Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Wow, My Mind is Blown! Viewer Mail Episode #62



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wow is all that I have to say!
Hat
Clothes
Weird Headlamp
Food

I'm speechless and thankful!


Monday, July 15, 2019

Sierra Designs ClearWing 2




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Sierra Designs ClearWing 2 tent, it is almost perfect and it is time for Luke to hand down his review!



Email SD's Parent Company : outdoor@exxel.com

Link SD : https://sierradesigns.com/clearwing-2/

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/Sierra-Designs-Clearwing-Person-Backpacking/dp/B07NZ917GC

Price : $230
Minimum Weight : 3 lbs 15 oz / 1.78 kg
Packaged Weight : 4 lbs 10 oz / 2.1 kgVersions : 2 person and 3
Design : freestanding
Poles : 3
Doors : 2
Number of Vestibules : 2
Dimensions: 93” x 51.5” / 232cm x 131cm
Vestibule Area: 12.3 sq ft / 1.14 sq m
Floor Area: 33.3 ft2 / 23.09 m2
Peak Height: 40.5" / 103 cm
Design Type: Freestanding
Number of Guylines: 4
Stake Quantity: 10
Company Statement :

The Clearwing is a 2 door, 2 vestibule fully freestanding backpacking tent. Hoop poles over the doors provide vertical sidewalls and tons of interior space, and a full coverage, vented rainfly keeps the weather at bay. A hubless pole system allows the Clearwing to pack down small into its burrito bag.

Number of Poles: 3
Pole Material: DAC Pressfit Aluminum
Fly Fabric: 68D 190T Poly Taffeta 1800MM PU WR FR CPAI84
Floor Fabric: 68D 190T Poly Taffeta WR/1800MM PU, FR CPAI84
Body Fabric: 15D Nylon No-See-Um Mesh

Pros :
Easy to Setup / breakdown
Two doors
Excellent ventilation
Plenty of room for two individuals with regular size sleeping mats
Lots of headroom
No issues with leaking

No real issues with condensation; there has been some of course in humid and wet conditions but I’ve had no issues that are outside of what is to be expected.

Large overhand with the vestibule means that you can stay dry with the door open unless it is a driving rain.

Good price for the size and features.

Small pack size


Cons :

Larger size means that it is less stable in stronger winds; stake it out is my advice.

Ugly colors unless you like white, blue, yellow – seriously SD, if you want to excite more campers and backpackers, consider altering your color choices.  You can keep these colors for your logo but your products don’t have to be colored the same.

The white color will show dirt very easily; the first night out with this tent I had a huge dirt stain on the fly and it took a goo bit of work to get that out safely.

This is my biggest issue with SD products and I mention this every single time and 99% of the viewers agree with me.  Everyone watching this video should send SD a message and let them know, we light the design of your products but we want colors which match our tastes better; you will find their email address in the description box below;

outdoor@exxel.com

The email address is for their parent company as it says on the SD web site to send suggestions to them.

With the exception of one Tent, I have liked everything that I have tested out by Sierra designs with the exception of the Divine Light; remember water coming through the walls?

Besides that hiccup, they innovate which is rare when it comes to the tent segment of the outdoor industry as most companies simply copy the same design over and over again.  Anyone remember the MOJO UFO Tent?  That was next gen and nonsensically priced.

I like this tent and I do recommend it; the quality is there, the features and design are top notch. The weight is good.  The colors are bad…for my tastes and many of yours.  Not much to dislike other than those terrible colors.


Friday, July 12, 2019

Fenix E30R Flashlight - Rechargeable - EDC - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Fenix E30R Flashlight;
Small form factor
1600 max lumens
Rechargeable
What's not to like?

I'll answer that question in this review.



Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-e30r-rechargeable-edc-flashlight/
Price : $80
Weight : 3.7oz with battery, lanyard and pocket clip
Battery : 18650
Max Power : 1600 Lumens Fenix ARB-L18-3500 included (two CR123A Lithium batteries can be used in emergency)
Form Factor : EDC
Measurements : 3.9 inches in length and 0.85 inches in diameter body. 1” diam. Head.
Charger Type : Magnetic
Max Run Time : 70.5 hrs on eco mode which is 30 lumens
Light Type : Cool White; I don’t believe there is a neutral version available, if there is I haven’t see it.

Specifications

Utilizes Luminus SST40 LED with a lifespan of 50,000 hours

5 Output Modes Plus Strobe (runtimes based on using a 18650 3500mAh rechargeable Li-ion battery)

Turbo: 1600 Lumens - 1 hr. 27 min.
High: 800 Lumens - 1 hr. 55 min.
Mid: 350 Lumens - 5 hr. 28 min.
Low: 150 Lumens - 17 hrs. 32 min.
Eco: 30 Lumens - 70 hrs. 30 min.
Strobe: 1600 Lumens

4-level Battery indicator

Soft and Balanced Beam

Extreme Output: 1600 Lumens with visibility distance of 666 ft.

Magnetic suction charging port in the neck

Ultra-thin Optical lens

Tailored magnetic charging cable also available in portable Micro USB devices

Lock-out function avoids accidental operation (Double Click within 0.5 seconds)

One switch for fast, convenient operation

Intelligent over-heat protection to avoid high temperature of the surface

Low-voltage warning reminds when battery replacement is needed

Reverse polarity protection, to protect from improper battery installation

Digitally-regulated output maintains constant brightness – will downshift after roughly 1 minute 30 seconds from turbo to 900 lumens

Heat protection : The light will accumulate a lot of heat when used on Turbo or High output level for extended periods. When the light reaches a temperature of 65℃ or above, the light will automatically step down by 5% every 10 seconds to reduce the temperature, and until to 350 lumens.

When the temperature is reduced below 65℃, Turbo mode can be reselected; or only 900 lumens can be reached.

Review Pros :

Easy to use and understand battery indictor
Green constant on: saturated (100% – 86%)
Green flashes: sufficient (85% – 51%)
Red constant on: poor (50% – 26%)
Red flashes: critical (25% – 1%)

I love the magnetic charging port; usb sockets with rubber cover is old tech and I’m not personally interested in any flashlight which uses it.  With that being said, it would be nice if flashlight and headlight companies could come together and select a unified magnetic port so there was one to charge all.  But because that is unlikely to happen, it would be great if Fenix would make it so that the magnetic end was usb so individuals like myself don’t have to carry a bunch of cables.  Some will dislike that it is a property charging port.

Excellent quality – no issues in the last couple of months of use.

Excellent stepping between modes

Easy to use lock out mode.

Great beam balance; flood and throw

Super small flashlight; perfect for EDC use

Quick charging speed – 3 hours to fully charge

There is no memory settings with this light so every time that you turn it on, it goes back to low.  That maybe a con to some but for myself, it’s a pro as I can use it when I need to in the dark without completely destroying my natural night vision

Review Cons :

On/off switch can be hard to locate in the dark; I rotate the pocket clip over the charging port which means that the on/off switch is on the opposite side which makes it easy to locate.

Can get extremely hot and will do so very quickly.  That is to be expected with so much power though.

There is no true low mode as the lowest setting is 30 lumens.  For some people this is huge, for myself, I don’t mind it at all.

Summary :

For the money, this is in my opinion an excellent edc flashlight.  The performance is good, it doesn’t have any annoying characteristics for myself.  Everyone is different when it comes to flashlights and may want different features such as a memory mode; lower lumen count and so on.

For myself, the only issue to mention is the recessed on/off switch which can hard to locate and use with gloves.

I like the power and I like the size immensely.


Wednesday, July 10, 2019

River Country Responds about the Trekker 2.2 Tent Failures




Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently I have had numerous videos concerning the River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 and in this video, River Country responses concerning the failures which I have had and shares what is being done to fix this tent!

There are changes being made!




Saturday, July 6, 2019

��Overland Adventure 1⚡ Testing out the 'New' Truck System





Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The moment that everyone has been waiting for, this is the next Overnight Adventure and it's a wild one!

It is the very first Overland Adventure featuring the 'New' Truck and a series of severe thunderstorms are moving into the high mountains of Virginia.

In this trip we test out our next Overland setup, we hike some beautiful mountains, run from quickly approaching thunderstorms, see some seriously awesome lightning and enjoy hours upon hours of rain.


Wednesday, July 3, 2019

⚡ Incredible Failure! ⚠️ - River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 - Test Night




Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Test Night and in this episode, Luke faces a line of Thunderstorms which are barreling down upon him at Lone Wolf Mountain.

The Tent which is being tested is the River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 and the failures which were experienced were absolutely insane!

Warning, Do Not Attempt!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FNVTNSL




Monday, July 1, 2019

⚠️Warning ⚠️ Do Not Buy the River Country Trekker Tent 2.2




Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patxreon.com/TOGR

This is a quick warning NOT to purchase the River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 tent.

At the same time of this upload, I have posted a setup/first look about this tent.

Link to setup/first look video : https://youtu.be/9HVN3rP6Ga4



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FNVTNSL

Price : $55




This Tent Costs How Much? - River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 First Look




Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a VERY budget friendly tent and it is the River Country Trekker Tent 2.2 and this video is an initial Setup and First Look.

At the same time of this upload, I have posted a warning about this tent; DO NOT BUY IT!

Link to Warning Video : https://youtu.be/bX0uH6DQKKk



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FNVTNSL

Price : $55

Weight : 3lbs 2oz

Colors : Blue and Green

Versions : This is the 2.2, there is a 2 version which has very little mesh.  When I saw the model 2, it is essentially a single walled tent which looks to be a condensation machine!  I might get it in to test out in the future but I figured I would start here with this product from a company which I personally haven’t heard of before.

Stumbled upon this tent on amazon while looking for interesting products to purchase and to review for you all. As mentioned before, I haven’t heard of this tent, looked online and didn’t see any real reviews and being that I’m agenda free that is how I got about the products which I decide to review and for everyone who supports the channel it is appreciated.  Because I’m agenda free I can do real reviews without holding back any punches.  If there is something I don’t like, I say so. 

Requires two Trekking Poles, two sticks or it can be tied between two trees.

Super fast and easy set up! Great for hiking, backpacking, camping, or adding to your survival bag, this compact tent will fit into your backpack without filling it up.

This tent is intended for use with your own trekking poles, but can be used with almost any stick that is over 42 inches tall.

At over 7 feet long, over 5 feet wide, and 42 inches high, this tent offers more room inside than almost any other ultralight tent.

This tent has large mesh sidewalls and vents making it close to a full 2-layer tent. Double wall tent on the sides and front only. The back wall is single wall.

Two-person tent comes with 8 ultralight stakes, guy lines, and a carry bag.

Internal loops: I would string a line between these two points for drying cloths, hanging items, etc.

Would love to see a front vestibule version of tent

Friday, June 28, 2019

Everything Goes Wrong - Day Hike Adventure




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

There are moments where nothing seems to go the way that you plan and that is especially true on the trail but that doesn't mean that it isn't fun! :D

Our recent hiking adventure series comes to an end with everything going wrong!  Join us for a Cluster #@$* of a good time on the Appalachian trail!






Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Modular Sleep System Molle II Sleep System Carrier




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Want to Attach the Modular Sleep System to any backpack?  This is the Molle II Sleep System Carrier and it makes that possible!



Link : eBay and just about any military surplus provider; they are very common.

Price : Around $25 is very common

Weight : 1.4lbs

NSN : 8465-01-465-2124

Measurements : 15” x10” x 9" Approx. 1500 Cubic Inches (25.5L)

Materials : water-resistant Cordura nylon

Made by SDS

Versions : Can be found in multiple camo patterns including woodland which you see here.

Compatible : Works with the MOLLE II system as well as other military packs such as the Alice pack.

Features D-Rings so you can attached a shoulder strap to if you desire to carry it.

Was designed to fit the MSS; You will have to compress the hell out of it but it will in fact fit.



I see online that the term Molle II seems to confused people as they think that this means that it is Molle/pals compatible which it is not.  It was designed to fit with the Molle II rucksack.

Wht I like about this is that you can strap this to just about anything with a little ingenuity.  Molle II, Alice, ILBE, Eberlestock pack and so on.  Something to keep in mind is that it doesn’t have to be pretty, it just has to work.  I’ve seen some rig up their packs so that they have two of these attached for when there is a need to carry large amounts of gear.

Big enough for just about anything; large sleep systems or even combination of shelter and sleep system.  Hammock and sleeping bag, tent and bag, tarp and bag

I often hear complaints when it comes to attaching these to backpacks because you have to remove the buckles; that is par for the course so if you wish to use this system, you will likely have to do remove the buckles, feed the strap and then reattach.  It’s not that big of a deal.


Monday, June 24, 2019

Best Selling Backpacking Tent on Amazon - ALPS Mountaineering Lynx 1 Review





Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?

Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



This is the Best Selling Backpacking Tent on Amazon and here is my review of the ALPS Mountaineering Lynx 1....

it's not for everyone....







Link : https://www.amazon.com/ALPS-Mountaineering-Lynx-1-Person-Tent/dp/B07NXVYGXW 



Weight : 4 lbs. 4 oz



Price : At the time of filming; $115 for the Blue / Green and $55 for the Clay /Rust. I paid $79 when I purchased this tent



Colors : There are two colors of this tent; blue / green and the clay / rust.



Measurements : 2'8 x 7'6, Center Height: 36",



There is a Lynx 2, 3, 4 person version available.



Design : Freestanding that really isn’t freestanding and I will explain this in a bit.







This tent is an oddity of sorts as Alps Mountaineering describes the Lynx in the following way;



What's especially nice about the Lynx is that the walls are mostly mesh, which helps increase ventilation.



While the walls are of a higher percentage of mesh, this is by far not their most ventilated tent and in fact, for summer use I feel that there are better tent options out there when you are counting on air flow to keep you comfortable.  In my opinion, this is more of a 3+ season tent and what I mean is this; this tent has more in common with a double wall, 4 season tent than a meshy 3 season tent and I see it being the best of fits in the fall, winter and spring use as the polyester material holds in more heat and blocks more wind than the average 3 meshy 3 season tent.



To me, this tent seems confused; it’s part 3+ season and 3 season but it isn’t a matter of neither area. Too much polyester paneling for summer and not enough of it for holding in a lot of heat in the colder months thanks to the mesh which is present.



Since AM has other tents which are a better fit for warm weather/summer use, I would like to see them leave a majority of the mesh behind for this tent and make it a fanstastic 3+ season.







Pros :



Excellent quality for the money.



Tall; allows for sitting up as long as you are under 5’



Waterproof; I’ve had no issues with leaking.



Rain fly covers the entire tent.



I don’t mind the rust color tent.



Simple setup and break down



Cons :



Size : for an average size individual, this was fine but for tall and wide individuals, you may not like what you find with this tent.  I had a buddy of mine hop in this tent who is 6’; he could lay flat but he couldn’t sit up straight.



I dislike the blue green version of this tent; not my tastes at all.



Narrow – might be a problem for larger individuals



Tall- this is a pro and a con because of the height, you have to stake it out as it will blow away in a slight breeze unless it is anchored down.  During mild winds, this tent is so tall that the force of the wind pushing on it began to pull the tent stakes out of the ground.



Velcro pole straps are extremely long and because of that they don’t do a very good job of securing the fly to the pole.



The good news is that the fly hugs the body of the tent closely so that isn’t be much of an issue when it comes to it being locked into place other than it being annoying to attach; that is why I generally don’t worry about attaching them.



Because the fly hugs the body of the tent so tightly, air flow is restricted to main the door.



Limited ventilation and air flow which means condensation is possible



Can be a very hot tent to sleep in and will require a good breeze blowing through the door to feel it.



 ……



Summary :



This is a good quality budget tent that for myself is one that I would only consider using for cooler nights out on the trail and that’s because of the design.  On the hotter windless nights, it has been HOT in this tent and at times, I have been miserable in this tent especially when it warm out and it is raining so the door is zipped shut.  Uncomfortable for sure. If you need a budget tent which offers excellent ventilation, take a look at the Zephyr.



AM continues to be one of those companies who in general makes good quality, budget gear which I have no problem recommending as I haven’t had any failures yet.  The material choices with this tent and some of their others is questionable but maybe mesh is more expensive than the fabric.


Friday, June 21, 2019

Apple Orchard Falls - Hiking Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR
This is part 2 of a 3 part Day Hiking Series where Susie and I adventure deep into the mountains of VA.

In this episode, we are exploring the Apple Orchard Falls which turned out to be absolutely beautiful!  We also encountered a Thru-Hiker who shared some of his experiences in the bad parts of Roanoke.

Next week is part 3 in which every single thing that could go wrong did go wrong!

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Worth $45? - Toaks Titanium Wood Stove Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently I reviewed the Canway Camping Stove and today I have the Toaks Titanium Wood Stove which is double the price.  Is it worth it?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/TOAKS-Titanium-Backpacking-Burning-Stove/dp/B00SA2H05I

Price : $45 at the time of Filming on Amazon -

Material: Pure Titanium (Grade 1 or 2)

Weight: 5.4oz / 151gr.

Dimensions: When packed: 3 3/4" (94mm) (Dia) x 3 3/4" (94mm) (H) When assembled: 3 3/4" (94mm) (Dia) x 7 1/4" (183mm) (H)

Origin : Designed by TOAKS in California, made in China.

Notes :

There are two version of this stove, the small and the large and Toaks does a terrible job of distinguishing them on Amazon.  In fact, at the time of filming, they have the exact same Amazon Title with the only obvious difference being price.  So if you go out to buy this stove, know that there are two versions.

When it is packed, it can nest inside TOAKS Titanium 750mml pot.

It comes with a nylon sack bag.



Tips :

Once assembled, fill the stove with wood up to the halfway point of the top can. When filling the stove with wood, put bigger pieces of wood on the bottom and smaller stuff on the top, but don’t over fill it by putting as much wood in it as will fit. You want to preserve good airflow through the stove.

If you materials needs a little assistance due to moisture, use a cotton ball and Vaseline to get it going.  Light from the top

This is a gasifier stove and when it comes to such products, there many out on the market including the most popular which would be the solo stove.



Pros :

Very good construction

Lightweight

Compact - Does fit inside of the Toaks 750ML pot and larger sizes but if you do so, your pot will get dirty- it is a wood burning stove afterall.

Easy to setup

Easy to ignite with proper prep.

Fun to use

Can boil 2 cups of water in around 7 minutes; of course your mileage will vary depending on the condition of the materials used in your stove.

Efficient – How efficient of course depends on the materials which you are using. – will burn to ash

Like just about everything in life, this stove isn’t right for all conditions and locations; keep that in mind.

...

Cons :

Non-intuitive assembly – everyone who I have shown this to has taken time to figure out.

Very tall and eventually you may knock it over; that would be an easy thing to do.

Requires more attention to be paid than with other types of stoves.

Can be a bit unstable if not on completely flat ground.  If that is the case, you can use thin sticks or even tent stakes to hold the pot down so that it is tippsy.

While it is compact there are much, much smaller stoves out on the market

Like all wood burning stoves, it will take a bit of time to master it

Simmering isn’t a strong point for this stove as it burns hot and fast due to the design.

The rectangular hole in the top can is very small, so you can only feed the stove with annoyingly small pieces of wood unless you remove the pot and feed it from the top

Biggest complaint : Not windproof; if in gusty conditions the wind will push the flames and heat out of the size of the top section.  You will need a wind screen in some situations

Could become a lot of work if you were doing a lot of cooking/boiling.



Summary :

Is this the best wood burning stove ever; in my opinion no but that doesn’t mean that I don’t like it because I do.  It’s light, has an interesting design, is fun to use and is compact.


Monday, June 17, 2019

What is in This Package? - Viewer Mail Episode #61



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Whoa everyone, thank you all so much for being so generous to not only me but to lovely Susie as well!

It is Viewer Mail time and we are forever thankful for all of the kindness which has been shared!


Friday, June 14, 2019

Hidden Gem - FallingWater Cascades - Day Hike Adventure





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR
This is part 1 of a 3 part Day Hiking Series where Susie and I adventure deep into the mountains of VA.
For this episode it features a Hidden Gem which we discovered with the FallingWater Cascades!
The Series ends with an adventure where just about everything goes wrong.....still fun though!  

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Combat Field Pack - CFP-90 Military Backpack Monster



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the military backpack which often goes forgotten by military surplus fans and today it is time to discuss it!

Large!  Heavy!  Copied!  Capable!

This is the CFP-90 Rucksack – (Combat Field Pack M-1990)!



Link : eBay or Military Surplus Provider
Price : Used can be found for $50.  New for around $150 with patrol pack
Weight : 8lbs without the patrol pack
Size : Huge Pack with 6,800 (110 liters)cubic inches of storage space
Material : Nylon Cordura ·

NSN : 8465-01-286-5356

Camo : These only come in woodland camo from what I understand; if you see one in a different pattern it is likely a knock off.

Versions : Other militaries have updated designs of this pack such as the Indian army which features Molle all over the pack.

It should be mentioned that prototypes of these packs popup everyone once in a while including those which are OD and brown in color.

Measurements :
the main upper compartment is 20” x 14” x 8”

the lower is 10.5” x 14” x 10.5”

if the false bottom is opened the entire main compartment will measure 31” x 14” x 8”.

The one large right pocket measures 18” x 6” x 3.5” and the two smaller left pockets each measure at 9.5” x 6” x 3.5”.

History : The design of this pack came from a WWII USMC Jungle ruck and was released in the late 80's and was later discontinued at some point in the late 2000's with the last of these being made around 2008.

I have heard over the years that early versions of this pack were made by Low Alpine and all of them are known for having various problems especially with the frame and breakage.   From what I have read, these were normally used by Recon, Rangers and Special Forces and that the Army decided that they were simply too big and bulky for regular use.

During the course of the CFP-90, the problems associated with the first versions were not correctly solved and some problems still passed on to the second models.



Pros :

Huge excellent
abrasion resistance and water repellency
Adjustable harness
Can easily haul over 70lbs

Bulletproof – Don’t let this term confuse you; every once in a while I’ll see some comment in regards to this term and for some reason there are some people who don’t understand it.  It means strong, not literally bulletproof.

Excellent value for the money

Cons :

Heavy

The biggest complaint I've heard about the genuine ones is the plastic piece that attaches to the sliding adjustment for shoulder strap height has been known to break.

There are known quality issues no matter the version


Monday, June 10, 2019

Teton Sports Responds about the AmazonBasic 55L Backpack





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being Agenda free means that I can hold companies accountable for what they say and do...or don't say and in this episode of Companies Respond, I have an interesting story to tell about Teton Sports.

Can I continue to support them and make their recommendation to others?


Friday, June 7, 2019

That's a Knife! - Maxwell Edition 2 - Viewer Mail Episode #60




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the second episode of the Maxwell Edition of Viewer Mail!
Maxwell, I can't thank you enough for all that you have done.
I hope that you all are ready to see some Military Surplus!




Wednesday, June 5, 2019

What the Heck is a Mini Alice Pack?





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What happens when you take a famous piece of military surplus (Alice Pack) and shrink it down to a mini size?

Nothing good!

This is the Mini Alice Pack....



Weight of Entire System : 3lbs 11oz Approx.

Cost of Entire System : $113 before shipping fees

Pack Link : https://www.armysurplusworld.com/small-nylon-alice-pack

Frame : https://www.5ivestargear.com/packs-bags/backpacks/gi-spec-lc-ii-alice-pack-frame-complete

……………………………….

Pack :

Price : $60

The Small Nylon Alice Pack at Army Surplus World is a great, durable pack for recreational use. The Small Nylon Alice Pack is ready to transport your gear safely, time and time again. G.I. Style Mini Alice Pack features shoulder straps, 3 outside pockets and measures 14 1/2" x 12" x 7". ALICE stands for All-Purpose Lightweight Individual Carrying Equipment system and was adopted by the United States Army in the 1960's to help soldiers carry large heavy packs.

It too me forever to figure this out as there are no markings on the pack itself but hidden away on the Army Surplus World Web Site it says that it is made by Rothco and Fox Outdoor.  If you are interested in this pack, make sure to pay attention as Rotcho has a canvas version which will not fit on the frame.

This is referred to as the Rothco G.I. Style Mini Alice Pack

Features According to Manufacture :

• Constructed of durable P.U. coated polyester

• Large main compartment under storm flap

• Hidden map pocket under flap with hook & loop closure

• 3 outside pockets with compression buckles & 2-snap closure

• Wrap around compression straps over storm flap

• Adjustable padded shoulder straps

• 14 1/2" x 12" x 7"

• 600 Denier Polyester

No waist belt unless used with a frame
….

Frame :

GI SPEC LC-II ALICE PACK FRAME COMPLETE

Price : $53

The 5ive Star Gear® GI Spec LC-II ALICE Pack Frame is designed as a mount for either the medium field pack or the large field pack. This frame comes complete with everything you need for comfort to carry large loads with no problem, including shoulder straps and kidney pad. Item is compatible with the 5ive Star Gear® GI Spec LC-II ALICE Pack.;

Features According to Manufacture : 

Heavy duty construction

Complete frames include all straps kidney and shoulder pads

Imported

…..

Summary :

A viewer sent me this pack and for that kindness I am incredibly thankful.

At first, I was highly confused by this; I’ve used medium and large Alice packs but I’ve never seen a small and there is a reason for that; it’s terrible!

As far as a review goes; I wouldn’t purchase this pack and I certainly wouldn’t use it with a frame.  Yes it looks cool and initially I thought that it was really, really awesome but as I begun using it the more it became clear that this simply isn’t a realistic backpack.

At this size, it is too small; so small and so limited that it is virtually impossible to use unless you are carrying only a few items.  I was going to use it with my latest overnight adventure which was a survival trip and I had virtually nothing with me with the exception of a small emergency shelter and some minor camera gear and it simply wouldn’t work.

Look awesome but isn’t useable.

The outside pockets are very small.

You can remove the frame and that will increase the storage of the bag but will decrease the overall comfort as the pack will become more round shaped and won’t fit flatly on the back.

If you like the Alice pack, go with the Medium one; don’t get this one.

Good for school? Maybe if you are carrying a few books….maybe.

Something else to keep in mind is that that Gi Style of packs, copy cats in other words have a strong reputation for failure; it’s a simple fact and if you go out and buy one of these, be ready to treat it gently and to have problems.  This pack is made out of polyester, not nylon.  Polyester isn’t the best of materials for backpacks.

More of a novelty in my opinion and for the pack itself, it is very expensive.  I wouldn’t recommend buying this; take your money and buy something else. Buy a medium alice with frame for $55 and call it a day.

Frame looks to be very well made and I don’t personally see any issues with it.


Monday, June 3, 2019

Worth $20? - Canway Wood Burning Stove - Review




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Looking for a good quality wood burning stove that doesn't cost an arm and a leg?  This is the Canway Camping Stove!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Canway-Backpacking-Portable-Stainless-Traveling/dp/B071P1X3ML

Price : $20 on Amazon at the time of filming

Weight : stove - 1lb 1.8oz Bag - .6oz

It is time for another gasifer stove review and today we have the Canway Camping Stove.

First off, I love stoves like this as I have always been interested in the design; this one was sent by a viewer to review and I happily accepted the challenge.

Longest title every; Canway Camping Stove, Wood Stove/Backpacking Stove,Portable Stainless Steel Wood Burning Stove Nylon Carry Bag Outdoor Backpacking Hiking Traveling Picnic BBQ

….

Pros :

Easy setup.
Stable!
Very good quality – no flex at all- impressive for $20

With good materials, it takes roughly 3 minutes for the gasification process to start and the stove is ready to go.

Wind resistant.

Thanks to the size, it can burn for a very long time and it is easier to simmer with than some wood stoves.

Coals will stay hot very a very long time

Legs have been sturdy so far with no bending or flexing.

Good quality mesh bag.

Centralized flame


Cons :

Heavy

Legs are stiff to move which I actually like but time will tell if they become very hard to move which I can see happening.

Smokey until it gets going; it’s a wood stove….so I’m taking this off of the con list.  If you don’t like soot and smoke, don’t use a wood stove!

General cons to wood stoves like this;

Cons - this takes longer overall than my Optimus. I enjoy the ritual of building the fire and tending it, but if you’re with impatient people or needing to get on the trail quickly this may not be for you. And you also have to wait for the stove to cool after use.

- I may not be able to use this in the parks if a burn ban is in effect

- it does get soot on your pots

- you have to tend the fire and keep it fed and hot



Summary :

For the money, there isn’t much to complain about; hey, it’s only $20!

Want to improve the design; drimmeling some of this material would make feeding slightly easier

Friday, May 31, 2019

Winner Announcement - Teton Sports Scout 3400 Backpack





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Did you win the Teton Sports Scout 3400 backpack?
Find out now!

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

The Rareish MOLLE II Patrol Pack - Military Surplus!





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Military Surplus has returned to TOGR with new videos coming every week!  For this episode, we have the MOLLE II Patrol Pack which is easily confused with the 3-Day Assault Pack but, they are in fact different!


Friday, May 24, 2019

Survival Overnight Adventure - Lost on the Trail with only the Emergency...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the very first Survival Overnight adventure where I head into the woods with very little in terms of food, gear, clothing, and so on.  The focus of this trip is an emergency shelter which is known as the Pocket Super Shelter and it is time to see how well that it holds up as an emergency option.

In this episode you will see a beautiful remote forest, bears, deer, owls, and experience real survival with temps close to freezing with absolutely no overnight gear.


Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Will It Leak? - Test Night - Alps Mountaineering Lynx 1





Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Test Night and for this episode Luke is putting the Alps Mountaineering Lynx 1 tent to the test;

Night time setup.
Lots of Rain.
Strong Winds.
Bugs.

Will there be problems?
Find out now!

...

Link :  http://www.alpsmountaineering.com/products/tents/backpacking-tents/lynx-1




Monday, May 20, 2019

The Secret!!! - Random Lunch and Chat





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a Random Lunch and Chat episode and Luke has a secret!  :D
Can you guess what it is?


Friday, May 17, 2019

My Favorite Hammock Tip that Everyone Should Do



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This happens to be my favorite hammock tip and if your hammock has a mesh bug net this is going to make your life a whole lot easier.

This is Backpacking Basics!


Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Backpacking and Hiking Concealed Carry Pouch - Zpacks Pouch





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about the Concealed Carry system which I personally use whether I'm out on a day hike or a backpacking trip.


Link : https://zpacks.com/products/belt-pouch


Monday, May 13, 2019

My Favorite Tent Tip - Backpacking Basics





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

If I could go back in time and give myself some advice in relation to tents and backpacking, it would be this!

This is Backpacking Basics and this is my favorite tent tip!


Friday, May 10, 2019

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

How Bad Can It Be? - Alps Mountaineering Lynx 1 Tent - Setup




Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
Do so with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being able to see how easy a tent is to pitch is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Alps Mountaineering Lynx 1 Tent.

Link :  http://www.alpsmountaineering.com/products/tents/backpacking-tents/lynx-1




Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Maxwell Edition 1 - Viewer Mail Episode #59



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR


This is the very first episode of the Maxwell Edition of Viewer Mail!
Maxwell, I can't thank you enough for all that you have done.
I hope that you all are ready to see some Military Surplus!

Also, in this episode we prove that Turkeys love Viewer Mail too!  :D


Monday, May 6, 2019

Spring 2019 Campfire Chronicles : Episode 5



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time for a Campfire Chronicles episode; I can't believe that it has been so long!
In this episode, I discuss Maddie, Moose, Youtube, and more while testing out a new Bushcraft Stove.


Friday, May 3, 2019

The Lost Community - 32 Water Crossings - Overnight Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Luke and Susie's most recent overnight adventure which involves the Lost Community where lives were lost in the 1916 flood.

Enjoy the adventure and see what remains to this day over 100 years later!


Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Spring Adventure - Gear Loadout




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan and I are gearing up for another adventure; join us as we pack our bags and talk about why we are using the gear which we are.

Monday, April 29, 2019

Test Night Returns! - Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 Tent



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the first Test Night video of 2019 and it involves the Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 tent!  How will it perform with a night of rain?

Find out now!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/clearwing-2/




Friday, April 26, 2019

Before You Buy - Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 Tent - Setup




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Before you buy any tent it is important to check on the setup process; how easy or how complex is it?

This is the Sierra Designs Clearwing 2 setup video!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/clearwing-2/




Thursday, April 25, 2019

M1008 CUCV Military Truck Daily Driver 2019 Update



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's 2019 and I've had Moose as my daily driver for almost 3 years now and today, I'm giving you all an update on the old military truck.


Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Why I Adventure in the Outdoors




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently in one of my overnight adventures, I received a comment from a guy who asked why I went through all of the effort which I did just to camp out in a nasty storm.  At the time, I didn’t think much about the question but the other day I was thinking about it and that was actually a good question and it is one which I will answer for the channel in the form of a video.


Monday, April 22, 2019

Workhorse NiteCore NU32 Rechargeable Headlamp - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time to review the NiteCore NU32 Headlamp; this is a true Trail Review, not an overview which some channels present as it covers the Pros and Cons and whether this is a good fit for you.



Link : https://www.nitecorestore.com/NITECORE-NU32-550-Lumen-LED-Rechargeable-Headlamp-p/fl-nite-nu32-bk.htm

Price : $40; more if you want to add a USB AC & Car Power Adapters
Weight : 3.6oz including band

Dimensions: Length - 2.48" (63mm)

Head Size - 1.71" (43.5mm)

Battery: 1800 mAh, Li-on

5 LEDS

NITECORE NU32

Max output of 550 lumens with up to 136 yards of throw

3 output sources: White LED, Red Auxiliary LEDs, High CRI Auxiliary LEDs

4 brightness levels and 2 special modes (SOS and Beacon) of white light


Friday, April 19, 2019

I Feel Terrible - Viewer Mail episode #58



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Folks I have no idea how I overlooked this package for this long!
This is Viewer Mail episode #58 and as always, I am incredibly thankful!


Thursday, April 18, 2019

Osprey Packs UL Packing Cube Set - Kit Bag Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Osprey Packs UL Packing Cube Set!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06VVVMYC6

Weight : 2.3oz for all three bags

Price : $38

Colors : Shadow Grey which has a hint of green to it and a neon green which they call electric lime

In most cases you will see these bags being used with traveling and while they work great for that purpose, they also work exceptionally well for hiking, backpacking, and so on.

40D Nylon Ripstop
YKK zippers

Created with travel and off road adventure in mind, the Ultralight Packing Cube Set from Osprey are designed to keep adventure packing simple. Created with a rectangular shape for efficient packing, zippered top access pockets and webbed grab handles, the pack set is ready for your next adventure. – Weight of all three bags :

Size small: 1 Litre/15g
Medium: 2L/20g
large: 5L/30g

Kit bags are a great way to keep your gear organized within your backpack; you can have a power kit, fire kit, clothing bag and so on.


Cons :

The only real con for these bags is the cost; $38

that’s Kifaru pricing but the quality is good, the warranty is the best in the busy and these bags are very unfunctional without adding any real weight to your pack.

The Osprey web site continues with the theme of odd and inaccurate information.  For this product the site didn’t include any product specs, and it claimed that a selling point was that the zippers secure the contents.  Yeah osprey, I guess the zippers do secure the contents….thanks for letting us know.


Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Fenix CL26R Rechargeable Camping Lantern Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time for my review of the Fenix CL26R Lantern;

is it worth your hard earned money?

Find out Now!

Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-cl26r-high-performance-rechargeable-camping-lantern/


Sunday, April 14, 2019

Snake Island - Kayaking Adventure





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Kayaking Adventure to 'Snake Island' and I hope that you all enjoy it just as much as I did.

...

:: Kayak Adventure Gear List ::
Emotion Glide Kayak

Carlisle Day Tripper Aluminum Kayak Paddle - 2 Piece (Black/Silver, 220 cm)

Yakgrips Kayak Paddle Grips

Outdoor Products Large Watertight Box

Gerber 05640 River Shorty Knife

O'Neill Superlite USCG Vest (Blk)

Outdoor Products Rafter 50L Weather Defense Duffel

Hammock - Hennessy Ultralite Backpacker Asym Zip

Jacks are better High Sierra Sniveller

Stakes - Shock Cord Lines

Sealline Dry Bag

Cheap Water shoes

Power bag

Fire Kit -Stove – pots - Spoon

Misc kit

Sunblock

Ombraz Armless Sunglasses

Sealskinz Sunhat

Chapstick – Sunblock

BeFree Water Filter Bag 3L

1L Nalgeen


Friday, April 12, 2019

I'm Keeping This Forever! - Viewer Mail Episode #57




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wow!

I am going to keep this Forever!
This is Viewer Mail Episode #57.
I'm thankful!

Link to the plaque video;
https://youtu.be/sgrgtpUjSGs

Thursday, April 11, 2019

My Gear Collection and Storage - 2019



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It's 2019 and this is what my gear collection and storage is looking like.
Also, thank you to everyone who has sent me pics of the gear storage; awesome!

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

The Final Word - AmazonBasics 55L Backpack Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the episode that Youtube doesn't want you to see (limited Ads)!

This is the Final World on the AmazonBasics 55L Backpack which includes my full review of this piece of junk!

Link : https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Internal-Hiking-Backpack-Rainfly/dp/B077P17P2N


Monday, April 8, 2019

Winner Announcements - Fenix CL26R Lantern Giveaway




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

3 Lucky Winners are going to receive Fenix CL26R Lanterns;
Find out if you are one of them NOW!

My review of this product is coming soon.

Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-cl26r-high-performance-rechargeable-camping-lantern/


Friday, April 5, 2019

Backpack Giveaway - Enter Now



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

I like you all so much that I'm doing a Backpack Giveaway!
Enter Now to Win and Good Luck!

Also, Stay Tuned for The Final Word Review of the AmazonBasics 55L Pack.  ;D


Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Protection - Fjallraven Abisko Summer Hat - Review





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Here is something that you don't see every day on Youtube;
the Fjallraven Abisko Summer Hat and it is time for my review!



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Fjallraven-Mens-Abisko-Summer-Hat/dp/B00IKQ5N08

Price : $50

Weight : 3oz for small size

Sizes : S- XL

Colors : Grey, Olive and Tan

Developed and tested during Lapland's Arctic summer, Fjallraven made the Abisko Summer Hat to shield the always-present sun from cooking your brain like an over-easy egg. The hat's wide brim folds onto the sides of the hat for less flapping when you're hiking, and an adjustable chinstrap secures it to your head. G-1000 Lite fabric isn't too heavy and allows excess sweat to evaporate. A UPF 40 rating ensures your dome won't burn when subjected to intense sunshine.

·       G-1000 Lite (65% polyester, 35% cotton) fabric
·       Wide brim can be folded and attached to sides with buttons
·       Adjustable chinstrap with cordlock
·       UPF 40

Note : Forget looking this hat up on the US Fjallraven website; to be honest, I have often found the site to be very poor and it can be hard to locate information on products.  For an example, the Abisko hat can’t be located on their site even though the hat came direction from their distribution here in the states.  I had this ordered locally

Note 2 : This is not the Fjallraven Hatfield Hat

Review :

Pros :
Wide Enough to offer excellent protection
Stiff Brim; not floppy.
Continues to wear well even when wet; not waterproof at all but does keep the rain out of your eyes.  You could wax it but if you wax it you lose out on the breathable properties of the G1000
Breathable.
Excellent quality
Strong; the snaps have held up well and Im constantly adjusting this hat based on the changing conditions that we have here in the mountains.


Cons :
The low cut nature of this hat means that it isn’t going to be compatible with all sunglasses.  Depending on the design, it may lift your sunglasses up because the hat is pressing down on the arms.

Material 'holds' dirt!


Monday, April 1, 2019

Waterproof? - 5.11 Tactical Aurora Shell - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to review the 5.11 Aurora Shell,
is it an awesome waterproof jacket or are their seriously problems?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.511tactical.com/aurora-shell-jacket.html

Price : $150
Colors : Black, Brown, Green and Blue

Size : XS – 3XL

From 5.11 : "For some of us, being outside is mandatory, no matter what the forecast shows. Whether it's a hike, a hunt or a long walk on your favorite path, the Aurora Shell Jacket is a great choice. It's 15K/15K water resistant and breathable, so you stay drier, longer, even when those gray clouds turn into a good shower. The underarm zippers give you extra venting, and articulated sleeves and shoulders free up your arm motion for those inclines. And because you're never without your phone, podcasts or music, internal media ports help keep cords out of your way. Trek on."

Breathable
Fully seam sealed

Articulated sleeves and shoulders
Left chest zipper pocket with internal media ports for cord management

Hand zip pockets with internal RapiDraw™ pass through access

Adjustable hem with shock cord system

Regular Fit

2.5L 100% Nylon Plain Weave Face with Coffee Print Backer, DWR


Pros :

Looks terrific.

Comfortable

Excellent quality

Nice feature set

Very breathable – excellent in this regards.

Makes a good shell for wind, light rain, dry snow.

It works well as a wind-shell especially when combined with a quality insulating mid layer, and its breathable and has pit vents for when its a little warmer and you want to stay dry. The waterproofing is good for light rain and will repel water nicely to a certain point, but if its really down pouring and you expect to spend a lot of time in the rain, you may want to treat it with a hydrophobic product.


Good visor

Easy access to your front carry concealed firearm – While I like this feature, how compatible it will be with your carry system will depend on your training, layers, and the size of your firearm.

.....

Monday, March 25, 2019

The Forgotten Loop - 3 Day Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

The Forgotten Loop is a trek that Luke and Susan put together in the mountains of Virginia which utilizes a number of existing trail systems.

This is a three day adventure and it features Crazy Horse!

.......

Gear List :
Big Agnes Slater Tent 2p
MLD Ground Sheet
Zpack Arc Blast Pack (Luke)
Hanchor Marble Backpack (Susan)
Golite Adrenaline Sleeping Bag (Susan)
Jacks R Better High Sierra Sniveller Quilt (Luke)
Thermarest XTherm Insulated Sleeping Pad (Susan)
Klymit Static V Insulated Sleeping Pad (Luke)
Stove : Pocket Rocket 2
Fuel Canister x2
Pot : Toaks Titanium 750ML
MSR Titanium Cup
MLD Titanium Cup
High Route Gear RectangleLight Food Gear
2 Long Titanium Spoons
Paper towels
Katadyn BeFree Water Filtration System 3L
Fire Kit
Power Kit
Misc Kit

Clothing :
Hat
Gloves
Beanie
Sweater
Down jacket
Tights (night)
Extra socks x2
Long S. Shirt
Rain Gear – Jacket and Pants

Misc :
Hand Warmers
Quilt Strap
Sun Glasses
Toilet paper
Sun Block Lips
Food
Snacks
Coffee
Drink Mixes
Pocket knife




Friday, March 22, 2019

Not Worthy - Viewer Mail Episode #56



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

I'm speechless...
Absolutely Speechless...
Seriously, I can't believe it!

This is Viewer Mail Episode #56 and I'm floored at the generosity...
thank you so much Maxwell and Eric!
Wow!


Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Eberlestock Responds - Bandit Backpack Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to review the Eberlestock Bandit Backpack;

Pros
Cons

And Eberlestock has responded to my previously mentioned issues concerning this pack.

Link : http://www.eberlestock.com/store/bandit-pack




Monday, March 18, 2019

Outdoor Pantry Smoked Pork with Salsa and Beans - Camper's Cafe Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have Smoked Pork with Salsa and Beans from Outdoor Pantry.

Link : https://outdoorpantry.com/products/smoked-pulled-pork-with-salsa-black-beans


Friday, March 15, 2019

Rime Ice Hike - In the Clouds Day Hike Adventure




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Hot on the heels of the Creeper Walk adventure, Luke and Susie are out for another hike and this one involves ice; lots and lots of Rime Ice!


Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Whoa, Look at That! - Viewer Mail Episode #55




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wow, Check That Out!
Today in this episode of Viewer Mail, Luke is blown away!

A special thanks goes out to everyone for the kindness and generosity.


Monday, March 11, 2019

5.11 Responds - Customer Service Changes



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Remember my review of the 5.11 Insulator Jacket?  Remember the issues which I had with their customer service?

5.11 has responded to my video; find out what they had to say now!


Friday, March 8, 2019

34 Mile Creeper Walk 2019 - Into Darkness




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Creeper Walk 2019 and in this adventure Luke is facing a challenging 34 mile hike with roughly 6 hours of light and 6 hours of darkness!

Join Luke as he heads into the Darkness and a body is found in the river!




Wednesday, March 6, 2019

The One With the Watch! - Viewer Mail #54



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

In this episode;

A GPS watch, a package hits the ground, Luke discusses the downed tree at Lone Wolf, flashlight goodies, cookies, and more.

This is Viewer Mail episode #54!

Rock T. and AM, thank you both so much for your generosity!


Monday, March 4, 2019

Vanquest FTIM 6x9 Gen 2 Maximizer - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing the Vanquest FTIM 6x9 Gen 2 Maximizer.
Good? Bad? Worth the cost?
Find out now!

Also, what was that noise at the end of the video?



Link : https://www.vanquest.com/ftim-6x9-gen-2-fast-totally-integrated-maximizer/
Cost : $35
Weight : 6.5oz
Size : 6x9

Colors : Black, Coyote, Gray (red on the way in march)

FTIM 6X9 (Gen-2) New Features: (1) 29 elastic webbing slots; (2) Gear shelf bottom to support vertical items; (3) Hypalon zipper pull tabs and Spartan zipper pulls; (4) 500-D CORDURA coated with Durable Water Repellent (DWR); (5) Movable/removable 2 position key fob.

The re-designed Fast Totally Integrated Maximizer™ FTIM-6X9 (Gen-2) is an evolved organizer that offers lightning-fast pull-down access and gear-taming organization. It is a hybrid of our signature PPM/EDCM Maximizer™ organizers, and the popular FATPack medical pouches.

We enhanced the zipper function to be as smooth as possible, include two Spartan Zipper Pulls, redesigned the front slip pocket to be easier to access and updated the front hook and loop field to seamlessly flow with the bag. The back MOLLE attachment now uses less nylon webbing for weight savings without losing any compatibility to MOLLE/PALS webbing.

With maximizer staggered/offset elastic loops, 2 included anchor wraps, two internal large slip pockets, two 1” paracord attachment loops with keeper, and 29 vertical and horizontal elastic loops, every slot/pocket in the FTIM is designed to keep every piece of EDC gear the perfect spot! The main compartment bottom shelf also helps retain small gear and prevents accidental drops.

A sturdy grab handle and user-selectable FASTab system lets you quickly unzip the #8 YKK lockable zippers.With one instinctive pull, the FTIM's contents are at the ready. Loop ID panel, exterior slip pocket, and MOLLE/PALS side panels allow expansion of gear carried.

You can attach the pouch onto any MOLLE/PALS surface with MOLLE Sticks (#99MS5X4*); or convert it for hook-and-loop attachment using the MOHL-Air adapter panel (#017700*); or use our 1" UNIVERSAL STRAP (#012001*) to carry it around your shoulder.

Net Weight: 6.5 oz | 184 gram

Internal Dimension: 9” (H) x 6.5” (W) x 2” (D)

One external and two internal storage pockets with 29 elastic webbing slots

Staggered and off-set stitching on elastic webbing reduces unusable space

Grab handle eases hand carry and removing from pockets

Internal 5.5” keychain fob and 1” paracord attachment loop

1.75” (H) x 3” (W) ID/Morale patch loop panel on front

MOLLE/PALS webbing on sides / rear for modular attachment

Compatible with MOLLE Sticks and MOHL Adapter Panel for loop panel attachment

Materials: 500-D Military grade Cordura® fabric with DWR (Durable Water Repellent) for all weather performance.

Subdued Hi-visibility, lightweight & moisture resistant 210-D Ripstop nylon interior.

Durable & abrasion resistant RC-Class locking YKK® #8 zippers, reversed for protection.

Spartan zipper pulls and Hypalon zipper tabs for easy closure

High tensile strength nylon webbings and binding tapes

Finished with high tensile strength bonded nylon thread

Pros :

Excellent quality

Improved zippers – easier to run

Tons of potential organizing.

Will blow your mind when it comes to how much these can hold.

Versatile – I have friend who takes this pouch and connects another pouch with PALS connections and weaves them together and it’s a great way to have a unified system of organizing.

Cons :

Still require MOLLE Sticks to attach to MOLLE and PALS which require an additional $14. I’ve personally never cared for those and would prefer traditional connections. The good news is that the pouch if desired to be carried on the outside can be attached via grimlocs and they work very well.

Expensive – plan and simple but the quality justifies the price and is in-line with similar products




Monday, February 25, 2019

Virginia to Tennessee - V.D. on the A.T. - Overnight Adventure





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Luke and Susan are on the trial again and in this episode we hike from Virginia to Tennessee along the Appalachian Trail!

STEEEP!
Windy.
Rain.

Also, we make some interesting discoveries along the way including
artwork done by Dome (Do-Me).

Enjoy the adventure, more is on the way.

Gear List :
Tent : Nemo Losi 2P
MLD Ground Sheet
Exitus 35L Pack from Paratus Exploration Equipment (Luke)
Golite Adrenaline 0 Sleeping Bag (Susie)
Jacks R Better High Sierra Sniveller (Luke)
Gregory Deva 60 Pack (Susan)
Fajllraven Vidda Pro Pants (Luke)
Casio Pro Trek F20 Watch (Luke)
Fitbit Versa Watch (Susan)
Filmed with Panasonic GH5
Mic : Rode Video Mic Pro Plus
Edited on Final Cut Pro X
Trek : Started at Damascus VA, South Bound on the AT into TN.


Friday, February 22, 2019

Ultralight, Stable, Versatile - Sierra Designs High Side 1 Tent - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Luke is ready to hand down his verdict on the Sierra Designs High Side 1 tent!  This is the full review;

pros, cons, and more!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/high-side-1/

Cost : $279.95 retail

Highlights :
Pre-bent pole sections create "high side" over door maximizing livable space while minimizing weight

Low profile design reduces weight, without feeling too cramped.

Compact storage size takes up minimal space in your pack

Secondary vestibule zipper creates "awning panel" that provides covered storage and improved ventilation

Materials :
Number of Poles: 2 poles
Pole Material: DAC Featherlite Aluminum
Fly Fabric: 20D Nylon Ripstop, Silicone/1200mm PeU, FR CPAI84
Floor Fabric: 30D Nylon Ripstop, Silicone/1200mm PeU, FR CPAI84
Body Fabric: 15D Nylon No-See-Um Mesh

Specs :
Minimum Weight: 1lb 15oz / 0.88kg
Packaged Weight:  2lbs 7oz / 1.11kg
Number of Doors: 1
Number of Vestibules: 1
Vestibule Area: 7.7 ft2 / 0.72 m2
Floor Area: 17.2 ft2 / 1.60 m2
Peak Height:  32" / 81cm

Dimensions (L x W): 88 x 34 (head) x 26" (foot) / 224 x 86 (head) x 66cm (foot)

Packed Size (L x W): 13.5" x 5.25" / 34.3 cm x 13.3 cm
Design Type: Semi Non-Freestanding
Number of Guylines: 6
Stake Quantity: 13

Testing :

I received this tent at the end of summer and have been using it since then.
Temp ranges from 60’s to the lower 30’s.
I’ve experienced strong winds, moderate rain for hours at a time and light ice

Pros :

Very good price considering how light this tent is.  Most tents in this weight range will run hundreds more.

Good size for those whom are 6’3” and under.  Taller than that and you will find this tent snug

Excellent 3 season tent

Ultra light weight

Very airy but condensation may be inevitable regardless of the shelter’s design.

Excellent design which features an awning.

Extremely small form factor – can fit horizontally in your pack – only 13” long – great option for bike campers

For such a small tent; 32-inch peak height. It has enough room to lie down or sit in a hunched position, and to keep your gear out of the rain, but nothing more.

You can use the inner on its own with the fly and if you want, you can even use it with a large tarp for a variety of setups.

Easy to pitch and break down; not the easiest but not complicated either.  A tight pitch can be achieve rather easily.

Good weather resistance

Excellent quality; no issues when I received the tent and none have presented themselves with the last 6 months of testing.

Cons :
Small tent without a ton of space.  Think of it as a step up from a bivy; not a full tent in terms of size.
Requires a lot of stakes to setup
Because of the need of stakes to setup properly, this isn’t the tent for all adventures

Summary :

With this tent, you need to ask yourself, what are you seeking?  What is that that you need and want?
Are willing to sacrifice livable space for weight-savings.
Seek a shelter with a small footprint and/or small packed size.
Want a dedicated pole set, because you don’t use or need trekking poles, or because you are willing to carry more weight in exchange for a less fussy pitch.

Camp in humid environments, and therefore benefit from a physical barrier between you and a possibly condensation-soaked fly.

Always use the fly and tent body together, for a full-sided and fully enclosed experience.

Have a limited budget, or don’t care to spend $300-$600 for a shelter that is marginally lighter and/or uses more premium fabrics like 7d nylon or Cuben Fiber.

There are lighter tent stakes on the market; ditch the included ones if you want to drop a few oz.

No tent is perfect as there is always some compromise between weight, price, durability and usability. However, Sierra Designs has done a nice job with this one and is worth putting high on your consideration list if you’re looking for a new three season solo shelter.




Wednesday, February 20, 2019

3 Will Win - Enter Now - Fenix CL26R Lantern - Giveaway





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is hooking up 3 viewers with an awesome lantern from Fenix!  This product just hit the market so enter now with the only channel on Youtube which is completely agenda free!

My review of this product is coming soon.

Link : https://www.fenix-store.com/fenix-cl26r-high-performance-rechargeable-camping-lantern/




Monday, February 18, 2019

Hitting the Road with the Eberlestock Bandit Pack H31 - Hiking Test





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/



It is time to get the Eberlestock Bandit Pack out and do some hiking with it.



Is it going to be comfortable?  Are there going to be problems?

Find out now!



Eberlestock Bandit Pack (H31) – First Look



Link : http://www.eberlestock.com/store/bandit-pack


Friday, February 15, 2019

Man Challenge Accepted - Viewer Mail #53




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is Viewer Mail episode 53!

Phil, I accept your Man Challenge and we am thankful for the kindness that you and David have shown us.

Let's do this!


Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Can I Recommend It? - 5.11 Insulator Jacket - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the jacket that everyone has been asking about recently, the 5.11 Insulator Jacket!  To cut to the chase, it's awesome but 5.11 as a company isn't and the question is, can I recommend this product?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.511tactical.com/insulator-jacket.html

Price : Retail $130 - $50.00 – I don’t know if 5.11 stuff is always on sale or not but it has been at this price for the last two months at the time of filming.

Colors : Sheriff Green

Size : Small – 2XL

START : I really like this jacket but there is a huge reason why you may not want to purchase it or anything else from this company and I will address shortly.

62% nylon / 38% polyester fabric

Versatile thermal protection
RAPIDraw™ pockets
DWR treated exterior
62% nylon / 38% polyester
Low-profile chest pockets
Performance fit stretch panels
100 gm Primaloft® Silver lining
2-way YKK® front zipper

Stretch side panels which allow the jacket to stretch with your movements

Pros :

First off, this jacket looks awesome!  I love it and so do many of you as I have seen the hundreds of comments concerning it.

Excellent quality

Very warm – I’m comfortable down to the mid 40’s with this jacket with only a t-shirt.  Add a good insulation layer such as a merino wool sweater and I’ve rocked this down to around 15F.

Comfortable. – Warm – Easily adaptable to temp ranges
Accurate fit.
Adequately packable
Very well thought out jacket.
Excellent zippers.
Easy of access to your front carry and conceal.
Plenty of pockets
No obnoxious branding
Excellent value for the money with the sale price.

Cons :

The collar is just ok in my opinion.  It never gets on my nerves but I find that I am having to adjust it from time to time as it has a tendency to stick up and touch my face.  This is VERY small con and doesn’t impact my thoughts on this jacket at all but I want to mention it.

Terrible Customer Service


Monday, February 11, 2019

The New Eberlestock Bandit Pack H31 - Preview





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today we are looking at one of Eberlestock's newest packs, the H31Bandit!  This is a preview with Trail Testing and the Review coming up soon.

Eberlestock Bandit Pack (H31) – First Look

Link : http://www.eberlestock.com/store/bandit-pack
Price : $129
Weight : Weight: 2 lbs 5 oz

Colors : Lots of colors and camo patterns; black, coyote, military green and so on.

Total Volume: 935 c.i. / 15L

Dimensions main bag: 18"h x 9"w x 7"d

The H31 Bandit is a great little every-day-carry pack.  Its laser-cut MOLLE panel allows you to rack on accessories and provides a place to quickly lash one bulky items outside of the main bag. Open the front-loading zipper and you'll be surprised at just how much room there is in such a small pack. Insert either a 2L or 3L Source Hydration Bladder, and this becomes the perfect day pack. Open the top zipper compartment, and inside you will find a key hook, mesh storage pocket, and a third magazine type pocket.

At just over 2 pounds, this is a minimalist's dream. Whether you’re an outdoorsman who is into biking, running, snowboarding, hiking, or want to be prepared with an SBR compatible, EDC pack, choose the Bandit.

This is part 1 of a three part series with this pack.  This is the preview, the next video will involves some actual testing with this pack and the 3rd will be the review once I’ve learned all there is to learn concerning it.