Tuesday, November 21, 2017

High Route Gear RectangleLight Food Bag – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the High Route Gear RectangleLight Food Bag which is an excellent way to carry food and can be used as a bear bag as well!

….

Link : https://www.highroutegear.com/collections/ultralight-storage-systems/products/weekender-food-bag-black

Price : $30

Weight : 2.9oz

Colors :  Gray, Black and Blue

The RectangleLight Food Bag is perfect for a 2-3 day trip or a simple over-nighter. The simple design allows for easy access to your food and other consumables.

Xpac is a great fabric. While we are familiar with Dyneema Composite Fabrics (DCF) aka Cuben Fiber, we felt that the fabric lacked long term durability. DCF is a great material but while Xpac weighs slightly more it is FAR more durable. We wanted a storage/food bag that could be ultralight but still be scraped on rocks and dropped from trees. Xpac’s laminated and reinforced construction allows for that level of durability.

·              Made with durable X-Pac VX21 Fabric
·              Water-Resistant
·              YYK weather resistant, inverted zipper.
·              Weight: 2.9 ounces
·              Dimensions: 12 inches x 6 inches x 6 inches
·              Volume: 432 cubic inches (7 Liters)
·              MADE IN THE USA

Pros :

Excellent quality.

Looks to be handmade

Well thought-out and designed.

High quality materials-name brand zippers

It is weather resistant,

Easy to use as a bear bag

I keep a large thick plastic bag inside for trash along with lots of line and a carabineer for bear bag usage

Cons :

There is no logo or label on the bag and I have on multiple occasions who made it.  On a gear testing trip a week ago I was having lunch along side of the trail and had a hiker pass, we talked and he asked about my food bag…unfortunately I couldn’t tell him who made it as there isn’t a logo or label and I couldn’t remember it.


Sunday, November 19, 2017

Simple! - Mountain Laurel Designs Titanium Mug - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the ultralight and simplistic Mountain Laurel Designs Titanium Mug.



 Solar Eclipse Bushcraft Overnight Adventure : https://youtu.be/WWYIxqseAh0

Link :  https://mountainlaureldesigns.com/product/titanium-mug/

Cost : $30

Weight : 1.4oz

at 475 ml, the MLD Titanium Mug makes the perfect UL drinking cup or cook pot for overnights and quick trips where you only plan to rehydrate a meal or two! Go Super Minimalist: Carry no stove and use a tiny twig fire to heat it up quick!

Small + Light + Strong

FEATURES
• Thanks to our custom thin-walled design, MLD Titanium pots and mugs are the lightest Ti cookware available
• Great for fast solo overnights when you only plan to rehydrate a meal or two
• Just the right size for “Dip-Zap-Slurp-Go” with a SteriPen UV purifier.
• Individual cup for drinks from the communal boil pot
• Beefy rolled rim for easy finger grip and setting securely on a mini caldera cone. Aluminum Foil makes a great lid if needed.
• Emergency back up boiling cup to purify water. Just the right size to store a “Ten Essentials” kit inside.
• We just love its small size – PERFECT for kids to have their own mug. We carry one for each little one and heat the hot chocolate in the big pot before serving all around.
• Stores in the MLD Titanium Pot – and most pots larger than 500 ml.

HEIGHT: 3.5 in | 90 mm

WIDTH: 3.2 in | 82 mm

Pros :

….

Perfect size for coffee or hot chocolate.

Extremely light weight

Strong. – it has seen a lot of use and abuse without any issues.

Can be used for boiling where not all titanium products can be.

Cheaper and lighter weight than the MSR Titan Cup…but the Titan cup does hand butterfly handles.

Fits inside of other cups and pots; those over 500ml so you an additional titanium pot, you can have a full light weight cookkit; pot and cup.

Cons :

….

MLD seems to be a bit confused as to what the weight of this product is as they state on the listing page two different figures; 1.2oz and 1.3oz.  According to my scale, neither are correct as it is 1.4oz.

This is small; 475ml but that is filled to the brim so you will be boiling less if you decide to boil in the cup.  The small size isn’t con really because this is a cup, not a pot.

Pricey! – At $30 it is roughly $8 more expensive than many comparable products….but most comparable products are twice as heavy.  Something to think about.

….

Review :

I love this cup and it makes for a perfect addition to my backpacking kit.  I use it with a 750ml pot and I have all of my needs covered.  It is pricey but the weight savings are important to me.  Now with that being said, they may not be that important to everyone.  To a thruhiker, it will be.  To the average short distance backpacker, the weight won’t likely be that important.


Friday, November 17, 2017

Will It Leak? - ALPS Mountaineering Zephyr 1 Person Tent - Test Night



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time for another episode of Test Night!

Join Luke in the backcountry as he puts the ALPS Mountaineering Zephyr 1 Person Tent to the test.

Will it Leak?

A special thank you goes out to CampingSurvival.com for making this video and review possible.



Link : https://www.campingsurvival.com/zephyr1al.html




Wednesday, November 15, 2017

For The Right Price - Aqua Quest West Coast Combo - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Aqua Quest West Coast Combo!

Tarp + Bivy/Tent;

It's all about the price....

….

Aqua Quest West Coast Combo

Link :  https://www.aquaquestwaterproof.com/product/west-coast-combo/

Price : $300 for the combo but can be purchased as each individual components if desired. ($160 on amazon)

The Bivy : $160. ($80 on amazon)

The Tarp 13’ x 10’ King Defender : $170 retail.  $100 on Amazon

Weight : Total weight around 5lbs (4lbs 14oz)

Just in case you don’t know, Aqua Quest is known for making some of the best Tarps on the planet; very strong and feature rich.

 With this setup here, it is called the West Coast Combo for a reason; namely that it is perfect for west coast conditions; namely hot arid climates.

For serious storms and tons of rain; there are better options out there.

Specs:

•       Capacity: 1-2 Person
•       Weight: 2.33 lbs / 1060 g
•       Set-Up: 87 x 35 x 39 in / 200 x 90 x 100 cm
•       Width at Shoulders: 35 in / 90 cm
•       Height at Shoulders: 24 in / 60 cm
•       Width at Feet: 25 in / 65 cm
•       Height at Feet: 8 in / 20 cm

Packed: 17 x 6 x 5 in / 44 x 15 x 12 cm

Features:

•       3 walls of ‘No-See-Um’ insect proof mesh
•       Batwing stiffeners keep the foot section elevated
•       Waterproof floor (double coated nylon with heat taped seams)
•       2 internal mesh pockets
•       Overhead loop for hanging a light
External loops for rolling up the mesh door or hanging small items

LG Guide Sil Tarp
Specs:

•       20,000 mm hydrostatic resistance
•       Weight: 1.9 lbs / 860 g
•       Packed Size: 12 x 6 x 2 in / 30 x 15 x 5 cm
•       Total Area: 12.6 x 9.8 ft ( ca. 130 sq. ft) / 3.91 x 2.95 m (ca. 12 sq. m)

Features:

•       40D RipStop fabric
•       Non-toxic dual Silicone & PU coating
•       Reinforced stitching
•       Heat taped seams
•       16 reinforced webbing loops around the perimeter

1 top center loop

…..


Monday, November 13, 2017

What a Mistake! HaHa - Sunjack LightStick Mini Powerbank – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Up for review is the Sunjack LightStick Mini.  Watch now to find out why this product has Luke shaking his head.  What a Mistake.....



Link Sunjack Web Site : https://www.sunjack.com/products/waterproof-lightstick-powerbank?variant=26229579017

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/SunJack-Waterproof-LightStick-Mini-Backpacking/dp/B0195TNJXQ

Price : $30

Weight : 4.5oz with lanyard

Light : 350 Lumens

Battery Bank : 2.600 mAh battery bank

Mini Technical Specifications


• Waterproof LightStick – a rugged, portable lighting solution complete with internal powerbank.
• 2 brightness levels + emergency flash (350 lumens on brightest setting)
• IP68 Waterproof to 6.5 feet depth

durable ABS  body, no glass, shock resistant.

• Full charge in 5 hours from the wall, provides up to 60 hours of light on lowest setting.. Highest setting is around 5 hours.

Red SOS Mode

• 2600mAh internal battery charges up to 2 smartphones
• Unit Dimension: 6" x 1.5" x 1.5" (15.25cm x 3.8cm x 3.8cm)
• Unit Weight: 4oz / 113.4g
• Packaging Dimension: 6" x 2" x 1.75" (15.2cm x 5.1cm x 4.5cm)

Pros :

….

Sunjack makes excellent quality lightsticks; some I have had for years now and they continue to work flawlessly. A few years back I received a knockoff from a company; don’t remember the name of it but it didn’t work very well.  The point of this is; Sunjack continues to offer excellent quality products and that is true with the LightStick Mini.

Good amount of light on all three settings.

It isn’t 360 degrees of light so you can hold it, work and not blind yourself at the same time.

Great for backpacking; use around camp at night and then charge your phone.

The interface works; but it is a bit clunky as you have to click to switch modes and to turn it off.  Not a con, just clunky.

Makes for an excellent emergency light source and battery bank.

Makes for a great work light too.

Excellent size; not too big, not to small.

Weather resistant; I’ve used this one in light rain without any issues and the regular size model has seen rain, snow and bitter colds.  Handled all conditions without any issues.  I don’t expect this model to have any issues either but I will update if something comes up.

Tail cap is secured to the stick so you won’t lose it

You can use the light and charge your device at the same time. Only the lowest setting is available.

Cons
Considering that the full size stick is offers more modes and a larger battery bank, you would expect these sticks to be further apart in regards to price but they aren’t.  The mini is only $10 cheaper than the regular size.

Because of the shape of this stick, it doesn’t stand very well and will roll easily.

the red "SOS" signal is NOT correct -- it blinks 3 short, 2 long, 4 short and then repeats this pattern. In Morse code this is "SMH" not "SOS".. For me, it’s not a deal breaker; to be honest, I don’t care at all.

SMH stands for; shaking my head.. FAIL!

SOS is

3 short, 3 long, 3 short.


Sunday, November 12, 2017

That's Awesome! - Viewer Mail #37



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I am honored and thankful!

You all are the best viewers!




Thursday, November 9, 2017

Alpine Aire Sides : Apples + Peaches + Trail Mix + Guacamole Review - Ca...



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's time for Camper's Cafe where Susan and Luke try out backpacking foods from all around the world.  Up for review today are some side items from Alpine Aire;

Apples, Peaches, Trail Mix and Guacamole Dip.

Three of these we love and one of them.....

Well, you have to watch and see for yourself.

Link : https://www.alpineaire.com


Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Slightly Confused - Nomadik Subscription Box - October



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Nomadik Subscription Box - October

Susan and I know how much you love seeing these unboxings so here is another one!  This is the Nomadik October Box; the unboxing and discussion begins now....

...

Link : https://thenomadik.com


Sunday, November 5, 2017

What Should We Review Next - Vote Now - Help Decide




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time to vote on the product that we will get in to review next.  The following options have been suggested by you all; thank you very much!

Head over to;
http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Remember, every dollar helps to support the channel!

Cast your vote on the right side of the page and once the voting ends I will purchase the product and will get it in to show off and review.




Friday, November 3, 2017

Now That is Different! - Fenix TK25 R&B (Blue/Red) Flashlight - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Fenix TK25 Red and Blue Flashlight!  This is certainly....different!




Link Fenix : https://www.fenixlighting.com/product/fenix-tk25-rb-blue-red-light-flashlight/

Price : Retail $120 but prices vary all over the net; At the time of filming, I saw them for around $90.

Weight : 7.1oz with 18650 battery

NOTE : On amazon I have seen a couple of listing which the reviewers state that the flashlight that they received were knockoffs so make sure that you are purchasing an authentic product.  I have also seen a warning about fraudulent sellers on the Fenix web site which you should check out.

Battery life is dependent on a 3,500 mAh Battery

·              Uses Cree XP-G2 S3 and XP-E2 (red & blue) LED’s with a lifespan of 50,000 hours

·              Powered by one 18650 rechargeable Li-ion battery or two 3V CR123A Lithium batteries

·              Free switching between white, red and blue lights

·              Compatible with AER-03 remote pressure switch

·              Reverse polarity protection, to protect from improper battery insertion

·              Tactical tail switch for momentary activation

·              Functional tail switch for output selection and strobe activation

·              Made of durable aircraft-grade aluminum

·              Premium type III hard-anodized anti-abrasive finish

·              Toughened ultra-clear glass lens with an anti-reflective coating

·              Titanium pocket clip

·              Very versatile light with multipurpose applications. Hunters will find it useful with the red setting for a “kill light”, the blue setting for map reading and movement at night, and the white setting for going in and setting up before dawn or withdrawing after dark.

·             

Pros :

Excellent fit and finish

Excellent quality

Excellent battery life

Innovative design

No glitches


Cons :

It is pricey but you are getting your monies worth

No battery included




Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Flash Flood - Halloween Special - Ghost Hunt Backpacking Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the next overnight adventure which is one part backpacking, one part ghost hunt and another part facing a flash flood situation.

Backpacking!
Ghost Hunting!
Flash Flooding!
EVP's!
Strange Technical Issues!

The Adventure begins now!!!


Have a safe Halloween everyone, ENJOY!




Monday, October 30, 2017

How to Setup the Sierra Designs Divine Light 1 FL Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Sierra Designs Divine Light 1 FL Tent.



Link Sierra Designs : https://sierradesigns.com/divine-light-1-fl/

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/Sierra-Designs-Divine-Silver-Lining/dp/B01N1PV9TF




Thursday, October 26, 2017

Halloween Special Ghost Hunt Backpacking Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the INTRO for the next overnight adventure which will *Hopefully* go live on Halloween.  I'm still in the process of editing this adventure and with Youtube and the Monetization issues, the video may get delayed.  Either way, it's coming up soon!

Backpacking!
Ghost Hunting!
Flooding!
EVP's!
Strange Technical Issues!

The Adventure is coming soon!




Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Simple and Easy - How to Fix Tent Mesh – Quick Instruction Guide




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a simple and easy how to video in regards to fixing tent mesh.  There are plenty of ways to go about this but this is by far the easiest.



Link : https://www.msrgear.com/tents/mesh-repair-kit

Accidents happen and that is exactly what happened to me.

One night while out on an overnight adventure, I was sleeping away on top of a beautiful mountain when I was awaken by a very loud sound;. in my half awaken state, I grab my head lamp, turn it up to full power and I shine the light through the mesh of my tent to see what was causing the disturbance.  It was a deer kicking a piece of metal in the forest next to me.

Instead of watching the deer for a period of time I should have been paying attention to what the headlamp was doing to my tent as it was melting the mesh due to the intensity of the light.

Opps!

Now that I have damaged the tent mesh it is important to fix it so that it continues to function as it should; in other words, to keep the bugs out!



The Repair Kit :

There are many options out there when it comes to repairing tent mesh but this happens to be my favorite as it doesn’t involve using a glue kit as the repair mesh has an adhesive side.  This is from MSR and this is their Mesh Repair Kit and it runs around $7 for 4 3inch patches.. If you purchase these on Amazon, the price is almost double.

The picture of the mesh makes it look brown but it is in fact black.

•       An on-the-move repair kit for your tent
•       No glue required
•       4 self adhesive patches for Quick field repairs

Adheres to nylon and polyester mesh

To Fix :

Note : Since the patches are 3 inches in diameter, you can cut these down to a size which you need to make your repair.. If you do so, make sure to round the edges so that it’s less likely to be pealed off.

Cleanse area with a bit of alcohol and a rag. If the mesh is dirty these will come off over time so clean it. If it’s a rip or cut in the mesh, remove all loose threads and bring the edges together on a flat surface. Place the patch and start with pressure in the center and rub in a circular motion.  After that, you are done!

If the mesh is melted or if you have a hole in the mesh, it will require additional work and product.

Start by cutting the melted part out and place the mesh on a flat surface.  Place the patch over the whole and put pressure on the patch around the existing mesh of the tent.  Since the mesh is missing due to the hole, the outside of the material is going to sticky so I am going to flip the material over and place another patch on the other side.  This way there won’t be any sticky surface area for dirty, debris or tent material to get stuck to.  This is also doubling the strength of the repair which means that it will be less likely to fail in the future.


Monday, October 23, 2017

That Price.... - The Heat Company Heat 3 Smart Gloves – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The most EXPENSIVE gloves that I have ever worn.

Also the Warmest.

All in all excellent quality.

These are the Heat Company Heat 3 Smart Gloves and this is my review.

….

Link : http://www.theheatcompany.com/en/gloves/heat3/heat-3-smart

Price : $164.77

Sizes : 6 to 12

Colors : Many colors to choose from on the site

The Heat Company, manufacturer of the Heat 3 Smart Glove which is the #1 selling glove for outdoor activities in Europe with over 60,000 plus sold annually. It was designed together with Austrian and German SOF teams to meet their requirements.  I'm very excited to be able to announce that this wind-proof, water-proof, breathable, Primaloft One insulated one piece mitten/glove and complimentary hand and foot warmers are now available in North America.




Sunday, October 22, 2017

I Can't Thank You Enough! - Viewer Packages #36



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I am honored and thankful!

You all are the best viewers!

By the way, the First Aid Kits are from American Standard; not what is stated in the video.  Whoops!  ;D

...

Red First Aid Kit Link : https://www.amazon.com/First-Aid-Survival-Kit-Standards/dp/B01NGZ3EUH



Black First Aid Kit Link : https://www.amazon.com/American-Standard-Traveling-Waterproof-Emergency/dp/B01M2YC9IM


Friday, October 20, 2017

The Best Outdoor Match? - UCO Titan Stormproof Matches Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The Best Matches EVER?

Perfect for backpacking?  Bushcraft?  Survival?

Find out now!

These are the UCO Titan Stormproof Matches

….

UCO Link : https://www.ucogear.com/titan-stormproof-matches-25pk-mt--tsm1?returnurl=%2fsearch%3fq%3dtitan

Amazon Link : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-Stormproof-Burning-Waterproof-Windproof/dp/B0114MIM7A

Price on Amazon : $8.44

Price on UCO : $9.99

Weight Per Package : 3.1oz

Weight per Match : .1oz

5 matches : .5oz

4.1” long

When your outdoor adventure demands ingenuity as a survival skill, pack the Titan Stormproof Match Kit. The beefiest, longest-burning windproof and waterproof matches available, Titan matches incinerate the competition. Over four inches long and boasting a burn time of up to 25 seconds, each meaty match will fire up in the harshest of conditions, and will relight after being submerged in water.

These are the Titan version, there is a small version of these available

These are serious weather matches for when you need to get a fire going.  You wouldn’t want to waste these lighting a candle but rather when it’s cold, wet and you want to release some immediate heat

Pros :

….

Ready for bad weather

Waterproof

Will strike when wet

Light weight

Durable

Wind proof

Stay lit underwater

Very beefy Matches – very thick (1/8 of an inch)

Cons :

…..

Smells like polyurethane

Possibly too long for some people.  If they are too long for you, there is a smaller version out there.

….

Recommendation :

Perfect for prepper, Hiker, camper, hunter, emergency,

Funny Comments :

While getting my ducks in a row for this review I came across some funny statements made by individuals who have used these matches.

One individual stated that he should have never lit one of them in his house next to his smoke alarm as receive a promote visit from the fire department.

Another individual stated that he lit one in his home and now his house absolutely stinks like these matches.  A follow-up comment to that was this; why would you like one of these in your home unless you wanted to burn it down.

Can satisfy your inner pyro!


Wednesday, October 18, 2017

She's Back! - Moose and Guns Ep 2 - Pumpkin Spice!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

She's Back!

Are you ready to find out what happened to Moose and to learn of what was done to fix her?  Was she fixed?

This is the 3rd episode of Moose and Guns and it features a pistol which is a ton of fun to shoot!

Make sure to stay tuned for the next episode as something is changing on Moose!




Monday, October 16, 2017

Eat Your Coffee - Viewer Product Showcase - Coffee Bars



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is episode 2 of the Viewer Product Showcase and tonight we have some Coffee.....which you eat!  You all saw this product in our Bears and Hammocks Overnight Adventure and now it is time to go over all of the details for the Coffee Bar!

If you have a product which you would like to have featured on the Viewer Product Showcase, shoot me a message to learn how the process works.

More coming soon!



Link : www.newgroundsfood.com

6 pack 14.99

12 pack 29.99

3 Flavors:

Mocha Latte

Coconut Mocha

Caramel Macchiato


Also available on Amazon and select retail locations throughout the US

The Eat Your Coffee Bar is a caffeinated energy bar infused with a full cup of real coffee (no synthetic caffeine). Every bar is made with whole ingredients and is organic, vegan, and gluten-free.




Sunday, October 15, 2017

I Didn't See This Coming! - WOW - Viewer Packages #35



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I am honored and thankful!

You all are the best viewers and I'm absolutely blown away!

WOW!

.....

Friday, October 13, 2017

Bears and Hammocks - End of Summer Backpacking Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Going back to 2015, an event took place which could have ended Luke's life; join Luke and Susan as they return to the Sandy Flats Shelter to discuss what happened!

This adventure has it all;

Snakes!  Bears!  Hammocks!   Susie!   Little Water!   Laughs and more!

Oh yeah!

Strength and Honor.






Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Finally A Comfortable Military Pack! - Varusteleka Särmä TST RP80 Reco...





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today Luke is reviewing the Särmä TST RP80 Recon Pack from Varusteleka. This is a product that a lot of you have been asking about and I've finally got all of my testing done.  A special thank you goes out to the Patreon supporters for voting and selecting this video to go to up today.

….

Link : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/sarma-tst-rp80-recon-pack/53979



Price : $443.99USD



Weight : 8.1lbs / 3700g



Capacity : 80L when fully expanded / 85 liters when you factor in the 2.5 liter bottom pockets



They, in collaboration with Finn-Savotta Oy, developed the RP80, an 80 liter sustainment pack which is designed to be tall and slim. This design distributes weight closer and above the wearer’s center of gravity and spine, and also allows unrestricted arm and elbow movement when skiing; a must for Nortic and Arctic users.

Adjustable carry system for user heights 5.2 to 6.5

Top loader with bottom zipper access, optional space divider inside.

Vertical design allows unrestricted arm movement when skiing.

PALS webbing for attaching pouches and gear.

MILSPEC materials, 1000D Cordura and DUR-aluminium.

Made in Finland and Estonia.

THE PACK BAG



Max. dimensions 85 x 37 x 25 cm + bottom corner pouches.

Total volume 80 liters.

Weight 1700 g.

Drawcord divider inside, top compartment height 60 cm, bottom compartment height 25 cm.

Roll top closure with added security/compression strap.

Zippered bottom flap with two security/compression straps.

Two large baggy bottom corner pouches. Volume approx. 2,5 liters per pouch.

Two 75 cm long compression/tie down straps on each side.

Hydration bladder compartment inside.

Two horizontal tie down straps inside against the back.

Carry handles on the sides and lower back.

A seamless, uninterrupted 7 x 22 PALS matrix goes around the whole upper half of the bag.

Two vertical attachment point straps along the back.


Tuesday, October 10, 2017

How to Setup the Big Agnes Happy Hooligan UL2 Tent - Nice and Easy



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Big Agnes Happy Hooligan UL2 Tent.



Link : http://www.bigagnes.com/Happy-Hooligan-UL-2




Monday, October 9, 2017

Backpacking Purchase Guide - Backpack Anatomy - Backpacking Basics



For this episode, I will be going over all of the features and functions of the modern day backpack.  Do keep in mind that all packs are different and your pack or the pack that you are considering may have or may not have every feature mentioned here or it may have additional features which aren’t available on this pack. In this video, I will be cover the most common of features and functions.

While backpacking materials and technologies have evolved over the years, the general design hasn’t so for most systems, these terms will be relevant.

Friday, October 6, 2017

End of Summer Hammock Backpacking Trip - The EVENT - INTRO



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Overnight Adventure time and I am excited to present to you all, the INTRO for the End of Summer Hammock Backpacking Trip!

Snakes!  Bears!  Hammocks!  Susie!  Oh yeah!

The Full Adventure goes live next Friday!

Strength and Honor.


Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Inexpensive and Strong 4 Season Backpacking / Bushcraft / Bug Out Shelte...



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It has become increasingly clear to me over the last couple of months that there are a lot of people who are seeking out inexpensive shelter options which offer full protection and are of good quality.  A shelter system for backpacking, camping, bugging out and even bushcraft doesn’t have to be expensive and this is one of those options.

More to come!

...

Video Links :

Tarp Video : https://youtu.be/HhqjJQnK3eQ

IBNS Video : https://youtu.be/z2GxUduNY44

Military Surplus Adventure : https://youtu.be/TRuwQsWs6rs

Bushcraft Overnight Trip : https://youtu.be/WWYIxqseAh0

...

2 Components –

Catoma IBNS and British Military Basha Tarp

Total Cost : Will vary depending on where you purchase and condition :

Should easily be able to put it together for around $120 give or take.

Total weight of the system minus guy lines and stakes will be around 4lbs

This system provides full bug protection and full weather protection at a decent cost.  With the proper knowledge on tarp setups, you can enjoy the full benefits of a tent setup but with the variety and versatility of a tarp.

Small Form factor.

….

Catoma Adventure Shelters IBNS (Improved BedNet System)

1.9lbs

Height : 26”

90” L x 33” W

Cost : Purchased on Amazon these run $100 new but you can easily find used military surplus on ebay for around $60.

** If you purchase used, make sure the quality is good.

70 Denier Ripstop Nylon

•      Currently under contract with US Army and Marines
•      Embedded Permethrin insect protection
•      Self supporting and sets up in seconds
•      Packs down to 13" x 13" x 3"

Has been tested and excelled in many climates around the world

Base Tent for Wolverine and Armadillo Fly systems • Weighs less than 2 lbs. • Sets up instantly and packs down in moments. • Use in the field or on a cot using the built-in attachments. • Floor is made of heavy duty 75D ripstop, exceeding mil-spec toughness.

98600 - Burrow IBNS - Coyote Brown - Import98627 - Burrow IBNS - Coyote Brown - Berry Compliant Made in USA

NSN: 3740-01-543-5652

The Improved Bed Net System (IBNS) was originally designed to fit securely onto a military cot with webbing and side release buckles on all four corners. After initial fielding, we were informed that Marines liked the product so much that they were deploying it in the field as well. In response, we ruggedized the design, creating the capability to add a rainfly. We have since delivered hundreds of thousands on contract. After yet another round of improvements, we are proud to re-introduce the Burrow™ IBNS with enhanced capability, more user friendly features, and improved parts and fittings.

The Burrow’s instant deployment and cot compatibility make it an efficient, fast-access shelter to protect users from insects and a great shelter for medical patients in the field. It is EPA registered and has Permethrin bonded to the material for insect repellency. The Burrow is supported by a strong and ultra-light .134” diameter pultruded fiberglass rod which winds through the shelter, expanding it to its given shape. When the rolled up Burrow’s cinch strap is removed, the shelter is released and snaps into shape automatically. No assembly or set-up is required.

Can be turned into a tent with some rather pricey additional purchases.

……..

British Military Basha Tarp :

Price : Around $50 from the UK and that should include the shipping fees.  Typically these sale for around $25 plus $20 for shipping.

This British DPM Basha/Tarp is superb piece of kit as it lightweight, highly packable and strong.

woodland DPM and latest MTP multicam versions

A lightweight, robust shelter sheet featuring a fully tape-seamed hem and reinforced suspension points and attachment loops. It also has press studs attached so you can attach more than one together making a supremely versatile shelter sheet.

    Compact & lightweight

    PU Coated Ripstop Polyester

    British DPM

    16 x suspension points

    2 x mosquito net suspension points

    Weight: 2lbs 5oz

   Measurements:8’3” x 6’11”


Monday, October 2, 2017

So Close but.....Hydroblu Clear Flow Water Bottle and Filter Combo - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke and Susan are reviewing the Hydroblu Clear Flow Water Bottle and Filter Combo.  Has it earned our seal of approval?

Find out now!



Link Official Web Site : http://hydroblu.com/index.php/products/filters/clear-flow-personal-water-filter.html

Link : https://www.amazon.com/Clear-Flow-Water-Filter-Emergency/dp/B01CT5PUJE

Price : $21.95

Weight when Empty :

Easy to collect water

Easy to clean



Pros :

Easy to use; couldn’t be any easier.

No issues even when drinking from questionable water sources.  We’ve carried these bottles all around the state of Colorado as well as NC; have drank from rivers, lakes, ditches and creeks without getting sick.

Pulling water through the bit valve isn’t all that hard.  It does take some sucking power but it isn’t overly hard.  I’ve certainly used filter which are much harder.

Fits easily in the side pockets of backpacks.

Lightweight when empty



Cons :

There was a plastic taste with the initial draws but it dissipated after use.

Had some issues with leaking unless the lid was screwed on exceedingly tight. This seems to be a common issue which I have seen mentioned with other online reviews.

you can only fill the water bottle about 75% because the filter decreases the total space.

I mentioned that it is easy to get water from the straw for us but I have seen countless reviews which stated the opposite.

While we haven’t had any issues with the water filter coming detached from the straw it does seem like an area of weakness.  I would like to see the filter screw into the straw

There seems to be some confusion at Hydroblu on how much water that these bottles can filter.  Their web site states 1,500, the amazon listing states 1,000.



Who is it for :

Backpackers, hikers, preppers, emergency use, mission and aid workers and so on.

Anyone who needs clean water.



Advice to the Company :

Pay attention to the details – is this a 1500 liter or 1000 liter filter?

Quality control is very, very important.  There are a lot of issues which we have read about online.  Leaks, filters coming loose from the straw, etc.

The reviews on the web site seem to be a combination of positive reviews taken from amazon and those which might be completely fake.  Some of the reviews are duplicates of each other but with different names being used.


Saturday, September 30, 2017

Best Custom Sheath? – Yellow Hawk Custom Kydex - Viewer Product Showcase...





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



This is episode 1 of the Viewer Product Showcase and tonight I'm featuring a sheath from Yellow Hawk Custom Kydex.  Could this possibly be the best custom sheath that Luke has ever seen?

Find out now!



If you have a product which you would like to have featured on the Viewer Product Showcase, shoot me a message to learn how the process works.



More coming soon!





Link : https://www.yellowhawkcustomkydex.com



Yellow Hawk Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/YellowHawkKydexSheaths/



Yellow Hawk Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/user/Mrbrassguy



Cost : Will completely depend on what you are looking for and what bells and whistles that you choose.  Price-wise these are comparable to other custom makers but there is a difference between many and Yellow Hawk – The Quality!





What it is :

Each sheath is handmade to order which means that they are 100% customizable.  They are able to make sheaths for most knives but not every knife is a good fit so talk with the owner to get some feedback.



I like the fact that this company is going to communicate with you each step of the way as the sheath is made.  In fact, they like to text to have direct and quick communication.  You aren’t going to find that with most sheath companies.



With this company, each sheath is going to be different because each sheath is made specifically for the client.  I like that!  No generic forms, everything is custom.



45 degree cross draw tek lok belt clip





Web Site Thoughts

Who would you rather have build your custom sheath? A computer programmer or insurance salesman who has only been doing it part time for a few years because he needs some extra money, or a U.S. Army Special Operations Veteran who does this full time.



My thoughts :

….

I have to be up front and honest, I’m not the biggest kydex fan in the world, I suppose that you could say that I am more old school;



I like for the stock of my rifle to be made from wood and I like the sheath for my knife to be made from leather but this is f---ing awesome!  This is by far the best craftsmanship that I have seen as far as custom kydex sheaths go and I have seen plenty.



Excellent features – fire steel / flashlight

Multiple ways to carry

Light weight

Very solid construction – nothing feels flimsy




Thursday, September 28, 2017

Tips For all Levels of Backpacker - Hiking and Backpacking Tips - Part 1



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

...

This is part one of our three part Backpacking Tips series!

If you have a tip which you would like to share with others, comment down below so that others can share your experience.



More Coming Soon.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Budget Friendly and Awesome - Swedish Army Mess Kit with Trangia Stove –...



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Swedish Army Mess Kit with Trangia Stove and he is going to tell you how to purchase it for a much lower price than what you will find it for in the USA.

By the way, it's AWESOME!



Link : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/swedish-mess-kit-with-cooker-surplus/28552?lookalsoref=polish-mess-kit-surplus&gclid=CjwKEAjwppPKBRCGwrSpqK7Y5jcSJACHYbWYa3sufz1CXPhiyoVL7O98sBGDIaVN9uZPs98RGeUmPRoCEhHw_wcB

Price : $22.99

Weight : 2.2lbs

What is Included:

·         Swedish Issue Trangia Burner - Free from any defects

·         Swedish SPRIT 35 Bottle for fueling your Trangia Burner

·         Swedish Army Trangia Burner Windscreen

·         Reproduction Swedish Mess Kit

Why this is an excellent buy :

These cook sets are absolutely awesome because they are so versatile.  You can run the alcohol stove or you can use this as a wood burning system.  Here in the US, these cooksets are expensive and are typically found on ebay for well over $100.  Even outside of the US, these are commonly sold for over $30 but with $25 shipping charges.

A combination of an aluminium mess tin and an alcohol stove. Perhaps not a state of the art plasma-cooker from outer space, but virtually indestructible, affordable and very effective. The mess tin is new production, made by Mil-Tec, rest is Swedish army surplus.

The small accessories pack into the mess tin and the holder slides over it. The cooking process is very simple and the system is quick to set up:

Take the mess tin out of the holder

Inside the holder there are two metal wire thingies. Open these so that when you put the mess tin back into the holder, the tin won't go all the way down. Don't put the tin in just yet.

Take the burner cup out of the mess tin, unscrew the cap, pour in some fuel, place it on the bottom of the holder (under the wire thingies) and light it by holding a burning match over it.

Put whatever you want to cook into the mess tin and slide it into the holder over the burner cup. The wire thingies should hold the mess tin over the burner.

If the instructions seem hard to understand, don't worry - when you get the product, you'll be able to figure all this by yourself. If not, you should not have been allowed to play with fire to begin with.

Further instructions:

This is an alcohol cooker. Few countries sell pure alcohol for normal people, but there are lots of denaturated sorts made exactly for this use. We recommend either Marinol or Sinol. Marinol has a more neutral odor, but Sinol is available from us.

NO FUEL IS INCLUDED - the small, EMPTY plastic bottle is for your convenience as normally fuel is sold in unwieldly big containers. It's up to you to fill it.

The burner cup and fuel bottle are meant to be transported inside the mess tin. It's a good idea to put them into a small resealable plastic bag before putting them into the tin, as denaturated alcohol will make your food taste real bad, and it's a nuisance to get it off.

Always use the lid when cooking things. Makes stuff cook much faster and keeps you from looking like a dolt.

The wire handle has a small notch on the top to facilitate hanging the mess kit over a campfire, for example.

1.     Fill your Trangia burner with alcohol from the alcohol flask that comes with this set. For best results we recommend using denatured alcohol.

2.     Adjust the metal support posts in the windscreen to support your mess kit.

3.     Light your Trangia burner.

4.     Place windscreen over your Trangia burner.

5.     Mix your meal in your mess kit, and slide it into the windscreen.

6.     Prepare to enjoy your hot freshly cooked camp meal.

7.     Make sure your Trangia burner is cool before putting cap on to protect the rubber o-ring.

The windscreen has the three crowns which means that this is legit Swedish military

….

In a pinch you can use these stoves with a wood fire but I wouldn’t recommend it unless you absolutely have to.  High heat remove the finish




Monday, September 25, 2017

It Makes Luke Angry! - Bannock Multigrain Berries & Cream - Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Welcome to the next episode of The Camper's Cafe where Luke and Susan review the latest and greatest in backpacking/camping meals.

Today we have a meal from Bannock; Multigrain Berries & Cream.

While it tastes good it makes Luke Angry....find out why now!

Thank you for joining us for this review and a special thank you to PrepareWise for making this review possible.

Link : http://www.preparewise.com/bannock-cook-in-pouch-meals/


Friday, September 22, 2017

Colorado Day Hike Gear Load Out - What I Carried and Used



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

You may have seen some of Susan and I's day hikes in Colorado and in this video I will be going over all of the gear which I personally carried and used on those hikes.

This will answer many of the questions which you may have had but if you have more, feel free to email me;

theoutdoorgearreview@gmail.com

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Budget Friendly Bushcraft Blanket - Swiss Heavyweight Blanket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is discussing the Swiss Army Heavyweight Wool Blanket.

Is it the perfect Bushcraft blanket at a budget friendly price?

Decide for yourself now in this quick video!

Link Heavy Weight : https://swisslink.com/swiss-army-reproduction-heavyweight-blanket.html

Link Light Weight : https://swisslink.com/swiss-army-reproduction-blanket.html

Price :
Heavy – $32.99
Light - $24.99

Original Swiss Wool Blankets have a long history of being some of the best wool blankets ever made but after all of these years they are hard to find and if located, they are very expensive.  Paying $160 for one is very common place.

Dark taupe with burgandy

Beautiful copy of the Swiss Army Blanket. We had these extra heavyweight ones made. Hand sewn white cross on each end. 70 percent wool. Measures 60" x 84". Weighs a very nice 5.9 pounds. Shades of brown will vary a bit.

Hardly ever has there been a blanket that is more famous and sought after then the Swiss Army Blanket. For 20 years we sold the original stock from the Swiss Army until it was completely sold out worldwide.  So... using the precise original specifications we re-created these beautiful blankets at a very affordable price.  70% fine wool with a white stitched cross. Measures 60 x 80 inches and weighs a whopping 3.9 pounds.

Somewhere a couple years back during my clothing / blanket research I stumbled on an article that referenced studies the Wehrmacht conducted on wool content in uniforms during the war. If memory serves they found that they could get down to around ~70% wool content before they had any significant change in the insulative qualities of their wool uniforms.

As it stands, that made the 80/20 blends a pretty easy buy for me, and a significant savings over shelling out for the 100% wool Italian blankets. Your mileage may vary.

Review :
Excellent Quality blankets at a terrific cost
Tightly woven
Very warm

Cons
Slightly scratchy against the skin with a military surplus smell which makes sense considering that these are coming from a military surplus provider

I would recommend washing these by hand in the tub a few times with some fabric softener and lanolin.  You can even add some eucalyptus to the mixture for a natural bug repellant!

Once you wash it, let it air dry.  Don’t throw this in the dryer unless you want to shrink the hell out of it.

These make excellent bushcraft and truck blankets.  Get one, wash it, treat it to make it softer at a terrific value.




Monday, September 18, 2017

What Happened to Moose? - Moose and Guns Ep 2 - Sig 522



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What Happened to Moose?
This is the second episode of Moose and Guns and it features one of the best 22LR rifles ever made!  

Friday, September 15, 2017

Real Bushcraft! - Great American Eclipse Bushcraft Overnight Adventure




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

You are invited to join Luke for the Solar Eclipse Bushcraft Overnight Adventure.  The Tools.  The Skills.  The Solar Eclipse.

This is Real Bushcraft and the Adventure Begins now!

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Unbeatable Price - Swiss Woodsman Axe - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and we are taking a look at an Unbeatable, Inexpensive Axe; the Swiss Military Woodsman Axe!



Link : https://swisslink.com/new-swiss-military-reserve-woodsman-axe.html

Price : $27

Weight : 4lbs 11oz – Substantial!

Handle : 20”  Ash Hardwood

Blade : 4.5” blade

….

For the price, this is one of the best axes on the market!  It’s a heavy duty, two handed tool which could easily fit into the inventory of any outdoorsman.

For bushcraft needs, I have to admit, this is rather heavy.  If you are trekking around with a 5lb axe I’m impressed!

….

Thoughts :

Since I haven’t sharpened this axe I can’t give you a review and I may get to that in the following months.  I wanted to show you all what this axe is and how it arrives to you as there is one very important aspect to it that may be a deal breaker for some;

Swiss axes and hatchets will arrive to you dull….duller than a freaking spoon! If you can’t sharpen an axe blade, I’m sure that you can find someone to do that for you.

They were issued like that back in the day so the user could use it for splitting or give it an edge for finer work.  The benefit is that when you sharpen the head yourself, it will be at the angle your hand naturally sharpens and it will be easier for the user to touch up every time. Everyone has their own particular angle that feels best, so sharpening is always consistent.

Something to keep in mind is that this is a $26 axe which means that it’s perfect for a basic beater tool. Keep it behind the seat of the truck, take it with you on your next hunting trip, etc.

Handle is smooth enough but a bit of work will take it to the next level.  Some sanding and coating of some oil will go a long way.

Tip :  Give it a rubdown with beeswax/oil mix or linseed oil and sat it beside the wood stove for it to absorb into the handle.

For $26 I think that this is a heck of a bargain.  There are a few sites selling these but they are much more expensive.  For a project axe, a beater axe, this can’t be beat.




Monday, September 11, 2017

My Colorado Gear Load out - Backpacking the Rockies (Plus Tips)



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

So you may have seen the Overnight Adventure to Cathedral Lake in Colorado which was EPIC in every way and in this video I will be going over all of the gear which I personally carried and used.

This will answer many of the questions which you may have had but if you have more, feel free to email me;

theoutdoorgearreview@gmail.com

I will have a video up next week where I will go over my Day Hike Load Out which I carried.



Links :

Cathedral Like Overnight Adventure : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snwN5TMCWy0

Arc Blast Backpack : https://youtu.be/KAhACnXj8vA

Katabatic Gear Alsek 22F : https://youtu.be/zWexIdxgN3g

Big Agnes Insulated Air Core Ultra : https://youtu.be/6u8Ag61-wZI

MSR Pocket Rocket 2 : https://youtu.be/hAO4zgAmIFQ

I have other videos for some of the other products so search the channel if you want more information.

...

Backpacking the Rockies - Colorado Gear Load out

………….

Packs :                   Zpacks Arc Blast                        

Sleeping Bags :      Quilt – Katabatic Gear Alsek 22F                                  

Sleeping Pad :        Big Agnes Insulated Air Core Ultra                        

Stove :                    MSR Pocket Rocket 2

Pot :                        Toaks Titanium Pot 750ml with bail handle.

Cups :                     Titanium Cups – One is from MSR and the other is from mountain laurel designs

Silverware :            Titanium Long Spoons (2)

Power Kits

………….

Head Lamps : One Extra Batteries

Battery Banks for Phones : Anker

Charging Cable

Misc

………….

First Aid Kit with Ibuprofen (sinus pills)

Knives – pocket Knife

Bug Spray

Pack Cover – Mine is a cheap pack cover which I got from amazon years ago.  Purchased on amazon years ago for $10.  Works perfectly. It’s from Orange sport I believe.

Water

………….

Water bottle : Hydroblue – Review coming soon.

And a 1 liter Bottle

Backup water treatment tablets

Clothing :

………….

Extra Socks (2)

Long Johns (2)(?)

Puffer Jackets (2)

Rain Gear (2 sets)

Convertible pants -

Shorts

Shirts

Underwear

Hat – Seal Skin

Beanie

Gloves

Shoes – Vasque Mantra 2.0

Food

………….

Mountain House Dinner

Mountain House Lunch

Real Turmat Oatmeal

Breakfast (?)

Packit Gourmet Chicken salad

Instant Coffee

Snacks

Had to rent a bear canister

Bear bags aren’t allowed or aren’t useful above the tree line.

……

Sunblock cream for face, ears, neck.

Maps loaded on All Trails App. Downloaded so I can use off line with GPS.

Had paper map backups along with a compass!  Very important especially when going off trail like Susan and I did.  Please do not go off trail unless you are very proficient with route navigation, map reading and location acquiring.


Sunday, September 10, 2017

Too Kind - Lots of Gear! Viewer Mail #34



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is mail time again and hopefully I can actually get this video up now....it's a long story involving Youtube....anyways, as always we are honored and thankful!

Friday, September 8, 2017

The Solar Eclipse Bushcraft Overnight Adventure - INTRO



This is the INTRO for The Solar Eclipse Bushcraft Overnight Adventure.  The full adventure is coming next week!

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Next Generation Military Sleeping Pad! Savotta Sleeping Mat - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Savotta Sleeping Mat which is essentially the next generation of Military Sleeping pad!



Link : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/finnish-sleeping-mat/17334

Price : $54.99

Weight : 2.11lbs / 960g / .96kg

Now, if there's something the Finnish army can do right, it's the sleeping gear. Our kip mat is the best one we've ever seen, to be honest. These are made by the official army contractor, Savotta. You can see from the price you've got quality coming.

Admittedly a traditional sleeping mat is OK, but if you want to take it a few steps further, try this:

Length :  74.8 inches

Width : 39.3 inches

Dimensions when Rolled : 19.6” x 8.66”

Thickness : Just shy of being ¾ inch thick

Skirts :

Fabric : 210D Nylon PU Coated

Anti-Skid : Rubber Coated bottom

The 1,2 cm thick foam keeps cold away and cushions just enough.

25 cm wide foldable extensions on both sides and a 20 cm long one on the foot end. These are super - you won't touch the wet ground even if you slip while asleep...

...which is unlikely, thanks to good friction on the top of the mat.

Length 190 cm (+ 20 cm), width 50 cm (+ 50 cm), weight 1 kg.

Elastic loops to secure the mat - you won't be needing extra straps to keep this rolled. You can also use the loops to secure the mat to the rucksack, like some of us did in the army. If you did this wrong, the mat constantly banged against the back of your helmet, which is something that god fairly annoying on a long tab.

Made of very high quality materials. These are meant to work in Finnish weather conditions, which are very cold when they're not otherwise wet and nasty.

The workmanship is also top notch, and to the best of our knowledge fill the army requirements. Well OK, you wouldn't expect any less from a kip mat this expensive.

Compared to self-inflatable mats, the advantage of a "traditional" foam mat is the impeccable durability and ease of use. These won't mind if you happen to shove them into something sharp.

Founded in 1955 Finn-Savotta, or just Savotta, is known for their simplistic and extremely rugged designs. For decades Savotta has been the go-to supplier of hiking gear for the Finnish civilian market and combat gear and tents for the defence forces.


Monday, September 4, 2017

She Won't Even Try It! - Kalakalle Fish Cock - Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Wait, Wait....what is it called? Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke eats a Finnish speciality while Susan watches in disgust!  Not really...but close.

Kalakalle Fish Cock, 182 g, canned

4.99 USD



Link : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/kalakalle-fish-cock-182-g-canned/27360

Price : $4.99

A traditional Finnish delicacy in canned version, 5 years of shelf life and does not contain cock! If "Fish Cock" doesn't automatically mean food to you, it's a Finnish speciality - fish baked inside rye bread. This is a perfect snack or trekking food, always ready to eat and contains enough energy to keep you going and enough high quality protein to keep you in shape.

Foreign people might wonder why the excellent delicacy is called fish cock and, well, it's a wonder for us too, since this food originally comes from Savo, a remote location in the middle of Finland known for inbreeding and incapacity to form sentences that mean anything. In Savo, fish cock means food and flying fish cock a train.

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Thank you! - Fire Starting Kit - Patreon Winner Announcement



This is the 3rd of 3 videos which has gone live today and this is the Fire Starting Kit Winner Announcement for Patreon Donators.  Did you Win?

The other videos involve the announcement of a winner of a Giveaway  for all of the viewers (Dutch Military Pack) and there is a new giveaway beginning today so make sure to enter that one.

This is a way for me to give back to you all; thank you all for the support.

Was It You? - Dutch Military Rucksack - Viewer Winner Announcement




This is the 2nd of 3 videos which has gone live today and this is the winner announcement of the Dutch Military Rucksack.  Did you Win?

The other videos involve the announcement of a winner of a special Patreon Giveaway and there is a new giveaway for all viewers beginning today.

This is a way for me to give back to you all; thank you all for the support.

FREE GEAR!!!! - Three Piece Giveaway - ENTER NOW




This is the 1st of 3 videos which has gone live today and this is a new giveaway for some great outdoor gear! Enter Now!

The other videos involve the announcement of a winner of a special Patreon Giveaway and there is the winner announcement of the Dutch Military pack as well.

This is a way for me to give back to you all; thank you all for the support.

Friday, September 1, 2017

Close to a Disaster! - Sierra Designs Divine Light 1 FL - Test Night



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Very Close to a Disaster!

During this episode of Test Night, Luke pushes the Sierra Designs Divine Light FL 1 Tent to it's limits!

Do Not Attempt to do this yourself on purpose as this is dangerous!

….

Link Sierra Designs : https://sierradesigns.com/divine-light-1-fl/

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/Sierra-Designs-Divine-Silver-Lining/dp/B01N1PV9TF

Price : Retail is $320 but I have seen this tent as low as $270 on Amazon and Campmor.

Packaged Weight: 3 lbs 5 oz / 1.50 kg

You can drop 6oz of weight by using trekking poles.

A foot print is available for an addition $30.  I prefer to use a sheet of light weight plastic instead.

….

Features

Non-free standing

Single Wall Hybrid

·         Wider Ceiling Than Floor = More Livable Space
·         Full 360 Degrees of Ventilation
·         Trekking Pole Compatible
·         Out of the Way Gear Storage
·         2
·         J-shaped door with waterproof window panel
·         10" awning coverage over side doors
·         Reflective guylines and guyout loops
·         Awning Vestibule
·         Interior mesh pocket
·         Hybrid Double/Single wall construction
·         DAC aluminum poles
·         Fully taped seams (PVC Free)
·         Night Glow included



2 doors. 1 vestibule

·         Vestibule Area: 6.20 ft2 / .58 m2
·         Floor Area: 17.10 ft2 / 1.59 m2
·         Peak Height: 45.5" / 115.6 cm
·         Dimensions (L x W): 88" x 30" (Head) / 26" (Foot) // 224 cm x 76 cm (Head) / 66 cm (Foot)
·         Packed Size: (L x W): 14" x 5.75" / 35.56 cm x 14.6 cm
·         Number of Guylines: 4
·         Stake Type Quantity: 11 DAC J-Stakes
·         Number of Poles: 3 (2 vertical poles, 1 footbox pole)
·         Pole Type: DAC NSL / DAC Pressfit
·         Fly Fabric: 20D Nylon Ripstop, Silicone/1500mm PE, FR CPAI84
·         Floor Fabric: 30D Nylon Ripstop, WR/3000mm PE, FR CPAI84
·         Body Fabric: 15D Nylon No-See-Um Mesh

….

Impressions :

This tent is very much different in terms of design than most tents on the market as it has very sharp angles and almost vertical walls.  This design offers the camper with a lot of useable space for themselves and their gear.

Pros :

Can use trekking poles to save some weight if you use them
Setup is exceptionally easy.
Ventilation is amazing
Plenty of space inside of the tent to sit-up, to move around, and for gear.
Large vestibule does a great job of protecting your gear;
The porch is awesome for storm free nights
Taped seams
Fully waterproof floor

Cons :

the high profile and vertical walls will need to be of a concern in bad weather.  With that being the case, PRO TIP : Pay extra close attention to staking out this tent as it is especially important.  If you do a poor job of staking this tent out, it may punish you for that carelessness during a storm.

Condensation does build on the walls and a towel maybe needed before the night is through in extreme cases.

Secondary door doesn’t have a protective flap over the zipper and during driving rain, water will leak into the tent.

Because of the high profile this tent may not be best used in very windy environments.

Since this is a non-free standing tent it will best be used in areas where the ground isn’t overly rocky or hard.

Pro Tip :

Make sure to zip the tent up when you are packing the tent up. This way when you go to setup the tent in the future you won’t have to worry about creepy crawlies getting inside during the setup process.

I really like this tent so far with my testing.  It’s very versatile, lightweight, spacious, and it’s very good quality.


Thursday, August 31, 2017

So HOT That It Can Melt - Olight H2R Nova Headlamp and Flashlight – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Olight H2R Nova Headlamp.  A device which becomes so hot that it can easily melt plastic and ignite charcloth.

Also there are a few more issues to discuss.



Link :  https://www.olightstore.com/led-flashlights/headlamps/olight-h2r-nova

Price : $89.95 on Olight and on Amazon

Weight :

Battery : 18650 – rechargeable 3,000Mah Bat included

Rechargeable : Via magnetic usb charge base

6 Modes – Turbo High Medium Low Moonlight Strobe

Options : Available in Cool White as well as Neutral White

Lockable by hold and click in moonlight

Double click for turbo

Triple click is strobe

Lens Type : Diffused - provides a wide beam to light up a work area or a path through the woods/house.

Headlamp and Flashlight Review?  I’m sure you are wondering, why did I say both?  That’s because this headlamp is very versatile and it can be used as both;

A very powerful headlamp and a very powerful flashlight

Aluminum Construction

Gradual switching of the modes

Low battery warning – light blinks once perminute when running low on power

Lumens and Run Times vary depending on the version that you get;

2300 lumens for 1 minute and then steps down to 750lm

LEVEL 1 (lumens)

2300

Run-time LEVEL 1

2300 lumens(~750lm) - Cool White

2000 lumens(~750lm) - Neutral White

1h50m (1m)

LEVEL 2 (lumens)

600

Run-time LEVEL 2

600 lumens - Cool White

550 lumens - Neutral White

2h30m

LEVEL 3 (lumens)

150

Run-time LEVEL 3

150 lumens - Cool White

140 lumens - Neutral White

10h

LEVEL 4 (lumens)

30

Run-time LEVEL 4

30 lumens - Cool White

27 lumens - Neutral White

50h

LEVEL 5 (lumens)

1

Run-time LEVEL 5 (moonlight)

1 lumens - Cool White

1 lumens - Neutral White

45 days

Strobe

No

SOS / BEACON

Yes

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

Waterproof and drop

IPX8 – Waterproof to 2 meters.

Drop resistant to 1.5

Weight: 6.14 oz. (Including Battery and Strap) (174 g)

Length (mm / in)

110 / 4.33

Head Diameter (mm / in)

25 / 0.95”

Body Diameter (mm / in)

23.2 / 0.91”

Led

Cree XHP50

Packaging

Custom plastic enclosure.

Use

everyday carry , car, camping, fishing, household, EDC, general use, fishing, climbing, cave exploration, outdoor activities, house activities

Package Contents

Flashlight Olight H2R x 1

pocket clip x 1

head strap x 1

silicone mount x 1

customised Olight 18650 3000mAh x 1

Magnetic Charging Cable x 1

EVA Pad (replacement of the magnet)

Single-sided Adhesive Replacement EVA Pad

instruction manual x 1

Pros :

….

Awesome design!

Very bright

Excellent quality

Not too large, not too large

Uses 18650 batteries.

Can easily go from headlamp to flashlight.

Can be attached to your backpack straps, to your pants, pocket, etc.

Great beam balance – it throws and floods.

When charging, there is an indicator – Green for when it is fully charged, Red for Charging

Easy to hold light, fits good in the hand.

The switch is angled and is comfortable to use and switch levels.

Overall tons of good features, good solid performance out of the light, and you can get a few good minutes of 2500 lumens.

Cons :



I’ve discovered that this headlamp isn’t compatible with all 18650 batteries, some it will work with and some it will not.  What it is that makes the difference, I don’t know.  Olight claims that their batteries are customized but I don’t know how that has been done specifically.  They look no different than any of my other 18650 batteries.

There are a lot of pieces and components to this light and it would have been nice if the company would have included at least a carry bag to keep everything together.  Some of Olights other products come with such cases.

Odd stepping between levels – I would like to see a 1000 lumens mode as it is hard to tell the difference between 600 and 300 lumens.


Wednesday, August 30, 2017

How Much Is the Khard? - Arc'teryx Khard 45 vs Vanquest IBEX 30 - Vesus ...




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of Versus, Luke is comparing the Arc'teryx Khard 45 to the Vanquest IBEX 30 pack in a comfort test.

Both packs are similar but there are major differences in price!  Major, Major Differences!

Thank you to the viewers for suggesting this test and video!

….

Prices :

Khard : $479.00 is the average price for this pack

IBEX : $190.00

Weights :

Khard : 4.1lbs

IBEX : 3.25lbs

Space :

Khard : 45Liters

IBEX : 30Liters

Materials :

Khard : 500D Cordura

IBEX : 1000D Cordura

……….

Test :

Hike 2 miles with each pack

25lbs of weight


Monday, August 28, 2017

Ozark Trail Tents - What You Need To Know Before Purchasing - Buyer Warning



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a TOGR Product Alert in regards to Ozark Trail Tents.  Before you purchase one of these tents or before you take you Ozark tent on the trail, you need to watch this video.  It might just save your life...seriously.

Ozark Customer Service Number : 1-800-325-4121

Ozark 1-Person Backpacking Tent Review Link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yU-Bn4m3Hb4



Link : https://www.walmart.com/ip/Ozark-Trail-1-Person-Backpacking-Tent/55208709

Price : $25

Weight : Around 3lbs with everything included

Color :  Yellow and Tan

Ozark offers multiple tents which they refer to as 1 Person Backpacking Tents;

The model number is Model# W796.1

Just in case that you don’t know, Ozark is a brand which is most commonly associated with Walmart but it can be found on other sites including amazon.  The pricing is definitely better on Walmart!

This brand is recognized for making very inexpensive, beginner-level backpacking gear and their quality is known for being so-so.

I attempted to locate the official Ozark web site to get further information about their products and the company but I’m not sure if I found it or not.  I located one site called Ozark Trail Tents . com and that was one of the fishiest looking sites that I have been on in a long time.  The fact that it had a popup with an animated character which was speaking to me didn’t help.  It reminded me a lot of the desktop babe from the 90’s!

•      Stuff sack dimensions: 22.5" x 4" x 4"
•      Carry weight: 3 lbs
•      Setup dimensions: 96" long x 48" wide at the front of the tent, tapering to 24" at the foot
•      Center height: 36" at the front of the tent, tapering to 22" height at the foot
•      Sleeps 1
•      Mesh window at front of tent and vent at foot provides ventilation
•      Easy to set up 2-pole design
•      Setup time: 5 minutes
•      Lightweight poly taffeta floor keeps weight to a minimum
•      Taped wall seams for weather protection

Includes 1 organizer pocket

Materials : While I am not entirely sure, I believe that is made from polyester.  Whatever it is cheap, doesn’t breathe at all.



.....

Friday, August 25, 2017

High Road - Military Surplus Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Sometimes things don't work out as you have planned and you have to roll with it!  This is the Full Adventure for Luke's latest Overnight Adventure; High Road - Military Surplus Overnight Adventure.

I hope that you all have as much fun with this trip that I did.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Moose and Guns - Mossberg 590AL LE - Ep.1





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



This is the first episode of Moose and Guns!  Join Luke and his 1986 Military M1008 CUCV (D30) truck while we have a good time with the Mossberg 590AL LE at Lone Wolf Mountain.



Link to Old Video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1mSjGZz_TE




Monday, August 21, 2017

The Most Expensive Military Tent in the World Nemo The ALCS 1P SE



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is the most expensive tent used by military forces in the world and without a doubt, the most expensive 1 person tent of all time!

...

 Nemo The ALCS 1P SE (advanced linking combat system)

Link : http://shield.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=ALCS+1P+SE+Gore+%28Coyote%29

Became available 2012 and is still in use today.

Nemo apparently has been working within the military contractor community for over a decade in regards to the development of tents, sleep systems, weapon bags and so on.

This considered to be the most advanced tent ever made for the modern warfighter.

Weight : Almost 9lbs for the system

Features :

Four Season tent made to handle strong winds and snow loading

Made for quick erection…….

Can be adapted to different environments thanks to the available camo covers

Capacity1P

Minimum Weight 7 lbs / 3.2 kg

On the Fly Weight N/A

Trail Weight N/A

Floor Dimensions94 x 35 in / 239 x 89 cm

Floor Area23 sq ft / 2.1 sq m

Vestibule Area10.4 sq ft / 2.2 sq m

Interior Height39 in / 99 cm

Number of Doors2

Frame DescriptionEaston Reverse Combi

Packed Size20 x 8 in / 51 x 20 cm

Shell FabricGore-Tex® W/B Shelter Fabric

Vestibule Fabric40D PU Nylon

Fly FabricN/A

Canopy FabricN/A

Floor Fabric70D PU Nylon Taffeta

Color Coyote

Using a recently unveiled, jointly developed, and totally unique GORE-TEX® fabric, NEMO has designed a Berry Compliant, lightweight, linkable, four-season, freestanding, individual shelter system that is waterproof, breathable and flame retardant. Coupled with outstanding signature protection, ALCS™ 1P SE, GORE-TEX® (Advanced Linking Combat Shelter™) gives the Warfighter state of the art performance, concealment, and protection from the elements. Single wall construction combined with minimal componentry and a single connected pole frame allows for significant weight reduction and faster erect and strike. And the innovative linking capability provides a “buddy-team” benefit while still allowing for self-sufficiency in combat environments. An optional ICC™ (Interchangeable Camo Cover™) allows you to adapt your ALCS™ shelter to different operating environments.

I have spoken with Nemo about this tent and they weren’t able to discuss it in very much detail.

What they did state was this;

The ALCS, like many of our military products, was designed with feedback from Special Operations Forces and is still in current use with SOF (Special Operations Forces).  The tent was designed to provide full light blocking capabilities as well as the ability to link two shelters together to enable communication.  We partnered with Gore to develop fabrics that would meet the requirements of this shelter.  The ALCS also has optional covers called the ICC that allow the camo pattern to be changed to meet the current environment.

Covers include : MARPAT Desert, MARPAT Woodland and MultiCam and each is roughly $250 each.

Other camo patterns for the US ARMY are said to be in development for the new US Army patterns

Want to purchase one, good luck!  This are very rare.  So rare in fact that nemo wouldn’t tell me how many of these have been made.  Ever so often you will find these popping up for sale online on auction sites, craigslist and so on.  They are only for sale to government agencies and can not be exported to other countries due to the sensitives involving the technology used in the design.

With a little searching, I found one listing for the tent which was sold on ebay a few years back.  I also found a listing on gear trade which was sold.

I have used this tent a number of times and I can tell you that it is bad ass but that doesn’t mean that it is worth the cost.  Not even close.  Yes, it has some cool features but for the average joe, they mean absolutely nothing….but of course, it wasn’t developed for the average joe….

Something to think about.




Sunday, August 20, 2017

Viewer Showcase Invitation - Lets See Your Products



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

If you are a viewer of the channel and have a product which you make/sale, I would love to show it off in a new series called The Viewer Product Showcase.  This is a way for me to help you all get some screen time so that others can learn of your product(s).

Email : theoutdoorgearreview@gmail.com




Friday, August 18, 2017

The Next Military Surplus Overnight Adventure - High Road - INTRO



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Sometimes things don't work out as you have planned and you have to roll with it!  This is the INTRO for Luke's latest Overnight Adventure; High Road - Military Surplus Overnight Adventure.

Full Adventure coming Next Week!


Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Oh So Mini! - Särmä TST CP10 Mini Combat Pack - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is showing off a pack which you likely haven't seen before.

This is the Särmä TST CP10 Mini Combat Pack and it's from the creative minds at Varusteleka and Savotta which automatically means Top-Notch Quality.

The pack is small, comfortable and virtually built-proof;
made to complete Finnish MILSPEC standards!

Grab a cup of coffee, get me one too and let's get started!

...

Särmä TST CP10 Mini Combat pack

(Sar-ah-ma)

Link :  https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/sarma-tst-cp10-mini-combat-pack/53612

Price : $90.99

Weight : 1.5lbs

A smaller, lighter, sleeker variant of our full blooded Särmä TST Combat Pack. 10 liter volume, lots of PALS on the outside, a flat zippered pouch on the back, hydration bladder compartment on the inside, tie down straps against the back and a large mesh pocket on the inside of the panel lid.

•      Dimensions 36 x 24 x 11 cm. Volume 10 litres. Weight 700 g.
•      3L hydration compartment, designed for the Source WLPS.
•      Tie-down straps with SR buckles for a 200 round PKM ammo box or radio.
•      Large mesh pocket inside the zip flap.
•      A small flat pouch on the outside, for cleaning kits and the like. D-ring attachment point inside.
•      PALS webbing on the bottom for securing gear, perfect for 1" utility straps.
•      PALS webbing on all three sides for attaching pouches, tie-downs and gear.
•      Strong carry handle with tube/wire/antennae velcro ports on the sides.
•      The shoulder straps are intentionally minimalistic for the lowest possible profile. They do not interfere when shouldering a weapon and can easily be upgraded with added padding if desired.
•      The shoulder straps have PALS webbing for attaching a sternum strap or hydration tubes.
•      40 mm Tri-Glide buckles in the lower corners for attaching hip belt (belt not included)

Finnish MILSPEC materials

Made of the same materials and hardware (1000D Cordura, webbing, ITW Nexus buckles etc.) that are used in the production of the Finnish military M05 combat equipment. High quality, NIR compliant etc.

Varusteleka Särmä TST

Särmä TST is our own family of specialized military gear. All Särmä TST stuff is made in co-operation with Finnish military manufacturers, the most important thing for us is high quality MILSPEC grade materials and construction. This is kit that you can trust to really take a beating!


Monday, August 14, 2017

Is a $25 Tent from Walmart Waterproof? - Ozark 1 Person Backpacking Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Is a $25 Tent from Walmart Waterproof? Is Ozark a brand which you should consider purchasing?  Are they worthy of your hard earned money?

Found out now!

Ozark Customer Service Number : 1-800-325-4121

Ozark 1-Person Backpacking Tent Review



Link : https://www.walmart.com/ip/Ozark-Trail-1-Person-Backpacking-Tent/55208709

Price : $25

Weight : Around 3lbs with everything included

Color :  Yellow and Tan

Ozark offers multiple tents which they refer to as 1 Person Backpacking Tents;

The model number is Model# W796.1

Just in case that you don’t know, Ozark is a brand which is most commonly associated with Walmart but it can be found on other sites including amazon.  The pricing is definitely better on Walmart!

This brand is recognized for making very inexpensive, beginner-level backpacking gear and their quality is known for being so-so.

I attempted to locate the official Ozark web site to get further information about their products and the company but I’m not sure if I found it or not.  I located one site called Ozark Trail Tents . com and that was one of the fishiest looking sites that I have been on in a long time.  The fact that it had a popup with an animated character which was speaking to me didn’t help.  It reminded me a lot of the desktop babe from the 90’s!

•      Stuff sack dimensions: 22.5" x 4" x 4"

•      Carry weight: 3 lbs

•      Setup dimensions: 96" long x 48" wide at the front of the tent, tapering to 24" at the foot

•      Center height: 36" at the front of the tent, tapering to 22" height at the foot

•      Sleeps 1

•      Mesh window at front of tent and vent at foot provides ventilation

•      Easy to set up 2-pole design

•      Setup time: 5 minutes

•      Lightweight poly taffeta floor keeps weight to a minimum

•      Taped wall seams for weather protection

Includes 1 organizer pocket

Materials : While I am not entirely sure, I believe that is made from polyester.  Whatever it is cheap, doesn’t breathe at all.