Good size for those whom are 6’3” and under.  Taller than that and you will find this tent snug

Excellent 3 season tent

Ultra light weight

Very airy but condensation may be inevitable regardless of the shelter’s design.

Excellent design which features an awning.

Extremely small form factor – can fit horizontally in your pack – only 13” long – great option for bike campers

For such a small tent; 32-inch peak height. It has enough room to lie down or sit in a hunched position, and to keep your gear out of the rain, but nothing more.

You can use the inner on its own with the fly and if you want, you can even use it with a large tarp for a variety of setups.

Easy to pitch and break down; not the easiest but not complicated either.  A tight pitch can be achieve rather easily.

Good weather resistance

Excellent quality; no issues when I received the tent and none have presented themselves with the last 6 months of testing.

Cons :
Small tent without a ton of space.  Think of it as a step up from a bivy; not a full tent in terms of size.
Requires a lot of stakes to setup
Because of the need of stakes to setup properly, this isn’t the tent for all adventures

Summary :

With this tent, you need to ask yourself, what are you seeking?  What is that that you need and want?
Are willing to sacrifice livable space for weight-savings.
Seek a shelter with a small footprint and/or small packed size.
Want a dedicated pole set, because you don’t use or need trekking poles, or because you are willing to carry more weight in exchange for a less fussy pitch.

Camp in humid environments, and therefore benefit from a physical barrier between you and a possibly condensation-soaked fly.

Always use the fly and tent body together, for a full-sided and fully enclosed experience.

Have a limited budget, or don’t care to spend $300-$600 for a shelter that is marginally lighter and/or uses more premium fabrics like 7d nylon or Cuben Fiber.

There are lighter tent stakes on the market; ditch the included ones if you want to drop a few oz.

No tent is perfect as there is always some compromise between weight, price, durability and usability. However, Sierra Designs has done a nice job with this one and is worth putting high on your consideration list if you’re looking for a new three season solo shelter.




Wednesday, February 20, 2019

3 Will Win - Enter Now - Fenix CL26R Lantern - Giveaway





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is hooking up 3 viewers with an awesome lantern from Fenix!  This product just hit the market so enter now with the only channel on Youtube which is completely agenda free!

My review of this product is coming soon.

Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-cl26r-high-performance-rechargeable-camping-lantern/




Monday, February 18, 2019

Hitting the Road with the Eberlestock Bandit Pack H31 - Hiking Test





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/



It is time to get the Eberlestock Bandit Pack out and do some hiking with it.



Is it going to be comfortable?  Are there going to be problems?

Find out now!



Eberlestock Bandit Pack (H31) – First Look



Link : http://www.eberlestock.com/store/bandit-pack


Friday, February 15, 2019

Man Challenge Accepted - Viewer Mail #53




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is Viewer Mail episode 53!

Phil, I accept your Man Challenge and we am thankful for the kindness that you and David have shown us.

Let's do this!


Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Can I Recommend It? - 5.11 Insulator Jacket - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the jacket that everyone has been asking about recently, the 5.11 Insulator Jacket!  To cut to the chase, it's awesome but 5.11 as a company isn't and the question is, can I recommend this product?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.511tactical.com/insulator-jacket.html

Price : Retail $130 - $50.00 – I don’t know if 5.11 stuff is always on sale or not but it has been at this price for the last two months at the time of filming.

Colors : Sheriff Green

Size : Small – 2XL

START : I really like this jacket but there is a huge reason why you may not want to purchase it or anything else from this company and I will address shortly.

62% nylon / 38% polyester fabric

Versatile thermal protection
RAPIDraw™ pockets
DWR treated exterior
62% nylon / 38% polyester
Low-profile chest pockets
Performance fit stretch panels
100 gm Primaloft® Silver lining
2-way YKK® front zipper

Stretch side panels which allow the jacket to stretch with your movements

Pros :

First off, this jacket looks awesome!  I love it and so do many of you as I have seen the hundreds of comments concerning it.

Excellent quality

Very warm – I’m comfortable down to the mid 40’s with this jacket with only a t-shirt.  Add a good insulation layer such as a merino wool sweater and I’ve rocked this down to around 15F.

Comfortable. – Warm – Easily adaptable to temp ranges
Accurate fit.
Adequately packable
Very well thought out jacket.
Excellent zippers.
Easy of access to your front carry and conceal.
Plenty of pockets
No obnoxious branding
Excellent value for the money with the sale price.

Cons :

The collar is just ok in my opinion.  It never gets on my nerves but I find that I am having to adjust it from time to time as it has a tendency to stick up and touch my face.  This is VERY small con and doesn’t impact my thoughts on this jacket at all but I want to mention it.

Terrible Customer Service


Monday, February 11, 2019

The New Eberlestock Bandit Pack H31 - Preview





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today we are looking at one of Eberlestock's newest packs, the H31Bandit!  This is a preview with Trail Testing and the Review coming up soon.

Eberlestock Bandit Pack (H31) – First Look

Link : http://www.eberlestock.com/store/bandit-pack
Price : $129
Weight : Weight: 2 lbs 5 oz

Colors : Lots of colors and camo patterns; black, coyote, military green and so on.

Total Volume: 935 c.i. / 15L

Dimensions main bag: 18"h x 9"w x 7"d

The H31 Bandit is a great little every-day-carry pack.  Its laser-cut MOLLE panel allows you to rack on accessories and provides a place to quickly lash one bulky items outside of the main bag. Open the front-loading zipper and you'll be surprised at just how much room there is in such a small pack. Insert either a 2L or 3L Source Hydration Bladder, and this becomes the perfect day pack. Open the top zipper compartment, and inside you will find a key hook, mesh storage pocket, and a third magazine type pocket.

At just over 2 pounds, this is a minimalist's dream. Whether you’re an outdoorsman who is into biking, running, snowboarding, hiking, or want to be prepared with an SBR compatible, EDC pack, choose the Bandit.

This is part 1 of a three part series with this pack.  This is the preview, the next video will involves some actual testing with this pack and the 3rd will be the review once I’ve learned all there is to learn concerning it.


Friday, February 8, 2019

FREAKING AWESOME - Random Lunch and Chat



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Surprise!

This is a Random Lunch and Chat episode which features Luke looking for antlers, a visit from a hawk and some low flying F15's!


Wednesday, February 6, 2019

Before You Buy - How to Setup the Sierra Designs High Side 1 Tent




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is going over the setup process which the Sierra Designs High Side 1 tent.
How complicated is it?
Find out now!

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/high-side-1/

Before You Buy - How to Setup the Sierra Designs High Side 1 Tent





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/



Today Luke is going over the setup process which the Sierra Designs High Side 1 tent.

How complicated is it?

Find out now!



Link : https://sierradesigns.com/high-side-1/



..

Monday, February 4, 2019

Don't Buy This Backpack - AmazonBasics Hiking Backpack



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Whatever you do, don't buy this backpack!
Today Luke is getting the AmazonBasics 55L Backpack out on the trail and it doesn't take long for the problems to present themselves.

If you are in the market for a budget backpack, this isn't one to get.

Link : https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Internal-Hiking-Backpack-Rainfly/dp/B077P17P2N


Friday, February 1, 2019

A Little Late - Christmas Presents! - Viewer Mail #52



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

I've been meaning to get this video up for a long time; iIt's time for another Viewer Mail episode and I am forever thankful for the kindness that you have shown my family and I.  In this episode, a bunch of surprises!


Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Fenix PD35 V2.0 Digital Camo Flashlight - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Seeking an honest real-world review concerning the Fenix PD35 V2.0 Digital Camo Flashlight?  You just found one! 100% agenda free, no store, no affiliates, no BS.  Nothing more than a full review with my thoughts; what I like and what I don't.

Link : https://www.fenixlighting.com/product/pd35-fenix-flashlight/
Price : $75.00 at the time of filming on Fenix.  $84 on Amazon. Retail price is $110.
Weight : 4.6oz with 18650 bat
Colors : Black and Camo version.  Solid black version is cheaper by a few bucks,

Size:
Length: 5.4″ (138mm)
Body: 0.9″ (23mm)
Head: 1.0″ (25.4mm)

Weight: 3.1 oz. (88g) weight excluding batteries

Excellent addition to the PD lineup. The V2.0 brings some additional features that are handy and the beam pattern is significantly better than my PD35 TAC. I will be putting this in my EDC rotation without any hesitation. I do still prefer to have the tactical mode offered in the PD35 TAC to ensure that the light will always come on in turbo mode. However, I don’t think that counts as a negative against the excellent features and performance of the V2.0.

Pros :
Very good built quality
Battery level indicator only with 18650 batteries.
Excellent price.
Plenty of power.
Good stepping.
Green Constant Charged
Green Flashing Sufficient
Red constant – Poor
Red Flashing Drained.
Simple UI
Good build quality
Light has good throw
No complaints when it comes to battery life.

Cons :
No quick access to turbo. Minor.
Doesn’t support flat-top batteries



Summary :

The cornerstone to a proper edc kit is a good flashlight, one that you can rely on and that is what you have here with the PD35.  It’s a good quality light, great battery life, fair price that you can rely on!


Monday, January 28, 2019

Best Selling Pack on Amazon - AmazonBasics 55L Backpack with Rainfly




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

So here you have it; the best selling internal frame backpack on Amazon!  This is part 1 of our look at this pack as this is a preview, next will come the testing and ultimately the review!

Link : https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Internal-Hiking-Backpack-Rainfly/dp/B077P17P2N


Tuesday, January 22, 2019

The Winter Cabin Ice Storm - Multiday Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

In this adventure Luke converts the old shed which is on Lone Wolf Mountain into a winter cabin as an Ice Storm moves into the area.

In this adventure;

an Ice Storm,
a make-shift cabin,
falling trees,
some good food,
a huge buck,
and more.


Monday, January 21, 2019

Surviveware Hiking and Backpacking First Aid Kit - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Just as with the large Camping First Aid kit from Surviveware, I’m looking to get your feedback on this product; be honest with what you see; what you like, what you dislike.  Get your cup of coffee, a cold beer and get ready to comment!

This is the Surviveware Hiking and Backpacking First Aid Kit.



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Backpacking-Cycling-Waterproof-Laminate-Adventures/dp/B01HGSLB6K

Price : $35
Weight : 1lb

Not long ago I took a look at the Large Camping First Aid kit from Surviveware and mentioned that the company had a smaller version for hiking and backpacking and that I would try to get my hands on it.  I was successful in that regards so it is time to take a look at it together.

600D Polyester

stainless steel scissors can cut through clothing or seat belts.

100 items.

measures 5.5 x 7.5 x 3.5"

All inner items are protected from water in durable zip-top laminate baggies.

Each inner sleeve is labeled according to its function. During stressful situations, all items can found and used. Afterwards all supplies can be replaced in an orderly fashion.

6” Shears(1), 600D Polyester Bag(1), Alcohol Wipes(3), Antiseptic Wipes(4), Adhesive Bandages: Butterfly Closures(5), Butterfly(5), H-Shape(5), Large(2), Standard (20), Mini(5), Square Shape(5), Cotton Gauze Swab(3), Cotton Swabs(10), CPR Pouch with Instructions(1), CPR Breathing Mask(1), Crepe Bandage(1), Emergency Blanket(1), Eye Pads(2), Hypoallergenic Tape(1), Nitrile Gloves(1), Personal Medicine Laminate Bag(1), Personal Medicine Mini Bags(5), PBT Conforming Bandage(1), Safety Pins(4), Splinter Probes(2), Strip Wound Closures(3), Sting Relief Wipes(3), Basic Tourniquet(1), Triangular Bandage(1),Tweezer(1), Whistle(1)

…..

Pros :

I like the design of the case and the quality of the overall kit for the money.
Everything is laid out in a logical way.
I firmly believe that one should piece their own kit but this is a based to build from.
While larger than my personal first aid kit which I carry; I go minimalistic;
It’s not overly huge or heavy.
Room left over for your own additions; Israeli bandage

Cons :

Tourniquet is simply ok and if you are going to carry one, carry one that is better than this.  A TK4 would fit perfectly in this.  This in my opinion wouldn’t cover major arterial bleedings.  I would rather the company not include one at all so that people who are buying this don’t think that they are covered.  In other words, false sense of security.

missing antiseptics and antibiotic ointments, moleskin, clotting agent,




Friday, January 18, 2019

Save Money on New Gear - Backpacking on a Budget - Part 2




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Last week I showed you how to save money on buying good quality used gear and this episode is all about doing the same with new gear.

Are you on a tight budget but don't want to buy garbage gear?

Don't worry, I've got you covered and will show you how to save a lot of money when it comes to purchasing backpacking gear.

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Osprey Packs Ultralight Liquids Pouch - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is talking about the Osprey Packs Ultralight Liquids Pouch and how it could be an awesome kit bag!  Also, he discussed the issues he discovered while reviewing this product.



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071K8D2LZ
Price : $10
Weight : 1.5oz
Measurements : 8.5” x 4.5 x 1.25” at the top, 2” at the bottom – Tapered Cut

Materials : 40D Nylon Ripstop – with TPU walls

….

 I recently came across this pouch while looking to see if there were any interesting products which I felt you all would be interested in seeing and came across this one.  It’s what Osprey refers to as a liquid pouch, it’s cost $10 and I liked the fact that it was ultralight and was see through.  For a kit bag, that could be incredibly handy and as liquids bag for traveling comes in handy from time to time.

I received the pouch and was looking at the packaging and noticed that everything was incorrect from the weight, to the measurements and this carried over to the osprey web site.  Osprey is a big company, get your stuff together!  Osprey states that the pouch features a Dual-zippered main compartment.  Umm, no it doesn’t.

Also the description on their web page isn’t even about this product and I can’t help but feel that the company is producing so many products that they don’t have the capability of even getting their details correct.  I don’t like that but lets focus on the pouch.

The pouch I like but not for the sake of a liquids pouch; yes it would probably please the average TSA agent but in my opinion a good quality liquids pouch is one that is sealable and is leak proof.  If you have a leak in this, it’s coming out of the pouch easily!  Leak proof travel bags, they are out there but aren’t as common as you would think. Anyways, being used as a kit bag, this is where this pouch shines and I recommend it for smaller items such as a fire kit, first aid kits or a light bag.  Works perfectly this way, much better than a liquids bag.



Pros :
Very light weight.

Very good quality if with the pile of mistakes made by Osprey.

Easy to see what you are grabbing and what is inside.

Good size; can hold a lot

Covered by an awesome warranty- They have one of the best warranties in the busy; they will repair any product for any reason and it doesn’t matter how long you have had it.  If they can’t fix it, they replace it.

Has a loop to assist with opening…but is missing one on the other side for closing.  I would like to see that added.

Cons :

Will leak liquid – For liquids, stick with a ziplock bag; will please TSA but outside of flying, go with something else entirely.

So little attention was paid to the packaging and the web site…it doesn’t make Osprey look very good and doesn’t inspirit confidence.


Monday, January 14, 2019

Youtopia Snacks - Camper's Cafe Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Camper's Cafe has returned with a new episode, this time featuring a number of Youtopia Snacks!  Will they blow us away or leave us disappointed?

Find Out Now!

Link : https://www.youtopiasnacks.com


Friday, January 11, 2019

How To Save On Used Gear and Find Good Deals - Part 1




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Are you on a tight budget but don't want to buy garbage gear?

Don't worry, I've got you covered and will show you how to save a lot of money when it comes to purchasing backpacking gear.

In this episode, this is all about USED gear, how to find the deals and where to find them at.  In the next episode, we will discuss new gear and how and where to find the deals.

Remember, a good used piece of gear is better than a new bad piece of gear.


Wednesday, January 9, 2019

Camp and Backpack Like a Cold Weather Pro - Tips



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This episode is all about camping/hiking/backpacking in the cold and with snowy conditions!




Monday, January 7, 2019

Tactical Distributors Down Range Hooded Jacket 2.1 - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the jacket that everyone has been asking about;
The Tactical Distributors Down Range Hooded 2.1 Jacket!
Is it worthy?  Absolutely!

….

Link : https://www.tacticaldistributors.com/products/td-down-range-hooded-jacket-2-1?variant=13617955635284

Price : $120

Weight : Medium Size : 1lb 2.4oz

Sizes : Small – 2x Large

Colors : Gunmetal Gray, Ranger Green and I believe there is a black version but I haven’t seen that one for sale.

In designing our all-new hooded TD Down Range Jacket, Tactical Distributors set out to create that perfect piece for your mid-layer and outerwear needs in our highly coveted down fabric technology: Heat Sealed Baffling.  This innovative construction helps to eliminate down migration that occurs from traditional quilting methods.  Our latest upgraded version features an array of convenient EDC compatible features like deep side pockets with stealth interior dump pouches and an easy-access chest pocket with com/music ports.  With 3 colorways to choose from, we hope you enjoy making this particular jacket a key part of your cold weather kit essentials to keep you warm every time.

600 Fill Power Down Insulation

Innovative Bonded Baffle Technology

Lightweight & Packable (11oz in pouch)

Stuff Sack Included For Easy Storage

Attached Hood with Peripheral Drawcord Adjustment

Elasticized Binding at Cuff, Bottom Hem, and Hood Openings

Zippered Hand Pockets

Zippered Chest pocket with Interior Sound Port

Interior Stash Pockets

Note : This jacket isn’t waterproof but can be washed with a water repellent treatment if you wish to go through the trouble.  I would suggest skipping that and going with a shell in wet weather as you really don’t want to get down we as a general rule.

Note : There is a version of this jacket that doesn’t have a hood.

Review :
Pros :

Thick but not too puffy.

Warm and can take me into the 30’s with just a t-shirt on underneath.  At that point I will add an sweater or merino long sleeve and I’m good into the low 20’s easy.  Of course, your mileage will vary as every is different when it comes to comfort and temps.  I run hot in general and I’m usually in shorts even in the winter months.

Wind resistant

Light

Compressible

Good fit/ flattering fit

Cool design which has gotten a lot of attention from the viewers as I have received many questions about it when it is seen in my videos.

It is fitted and if you are muscular you will likely want to go up in a size.

No issues with down coming through that I have noticed.  Down Loss will happen eventually as that is the nature of down but it’s a very low rate with my use so far.

Cons :

Hood is poorly adjustable and is uncomfortable. Draw cord is on the inside of the hood and pulls directly to your skin and it will have to be fit to fit correctly which makes it uncomfortable.

Needs an additional adjustment for the top of the hood.

Summary :

As far as negatives go, there isn’t much to complain about with this jacket, it checks all of the right boxes and the price is excellent for what you are getting.  Down jackets can be pricey and for a jacket that performs and looks as good as this one, I readily recommend it.




Friday, January 4, 2019

The North Face and the ???? - Viewer Mail #51



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It's time for another Viewer Mail episode and I am forever thankful for the kindness that you have shown my family and I.  In this episode, a bunch of surprises including a custom ????




Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Surviveware Large First Aid Kit for Extended Camping Trips - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today I'm taking a look at a first aid kit from a company called Surviveware; this is a 200 piece kit which costs $100.  While it's got some benefits, this kit still costs $100 and I'm curious what you think about it.

Link : https://www.amazon.com/Surviveware-Extended-Camping-Trucks-Office/dp/B07CQ8JVC7