Monday, December 9, 2019

What I Don't Like - AYADA Gas Stove - Review





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the AYADA Gas Stove which is a very budget friendly canister stove.

Is it worth $20?

Find out now!



Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07PQGRQ5M

Price : $22

Weight : 9.5oz for the stove alone -  11.5oz with case

Max Support Weight : 20lbs

BTUS : 3,500 watts / 11,942 BTU’s

Pros :

Compact for the size of the stove.

Quality is excellent for the price.

Performance is excellent for the price – can simmer, rocket boil and anywhere in between.

Excellent for boiling water for coffee or slow cooking onions and garlic in a frying pan.

Not A Con - Small cups and pots will get extremely hot as heat comes over the sides; can melted the handle to whatever you put on there.  Works better with larger pots and pans.

Performs well enough in breezing conditions; if windy you will want a wind screen; either make one or bring one. – has an integrated wind screen.

No issues from the ignitor.

Fast boiling times; two liters of water in roughly 2 minutes.  Of course, timing varies on outdoor conditions.

Cons :

Storage box is a pain to open and to close.  Pinching fingers is a real possibility

It isn’t the most stable of stoves; if you are careful you won’t have any issues though – I do wish that the pot support legs jutted out further which would make whatever you put on it more sable.

Summary :

While not the first stove that I grab when it comes to a solo backpacking adventure, it is one that I think about for trips where I am with other people or if I was planning to do a lot of cooking.  The power and adjustability of this stove is excellent.

I haven’t heard of this brand before so there is no telling how reliability will be going into the future as the company doesn’t have much of a track record.  Also, they don’t seem to have a web site so you warranty is basically as long as you can return it to Amazon.  Something to consider.  So far it looks great though and I have had no problems with this stove and I have been testing it out for months now.


Saturday, December 7, 2019

Setting Up a Day Camp in Heavy Cold Rain and Fog Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Rain is falling heavily in the oldest mountains in the world, the fog is thick and the temps are dropping.

In this episode, Luke is exploring the mountain tops and sets up a Day Camp in the rain to enjoy a nice steak.


Wednesday, December 4, 2019

��The Unusual Mil-Tec Tripod for Alcohol Stoves - Review





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Different, definitely different!
In this episode you are going to see a tripod stove stand which is known as the Mil-Tec Tripod.

It's a spirit stove support and you likely haven't seen anything like it before.



Adenda Free Link :  https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/mil-tec-tripod-for-alcohol-stove/22774

Price : $5 + shipping which is $10 flat to the USA

Weight : 3.4oz (7.1oz with a spirit burner)

Size :  4” high x 3.25” wide x 10” in diameter 5.5” from leg to leg when opened

Materials : Stainless steel

A handy little stand for your Trangia, or Mil-Tec made copy, spirit burner.

Some time back a viewer sent me this stove stand and only recently have I gotten it out to use.  I filmed an adventure with it and had countless people asking about it so here I am today with a video to talk about it and to go over all of the details.

It took me some time to locate this product as I have never seen anything like it in the USA and it turns out, this is a common product in the UK and is made by Mil-tec.  I did some searching and wasn’t able to find it being offered anywhere in the USA so I have included a link to the Varusteleka web page if you are interested in it.

Note : Varusteleka didn’t send this to me.  Mil-tec didn’t send this to me and I could care less if you bought it.  My reviews are agenda free and I’m only here to share my thoughts on products and you can make up your own mind.  No sponsored BS reviews on my channel.

Pros :

Well made

Very solid ; seems far heavier than 3.4oz

Simple and yet functional.

Holds stove into place while traveling

Legs lock into place

Cons :

I have heard that this stand won’t work with vintage Trangia military surplus stoves but I have tried it with multiple modern versions and they all have fit without any issues.

Is designed for larger cups and pots; small cups won’t sit correctly if at all.

The weak point for this stand is the springs which allow for the legs to be locked into place.  They can get hung and stretched.  I have had this happen and used a pair of needle nose pliers to fix it.

Summary :

When it comes to stands for Trangia stoves, this is by far in my opinion anyways one of the most interesting.  Also, it is one of the less expensive of stands that are out on the market.  The only other that I can think of is a Chinese made stand which basically copies an Evernew product; it costs $3.50.

I like the design, I also like the price.  For what it does it’s great but it won’t work with small cups and that is the main point to keep in mind as that may make or break your decision.


Sunday, December 1, 2019

3 to Giveaway - NiteCore NU25 HeadLamp - Enter Now




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I've got 3 NiteCore NU25 HeadLamps to giveaway to my awesome viewers!  Want one?  Enter now!

...

Agenda Free Link : https://www.nitecorestore.com/NITECORE-NU25-Headlamp-p/fl-nite-nu25.htm


Friday, November 29, 2019

Military Tent Vote

Some snow is moving into the area late this weekend and I plan to get out in it and film a Military Surplus Adventure and I would like for you to decide which military tent to use.
Voting is on the right-hand-side of the page; cast your vote there.

The Options are;



Nemo ALCS


Nemo CODA


Litefighter 1 Man


Kelty Field Tent


Mountain Hardwear Hunker 1


Diamond Brand Gear Marine Combat Tent

No Commentary Version - Winter Stealth Cowboy Camp




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Just in time for the Thanksgiving holiday; this is a special version of the 10F (-12C) Stealth Winter Cowboy Camp Overnight Adventure which features no talking; Full ASMR.

I hope that you all enjoy it.


Thursday, November 28, 2019

No Commentary Version - Japanese Gear Overnight Camp





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a special version of the Japanese Gear Camp Overnight Adventure that I want to share with you all for the Thanksgiving holiday.  It features no commentary by me and certainly mixes it up a bit.  I hope that you all enjoy it!








Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Will It Leak? - Test Night - Zpacks Duplex - Wind and Rain




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time to put the Zpacks Duplex Tent through a night of heavy rain and wind!  Will it Leak?  Is it difficult to setup in the dark?

Find out now.

....

Agenda Free Link Zpacks Duplex : https://zpacks.com/products/duplex-tent

Agenda Free Link Zpacks Flex Flex Freestanding Kit : https://zpacks.com/products/duplex-freestanding-flex-kit


Friday, November 22, 2019

10F (-12C) Stealth Cowboy Winter Camp Overnight Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the 10F (-12C) Stealth Winter Cowboy Camp Overnight Adventure and it has it all;

Very Cold Temps.
Snow on the Ground.
Stealth Camping on a Mountain Top.
And one of the best sunrises EVER!

Thank you for joining me for this trip, more are to come!

...

Gear List :

Backpack : Fjallraven Keb 52L
Sleeping Pad I : Thermarest Xtherm
Sleeping Pad II : German Army Folding Sleeping Pad
Bivvy : Mammut Ultralight Bivvy
Sleeping Bag : Fjallraven Polar -20
Plastic Groundsheet : MLD Plastic Sheet
Headlamp : NiteCore NU32 Rechargeable Headlamp
Watch : Casio PRO TREK WSD-F21HR

Stove and Stand : Trangia Alcohol Stove with Cooker Stand
Kettle : Expedition Research Kettle
Cup/Pot : Toaks 750ml Pot
Soto Helix Coffee Maker

Beanie : SmartWool Merino 150 Beanie
Face-mask : IO Merino Wool – Discontinued
Jacket : Arc’teryx – Not sure of the model, bought used off of eBay
Pants : Hybrid Outback Pants from Helikon-Tex
Boots : Baffin Zone Winter Boots

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Issues? - Before You Buy - Kelty One Man Military Field Tent



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Before You Buy!
This episode is all about the setup process for the Kelty One Man Military Field Tent;

Ease/Difficulty?
Issues?
Thoughts?

Agenda Free Link : https://www.kelty.com/1-man-field-tent-import/


Monday, November 18, 2019

PD36R or PD35? - Fenix PD36R Flashlight Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

Today Luke has two flashlights, the PD36R and the PD35, both are from Fenix.  Which does he recommend?

Find out now.

Agenda Free Link PD36R : https://www.fenixlighting.com/product/fenix-pd36r-rechargeable-flashlight/

Agenda Free Link PD35 : https://www.fenixlighting.com/product/pd35-fenix-flashlight/

Price of PD36R : $100
Price of PD35 : $70

Weight : 5.8oz

Max Lumens : 1600 Lumens

Battery : Large 5000 mAh Battery - High-capacity 21700

Length: 5.4” (136mm) Body: 1.0” (25.4mm)  Head: 1.0” (26.4mm)

LUMINUS SST-40 LED -  1600 Lumen max output -  USB Type-C charging

Battery Level indicator -  Dual Switch Operation - High-strength Aluminum Body

Premium type HAIII Hard anodized anti-abrasive finish -  PD36R Outputs

Turbo - 1600 Lumens/2.9 hours/928 feet
High - 800 Lumens/5.9 hours/646 feet
Med - 350 Lumens/8.5 Hours/419 feet
Low - 150 Lumens/26 Hours/269 feet
Eco - 30 Lumens/115 Hours/114 feet
Strobe - 1600 Lumens

Green Steady: 85-100% power -  Green Flashing: 50-85% power -   Red Steady: 25-50% power

Red Flashing: 1-25% power

The switch also indicates when the cell power is low during use; red flashing only.

Warmer color to the light; slight yellow tint

Over all I am really happy with this because I feel the beam is a bit wider and I think it makes it more useful all around. The clip is rather nice too, although I only started messing with the clip after recording. My hope is that the side button is good and strong because I recall seeing a review of another model which apparently had multiple people complaining that the side button popped out and they had the parts laying on a piece of paper to show what happened. But I have not seen such reports on the PD36R, but it is early days and I have little doubt that issue was a model-isolated incident since out of all my Fenix lights, I never had such a thing happen ever.

USB-C : Finally I have a flashlight which has USB-C; the same cable as my phone.

Dual switches
Battery level indictor

I can’t think of a thing to complain about on this light.  It meets its specifications, and is a reasonably priced complete package light.

Brighter than the advertised rating according to online testers who have equipment to test lumens ratings.

The PD36R is well built.  There’s nothing glaringly bad, and everything works like it should.  I like the e-switch cover in particular, as I’m partial to metal switch covers.

Also for retaining the light is a two-way friction fit pocket clip, which attaches only on the tail end.  It’s quite snug, and can hold the lanyard thorough a hole in the shoulder.

Runtimes for Turbo and High follow.  The drop off Turbo is fairly quick, then the light holds 1400 lumens for a good 20 minutes, then around 950 lumens for around 100 minutes.  The light didn’t shut off, but output became so low, you’ll notice lowered output.

The charge port cover works fairly well, and stays put when it’s pressed down.

PROS :

Meets and exceeds specification

Simple to use

Good complete package light

Utilizes USB-C for charging

Fast charges the 5000mAh 21700 - A full charge takes just 4 hours

Metal e-switch cover

Good charging port cover – doesn’t pop open

Indicating side-switch

It features a smooth reflector and it gives you a really nice beam pattern where you have focused beam along with a really good spill that allows you to see everything in front of you.

With turbo mode, you get almost 3 hours of runtime, with the high mode you get almost 6 hours, and with the medium mode you get 8 and a half hours. These are extremely impressive runtimes for the higher outputs. We normally don’t see such fantastic runtimes which makes me very excited about the PD36R.

Pocket clip is tight

CONS :

No direct access to low

Overall long light

Can’t tail-stand

Can get hot with higher mode use

I was surprised to see that the eco mode was 30 lumens. I would have expected the eco mode to be 5 lumens or less so that was a bit of a surprise.




Saturday, November 16, 2019

Into the Windy Mountains



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke is back with another adventure and this one involves some beautiful fields along the NC and VA border.

Into the Windy Mountains!

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

The Emergency Outdoor Shelter That I Carry




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about the Emergency Shelter that I personally carry with me on my adventures;

Day Hikes and Overnight Trips as well.

..............

Tarp : RAB Siltarp 1 Shelter

Agenda Free Tarp Link : https://rab.equipment/us/siltarp-1

Price : $63 at the time of filming on Amazon

Tent Stakes : VARGO TITANIUM STAKES

Agenda Free Tent Stakes Link : https://mountainlaureldesigns.com/product/vargo-titanium-stakes/

Price : $3.75 each

Cordage : Atwood 1.1mm Micro Cord 1.18mm Micro Cord

Agenda Free Cordage Link : https://atwoodrope.com/collections/micro-cord/products/1-18mm-x-125ft-black

Price : $5.99 – 125ft

Weight for the entire setup : 10oz

…………….

The Siltarp 1 from RAB is a light-weight 1 person shelter for fast-and-light adventures and for hasty emergency situations. It's made of ultralight Sil-Coat™ Cordura® fabric, which is fully waterproof and strong.

The Siltarp can be set up using anything from trekking poles to trees.

Stuff sack is included.

……………

With any adventure that I go on, I generally carry with me an Emergency Shelter which can serve multiple purposes.  What you see above is the Integral Designs SilTarp 1 which is a 30D silicone-impregnated Cordura ripstop nylon tarp that measures 87 x 60 in.

The packed Size is 6 x 3 in and it weighs 7 oz.

With my setup, I have attached 9ft lines to each of the corners and have put 4 tent stakes into the stuff sack which has brought the weight of the system up to 10oz.

Purposes :

Day Hikes : Offers protection from quickly approaching storms or if you get stuck out on the trail over night, etc.

Overnight Adventures : Protection from storms while hiking, protection from the sun at camp and so on.

By the way, Integral Designs was purchased by Rab years ago and if you are interested in this tarp, it is now known as the Rab Siltarp1 Shelter

Tarps make for excellent emergency shelters as they are quick to construct in an emergency situation with A-frame, Lean-to, etc.

Hiking can be some of the most enjoyable adventures, but you must always be prepared for the worst-case-scenario. Emergency shelters are not a luxurious hotel, but it gets the job done and keeps you safe from the weather.

Question :

What emergency shelter do you carry with you?  Do you even carry one?




Monday, November 11, 2019

Redo - Budget Hot Tent Challenge - Vote Now! - You Select The Tent - Part 1



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Hot Tent Challenge Redo!

The previous video was a mess thanks to a mix up at OneTigris but that's ok as I have two tents for YOU to decide on

Shall we use the Black Orca Iron Wall or the Wild Haven for our Budget Hot Tent Challenge?  Vote Now!

Voting Link : http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Part 1 involves a setup, overview and initial impressions of the tent which you decide to base the challenge around.

Part 2 will be to test out its waterproof abilities to learn if anything needs to be addressed before moving on to the next step.

Part 3 will be the installation of a stove jack.

With Part 4 we will locate and install a stove.

Part 5 Lastly it will be the adventure with the stove itself.

...

Agenda Free Iron Wall Link : https://www.onetigris.com/iron-wall-chimney-tent.htmll

Agenda Free Wild Haven Link : https://www.onetigris.com/wild-haven-chimney-tent.html


Friday, November 8, 2019

Into the Red Fog - Heavy Rain and Dense Fog in a Mountain Shelter (ASMR)




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

When the weather takes a turn for the worst that is when the Lone Wolf ventures out to explore the mountains.  In this episode, it's raining heavily, the fog is thick and strange events are to occur.

This is an ASMR friendly adventure.


Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Gerber ComplEAT Utensil Set Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

After months of use I'm ready to pass on my review of the Gerber ComplEAT Camp Cooking Tool which is an Utensil Set for backpacking, camping and bushcraft.

Is it any good?
Are there any issues?
Will it cut you?

Find out now.



Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Gerber-ComplEAT-Camp-Cooking-31-003463/dp/B07N84VGF3

Price : Retail is $30 – Be careful as there are some selling these on Amazon for over $50.

Weight : 2.3oz

Color : Silver (which you see here)Onyx, Flate Sage and Burnt Bronz

Materials : Anodized Aluminum, polymer and rubber.

On the trail, the most important meal of the day is the one you’re about to eat. Gerber's ComplEAT tool has the bases covered with a fork, spoon, spatula, and 4 function multi-tool that nest for transport as well as snap together to convert into functional tongs. Cook, eat, clean and get back out there.

Length: 7.75"

Width: 1.5"

Weight: 2.3 oz

Spatula [serrated & silicone edge]

High temp nylon w/ silicone overmold

Long tine fork

Deep basin spoon

Tongs [fork or spoon + spatula]

Multi-tool components:

Bottle opener

Veggie peeler

Serrated package opener

Can opener

Pros :

Very light weight.

Versatile

The tong functionality is excellent

Spatula is handy even though I have to admit that I have only used it once and it was to simply use it.  Other wise I tend to use the spoon or the fork

Everything with this kit works; from the can opener to the pealer.

Excellent quality

Well thought out

Excellent for a couple when backpacking or for car camping

Cons :

The question for you to consider before buying this is this; do you really need all that this offers you.  If yes this is a great kit.  If not, then you can get away with less which will be lighter and less expensive.

Can opener is sharp and because of its position there is a possibly of cutting yourself when separating the components.  Also, again because of its position and sharpness, it could potentially cut up your gear if proper precautions aren’t taken. Placing a cover over this edge is an easy solution; a range band works perfectly.

The set can only be secured when all of the component are together which means that once you take one item out, it falls a part and you can’t leave any unneeded pieces at home when you don’t need them.

I have had other viewers mention discolorations when these are washed in a dish water; I wash everything the old-fashioned way; by hand and I can’t comment on that.  No issues so far.

Also, with the colored version I have heard that the color can be scratched off; again I have no experience with that but I’m mentioning it for the sake of awareness.



Summary :

As with all of my videos, it is not my place to tell you what to buy but rather pass on my thoughts concerning the products which I review.  With the ComplEAT I have been using this for months now and I must say thank you to a viewer who sent this in to me very kindly; thank you very much.

I have used this product in just about every capacity; backpacking, car camping, bushcraft and I like it!  It’s not perfect mind you and I would encourage anyone who is potentially interested in this to consider all of the uses and whether this is a good fit for them.  If you are someone who heats up meals on the trail, I would say skip it and go with a long handled titanium spoon/spork.

If you are someone who does a lot of cooking and may use all of the features, you should consider it; it’s smartly designed, well made and make sure that you do not pay over $30 for this.  At one time there was a seller on Amazon charging $100.  I personally saw one seller charging over $50 at the time of filming.




Monday, November 4, 2019

This is unbelievable!!! - Viewer Mail Episode #67



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Without a doubt Jim is a talented guy and in this video you are to see what he has made for Susie and I!  Also, the generosity of our viewers shines with Coffee and all sorts of goodies.

As always, we are thankful for our viewers and all the kindness that they show us.

Jim Graham Email : Camphappyoutfitters@gmail.com
Jim Graham Facebook : facebook.com/camphappyoutfitters/



.....

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Mountain Camping Overnight Adventure + Cast Iron Cooking and Rain



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Thank you all for watching my latest adventure which is all about getting out and enjoying nature and the elements.

It doesn't matter how you do it, just have fun and appreciate.

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Interesting Design! - Kelty One Man Military Field Tent - Preview




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about the Kelty One Man Military Field Tent;

Quality?
Design issues?
Features?
Cost?


Monday, October 28, 2019

☠️COFFEE or D.I.E. - Viewer Mail Episode #66



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is mail time and look at what was sent in by some very generous viewers!

We are speechless and thankful!


Friday, October 25, 2019

I Don't Understand What This Means! - Kelty Tactical Tents



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke has an interesting story to tell in regards to Kelty's customer service and their line of tactical/military tents.

You don't want to miss this!


Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Susie's Ultralight Gear Loadout - Woman in the Backcountry Alone



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan is going over all of the gear that she brought with her for her first Solo Backpacking trip. It was an ultralight loadout which came to 17lbs / 7.7kg.

Find out what she had with her now!




Monday, October 21, 2019

After the Camp - Woman in the Backcountry Alone - Susie's First Solo Adv...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is After the Camp for Susie's first SOLO backpacking adventure!
She's going to answer questions, talk about the trip and more!


Friday, October 18, 2019

The $600 Zpacks Duplex Tent - Preview





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time for the Zpacks Duplex Tent Preview!

This was filmed a few months ago and only now am I getting this uploaded; I have been testing this out and in fact, it was our tent of choice when backpacking in Colorado!

A Test Night video is coming soon along with the review.

Link Zpacks Duplex : https://zpacks.com/products/duplex-tent

Link Zpacks Flex Flex Freestanding Kit : https://zpacks.com/products/duplex-freestanding-flex-kit


Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Winner Announcement - Fenix E30R Rechargeable EDC Flashlight





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to announce the winner of the Fenix E30R flashlight!

Was it You?  Did you win?

Find out now!

Thank you all for entering, another giveaway is coming up soon.



Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-e30r-rechargeable-edc-flashlight/




Saturday, October 12, 2019

Woman in the Backcountry Alone - Susie's First Solo Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Susie in the Mountains of North Carolina for a night in the backcountry for her very first Solo Adventure.

Wednesday, October 9, 2019

Japanese Cassette Stove - Soto G Stove ST-320




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Different, definitely different!

In this episode you are going to see a Japanese backpacking stove which is known as the Soto G Stove ST-320.

It's a 'Cassette' stove and you likely haven't seen anything like it before.



Link : Find on eBay

Price : $80 - $300

Weight : Stove with case : 15.6oz

Stove with Gas full Canister : 1lb 11.5oz

Material: Body = Aluminum / Stainless, Tinder = Aluminum die-casting, Valve = Brass

Measurement of the stove folded  : approx. 1” deep – 3 “ wide – 5.5” long

Measurements of the Stove attached with gas can : 14.” long

BTU:  Every source that I have looked at states a different figure in regards to performance.  Some say its 8,000 BTUS while others state 9,900.

Canvas case

Book stove – which you may know as a cassette stove.  90% of you have likely never heard that term before.

Butane canisters are CHEAP; 12 of these for $25

Brand Soto, which is owned by the Japanese company Shinfuji Burner Co., specializing mainly in the design and manufacturing of outdoor gear, has recently introduced a new gas burner stove G-Stove ST-320, which inherits the previous version Soto STG-10. The new burner stove stands out for its original design, which combines a relatively compact size, a good protection from the wind and a high level of stability on different surfaces and for its ability of adapting to the size of any pots and dishes.

The case of G-Stove ST-320 is designed as a book, in it is placed directly with the burner control, and Heat Reflector with gas ignition and a curved stand under the cookware. To fix the burner on the open box special grooves are fixed with clips. Two folding aluminum frames support the canister from the outer side of a gas stove.

At this point, the burner Soto G-Stove ST-320 is officially available only for the Japanese market. The cost of the burner stove starts from $100 depending on the choice of retailers.

For anyone who is unfamiliar with butane gas canisters, that notch is important, and needs to be facing up when in use.  The reason is that the notch is aligned with a tube inside the gas canister, and that tube ends up along the inside edge wall.  When the notch is facing up, the intake for the tube is also at the top.  Why does this matter?  Because the gas canister needs to send out vaporized gas, not liquid.  So the tube alignment facing up ensures that only vaporize gas is released through the fuel exit point.]

Since I learned of this stove and got one of them in, I have learned from a viewer that in Japan at least they are very common stove but there are stoves much are much cheaper than this which work just as well.

Pezo ignitor doesn’t always work and from what I heard have a high failure rate.

Popular with motorcycle riders because of the slim form factor

Connecting to Butane cans can be troublesome if you are not experience.

There is another version of this stove which is called the STG-10: 2.9kW – offers more btus


Monday, October 7, 2019

The Outdoor Community is Like No Other! - Viewer Mail Episode #65




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is mail time and look at what was sent in by some very generous viewers!

We are speechless and thankful!


Saturday, October 5, 2019

Foldable Kayak? - ORU Bay St Kayak Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Is a foldable Kayak the right boat for you?
What are the pros?
What are the cons?

Is it worth $1,600?

This is my Agenda Free review of the ORU Bay St Kayak.

...

Price : $1,600
Weight : 28lbs 
To be honest, I haven’t heard of this company but I have been impressed by how many people have! 
ORU offers multiple styles of foldable kayak, each with a specific area of use; this is the Bay ST which is perfect for fishing, river, lake, etc us. Best Use Flatwater Kayaking
12ft long, 25” wide
Packed Dimensions33 x 12 x 29 inches
300 lb weight capacity, allowing room for 1 adult + plenty of gear
Made in USA.

  • Half Deck Rigging
  • Floor Board
  • Adjustable Footrests
  • Bow and Stern Bulkheads
  • Skirt Ready Concept
  • Six Zipper Channels for Installation
  • Back Rest and Seat Pad
  • Maintenance Kit
  • Made of 5mm double-layered custom-extruded polypropylene (double walled plastic)
  • Manufacturer-rated for 20,000 fold cycles
  • 10-year UV treatment
  • Withstands sliding over rocks or bumping into obstacles under the water
  • One-year warranty
  • Seat Type Padded / Foam

Who is this for? :
Because of the lightweight nature of this kayak I would recommend this for relatively smooth water; hit the lake on a nice day, launch into a slow flow creek.  Oru rates this for handling class I and II rapids.  Personally my comfort level with this kayak would be class a and class 1.
Class A; - Lake water. Still. No perceptible movement. Calm
Class I - Easy. Smooth water; light riffles; clear passages, occasional sand banks and gentle curves. The most difficult problems might arise when paddling around bridges and other obvious obstructions. Classification

The Bay ST wouldn’t be my first choice for Class II or higher rapids; it’s simply to light and is easily affected by the elements which you are facing.

Class II - Moderate. Medium-quick water; rapids with regular waves; clear and open passages between rocks and ledges. Maneuvering required. Best handled by intermediates who can maneuver canoes and read water.
Review Pros :
Folding and unfolding is going to take some learning but once you have done it a few times it can go quickly. 5 minutes is about the norm for both setup and breakdown; that is me though and it should be said that everyone is going to have different levels of difficulty with this; I’ve spoken with people who it took hours to put together to begin with and after years of use it can still take them 30 minutes.  Everyone is different.
It folds and that is amazing - Stash it pretty much anywhere: your trunk, closet, boat, garage, van, even under your bed – Easy to put inside of your vehicle, easy to maneuver it.  That’s huge! 
Because of the design, you don’t have to worry about putting your kayak on top of your vehicle.  Forget having to strap your yak to the top of your SUV or truck
Size when folded is impressive – 
Weight is impressive –
Easy to clean
Skirt is available
Great acceleration due to it’s light weight
Performance is very good, slices through the water smoothly.
The turning radius on this kayak is also quite good for a 12 foot boat!
Sitting is comfortable; I broke my back when I was in high school and my back generally beings to hurt after roughly 2 hours in any kayak and the Bay ST is no different.  With that being said, I find the sitting to comfortable.
Can hold a surprising amount of gear – multiple smaller bags work better than larger ones.
Speed isn’t bad; you won’t set any records but its not bad.  At the highest I would estimate 5mph going all out.
Plastic is strong enough to handle average use with beaching, grounding and so on.
Review Cons :
Depending on the design of kayak which you are accustomed to, you may find that this boat handles differently and that is due to the sharp lines of the boat and the light weight.  
Not the straightest of traveler because of the light weight of the boat.  In other words, it’s not the straightest in terms of tracking.
Water can gather inside of the channels of the boat material which you will have to drain.  This translate to time and even potential water inside of your vehicle
While I haven’t had a roll, the boat doesn’t feel as stable as more rounder, heavier kayaks.  Make sure to clip everything in just in case of a rollover.
I’ve found that a good bit of water will get inside of the kayak due to the openings in the front and back; they are cover with neoprene but water still makes its way in.  You will need to make sure to use dry bags.
Price – It is pricey and there is no way around that but what you are paying for is size and convenience.  With that being said, there are other foldable kayaks on the market which are much more expensive.
Instructions can be a bit confusing; luckily there are plenty of videos online to take care of you.
No knee braces but you could come up with something fairly easily
Get ready to talk to people about this boat; this may actually be a good thing depending on who you are.  But if you don’t like having lots of conversations, this isn’t the kayak for you as people are going to notice it and are going to ask questions.
Company claims the kayak folds down to roughly the size of a suitcase….yeah, the biggest suitcase I have ever seen!
I have noticed a fairly high amount of negativity online concerning this company, the quality of their boats and their customer service.  I have to mention this due to my allegiance being with my viewers.  I have had an issue in terms of quality as well as a bulkhead channel ripped off after my first use.  With that being said, this boat is a used one which the company sent me and with the bulkhead channel becoming detached I can see that this was previously repaired by the company and yet again it has failed.
The issue with the bulkheads is a common one and there are reports of failures that I have bound online which are very recent.
Seat isn’t really comfortable; after an hour I start becoming uncomfortable.
There is only a 1 year warranty and because this kayak is so expensive and there are known issues, I would like to see a lifetime limited warranty. If I smash it into a rock, it’s my fault but if the bulkheads rip off then they should replace it; you have to keep in mind, this kayak costs $1,600.  
Summary :
When it comes to kayaks, this one falls in the middle in terms of use.  In my opinion, it’s better and more robust than an inflatable but not as durable as a hardshell. With that being said, it is way way way more convenient to store, to load and unload.  For people who have cars, apartments, condos, etc this is an option for them to consider so that they can get into kayaking.  Considering that, one has to keep the cost of this boat in mind as the price is certainly high; my first car was less expensive that this kayak.
The slimmer design of the kayak may make you feel less stable; you have to use 
An inexpensive kayak can be had for a couple hundred dollars; my personal kayak is an old emotion which cost around $450; I purchased it from Amazon and that price included free shipping to my home.   
Yes it is heavy, it’s a pain to get it to the water at times but again, it only cost $450 and while it takes up a lot of space in my back yard, I can store outside no matter the weather and it’s always ready to go when I am.  It should be mentioned that my hardshell kayak weighs in around 45lbs.
With the Bay St, it has many advantages but they do come at a cost and even still there are disadvantages with this boat.
Do I recommend it? 
I like where the company is going with this kayak but the one question that comes to mind is durability.  As mentioned I have had an issue right off the bat and there are plenty of reported issues online.  With my old Emotion kayak, I’ve had it 8 years and it will last another 20 easily.  There is nothing to break where as with the Bay ST; there is plenty which can fail you.
The Bay ST solves a lot of problems and the question becomes, does it solve enough of the common kayak issues to justify the price?  Only you can make that decision.  
With TOGR the channel is 100% agenda free; Susie and I present our thoughts and feelings on a product so you can make the best decisions for yourself.

Thursday, October 3, 2019

Our Favorite Waterproof Jacket - Outdoor Research Interstellar Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke and Susie are reviewing the award winning Outdoor Research Interstellar jacket.  Is it as good as everyone says that it is?  Find out now with our year-long review.



Link Mens : https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/en/mens-interstellar-jacket/p/2644190189007

Link Womens : https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/en/womens-interstellar-jacket/p/2644290189008

Price : Retail is $299 but will vary; at the time of filming, I saw the black version for $200

Versions : Men's and Women's

Colors : Will vary depending on refresh but at the time of filming there is Black, Blue, Red, Yellow, and I have seen Orange still in stock from a previous OR refresh on amazon. The women's version has their own colors as well such as black, purple, a teal color and a red which they call garnet

Sizes : S, M, L, XL, XXL (women sizes XS-XL)

Fit : Trim Fit – meant more for being active – low bulk – still enough room for a mid insulation layer

Weight : Large is 11.6oz; lighter is smaller size, heavier if larger.

Material : 3  layer nylon shell Hardshell with an AscentShell ; 20D nylon stretch ripstop front with 100% polyester 12D backer; material feels very soft, not plasticky or silky.

There is a lot of geeky talk that I could go into when it comes to this material but to sum it up; what makes it so impressive is how much moisture can transmit through it

Ykk aqua-guard zippers with a storm flap behind it

Who is this For : This is a high-end waterproof jacket for those want a very lightweight jacket that also performs at a high end level.  There are plenty of excellent low-end waterproof jackets but with lower level materials you breathability suffers.  For an example, the Marmot Precip is one that I often recommend when asked about a budget friendly waterproof jacket.  The con is breathability and the amount of moisture which can collect on the inside of the jacket.

Pros :

Price – This is a pro and con; pricey but yet cheaper than a good quality goretex jacket.  Much, much cheaper than some brands.

Superlight weight; lighter than any Gore-Tex jacket that I have ever owned. In fact, this is the lightest hardshell I have seen.

Excellent waterproofing performance. – If you are going to be in an environment which features nonstop flooding downpours, a much more expensive gore-tex pro jacket would be recommended.  For most people though, that level of protection and weighty jacket isn’t needed.

Excellent breathability – better than any high end goretex jacket that I have ever owned and I have many; Mountain hardware, Marmot and so on.

The jacket will flex and stretch with you allowing you to move and do what you need to.

Packable – you can pack this super, super small and it will stuff into its own hand pocket!

Can be used with a helmet for climbing as an example – but the brim doesn’t cover your face

Performances excellently with snow-

Sizing is right on; it is a trim fit though so you may need to size up depending on what you want to wear underneath it.

Very comfortable – it doesn’t feel like you are wearing a waterproof jacket -

Stylish – I really like the orange color but couldn’t find it in that color at the time of ordering.  I do like the yellow; it’s banana yellow, sticks out like a sore thumb….and I still like it a lot.

Font pockets sit a bit low for use with a backpack; the waist belt will cover up at least some of the pockets but luckily you can still use them even with a harness.

…..

Cons :

This is without a doubt one of the most breathable of waterproof jackets that I have used and still, I wish that there were pitzips.  Not to release moisture but for the simple fact of airflow.  In the air, hot summer day, hiking on the trail…some air here would be oh so nice!

When wearing this jacket with a backpack, the friction will wear off the DWR coating on the back and shoulders; luckily this is easy to reapply when needed.

While not a con for me, this jacket has not media port.  Might be important to you.

Chest pocket has a cellphone sleeve….which I have found hard to use….so I don’t use it.

location of the drawcords on the hood: they reside deep inside the collar against the cheek, a location that is not convenient or easy to access for fine-tuning a hood fit.  Not sure hard to adjust by any means but it may take some extra fiddling.

Additionally, the drawcord buckles used on the hood, as well as the single hem drawcord, are small and very difficult to release if wearing thick warm gloves.


Monday, September 30, 2019

Small + Powerful But Not Perfect - Olight Baton Pro Review - EDC - 2,000...



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke is here with a review of the newly released Olight Baton Pro flashlight and will be going over his pros and cons and even an odd glitch which he experienced with this EDC light.

Agenda Free Link : https://www.olightstore.com/baton-pro-bk.html


Saturday, September 28, 2019

Overnight Mountain Camp Out - Skillet Cooking - Tarp Camping





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke in the Mountains of North Carolina for a night in the woods featuring a skillet, some bushcraft skills, a tarp and sleeping on the ground!

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Corpsman Assault Add-on Pack - Interesting Design!




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Like military surplus?  If so, you are going to like this as this is an awesome system which can be used for any purpose.  This is the Corpsman Assault System and in this video I am focusing on the Corpsman Add-On pack.



Where to Buy : eBay is your Best bet

Price : These generally go for around $120 on the open market but they are rare and sellers will often exploit that.  For an example, there is one for sale on eBay right now with the corpsman pack and they asking $550

Weight : 3lbs 12oz

Rarity : This are fairly uncommon when it comes to the civilian/military surplus market.

……..

Overview :

The Corpsman Assault System (CAS) is an SL-3 component of the Pack, Assemblage Medical, TAMCN C53322E, which includes Class VIII supplies and is managed by Program Manager, Supply and Maintenance Systems. The CAS design is government-owned and replaces the Corpsman Assault Pack (CAP) of the Individual Load Bearing Equipment (ILBE) Pack System. The CAS is part of the Family of ILBE.

Features :

The CAS is a modular/scalable medical first responder bag system tailorable to casualty expectations and mission duration.Components:The CAS consists of four bags: the medical assault pack, a medical sustainment bag, a medical thigh rig, and a modular medical pouch. It also includes reconfigurable internal components: a narcotics pouch, two medium pouches, two large pouches, two small reversible pouches, two medium reversible pouches, two elastic panels, a double pocket panel, a stacked pocket panel, and a triple pocket panel.


Tuesday, September 24, 2019

Fenix LR40R USB-C Rechargeable 12000 Lumen Flashlight



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing a POWERHOUSE of a Flashlight;

12,000 Lumens of Power!

This is the Fenix LR40R USB-C Rechargeable Flashlight



Link : https://www.fenixlighting.com/product/fenix-lr40r-flashlight-12000-lumens/

Price : $356.00 – At the time of filming on sale for $269.95

Weight : 1lbs 8.6oz

Power : 12,000 Combined Lumens

Purpose : The Fenix LR40R is a high-performance rechargeable flashlight that combines a spotlight and floodlight to blast a max 12000 lumens 2100 feet (700 yards). Quickly charge this flashlight’s battery pack in as little as 3.3 hours via the USB Type-C port, or use the discharge function to charge your other devices. A battery level indicator lets you know the status of your batteries. Extremely small for a flashlight with this much power, only 6.1” long, this flashlight is the perfect tool for exploring and search and rescue.


What about night hiking?  For night hiking, this is the ultimate flashlight; when the level of flood that this light provides, it’s like hiking with headlights; I’ve never experienced anything like what this flashlight provides in that regards.

Battery : Fenix ARB-L37-12000 rechargeable Li-ion battery pack,

Length: 6.1” (154mm)

Width: 3.2” (80mm)

Height: 2.0” (51mm)

Four blue lights on: 100% – 80% - Three blue lights on: 80% – 60%

Two blue lights on: 60% – 40% - One blue light on: 40% – 20% - One blue light flashes: 20% – 0

The broad beam contains 18 Cree XP-G3-S4 LED lights. The spotlight mode contains 1 Cree XP-L-HI V3 LED light. The flashlight works with the included Fenix ARB-L37-12000 rechargeable Li-ion battery. The battery has a capacity of 12000mAh and works up to 92 hours / 4 days.

Flood light

Turbo: 11000 lumens (45 minutes) - High II: 6000 lumens (2 hours) - High I: 3000 lumens (2 hours and 50 minutes)

Medium: 1000 lumens (7 hours and 15 minutes) - Low: 350 lumens (22 hours and 44 minutes)

Strobe: 3000 lumens - SOS: 350 lumens

Spotlight

High: 1000 lumens (7 hours) - Medium: 350 lumens (22 hours and 30 minutes)

Low: 150 lumens (44 hours and 31 minutes) - Eco: 60 lumens (92 hours and 18 minutes

Pros : 

Second level flood adequate for walking and seeing the ground. It's like hiking with headlights in front of you.

Distance of flood light is excellent. You can see close and far.

Throw is going to be the less used of the modes for most people and situations

Highest level of flood is extremely hot even after down shift.

Doesn't create much heat for lower levels which one would use most of the time

Entire flashlight will get hot with the head being too hot to touch

Throw mode is only useable for long distance illumination.

Can use both modes at the same time.

Excellent search and rescue tools

Stainless steel side switches - excellent

12000 combined lumens, not 12000 per mode which is disappointing. When you read the package and see those figures and turn it on for the first time it is a bit of a let down and that's because it is only 6000 per mode.

Definitely heavy for backpacking but when handheld it’s not bad at all.  It doesn’t wear you out or anything like that.

Excellent battery life

Can run on one or more 18650 batteries in an emergency situation

Battery level indictor

USB discharging function, backup for digital devices as you like. When discharging, you can still use this light in Eco and Low levels on Spotlight mode.

Lockable by holding both buttons

If you want to do night hiking and want to see all of the trail; 100% of it this is the light for the you as the output is amazing

USB-C Charging - The Type-C USB fast charging system only takes 3.3 hours to get a complete charge.

CONS :

Throw isn’t all that impressive in terms of brightness.  Yes it throws a long distance, far further and brighter than your average flashlight but I would like to see it being even stronger.  That is in my opinion the only real con other than the flashlight features a total of 12,000 lumens but that is combined and there isn’t a single mode which will over you true 12,000 lumens

With gloves on you are going to do some fiddling around searching for the buttons

Initial versions of this light featured incorrect SOS flashes but this has been addressed

With flood on, you will barely notice the throw beam.


Monday, September 23, 2019

3+ Years Late - Q & A - Ask Me Anything - Part 8



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Part 8 of the Question and Answer Series....
it might be almost 4 years late but later is better than never!
Haha




Friday, September 20, 2019

You Can't Burn That Susie! �� Viewer Mail Episode #64





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke and Susan are having some fun as it is mail time and look at what was sent in by some very generous viewers!

We are speechless and thankful!


Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Before You Buy - Zpacks Duplex with Flex Freestanding Kit and Trekking P...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is setting up the Zpacks Duplex Tent which is one of the lightest tents that he has ever used and he is doing so with the Flex Freestanding Kit; the Setup process is very important when it comes to the purchasing a tent; how easy or how complex is it?

Link Zpacks Duplex : https://zpacks.com/products/duplex-tent

Link Zpacks Flex Flex Freestanding Kit : https://zpacks.com/products/duplex-freestanding-flex-kit


Monday, September 16, 2019

Budget Hot Tent Challenge - Black Orca Smokey Hut - Part 1





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Hot Tent Challenge!

Over the last couple of weeks, I have had a number of viewers writing in and asking about Hot Tents and this got to me to thinking about doing a budget challenge to see what we could come up with.  With this series, there is going to be multiple parts as we go through the creation of our setup.

Part 1 involves a setup, overview and initial impressions of the tent which I decided to base the challenge around.

This is a budget friendly hot tent made by BLACK ORCA and it is called the Smokey HUT Tent.

Part two will be to test out its waterproof abilities to learn if anything needs to be addressed before moving on to the next step.

Part 3 will be the installation of a stove jack.

With Part 4 we will locate and install a stove.

Part  5 Lastly it will be the adventure with the stove itself.

...

Tent Link : https://www.onetigris.com/smokey-hut-chimney-tent.html




Friday, September 13, 2019

Worth $265? - Maxpedition Ironstorm Adventure Travel Bag 62L - Review





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



What does a high quality travel bag look like?  Find out now with the Maxpedition Ironstorm Adventure Travel Bag 62L!



….



Link : https://www.lyonstactical.com/collections/maxpedition-travel-bags/products/maxpedition-ironstorm-adventure-travel-bag-62l-gray



Price : $265 retail; Less than $200 at Lyonstactical at the time of filming.



Weight : 5.4 lbs.



Colors : Black, Grey, Coyote



From : LyonsTactical.com



-Former Dallas area police officer



-Lyons Tactical & Survival stocks over 50k tactical & Survival items (you could mention a few general categories such as bags, footgear, bushcraft, etc.)



……………………………



The Ironstorm is a comfortable pack designed for adventure travel. It can be carried in three different orientations depending on the user's preference: by the side handle, by the shoulder strap or by the backpack straps. The main compartment is lockable and has an internal compression bib inside for securing contents during travel. Dividers are also located in the main compartment and can be zipped up or down for additional gear organization. The Ironstorm has a padded compartment dedicated for a 15" laptop or tablet on the exterior of the pack, making it easy for the user to access while on-the-go.



……………………………



Volume: 3780 cu. in. | 62L    Overall size: 15 (L) x 11 (W) x 26 (H) in | 38.1 x 27.9 x 66.0 cm



Top slip pocket: 5.5 (L) x 0.5 (W) x 11 (H) in | 14.0 x 1.3 x 27.9 cm   Tech compartment: 13.5 (L) x 2 (W) x 24 (H) in | 34.3 x 5.1 x 61.0 cm



Laptop pocket: 10 (L) x 1.5 (W) x 15 (H) in | 25.4 x 3.8 x 38.1 cm   Tablet pocket: 10 (L) x 0.5 (W) x 10 (H) in | 25.4 x 1.3 x 25.4 cm



Main compartment: 13.5 (L) x 9.5 (W) x 25.5 (H) in | 34.3 x 24.1 x 64.8 cm   Sternum strap maximum length: 8 in | 20.3 cm





………………….



Pros :



When you receive this bag is flat and compressed for shipping purposes and is deceptively small. Once you open it up, I found it to be impressively spacious.



Lots of Space  Excellent organization options  Extremely well thought-out  Excellent quality.  



Can be worn as a backpack which is excellent for traveling; at the airport, you pick up your bag, put it on your back and get to your vehicle.  It works very well.  It’s not the most comfortable backpacker and it wasn’t designed to be but for the purpose of hauling for short durations, it’s excellent.



Offers a large amount of space



Very tough bag; stronger and more durable than your average civilian pack. Also much better quality than you run of the military tactical style travel bags that are out on the market.



I wouldn’t say that it is military grade but if it was, it would weight at least 10lbs and would be overkill for most people. Without a doubt, strong enough for outdoor use, travel use, law enforcement and so on.



Footlocker design is very handy.



Lots of storage options, pockets and so on.                 Lots of ways to carry



Light weight compared to many packs of this size                Excellent option for traveling use as long as the size fit your needs.



Excellent clam shell design – opens up and you are presented with all of you gear/clothing and so on.



I like the zipper pulls and the internal compartments, they come in handy for separating clean and dirty laundry for the trip home. Also like that the shoulder straps removed



Believe it or not, this pack is also hydration bladder compatible!             Excellent should harness system 



Review Cons :



Can be a bit pricey-but you pay for quality so scratch that from the con list!



There are many zippered access points on this pack and only the main portion of the pack is lockable.  I mention that for those who find that to be an important feature; I personally do not.



While technically the pack is the dimensions stated by the company, I have found that it is only to the measurements which absolutely stuff to the point where the zippers are stressed. Maxpedition states a width of 11” but it’s actually a few inches shy of that unless crammed and stretched full.



Summary :



This pack is ready to serve whatever needs that you have; may it be travel, photography/filming trip, hunting trip, etc



It’s an excellent quality pack and features some truly excellent designs/features. Can easily hold a weeks’ worth of clothing and other gear including my laptop and so on. 


Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Rarest Military Tent in the World - Nemo Coda 1.5 SE





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is the rarest military tent in the world and also, it is one of the most expensive.

The design of the tent alone is different than anything that you have ever seen before and this is the Nemo CODA 1.5 SE Military Tent and after 5 years, I finally have one to share with you all!



Product : Nemo CODA 1.5 SE

Government Price : $1300

Market Price : $2000



In 2006 Nemo began adapting their shelter technologies for military appilications which went on to be adopted by specific branches of the military such as the special forces.  This line of products was known as Shield and is a sum of over 10 years worth of development with the U.S. Army Natick Soldier Research, Development, and Engineering Center and the U.S. Special Operations community.

With the gear and products which they ultimately released and have been adopted, they have taken on very specific and also very limited roles with the US military;

Numerous tents and shelters were released and I have been shown and demonstrated the use of many of these products including the;

Advanced Linking Combat System which is a highly advanced shelter featuring cutting edge gore-tex material.

·       Switch Blade 1P SE
·       Tanto SE
·       And so on.

All of which are truly next generations shelter systems especially when you compare them to what has been used and is currently being use by the military.  This is especially true with the Advanced Linking Combat System which officially holds the crown for being the most expensive military tent ever made!

This tent and all of the Shield products were never for sale to civilians; only to the government.

With that tent, while being both VERY RARE and also the most expensive military tent for the US government to purchase, there is the CUDA 1.5 SE tent which is the focus of this video.

It is WAY rarer than the already extremely rare ALCS tent and on the open market can fetch prices higher than that of the ALCS.

The Coda 1.5P SE from NEMO Equipment’s Shield line is currently a component of the NSW issue PEPSE (Personal Environmental Protective Survival Equipment) kit. - Naval Special Warfare



Where does Shield stand today?  That is a good question as all Shield products have been removed from the Nemo web site but there remains a Shield page which is still which states More Info Coming Soon.

All three doors feature an additional zipper track that allows vestibules to be attached or removed. An optional Linking Panel connects using the zipper track over the side doors to complex two or more Coda™ tents together, either facing the same direction, or 180 degrees opposed for better security.

The thing I love about this shelter is its versatility. That 1.5P in the name denotes one man plus his equipment. It features three doors, one on each side and one in front as well two vestibules, a side vestibule and a front vestibule. You take as much shelter as you need along for the haul, whether its just you, or you and your equipment, or you, your buddy and equipment.

…..

Price : The ALCS tent cost the government over $2000 and the CODA was a fair bit less expensive and that is due to the fact that it does not incorporate the specialized gore-tex material but rather, common nylon.


Friday, September 6, 2019

�� Backpacking the Never Summer Wilderness - Backpacking Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Susan and I's big adventure for the year and what an incredible trip it was!  3 days in the Never Summer Wilderness in Colorado with nothing but the high elevation mountains and the Moose to keep us company!

2 mountain passes.
3 alpine lakes.
Solitude!

Also, this makes for an incredible Four Pass Loop Alternative.


Wednesday, September 4, 2019

�� How to Repair a Leaking Tent - Fixing a Military Tent ��



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke has a problem with a leaking military tent and he is going to show you all how to go about fixing it using the easiest of methods for seam sealing!

There is no process which is as easy as this!

...

What you will need;

Seam Grip
12ml curved syringe
Acid Brush
Paper towels




Monday, September 2, 2019

Klymit Maxfield 2 Tent First Look Preview





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



There has been so much interest in the new Maxfield tents from Klymit that I am doing a preview which isn't something that I do for many products.



In this episode, I will discuss my initial impressions now that the tent is in testing and will go over the tent; inside and out.





Link : https://www.klymit.com/maxfield-2-tent.html


Friday, August 30, 2019

Before You Buy - Setting up the Klymit Maxfield 2 Tent




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a special episode of Before You Buy as it features the very first tent made by Klymit who is well known for their sleeping pad products.

Today Luke is setting up the Klymit Maxfield 2 Tent; the Setup process is very important when it comes to the purchasing a tent; how easy or how complex is it?

Link : https://www.klymit.com/maxfield-2-tent.html


Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Modern Deployment Bag - Force Protector Gear Deployer 75 Bag - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is one of modern day Deployment Bags being used by the Marines - Force Protector Gear Deployer 75 – FOAMTEC FOR75.



Link : https://www.forceprotector.com/fpg-online-store/Deployer%C2%AE-FOAMTEC%C2%AE-Loadout-Bag-p94857273

Price : $512

Used Price : While new these can be rather pricey, when purchased used surplus you can get these for around $150 or less.  In fact, I have three of these for overland use and not only do they work perfectly but I paid around $100 each for them.  Also, FPG has sells all the time on their web site and you can on occasion find some excellent prices.  For an example, at the time of filming I saw a version of this in a camo pattern for a little over $140 new.

Weight : 12lbs., (5.17kg) empty

Colors : Black Coyote Multicam and others

Versions : There are many versions of his pack including various sizes.  Some are collapsible and some are not!

Dimensions: 30” L x 14” W x 14” D, (76cm L x 35cm W x 35cm D)

Capacity: Over 5,880 Cubic Inches, (96) liters

PRODUCT SPECS:

1000D Cordura -  400D Cordura – Hypalon - Ballistic Nylon

360° FPG FOAMTECH Padding System

Polyester Mesh - High density Polymer

YKK Zippers - Military grade: Hardware, Binding Tapes, Hook and Loop, and Thread.

PRODUCT FEATURES:

Patented 360° FPG FOAMTECH® Padding System

Stainless Steel Wheel Housings with replaceable ball bearing wheels

Wheel Housings and Extruded Rubber Runners are replaceable in the field with a Phillips Screwdriver and 3/8" wrench

Ballistic Nylon bottom

Hypalon wear patches on all corners and high wear areas

Re-enforced heavy duty handles on all sides

Mesh pockets in the lid

General pouch in main compartment

Integrated and removable backpack straps

All zippers have 550 Para Cord pulls

One row of webbing anchors for attaching items to bag or lashing things down

This bag requires Extender Straps (SP15) to make an “Ultimate Loadout System”

Berry Amendment Compliant

Lifetime Manufacturer's Warranty

The Forceprotector Gear “Deployer” is the official standard issue deployment bag for the United States Marine Corps. The Deployer is an innovative design using today’s technology to combine the form and functionality of the standard issue military “footlocker” and the standard issue military “duffel bag”. Neither of these two legacy items had seen much change over the past three centuries of combined use except for the transition from wood to metal to plastic for the footlocker, and the transition from wool to cotton duck to nylon for the duffel bag.

Designed to be lived out of while taking away all of the hassle of dumping it out to find something. multifunctional and keeps your clothes and gear organized.

Review Pros :

Tons of space

Military tough

When purchase used, awesome value for the money

Footlocker design is very handy.

Lots of storage options, pockets and so on.

Lots of ways to carry

Review Cons :

Not light….but it’s military surplus….so I’m not going to count this as a con.

If purchased new, this can be a very expensive bag.

Summary :

FPG isn’t a company which most have heard of but they do make excellent gear which stands out from the crowded military/tactical market.  Their designs are smart, their gear is tough and as used military surplus, you can find some excellent deals.

Plenty of size options for you to consider depending on your needs. When it comes to needs, these are awesome bags which can be used for a wide range of applications.  I’m not military but I have had my hands one some of the rarest, most advanced and rarest of military products and I can easily see why these bags are so highly regarded.  For myself, I use these for travel; for example, when heading to Colorado I can throw my entire backpack system into this bag along with everything else that I need for a full week out west including shoes, boots, etc and there is room left over. When I touch down, I know exactly which bag is mine and I can roll it out, carry by hand or put it on my back.

For overland use, these are excellent; tons of room for any level of kit bag that you wish to make; one for cooking, one for bedding and so on.

If you purchase one of these used; make sure to pay attention to quality as some of these can be in rough shape considering where they may have been.