Thursday, September 9, 2021

Forced To Hunker Down in the Tent - Big Storms - Heavy Rain and Lots of ...


In this overnight adventure, Luke is in the high mountains and after he sets up his tent upon the Balds, he can tell that there has been a shift in the weather and rain and storms are coming.

With these building storm cells, TOGR faces heavy rain and lots of thunder and lightning.

Get ready folks, this is a wild ride!

....
:: Gear List for this Adventure ::
After receiving countless messages from viewers about supporting the channel through Amazon, I have begun using Amazon Affiliate links in the Adventure Videos and if you choose to purchase one of these products via these links I will receive a small commission which will help fund future honest reviews and adventures.

The channel remains as it always was, 100% Agenda Free with no sponsored videos, no paid reviews, and I don't care if you purchase these products or not; you won't find affiliate links in review videos only in adventures.

I'm going to do my best to put gear lists into all of my videos since everyone is asking for them all the time.

For this trip, here are the big items that I used.

Gear List for this Adventure :

Camera Equipment :
- Sony A7S III : https://amzn.to/3eZM7zb
- Sony 35mm 1.8 Lens : https://amzn.to/3BFs8iZ
- SIRUI Carbon Fiber Travel 5C Tripod : https://amzn.to/3BEahZX
- Batteries : https://amzn.to/3geFtG5
- Rode VideoMic Pro Plus Mic : https://amzn.to/3iZMqMO

- GoPro 9 : https://amzn.to/3lURML6
- GoPro Batteries : https://amzn.to/3jPJba9
- GoPro Wind Cover : https://amzn.to/3AtoN58
- Manfrotto Small Tripod : https://amzn.to/3CypfkB

Gear :
Susie’s Pack - Gregory Kalmia 60 : https://amzn.to/3h7AneS
Luke’s Pack : Sabra Gear Synergy 60 liter Ultralight Backpack : https://sabra-gear.com/products/synergy
ZEROGRAM El Chalten Pro 2.5 Person : https://amzn.to/2YnP1rY
MLD Ultralight Groundsheet : https://mountainlaureldesigns.com/product/ul-ground-cloth/
Thermarest Xtherm Sleeping Pad : Thermarest XTherm Sleeping Pad : https://amzn.to/3vcsEBr
Decathlon Forclaz Air Short Trek 700 Sleeping Pad : https://www.decathlon.com/products/trekking-air-mattress-short-trek-700?adept-product=trekking-air-mattress-short-trek-700&variant=8110424653935

Katadyn BeFree 3.0L Water Filter : https://amzn.to/3kWx77j
Granite Gear Zipsack 12L Food Bag : https://amzn.to/3yNYCVH
Toaks Long handle Spoons : https://amzn.to/3vcItrL
Matches : https://amzn.to/2QNgMH3
Tasmanian Tiger Modular Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/3grXq4m
Tasmanian Tiger Mesh Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/35qSqXc
Soto Windmaster Stove : https://amzn.to/3q0bDIQ
Toaks 750ML Pot with Bail Handle : https://amzn.to/3ywOpOw
MSR Small Cup : https://amzn.to/3f8U4T0
TOAKS Titanium Long Handle Spoon with Polished Bowl : https://amzn.to/3vcItrL
Boundless Voyage Titanium 600ml Cookset : https://amzn.to/3hHmHZd

Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD
USB Qooltek 60LED 7W Light Strips : https://amzn.to/34awT4J
USB Fan SmartDevil : https://amzn.to/3yYYpje
Anker 20,000 mAh Battery Pack : https://amzn.to/3oNSKsg

Luke’s Clothing :
Old Navy Active T-shirt : oldnavy.com
Propper Summerweight Tactical Shorts : https://amzn.to/34cp26p
Oakley Men's Gradient Flak Jacket 03-881 Black Wrap Sunglasses : https://amzn.to/2WcOGYm
Arcteryx Conveyor Belt : https://amzn.to/3i3CRfb

Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD
Spyderco Delica 4 Knife : https://amzn.to/3iMNuCx

Fenix HM65R-T Headlamp : https://amzn.to/2QEatFF
Nite Ize Lantern : https://amzn.to/3fCFbHN

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Tuesday, September 7, 2021

Japanese VS America - SOTO Windmaster Vs MSR Pocket Rocket Deluxe


In this episode of TOGR, Luke is comparing what many believe to be the Best of the Best when it comes to backpacking stoves.

In one corner, we have the SOTO Windmaster and in the other, we have the MSR Pocket Rocket Deluxe.

Which stove is lighter, which one is faster and which features a better design?

Find out in this head to head battle.

...
100% Agenda Free
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or


...

——— Soto Windmaster ————


Price : $65

Weight with 4flex supports : 3.1oz 

BTUS : 11000
Includes Ignitor -

Burn Time : Approx 1.5 hours with an 250g gas canister

Dimensions :4” Tall, 5.7” wide

Windscreen
Designed for wind resistance; concave burner head sits close to your pot or cup.

Regulator : Pressure regulator maintains stove's fast boil times even in cold weather & with low fuel.  - While I haven’t tested this stove in conditions below 40F so far, I have used it with a canister that is low on fuel and it performs better than the MSR Pocket Rocket Deluxe.  

………………………………...

——— MSR Pocket Rocket Deluxe ————


Price : $70

Weight : 2.9oz

BTUS : 10,400
Includes Ignitor -

Burn Time : Burn time (MSR IsoPro) per 227-g - 60 minutes

Dimensions : 3.5” tall - 3.75” wide

Windscreen : Improves wind resistance and combines with simmer control for excellent cooking versatility; wind-blocking burner lip.

Regulator : Pressure regulator maintains stove's fast boil times even in cold weather & with low fuel. Susie and I have used this stove around the country in a wide variety of conditions; hot, freezing cold, high elevation, low elevation and so on; the regulator works well but in all situations with the exception of low fuel canisters - we’ve had rather poor performance with a canister that is getting close to being empty.

………..
Results

Boil Time of 500ml of Water : Stated in the Video

Thoughts on Size : While the Soto is slightly larger and heavier I feel that the weight and size is justified in that it offers a more stable platform to cook/heat.

Ignitor Thoughts : While no Ignitor is perfect I have had more issues with the MSR Ignitor than the Soto, in fact, I have been in situations where I simply could not get the MSR to ignite.  I’ve never had the Soto not fire up.

Cook : Both stoves in general are awesome for boiling water for meals and for cooking.  You can easily adjust both, you can simmer, you can do what you want.

Adjuster : I have never liked the MSR adjuster; it is very loose and when I first received this stove after buying it, I thought that it may be broken as it was so loose.  A friend of mine has the stove too and his is just as loose.  The Soto adjuster in my opinion is better as there is a bit more resistance to it while not being too stiff.

Size and Weight : There is virtually no difference with these two stoves - the Soto offers wider pot supports which makes for a slightly more stable cooking experience if you are using large pots/pans.

Overall Run Times : While I haven’t thoroughly tested this aspect, overall run times are going to be within the same ballpark based on the BTU rating of each stove and the information which both companies have stated. For 99% of users, they won’t notice a difference in burn times.  For those who analyze every single detail, they might.

Which Stove Would I Choose
I like both stoves but after spending a substantial amount of time with each, I like the Soto better. Again i haven’t tested this stove in cold conditions so I will be updating my review and may even do a cold weather vs episode. 

...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :



Monday, September 6, 2021

The Value of this Tent is Insane - Best Military Tactical Tent - LiteFig...


This is the LiteFighter 1 military tent and it is one of the most versatile shelter systems (both military and civilian) out on the market today especially when you consider just how easy it can be converted to a 4 season winter tent.

The Value of this tent is going to BLOW YOU AWAY!

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

...

Best Military Tent - LiteFighter 1 Individual Shelter System


Agenda Free Link : https://litefighter.com/product/litefighter-1-individual-shelter-system/

Price : From LiteFighter $334 for Coyote Brown, $346 for OCP Camo - surplus price ranges $100 - $200 on eBay.

Weight : 4lbs 12oz for the entire kit minus the groundsheet

Colors :
Coyote and OCP Camo

Materials :
Fly : 40D Nylon Ripstop 5000mm PU
Body Mesh : 40D Poly Knit Mesh (Permethrin Treated)
Body Floor : 70D Nylon Ripstop 5000mm PU
Poles : Ghost Bone Ballistic Fiber with spider hub and all-weather shock cord. New ballistic fiber pole frames are lighter, stronger, flexible, and most importantly wind resistant.

Old Poles : Aluminum Pressfit w/ All Weather Shock Cord

Measurements :
Packed : 6” x 16”
Setup :

Versions : 1 person and 2

Uses : On the Ground or on a US Military Cot

Setups : In addition to traditional setups with the body and the fly, one can setup the tent with the fly and the groundsheet and leave the body behind

Single door

Freestanding tent with only the door needing to be anchored

Season :
3+ season tent. Because this tent is military grade it has been designed to be stronger than your average backpacking 3 season tent. Taking those points into account and combining this tent with the genius LiteFighter Cold Weather Kit (windbreaker) and you have a robust 4 season shelter system that is capable of handing fairly strong winds and snow loading.

For the worst of winter conditions, a true double wall 4 season shelter would be recommended but for 3 - 4 season hybrid, this tent is incredibly functional.

Review Pros :
One of the Best Bang for the Buck tent systems out on the market today

Military Awesome shelter system
Love the camo and the colors
Excellent quality
Easy to setup and breakdown

As for the tent being waterproof, I have had two versions of this tent; one that I purchased from eBay and one that I got directly from Litefighter. The eBay version stated it was new but I did have some issues with leaking from a single hole above the door; I seam sealed it and the problem was solved. The tent could have been used….you know how eBay can be.

The model that I got from the company hasn’t had any issues and remains exceptionally waterproof even in heavy down pours from thunderstorms.

I’ve had this tent in winds around 40mph with no issues.
Snow loading around 6” with no issues

Ventilation is very good with this tent.

Condensation can develop on any tent and this is no different but the body does pull away from the fly well enough and the ventilation is good enough that it hasn’t been an issue during my year around testing.

The Bug mesh has kept the bugs out

Weight is a good for a 3+ season tent - Yes it is almost 5lbs but you have to remember this is a military product. Nuff said. Complaining about the weight of a military product is like buying a Chrysler and then complaining about it breaking down…..these aspects go hand in hand.

It’s a very versatile system that can be setup in numerous ways.

Price - for a military tent the pricing isn’t bad at all. From the company it is fair and in the form of surplus, it is fairly inexpensive; surplus price ranges $100 - $200 on eBay.

With the cold weather kit, this tent can be made to be even more capable and the use can be extended into the 4th season. It really works well and is one of the smartest products that I have seen in a long time. My review on that is coming up next week.

Review Cons :

Summary :
After testing just about every single US military tent that is available, this is my choice for the best of the best. It features the most civilian of designs while being exceptionally strong and capable.

It’s highly waterproof, very stable in wind and with the cold weather kit, it makes for an excellent 3+ season tent.

For those who like tactical products and for military personnel, this is the tent that I recommend; it is a far better product than anything that predates it. It is currently being utilized by US military forces and can be easily recommended.

...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Friday, September 3, 2021

Heavy Rain and Flooding - Storm Camp - Tropical Storm Fred


Tropical Storm Fred approaches Western North Carolina;
this is the fight to save Lone Wolf Mountain from major flooding which ensues with the arrival of the storm.

Our thoughts are with those who perished and were affected by this storm.
....
:: Gear List ::
After receiving countless messages from viewers about supporting the channel through Amazon, I have begun using Amazon Affiliate links in the Adventure Videos and if you choose to purchase one of these products via these links I will receive a small commission which will help fund future honest reviews and adventures.

The channel remains as it always was, 100% Agenda Free with no sponsored videos, no paid reviews, and I don't care if you purchase these products or not; you won't find affiliate links in review videos only in adventures.

I'm going to do my best to put gear lists into all of my videos since everyone is asking for them all the time.

For this trip, here are the big items that I used.

Gear List :

Camera Equipment :
- Sony A7S III : https://amzn.to/3eZM7zb
- Sony 35mm 1.8 Lens : https://amzn.to/3BFs8iZ
- SIRUI Carbon Fiber Travel 5C Tripod : https://amzn.to/3BEahZX
- Batteries : https://amzn.to/3geFtG5
- Rode VideoMic Pro Plus Mic : https://amzn.to/3iZMqMO

- GoPro 9 : https://amzn.to/3lURML6
- GoPro Batteries : https://amzn.to/3jPJba9
- GoPro Wind Cover : https://amzn.to/3AtoN58
- Manfrotto Small Tripod : https://amzn.to/3CypfkB

Clothing -
Old Navy Active T-shirt : oldnavy.com
(Orange) Marmot Minimalist Rain Jacket : https://amzn.to/3wuGWh7
Fjällräven Vidda Pro Ventilated Pants : https://amzn.to/3ytuwYw
SCARPA Men's Kailash Trek GTX Hiking Boot : https://amzn.to/342zFcd

Gear -
Big Stone Fully Waterproof Duffle Bag 90L : https://amzn.to/3jAqKak
Klean Kanteen 64oz Stainless Steel Water Container : https://amzn.to/3vrjd09
Fenix HM65R-T Headlamp : https://amzn.to/2QEatFF
Nite Ize Lantern : https://amzn.to/3fCFbHN

OneTigris Folding Chair : https://amzn.to/3yr40Po
Wenzel Sleeping Pad : https://amzn.to/389W2i1
Teton Sports Pillow : https://amzn.to/3vnigH6

Rake :
Shovel :
Pickaxe :

Aqua Quest Guide Tarp 10x10’ : https://amzn.to/342ZiJY
550 Cord : https://amzn.to/3ujrtia
Green Elephant Poles : https://amzn.to/3ssRwnX
DANCHEL OUTDOOR Forged Steel 16inch Tent Stakes : https://amzn.to/3iZ7fIh
Military U.S. G.I. Bug Net Green : https://amzn.to/3D11MIQ

Toaks Long handle Spoons : https://amzn.to/3vcItrL
Matches : https://amzn.to/2QNgMH3
Tasmanian Tiger Modular Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/3grXq4m
Tasmanian Tiger Mesh Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/35qSqXc
Soto Windmaster Stove : https://amzn.to/3q0bDIQ
Toaks 750ML Pot with Bail Handle : https://amzn.to/3ywOpOw
TOAKS Titanium Long Handle Spoon with Polished Bowl : https://amzn.to/3vcItrL

Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD
USB Qooltek 60LED 7W Light Strips : https://amzn.to/34awT4J
USB Fan SmartDevil : https://amzn.to/3yYYpje
Anker 20,000 mAh Battery Pack : https://amzn.to/3oNSKsg

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

This Little Stove is Awesome - Ultralight and Ultrafast - Soto Windmaste...


Luke is back with an Agenda Free Review and this time his focus is the Soto Windmaster Stove!

Ultralight, Ultrafast and....

Find out more in this review.

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join

...

Japanese Quality - Soto Windmaster Stove Review

Agenda Free Review : https://www.amazon.com/SOTO-WindMaster-Stove-Micro-Regulator/dp/B07R7BZCB3


Price : $65

Weight with 4flex supports : 3oz

BTUS : 11000

Burn Time : Approx 1.5 hours with an 250g gas canister

Versions :
This is the 4flex version which is in reference to the 4 way pot supports.

There is also a TriFlex version which has 3 pot support legs for smaller cookware

Dimensions : 3.5” Tall, 5.7” wide

Features :
Designed for wind resistance; concave burner head sits close to your pot or cup

Review Pros :
Top notch quality materials
Excellent design
Very lightweight
Small form factor
11000 BTU’s provides incredible performance at my elevation of 6000ft
Easy to adjust - can quick boil or slow cook
Windscreen works well in moderate windy conditions
Very stable stove and pot supports
Good resistance on the adjuster; not too loose, not to tight. Doesn’t feel flimsy.
Excellent regulator which supports a consistent burn throughout the fuel level of the canister.
TriFlex port support can be purchased separately

Review Cons :

Pricey little stove - quality costs money
Igniter doesn’t always work; there has been times where I have had to click 3-4 times before it would catch.

In windy conditions a windscreen would be recommended for efficiency and minimize burn times.

I wish the pot support legs were just a bit more rigid; personal preference.

Unknowns : How well does this stove perform in cold conditions?
I will test that out and will update as needed when it gets cold but I’ve had no issues with running this stove at 40F.

Summary :

First, a thank you goes out to my friend who sent this stove for me to review; I appreciate it brother!

If you have something in mind for me to review, send it on over and we’ll see what happens; I can’t promise to review everything naturally but I’ll do my best.

Soto continues to impress me with their quality, performance and smartly designed products. While not the cheapest canister stove on the market it is at the top of my preferences and I can easily recommend it.

When compared to other high performance stoves, the pocket rocket 2 comes to mind; both are excellent stoves with the Pocket Rocket sounding line a rocket is literally taking off and the Windmaster being substantially quieter.

In the future if you like, I’ll do a VS episode for the two stoves
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Monday, August 30, 2021

UNACCEPTABLE - NatureHike Vik 2 Tent - Agenda Free Review


Today Luke is reviewing the NatureHike Vik 2 Tent; I DO NOT RECOMMEND this tent to anyone unless they plan to use it in a VERY DRY LOCATION....
Worst Condensation that I have EVER SEEN!
....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
NatureHike Vik 2 Tent -
Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Naturehike-VIK-Person-Tent-White/dp/B08R744VFT

Price : $189.

Colors : White - interestingly enough but for some reason on the NH web site, they call this gray.

Versions : 3 Versions :
A 1 person
A 2 person
And a 1 person with a snow skit

Includes :
Fly
Body
Groundsheet
11 stakes
3 tie ropes

Materials :
Fly : 15D Nylon with 2000mm rating
Body : 20D Nylon floor with 4000mm rating.
Mesh : b3 polyester
150D Oxford with 3000mm rating
Poles : 7001 Aluminum
Stakes : 7001 Aluminum

Weight :
Tent and Groundsheet : 3lbs 8.0oz
Full tent with no Groundsheet : 3lbs 1.1oz /
Groundsheet : 7.9oz

Measurements :
Stored - 18” x 6” - can be smaller when compressed
Setup - Measure SIZE XXXX - consider length of tent and the walls - you will not want to touch the walls with your head or your sleeping bag or they could get wet.

Note : That is what is claimed on the NH web site but there are inconsistencies with the Amazon listing when it comes to the denier of the fly materials. Their web site says 15D and amazon says 20D. It is nylon but I don’t know which is accurate.

Also the waterproof ratings change multiple times on their web site, an example of this is the fly. It says in one place that it has a 2000mm rating, another states 4000mm.

Based on feel and my experiences, 2000mm seems more likely.

There are also varying statements concerning the pole material - in one place on the web site it states 7001 aluminum and in another 7075.

Tent Style :
Single wall, freestanding 4 Season tent - only the doors have to be staked

Review Pros :
Fairly lightweight for a 2 person tent
Good materials
IMPRESSIVELY Waterproof - I am seriously impressed with this aspect but being waterproof doesn’t make a tent a good shelter.
Good amount of space for a lightweight tent.
Easy setup
Good form factor when stored
Good size for individuals XXXX and under. - Tall individuals may have a hard time getting into and out of the tent.
Large enough to sit up
Can be completely freestanding if you aren’t staking out the doors.

Review Cons :
Overall quality of the shelter is questionable. My tent features some very poor sewing and attached threads.

While this tent is waterproof, condensation is some of the worst I have ever experienced in certain situations. For an example, during a rain event, condensation will form on every inch of the inner tent fabric.

I can’t understate this, my experiences in this tent when sealed in above freezing situations is exceptionally bad - air flow is terrible with this tent & it will rain down moisture on you when rain hits the fly and in the wind.

I’ve been in situations where the moisture has soaked everything inside of the tent including me * my gear. So bad that I had to put on my rain jacket and pants.

In below freezing conditions, condensation is bad when fully sealed and will freeze to everything.

Keep in mind how condensation forms and whether this is a potential issue for you and where you can plan to camp.

Air temperature in the tent becomes warm & also humid from people, breathing & a lack of ventilation. When the warm air inside the tent hits the relatively cool fabric of the tent, moisture condenses into liquid form.

Warm and humid inside, cool weather outside and poor ventilation - you are going to be wet.

Vents offer limited air flow

Drying this tent can take time

Not 4 season rated

Condensation can still work even with the doors open but it will help.

Vents? Can they be opened from the inside?

Summary :

Because condensation is so bad with this tent, my recommendation would be to use this shelter in dry climates only.

Tips :
Make sure you have a towel with you.
Setup with wind coming through one of the doors, this is going to help you greatly with condensation.

With the Vik 1 person tent, condensation is just as bad and in some cases it will be even worse due to their being only one door.

This is not a tent that you will want to take on a thruhike….do so and you will be sorry; this tent unless you are in dry areas is going to be an exceptionally poor performer.

This is not going to be a good performer for cold trips or for snowy conditions.

...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :


Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229


Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev


Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Friday, August 27, 2021

Can We Get This Tent To Leak? - NatureHike Mongar 2 Tent - Test Night


Today Luke answers this very simple question;
How badly will the NatureHike Mongar 2 Tent Leak in sustained periods of rain?

Find out now in this Test Night Episode.
....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
NatureHike Mongar 2 Person Tent -

Agenda Free Link
: https://www.naturehike.com/products/naturehike-20d-mongar-double-layer-waterproof-tent-for-2-persons-nh17t007-m
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Is a Quilt For You? - UGQ Outlaw Hybrid Quilt Review


Insanely Lightweight and Very Warm, this really is the Best of Both Worlds....

This is a sleep system which can be used in both ways; a sleeping bag for colder conditions and a quilt for warmer nights.

In this review of the UGQ Outlaw Hybrid Quilt, Luke is going over the pros and cons of this Ultralight product.
...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
Insanely Lightweight and Warm - UGQ Outlaw Hybrid Quilt Review

Link : https://ugqoutdoor.com/top-quilts/outlaw-hybrid-quilt/

Weight : 1lb 9.5oz includes silpoly Stuff Sack

Customization :

Because it is custom made, you can order these any way that you like - decide on the length, width, fill and so on.

Materials :
Inner Shell is an M10T and comes in a ton of colors
Outer Shell has a ton of choices including MRS20, M10T, OD INK and so on. You can get all sorts of colors, patterns, Camos and more.

The options that I went with :
Fill Power: 850
Temp Rating: 40 F
Width: 65"
Length: 66"
Overstuff: YES
Overstuff Footbox: YES
Inner Shell Color: M10T Black
Outer Shell Fabric: MRS20 Fabric
Outer Shell Color: MRS20 Khaki
Draft Collars: Both Locations
Taper Style: NO Taper
Pad Attachment: NONE
Spare Strap: NO
Storage Sack: No

Cost : $400 ($393.95)

Price :
Yes the price is high but compared to other handmade ultralight quilts, this is one of the least expensive options out there.

Review Pros :
Excellent handmade quality

Price is very fair considering this is a handmade, high quality price of kit. When compared to other cottage companies and their offerings, the prices are lower than many.

Excellent warmth to weight ratio! - My bag is rated for 40F but I have pushed it to around 30F and I was very comfortable. I run hot though...everyone is different.

Very compressible

Ability to use it is as sleeping bag, blanket and quilt is awesome.
Versatile - because it can be used in so many ways means you can use this product in a wider range of temp ranges.

Customization means that you can have a product made for you that you specifically need to your specs.

Full length zipper - Easy to get into and out of.

Foot box can be opened or closed

Can be cinched to your sleeping pad when using it as a quilt
Draft collars work very well and do a great job of hold heat in at the top and bottom

Lifetime warranty

Review Cons :
Because this is a hybrid bag, it isn’t the best sleeping bag due to the fact that there isn’t a hood and also, it is a bit roomer than a sleeping bag which can allow for more air inside of the bag that your body needs to warm. A mummy bag would fit closer and be a slight bit warmer.

At 40F for me, this isn’t that big of a deal but if you were to go with a lower rated bag it might be.

Warmer than a quilt, not as warm as a sleeping bag. With that being said, this hybrid is warmer than some other hybrid bags that I have as the baffles run vertically and the insulation allows for very little gaps between your body and the materials.

No draft collar for the zipper - you do have a wind block but not a draft collar; again, it really depends on what temp rating that you go with as to how big of a deal this is.

Pricey : No matter how you swing it, this is pricey. For some people this piece of gear is going to make sense. For others, it won’t. That’s how it goes.

Summary :

Throughout the spring, summer and going into the fall, this bag has proven itself to be an excellent sleeping bag. I love the versatility, the low weight and the overall warmth. I have used this inside of tents, under tarps, inside of Bivy in a wide range of conditions and it has excelled everywhere. I have ever used this in a hammock and it simply rocks.

The quality is top notch, it’s American made, can be used in many different ways including in a hammock and I easily can recommend it for those who want a hybrid bag that they can use in a variety of conditions and seasons and for those who have the money.
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Monday, August 23, 2021

This One Feature Makes this Hammock Incredibly Special - Hennessy Ultral...


Many know that I primarily used hammocks for over 10 years and while my preference has shifted over to tents now, many have asked about the hammock system that I personally use.

This is the Hennessy Ultralight Asym Hammock and it has a feature which makes it incredibly awesome!

Join me today for an Agenda Free Review of an excellent Ultralight Hammock system.

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
Hennessy Ultralight Backpacker Hammock

Agenda Free Link : https://hennessyhammock.com/products/ultralite-backpacker-asym-zip

This is considered by most to be the most comfortable ultralight hammock on the market

Price : $230

Versions :
There is the Asym Zip and the Classic; the Asym is a side entry while the Classic is a bottom entry. These days, side entry is the standard and if you haven’t used a bottom entry before it is going to be very strange until you get accustomed to it. Bottom entry is often referred to as birthing hammocks...which is pretty funny. The Classic version is slightly less expensive at $220.

Sleeping Capacity - 1-person
Weight Capacity (lbs) - 200 pounds

Packed Size - 6 x 9 inches but larger with snake skins and stuff bag
Floor Dimensions - 100 x 47 inches
Canopy Fabric - Nylon taffeta with polyester no-see-um mesh
Rainfly Fabric - Coated silnylon

Weight :
Minimal weight is 1lb 15oz
My kit with snake skins and bag : 2lb 8oz

......
Snake Skins :

They are two long waterproof nylon tubes that you keep on the ends of the hammock or just rainfly.

When stuffed, your hammock takes on the appearance of a pet boa constrictor in your pack. You can hang the entire shelter without removing the SnakeSkins, meaning everything stays clean and dry on wet, muddy sites. When storing only your tarp, the snakeskins prevent a wet morning dew from soaking everything in your pack and allow you to pitch the tarp first, giving you a dry place to get set up when it's raining.

Review Pros :
Very lightweight
Extremely durable
Excellent quality construction
Excellent materials
Good bug protection
All in one package - suspension, bug next, and tarp are included
Because it includes all of these components, the price is reasonable
Asymmetrical design allows for comfortable side laying and also, you can achieve a flat lay rather easily...once you learn how to set it up correctly.
Very Comfortable with the right setup - speaking of which, for the best setup with this Hennessy, pitch it tightly.
Smooth zippers - mod them for easy open and closing.
Tarp offers good protection from the elements but you have to have the right setup. This is important and I will come back to it.


Review Cons :
Won’t work with all people; taller than 6ft? It’s a no go. If you need a larger hammock Hennessy has plenty of options.
 
Included 42” tree straps fit trees up to 12” in diameter; You may want to upgrade to larger straps to either the 72 or 96”

Small tarp - often referred to as the Hennessy napkin - large tarps are available for purchase and should be considered in wetter and windier locations.

Tarp is asymmetrical just as the hammock is which means you have to have a perfect setup to be 100% protected from blowing rain.

Because both the hammock and the rain fly are asymmetrical, it can take time to learn how to set this up correctly and effectively. Once you have some experience, you can do this in less than 5 minutes. I want to say this, even if you have a good amount of experience under your belt, it may take some time before you get everything right.

Bug net is not removable
 
You can put together less expensive kits but they may not be as strong nor as lightweight - Hennessy does have heavier hammocks that are similar which cost a fair amount less.

Review Summary :
If you are seeking one of the lightest weight hammocks on the market, this is it but the question because, will it fit you?

Is this a perfect hammock? No but there are no such things when it comes to any shelter system and that’s why it is important to consider all of the available options and make the right choice.

...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Friday, August 20, 2021

This Is Why You Have To Be Ready To Protect Yourself - Truck Camping Adv...


Luke is out for a Truck Camping Adventure and Amongst the Storms in a Remote Part of Virginia, he has Bizarre Encounter with some Druggies!

This my Friends is why YOU have to be Ready to Protect Yourself!
....
:: Gear List ::
After receiving countless messages from viewers about supporting the channel through Amazon, I have begun using Amazon Affiliate links in the Adventure Videos and if you choose to purchase one of these products via these links I will receive a small commission which will help fund future honest reviews and adventures.

The channel remains as it always was, 100% Agenda Free with no sponsored videos, no paid reviews, and I don't care if you purchase these products or not; you won't find affiliate links in review videos only in adventures.

I'm going to do my best to put gear lists into all of my videos since everyone is asking for them all the time.

For this trip, here are the big items that I used.

Gear List :

Camera Equipment :
- Sony A7S III : https://amzn.to/3eZM7zb
- Sony 35mm 1.8 Lens : https://amzn.to/3BFs8iZ
- SIRUI Carbon Fiber Travel 5C Tripod : https://amzn.to/3BEahZX
- Batteries : https://amzn.to/3geFtG5
- Rode VideoMic Pro Plus Mic : https://amzn.to/3iZMqMO

- GoPro 9 : https://amzn.to/3lURML6
- GoPro Batteries : https://amzn.to/3jPJba9
- GoPro Wind Cover : https://amzn.to/3AtoN58
- Manfrotto Small Tripod : https://amzn.to/3CypfkB

Oakley Men's Gradient Flak Jacket 03-881 Black Wrap Sunglasses : https://amzn.to/2WcOGYm
Propper Summerweight Tactical Shorts : https://amzn.to/34cp26p
Old Navy Active T-shirt : oldnavy.com
Arcteryx Conveyor Belt : https://amzn.to/3i3CRfb
North Face Ultra 109 GTX Shoes : https://amzn.to/3hSUEpK
Key Chain Black Diamond Hotforge Screwgate Carabiner :

Aqua Quest Guide Tarp 10x10’ : https://amzn.to/342ZiJY
550 Cord : https://amzn.to/3ujrtia
Green Elephant Poles : https://amzn.to/3ssRwnX
DANCHEL OUTDOOR Forged Steel 16inch Tent Stakes : https://amzn.to/3iZ7fIh
Military U.S. G.I. Bug Net Green : https://amzn.to/3D11MIQ

Decathlon Folding Table : https://www.decathlon.com/products/camping-folding-table-4-stools-4-to-6-people-130208?variant=32053685583934

Dewalt Air Compressor : https://amzn.to/34czT0h
Dewalt 12” Electric Chainsaw : https://amzn.to/3udE4DD
Dewalt Batteries : https://amzn.to/3wAtOHn

Wenzel Sleeping Pad : https://amzn.to/389W2i1

Gas One GS-3900P Dual Fuel Stove : https://amzn.to/3z33s24
Butane Fuel : https://amzn.to/3oTpWyw
Propane Fuel Canisters 4 Pack : https://amzn.to/3iVWoik
Dometic CFX35 Fridge/Freezer : https://amzn.to/3mdi6jI
Jackery Explorer 1500 Battery Bank : https://amzn.to/3yIPenB

Shineuri Camping Pans Frying Pan and Small Pan with Handle : https://amzn.to/3mfkbvK
Expedition Research Kettle :

SOTO Helix Coffee Maker : https://amzn.to/3iX5ZFq
Hario V60 Paper Coffee Filters : https://amzn.to/3ANUHJG

Coin Bags iMBAPrice 4 Mil 2 x 3 “ : https://amzn.to/3CWWQol
Stanley Flask : https://amzn.to/37UlWWF

Helinox Chair : https://amzn.to/2XuYo8O

Bahco Hand Saw : https://amzn.to/3r3D8BO
Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD

Mora Carving Knife : https://amzn.to/3mccFS7
Mora Hook Knife Right-hand : https://amzn.to/37SuIoj
Opinel Folding Saw : https://amzn.to/3j4xahX

Freespirit Recreation ReadyLight :

Nalgene Wide Mouth Bottle : https://amzn.to/34aKhpv

Trioxane Fire Starter :
Lighters : https://amzn.to/3vhdXwU

USB Qooltek 60LED 7W Light Strips : https://amzn.to/34awT4J
USB Fan SmartDevil : https://amzn.to/3yYYpje
Anker 20,000 mAh Battery Pack : https://amzn.to/3oNSKsg

Savotta Vehicle Bags : https://youtu.be/V4nDa9Y8Ml0
Maxpedition Ironstorm Duffle : https://amzn.to/37UKqiD

Toilet Bucket : https://amzn.to/3wIgnoT
Trash Bags for Toilet : https://amzn.to/3z363Jm
Odor Bio-Blue for Toilet : https://amzn.to/3iU89FT
Cat Litter : https://amzn.to/3ga1vcX

Smart Bottle 2.5 Gallon/10 Liter Collapsible Water Bag : https://amzn.to/2SrtcoI

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, August 18, 2021

Why Is this the BEST SELLING Sleeping Pad on Amazon? SleepingO Sleeping ...


In this Episode of TOGR, Luke is trying to figure out why this mediocre sleeping pad is the BEST SELLING air mat on Amazon.

This is the SleepingO Sleeping Pad and the amount of BS surrounding this product is INSANE!

100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
SleepingO Sleeping Pad - Agenda Free Review

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Sleepingo-Camping-Sleeping-Pad-Backpacking/dp/B07FP4Z3RZ

Price : $40

This is the best selling backpacking sleeping pad on the market today; I got this in a few days ago, have spent one night out with it and these are my thoughts and impressions so far.

Weight : 14.2oz

Materials : 20D Nylon

Dimensions :
11”x 3.5” stored
74” tall x 22” wide tapers to less than 12” at the foot
Company claims 75” x 23” - a little generous
Company claims 2” of cushion but that’s generous as well. 2” of cushion in spots

Features (from the company):
2" THICK SLEEP SUPPORT! YOU WILL LOVE THIS SLEEPING PAD!

Want to sleep comfortably anywhere? No need to suffer with a cheap flimsy short outdoor sleeping pad! This quality portable camping mat pad is perfect. Super sturdy and extremely comfortable. Great for any sleep position.

WEIGHS ONLY [14.5 OZ] AND PACKS DOWN TO THE SIZE OF THIN WATER BOTTLE - PERFECT FOR A BACKPACKING SLEEPING PAD! No worrying about room in your backpack No backaches due to heavy weight very convenient to carry. You’ll wish you found this years ago Comes with a sleek storage pouch.

THIS TOUGH DURABLE LARGE COMFY SLEEPING PAD FEATURES A LIFETIME WARRANTY! - Economically and practically efficient With an impressive size blown up of 75 X 23 this camping mattress pad, will give you the comfort you need.

TEAR RESISTANT - HEAVY DUTY RIPSTOP NYLON FABRIC – This lightweight sleeping pad is made of super strong waterproof and camping grade ripstop nylon fabric With a impressive 20 denier thickness used only for the strongest camping equipment designed to last a lifetime in the most severe conditions.

HASSLE-FREE LIFETIME REPLACEMENT - NO NEED TO RETURN! We take pride in our perfect customer service record on Amazon, and we promise to treat you like family - even for gifts! In addition to our lifetime replacement, if you aren't happy with your purchase, we will simply refund your money - no questions asked - just let the reviews speak for themselves!

Impressions :
No issues with quality that I can see
Good inflation valve
Easy to inflate
Easy to release air
Good form factor, about the size of a bottle of water
I like the green color
Good weight
Size is good for someone who is around 6” tall. Taller individuals should look elsewhere

It’s not very wide and your shoulders may not fit fully on the pad

Pad is comfortable when laying flat on your back or your stomach. Not comfortable for side sleepers. Generally side sleepers need a pad that offers at least 3” of cushion to be comfortable

2” of cushion is inconsistent and you can easily come into contact with the ground.

Good warranty

Fair price -

Not unique : this pad is not unique in any sort of way and is what is referred to as a re-label product. If you go looking, you will find a handful of companies who all over the exact same product; the only difference being the label and logo. What you have is a single manufacturer who is making the pad for everyone.

I have a review for one of these relabeled products already and that is the Outdoorsmanlab sleeping pad if you are interested. Everything that was said about that pad should apply here as there are only micro differences between these products.

I’m going to use this product for the next couple of months and if something comes up that needs to be mentioned, if there is a problem or a difference between it and the Outdoorsmanlab pad, I will put up a supplemental video. If I don’t then you can assume that they are virtually the same.
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Monday, August 16, 2021

This is the BEST SELLING BACKPACKING TENT on AMAZON - MountainSmith Morr...


This is the Morrison 2 tent from MountainSmith and it is the current Best Selling Backpacking Tent on Amazon.

This is part 1 of a 4 part series....
why is this tent so popular?

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
The Latest Best Selling Tent on Amazon - First Look

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Mountainsmith-Morrison-2-Person-Tent/dp/B07RDX2MG4

Cost : Retail $180, I purchased it on Amazon for $140.

Weight : 5 lbs 8 oz (Packed // With Footprint)
4 lbs 11 oz (Trail // No Footprint)

MATERIALS :

30d Nylon Storage Sack
7075 Aluminum V-Stakes
Fly: 185t Poly PU2000MM F/R
Tent: 185T Breathable Poly F/R
Floor: 190t Poly PU5000MM F/R
YKK Zippers

DIMENSIONS

Setup : 92" x 56" x 43" (234 x 143 x 110 cm)
Packed : 18" x 7.5" (46 x 19 cm)
Pole diameter: 8.5 mm

FEATURES

Two door / Two vestibule layout
Two person layout
Three season, free standing tent
Tent fly ventilation windows
Bathtub floor construction
Taped floor seams and fly
No-see-um mesh wall panels
Detachable ceiling loft pocket
Interior mesh storage pockets
Clip-pole attachment for lighter weight and better breathability
Reflective guy lines with tension lock cord adjustment
………..
Impressions :

Lots of pockets

Very tall, spacious - because it is so tall, staking it out and even guying it out is a good idea if wind is a possibility
 
Fairly heavy tent and the form factor is large; for a budget friendly tent it is completely acceptable. Good car camping tent, good option for those who are thinking of getting into backpacking and camping but don’t want to spend a ton of money to begin with.

Combination of mesh and fabric; going to be warmer and less breathable than a full mesh tent.
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :


Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229


Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev


Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Saturday, August 14, 2021

It's Never Easy... Solo Hiking 34 Miles on an Old Railroad Line


This is the 2021 Creeper Walk and in this Adventure Luke is facing a challenging 34 mile (54.7km) endurance hike.

Will he make the journey in record time or will there be an injury that slows him down?

Join Luke as he heads into the Darkness of the Night.


:: Gear List ::
After receiving countless messages from viewers about supporting the channel through Amazon, I have begun using Amazon Affiliate links in the Adventure Videos and if you choose to purchase one of these products via these links I will receive a small commission which will help fund future honest reviews and adventures.

The channel remains as it always was, 100% Agenda Free with no sponsored videos, no paid reviews, and I don't care if you purchase these products or not; you won't find affiliate links in review videos only in adventures.

I'm going to do my best to put gear lists into all of my videos since everyone is asking for them all the time.

For this trip, here are the big items that I used.

Creeper Walk Gear List :

Camera Equipment -
- GoPro 9 : https://amzn.to/3lURML6
- GoPro Batteries : https://amzn.to/3jPJba9
- GoPro Wind Cover : https://amzn.to/3AtoN58
- POVGear GoPro Stick : https://amzn.to/2VKFeLk
- Manfrotto Small Tripod : https://amzn.to/3CypfkB


Clothing -
- Oakley Men's Gradient Flak Jacket 03-881 Black Wrap Sunglasses : https://amzn.to/3yGy6Pk
- Propper Summerweight Tactical Shorts : https://amzn.to/34cp26p
- Old Navy Active T-shirt : oldnavy.com
- Arcteryx Conveyor Belt : https://amzn.to/3i3CRfb

Gregory Miwok 24 : https://amzn.to/3uh3WyC
Helikon-Tex Numbat Chest Rig : https://amzn.to/3fFFMbA
Camelbak 3L Hydration Bladder : https://amzn.to/3AxagW1

Misc Items -
- Fenix HM65R-T Headlamp : https://amzn.to/2QEatFF
- NiteCore Power Bank : https://amzn.to/3B4hiD0
- Moleskin for Feet : https://amzn.to/3lVJ9Qn
- Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD

....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, August 11, 2021

Cabin / Shed Update, Lyme Disease and Other Things - Random Lunch and Chat


Luke is here to talk about the Lone Wolf Mountain Shed, Susie's treatment for Lyme Disease, gear he has been testing out and more.

This is a Random Lunch and Chat Episode!
...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram
:

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Monday, August 9, 2021

Time is Running Out - US Military Insulated Pneumatic Air Mattress Review


This is one of those rare military surplus items that you should carefully consider purchasing before it is too late!

They are getting rarer and harder to find plus, the shelf-life is running out!

In this Agenda Free Review, Luke is updating his thoughts concerning the US Military Pneumatic Air Mattress; time is running out for these pads and the question is this;

is it a good fit for you?

#camp #camping #campinggear #notultralight #sleepingpad #military #militarysurplus #tacticalgear #militarycamp
....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

US Military Pneumatic Mattress : 

Agenda Free Link : eBay.com

Price : Around $40 is the going rate; finding 2 for $80 is common

Weight : 3.25lbs

Measurements :
Measures 74 x 30", 5” thick

Color : While it is gray now, these pads originally were Olive Drab in color

Availability : These pads are now very dated but you can still find them with military surplus providers and on sites like eBay. Condition is going to vary greatly - ask questions with the seller if you have them to ensure you get the condition of pad that you are interested in.

Date - May 1985 but I have seen these going back all the way to 1964. Vietnam Era!

Known by many soldiers as the Rubber Bitch

Olive Drab nylon exterior, coated with rubber for toughness in the field

Polyester batting inside to keep cold from rising through the mattress

Military-grade, leak-proof valve and cap. Snap Lock Mouth Piece

The insulated pneumatic mattress is made of rubber-coated nylon cloth and is shaped to conform to the sleeping bag.

Has batting inside each of the channels

Pros :
Inexpensive
Very comfortable
You can lay on your side with no issues
Has an awesome military surplus cool factor
Incredible Tough - I’ve used this pad all over the east coast and have never had any issue with it. It just keeps going even after all of these years.
Made in the USA

Cons :
Heavy
Takes a long time to inflate - seriously….if you pick one of these up you might want to get some sort of air pump as this takes forever!

Review Summary :
Should you buy one of these Pads?
It really depends on what you are after;

If you like military surplus then absolutely.
If comfort is the most important aspect then yes.
If wight matters at all then it might not be the best fit for you.
If pack size is important then other pads might be a better fit for you.
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Friday, August 6, 2021

MILITARY SURPLUS WILD CAMP🎖️ SOLO MOUNTAIN ADVENTURE 🎖️ CLASSIC MILITARY...


In a remote forest on top of a high mountain, Luke the Lone Wolf is venturing off-trail to explore for a Military Surplus Adventure!

In this episode, some awesome gear is used from military forces all around the world and some very unique MRE's are eaten.

Some of which are rather bizarre!

This is a Military Surplus Winter Overnight Adventure!
...
:: Gear List ::
After receiving countless messages from viewers about supporting the channel through Amazon, I have begun using Amazon Affiliate links in the Adventure Videos and if you choose to purchase one of these products via these links I will receive a small commission which will help fund future honest reviews and adventures.

The channel remains as it always was, 100% Agenda Free with no sponsored videos, no paid reviews, and I don't care if you purchase these products or not; you won't find affiliate links in review videos only in adventures.

I'm going to do my best to put gear lists into all of my videos since everyone is asking for them all the time.

For this trip, here are the big items that I used.

Gear List :

Camera Gear :
Sony A7S III : https://amzn.to/3eZM7zb
Sony 35mm 1.8 Lens : https://amzn.to/3BFs8iZ
SIRUI Carbon Fiber Travel 5C : https://amzn.to/3BEahZX

North Face Ultra 109 GTX Shoes : https://amzn.to/3hSUEpK
Fjällräven Vidda Pro Ventilated Pants : https://amzn.to/3ytuwYw
Old Navy Active T -Shirt :
Oakley Men's Gradient Flak Jacket 03-881 Black Wrap Sunglasses : https://amzn.to/3yGy6Pk
Arcteryx Conveyor Belt : https://amzn.to/3i3CRfb
Patagonia Men's Micro D Full Zip Sweater : https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-micro-d-fleece-jacket/26171.html

Tasmanian Tiger Pathfinder MK II Backpack : https://tacsale.eu/product/tt-pathfinder-mkii

Tasmanian Tiger Modular Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/3grXq4m
Tasmanian Tiger Mesh Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/35qSqXc

British Mosquito Tent
German Military Folding Mat
Carinthia Defence 1 Sleeping Bag : https://tacsale.eu/product/carinthia-defence-1-olive-sleeping-bag
USMC Field Tarp
MLD Ultralight Groundsheet : https://mountainlaureldesigns.com/product/ul-ground-cloth/
550 Cord : https://amzn.to/3ujrtia

Swiss M84 Canteen and Cup
Swedish M40 Stove and Alcohol Kit
Toaks Long handle Spoons : https://amzn.to/3vcItrL
Matches : https://amzn.to/2QNgMH3

Fenix HM65R-T Headlamp : https://amzn.to/2QEatFF
Nite Ize Lantern : https://amzn.to/3fCFbHN

Varusteleka Terävä Jääkäripuukko 110 Knife : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/search/search?q=Skrama%20knife
Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD
Bahco Hand Saw : https://amzn.to/3r3D8BO

Klean Kanteen 64oz Stainless Steel Water Container : https://amzn.to/3vrjd09

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

Be Careful With This One Thing! - Hyke and Byke Zion 2 Person Tent - Set...


This is the Before You Buy Episode which deals with the setup process; how difficult could it be to setup the Hyke and Byke Zion 2 Person Tent?

Are there issues?

Find out now!
...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
Hyke and Byke Zion 2 Person Tent - First Look

Agenda Free Link : https://www.amazon.com/Hyke-Byke-Person-Backpacking-Footprint/dp/B074CPM57Q
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Monday, August 2, 2021

This NatureHike Sleeping Pad is Terrible! - NatureHike "Ultralight" Two ...


This is the one sleeping pad that I would NOT recommend that you purchase!

It's heavy, it takes up a lot of space, it isn't comfortable and it requires a lot of fooling around to get it inflated.

This is the Agenda Free Review of the Double Sided "Ultralight" NatureHike Sleeping Pad.

#camp #camping #campinggear #notultralight #sleepingpad #naturehike
....
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
NatureHike Ultralight Double Sided Sleeping Pad - Review

Agenda Free Review :
https://www.amazon.com/Naturehike-Ultralight-Backpacking-Pad-Compact-Inflatable/dp/B088365PKN

Price : Retail is $70 but at the time of filming it is selling for $50.

Colors : Blue and Grey

Materials : 40D Nylon with TPU coating.

Weight : 2.1lbs

Dimensions Stored : 12” x 4.5”

Stated Dimensions : 76.77 x 24.4 x 3.1inch
Real Dimensions 1 side : 75” x 23.75” x 2.5” but with gaps in between air pockets

Half and Half : same dimensions but there are gaps in between air pockets are filled.

For best results inflate both sides equally; for me that’s roughly 7 breathes on each side.

Double Sided :
This is not a unique feature as there are some companies who have attempted this before. In case you haven’t seen a pad like this before, the pad has a divider in the center that separates the front from the back.

On the front and the back, you will find air valves and that’s because you can inflate both sides and you can do this in numerous ways;

Inflate all of one side or the other or partially inflate both sides.

Why you may ask? The thinking is this, let's say that you are out for a trip and you puncture one side of the pad, that side may go flat but the other side won't.

Again, this is not a unique design and in truth, while creative this functionality doesn’t translate to a comfortable pad and causes a great deal of fooling around.

Review Pros :
Quality is good.
Materials used are good.
With enough time, this pad can be made comfortable enough to sleep on.
Repair patch is included
Valve has an air release stopper so you can inflate and take breaks without the pad losing air. Also, this allows for quick and easy adjustments so you can make a pad softer if need be.
Quick air release valve works well
Inflation takes about 14 breaths, 7 on each side.
It is a long pad good for individuals 6ft and shorter

Review Cons :
Weight - NH loves to refer to this as being lightweight and ultralight; that is complete nonsense as this pad is heavy at over 2lbs. 2lbs might not sound like much but let's put this into perspective, NH has 1 person tents that weigh about the same as this pad.

The company also claims that it has a small size….that really depends on what you are comparing it to. For a summer sleeping pad, it is on the large size.

For the money, you can get MUCH lighter pads that are equally as comfortable or more so.

Talking about comfort, with both sides being inflated I had issues with my body touching the ground. While better than having one side fully inflated, the pad isn’t all that comfortable especially when you consider the weight. It would be a good thickness for an ultralight sleeping pad but that isn’t what this.

This is a 2.1lb sleeping pad that only offers 2.75” of cushion;
Let me put it this way, the lighter in weight you are the more comfortable it will be. The heavier that you are, the less comfortable it will be as your body pushes through the material into the ground.

As a frame of reference, I weigh 160lbs and as I move on this pad, I hit the ground in numerous spots.

Summary :
I’ve said a lot about this pad so I will wrap this up.
Do I recommend this sleeping pad?
No I don’t!

I said it earlier, there are less expensive pads out there that are just as comfortable or more so.

This pad requires too much time to inflate and has a high fiddle rating. I may have just invented a new category; in other words, to inflate this pad it takes a lot of time and a sleeping pad simply should be that way.

Also, a double sided sleeping really is a gimmick; over the last 10 years how many air mats have i had develop leaks? 2! One was a real leak after tons of use and the other was a defect with a product. That’s it!

For the most part, as long as you aren’t dragging your pad through a briar patch, you’ll be fine. If you have a pad and you have hiked the AT twice, then it might be time to think about it wearing thin.
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Friday, July 30, 2021

Storm Camping in a OneTigris Hammock - Cold Fog and Rain Adventure


In this Hammock Hanging Adventure, the Sky Turns as Dark as Night, heavy rain falls and strong winds blow.

Will there be any issues with the OneTigris Hammock setup that I'm using with this adventure?

Find out now!
....
:: Gear List ::
After receiving countless messages from viewers about supporting the channel through Amazon, I have begun using Amazon Affiliate links in the Adventure Videos and if you choose to purchase one of these products via these links I will receive a small commission which will help fund future honest reviews and adventures.

The channel remains as it always was, 100% Agenda Free with no sponsored videos, no paid reviews, and I don't care if you purchase these products or not; you won't find affiliate links in review videos only in adventures.

I'm going to do my best to put gear lists into all of my videos since everyone is asking for them all the time.

For this trip, here are the big items that I used.

Gear List :

Camera Gear :
Sony A7S III : https://amzn.to/3eZM7zb
Sony 35mm 1.8 Lens : https://amzn.to/3BFs8iZ
SIRUI Carbon Fiber Travel 5C : https://amzn.to/3BEahZX

Luke's Clothing :
Propper Summerweight Tactical Shorts : https://amzn.to/34cp26p
Old Navy Active T-shirt : oldnavy.com
Arcteryx Conveyor Belt : https://amzn.to/3i3CRfb
Oakley Men's Gradient Flak Jacket 03-881 Black Wrap Sunglasses : https://amzn.to/3yGy6Pk

Patagonia Men's Micro D Full Zip Sweater : https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-micro-d-fleece-jacket/26171.html

Outdoor Research Rain Jacket : https://amzn.to/3wgQLPm
Snugpak Rain Pants : https://amzn.to/3hBACQG

Gear :
OneTigris Compound Hammock : https://amzn.to/2WozgAc

OneTigris Hideout Underquilt : https://amzn.to/3zBZayz

OneTigris Bulwark Rain Fly : https://amzn.to/3y684UV

Go Outfitters Landing Pad : https://amzn.to/3iP9wV5

SnugPak Hammock Quilt : https://amzn.to/3BLrAbc

550 Cord : https://amzn.to/3ujrtia

Decathlon Trek 100 Symbium 70L+10 Backpack :

Gregory Kalmia 60L Backpack :

Go Outfitters Go Camping Hammock 2.0 : https://amzn.to/2TCb3p3

Go Outfitters Apex Tarp : https://amzn.to/2TE63QM

Go Outfitters Hammock Suspension System with Cinch Buckles : https://amzn.to/2TzyL58

Helikon-Tex Swagman Roll : https://amzn.to/3iPaMHN

Hennessy Reflective Pad :

Enlightened Equipment Convert Quilt :

Tasmanian Tiger Modular Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/3grXq4m
Tasmanian Tiger Mesh Pouch Kit : https://amzn.to/35qSqXc

Bottles and Cooking :
Nalgene Wide Mouth Bottle : https://amzn.to/34aKhpv

Soto Windmaster Stove : https://amzn.to/3q0bDIQ
 
Toaks 750ML Pot with Bail Handle : https://amzn.to/3ywOpOw

BITTY BIG Q Titanium 450ml Cup : https://amzn.to/3e9ZpbY

Toaks Long handle Spoons : https://amzn.to/3vcItrL

OneTigris Folding Chair : https://amzn.to/3yr40Po

Power and Lighting :
Nite Ize Lantern : https://amzn.to/3fCFbHN

Fenix HM65R-T Headlamp : https://amzn.to/2QEatFF

NiteCore Power Bank : https://amzn.to/3B4hiD0

Misc Gear :
Kershaw Cryo II Folding Knife : https://amzn.to/2Sej6aD

Spyderco Delica 4 Knife : https://amzn.to/3iMNuCx

Bahco Hand Saw : https://amzn.to/3r3D8BO
 
Varusteleka Terävä Jääkäripuukko 110 with leather sheath : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/search/search?q=Skrama%20knife
...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter : https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, July 28, 2021

Insane Value, You Won't Believe It - Carinthia Defence 1 Sleeping Bag Re...


The Value of this sleeping bag will impress you!

This is the Carinthia Defence 1 and when it comes to a synthetic sleeping bag, in my opinion this is a no brainer.  

The quality is top notch, the temp rating is excellent, it’s a versatile bag that can be added to other Defence bags to create very low temp sleep systems.

...
100% Agenda Free : 
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers. 

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

...
Carinthia Defence 1 Sleeping Bag Review


Price : $117 for the Medium, $123 for the Large

Color : Olive 

Temp Range : Comfort Range 39F, Extreme 14F 

Sizes : Medium and Large sizes

Measurements
Size       Rec. height    Length    Width*    Weight           Comp. size
Medium.  Up to 6' 1"    7' 0.5"    33.5"    2.3 lb            7" x 10"
Large        Up to 6' 7"    7' 6.5"    34.5"    2.64 lb             7" x 11"

*Measured at shoulder height

Materials
Shellproof outer shell - a lightweight, hard-wearing, ripstop reinforced and specially treated polyamide which is both wind and waterproof (1000 mm), yet breathable.

Shelltrans lining - a soft to the skin ripstop reinforced polyamide with excellent moisture-wicking capabilities keeps you comfortable through the night.

Thermoflect, a very thin, very lightweight aluminium material that reflects body heat. Thermoflect raises the sleeping bags heat-retaining capacity by about 11 %.

G-Loft filling - Carinthia's own, in-house "hollow-fibre", made in Austria. Highly compressible, excellent weight-insulation ratio and also moisture resistant, meaning that it will work even under long-term use in damp conditions.

Defence 1 uses single layered, lightweight G-Loft filling. In this lightweight design, the outer shell is loosely attached to the bag. 

The G-LOFT Plus filling is quilted to an insulating scrim. As a result, an additional air pocket is formed between the quilted insulation layer and the shell, yet no cold seams can occur.

Features :
Two way zippers
Bag is designed to have enough space in the bottle of the bag for shoe bag or extra clothing
Designed for military purposes but luckily it isn’t so overly built that it can’t be use by civilians.
Zipper Baffle 
Mummy Shape 

Carinthia
Carinthia is a well-known sleeping bag and existence gear manufacturer. Outside of their homeland Austria they have equipped many European countries, including Scandinavia and our very own Finnish Defence Forces too! Carinthia manufactures their products in Moldova.

My experiences :
Before moving to the pros and cons, I want to share my experiences with this bag;

I have been testing this out for a good part of the spring and summer and to say that I have been impressed is an understatement.  

The coldest conditions that I have used this bag are down to 40F which is basically the rating of this bag and I was incredibly comfortable.  With regular clothing for myself, I go even lower temp wise and be comfortable and in the future I will have a followup review discussing the performance in that regards.

Review Pros :
Awesome quality
Impressive price
True Temp Rating
Very warm
Very durable Bag
Fairly lightweight for being a military bag
Fairly compressible with a reasonable stuff size
Excellent military grade materials 
Can be used with other Defence sleeping bags to create extremely warm sleep systems.
Smooth zippers

Review Cons :
Obvious : not the smallest or the lightest bag but one should expect this with the bag being designed for military purposes

Summary :
When it comes to a synthetic sleeping bag, in my opinion this sleeping bag is a no brainer.  The quality is top notch, the temp rating is excellent, it’s a versatile bag that can be added to other defence bags to create very low temp sleep systems.

The price is awesome and I can easily recommend it.

...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :



Monday, July 26, 2021

OneTigris Responds - Defective Tents, Recalls, 2nd Season Tent Only - Co...


In this episode of Companies Respond, OneTigris has some information to share concerning their Cosmitto Tent and I will be providing my thoughts on these developments.

In this episode, Luke is going over;
Defective Batches of Tents,
The Recall
The Warning that OneTigris has Put Up
The Fact that this is Now Recommended as a 2 Season Tent Only and more.

...
100% Agenda Free :
This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR through Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

or

Support TOGR through YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpmbA7yNOl7aTj_ffkaWWag/join
...
OneTigris Cosmitto Backpacking Tent Link 

Agenda Free Link : https://www.onetigris.com/cosmitto-backpacking-tent.html

...

Come Join Us on Facebook, Twitter Instagram :


Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter  https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/