Monday, April 23, 2018

Bushcraft Ground Stoves - How To - Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set Review : https://youtu.be/8CqP6TTKFPc




Friday, April 20, 2018

Canoeing in the Ocean - The Island - Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This trip has it all;

ocean canoeing, deserted island, military aircraft, dolphins, and plenty of adventure!

This is TOGR's latest Overnight Adventure!


Wednesday, April 18, 2018

You Will Want to See This Tent! - French Army Desert Commando Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and you will want to see this tent!

In the past I have shown you all the French F1 Commando Tent but did you know that there is another version which the French military uses?

It's the French Desert Commando Tent and in this video I will be going over both models and speaking of the differences and my future plans for them.

….

Link to F1 tent video : https://youtu.be/Wi1XN1EMTf0




Monday, April 16, 2018

Inexpensive Option - IceTek Backpacking Stove - Speed Test #3 - Versus



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the IceTek Backpacking Stove.  Will it dethrone the Crux as the fastest backpacking stove?

Also, can you spot a defect with the IceTek?  Comment if you do!




Friday, April 13, 2018

What Do You Get for $106 - Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan and I are gearing up for an adventure and we needed some meals to fuel us along the way so we ordered the Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler.

What does $106 get you?

You're about to find out!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/DeluxeMealSampler.html




Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Odd Military Tent - Nemo Shield Tanto SE - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is one of the most interesting/odd tents which has had *SOME* level of use by US military forces;

Super lightweight.
More of a Bivvy.
A bit strange...

This is the Nemo Shield Tanto SE Tent Review.



Link : http://shield.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Tanto+SE+Tent+%28Black+Mesh%29

Price : $ 349.95 when these were being offered to government agencies.  These are very hard to find and sale for at least $530 on eBay.

Weight : 1lb 15oz

Essentially is an inflatable bivy

From what I understand, the design of this tent was taken from the Nemo GoGo and was converted for a military purpose.  How well adopted in the armed forces this was, I do not know.  I would venture to say that it wasn’t wide adopted.

Tanto SE utilizes our AirSupported Technology®, replacing traditional poles with inflatable ribs that reduce erect time and packed size and add strength and repairability. Combined with the Tanto™ Fly, this is a versatile shelter for milder weather conditions and rainy, tropical environments.

Traditional bivy bags are limp, claustrophobic and challenging to use when it’s raining or snowing. But Tanto™ SE tensions out like a tent, has a big enough interior volume to read a map or work on a laptop, a convertible vestibule for meal prep, and room inside for gear. AirSupported Technology® allows the Tanto™ SE to be inflated in under 15 seconds using the Integrated Pump and deflated in less than 5 seconds. The entire canopy of Tanto™ SE is mesh, keeping insects away and allowing excellent air circulation, even when the rain fly is attached. A front and a side entrance allow ingress and egress around whatever equipment you have inside. Used extensively by SOF, the Tanto™ SE is the go to shelter for fast and light operations in temperate and tropical environments.

Seasons: 3-Season

Capacity: 1-Person

Packed weight: 2 lb. 14.2 oz.

Pack size: 7x10"

Peak height: 27"

Floor dimensions: 114x41"

Floor area: 19 sq.ft.

Bathtub floor: Yes

Tent floor material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Number of doors: 1

Number of poles: Rather than support poles, the bivy utilizes a built-in AirBeam strut that you inflate with air using the included foot pump

Tent wall material: No-See-Um® mesh

Rain fly material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Stakes: Aluminum

Stuff sack: Yes

Recommended use: Backpacking,Mountaineering

Made in Viet Nam

AirSupported Technology tensions the bivy like a tent, placing No-See-Um® mesh above your body and keeping insects at a safe distance

Inflates in under 15 seconds using the integrated pump and deflates in less than 5 seconds

Rain fly provides additional storage within arms reach

Swallowtail patterning allows you to add a stick or collapsible pole to prop up the foot end of the inner tent with the rain fly

Stake out the back

Stick for the back

Click pump

Blow and pump

Review :

Pros

Lightweight (approx. 22 oz with accessories) – impressively small size

AirSupported rib provides space overhead

Generous length and shape provide ample headroom – plenty of room for your basic needs

Stakes and footbox help keep the walls off

Because of the limited ventilations, it is warmer than most 3 seasons tents.  During one trip I was able to record a 19 degree temp difference from the inside to the outside

 Packs small

Bigger than a traditional bivy

Very easy to setup – less than a minute!

Definitely waterproof

Cons :

Price if you can find it

 AirSupport pump is not integrated

 Poor Ventilation – poor airflow

Because of the poor ventilation, it’s not a great tent from locations where temps will be above 75f.  Any warmer and this tent becomes a sauna.

Lightweight fabrics require caution/footprint

Single wall condensation issues  - Your sleeping bag will get wet!

Fabric sags when wet

Lose the pump and this tent isn’t going to be inflated!

** Not enough Stakes are included for staking out the back

·       limited breathability

Monday, April 9, 2018

MOLLE and PALS Pouches - Propper U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

MOLLE...
PALS...
Need some additional space?

Today Luke is reviewing the Propper U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit which can be used with the UC pack or any MOLLE and PALS compatible backpack.



Link : https://www.propper.com/bags/pouches/propperr-u-c-2-pack-assault-kit.html

Price : $50
Weight : Small one – 5.2oz
Laege one – 9.0oz

Colors : Black, Coyote, Olive Green

The perfect companion to the Propper U.C. Pack, the U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit provides two individual storage compartments which attach to any MOLLE bag. Each piece has additional MOLLE and hook and loop on the exterior for further customization. The large compartment contains organization for all of your essentials.

·       MOLLE compatible
·       Internal organization within large compartment including key clip, elastic pen channels, and a large zippered mesh pocket
·       MOLLE and hook and loop front allows for additional customization
·       4" H x 11" W x 2" D and 8" H x 11" W x 2" D
·       100% Nylon

Friday, April 6, 2018

What Will We Find? - The Rock Slide - Day Hike Adventure (GH5)



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Storms often close the roads in our area for months at a time; when that happens, it's a great time to explore!  With this Adventure, Luke and Susan are jumping the barricades in search of a rock slide and some storm damage!

What will we find?

Find out now.

Link to Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/




Wednesday, April 4, 2018

How to Setup the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent.




How to Setup the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/



Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent.




Monday, April 2, 2018

Epiphany Outdoor Gear Bellows Fire Starting Kit



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Epiphany Outdoor Gear Bellows Fire Starting Kit.  Do you need the entire kit or just the Bellows?  Find out now!



Link to V3 Bellows Review : https://youtu.be/EnIYti2UOhE

Link : https://www.amazon.com/EPIPHANY-OUTDOOR-GEA-EOGV3LEO-Starting/dp/B00LDYLJDE

Price : $19 at the time of filming

Weight : 2.3oz for the kit including the tube

Included : 3 piece fire starting kit – ferro rod, bellows, fire fuses



This is a basic but highly functional fire kit which I can easily recommend.  I reviewed the V3 pocket bellows a long time back and finally I’m able to get around to the review of the kit.

Light weight, watertight, acceptable price, good performance.

Received a handful of these for review purposes where I have been using one, I have this one for review and I ended up giving away two others away.  One to a viewer and another to a friend of mine.

The Baddest Bees Fuses : The "Baddest Bees" tinder fuses work extremely well. Compact, waterproof, fast-starting, hot burning. But be sure to tease them apart into little fluffballs before trying to light them. In contrast, cotton balls impregnated with petroleum jelly (e.g. Vaseline) are also compact, waterproof, fast-starting , hot burning, and they last longer (all once you tease them apart into fluffballs), and can be made cheaply at home, but your hands get greasy when handling them. The Baddest Bees seem to be wax-impregnated, so there's no greasiness, and they're more compact than cotton balls (but don't burn as long). You choose.

These are great for getting the fire going; strike up, place tender and materials around it and go.

Would I purchase more of these; no as I can make my own fire starter..

Bellows : The bellows is very well made, sturdy, and works extremely well. (Works well for fires in fireplaces too, but a little short for that use.) Buy it, carry it, use it!  It's long length keeps your face out of the fire and the smoke out of your eyes. Bellows can be purchased on its own for $12 and it is WORTH IT!

Extended it is 19" long
Collapsed approx 3.75"
Max width at base is 3/8"

Fire Steel : The fire steel is a pretty standard product. This one has a nice, ergonomic plastic handle. It's a little short, but then this is a compact kit. You can easily get longer ones if desired.

The fire steel striker has serrations on the short end. I found it awkward to use the end, but it strikes easily along the long edge.

The striker is a bit flimsy in my opinion but you can put your own in there if you like.

Container : is awesome – 5.5 inches long. A little over an 1 wide.

Plenty long enough for the included items and anything else that you may want to add.  Steel wool, magnesium shavings, or even a small lighter.

The smaller container is also watertight and once you run out of fuses you can purchase more or you fill it with something else such as Magnesium shavings.

The star of the kit in my opinion is the V3 pocket bellows and the waterproof continer which is comes in.  In my opinion, it is well worth the money especially in regards to the Bellow.. The bellows are of very good construction and made of 300 series stainless steel.

This is perfect for backpackers and bushcrafter; just awesome

Great for getting a fire going.

Great when working with wet materials

Great for getting a fire going in the morning with only embers.




Friday, March 30, 2018

Best Assault Pack Ever? - Sabra Gear Sting Pack Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Best Three Day Assault Pack Ever? Now that's a statement!

What about for Bushcraft?

In this review, Luke is discussing the Pros and Cons of the Sabra Sting Pack and whether or not it meets the Criteria of a truly great Assault Pack.

This backpack has been tested in the rain, the snow, on and off trail and this isn't a Mailbox review.



Sting Pack Link : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/sting
Waist Belt : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/removable-waist-belt
Quick Pouch : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/quick-pouch
Combat Pouch : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/combat-pouch

Prices :
Sting Pack : $219 w/o Belt / $265 with belt
Waist Belt : $45
Quick Pouch : $25
Combat Pouch : $40

Weights :
Sting Pack : 3.3 Pounds
Waist Belt : 9.2 Oz
Quick Pouch : 2.6 Oz
Combat Pouch : 7.1 Oz




Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Best Merino Wool Hiking Shirt Ever? - Woolly Clothing Crew Neck Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Monthly Giveaways. Donator only Content.  Behind the Scenes.   First Looks.  In the Credits!

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Merino wool is known for its impressive qualities which make it a fantastic choice for all season camping, backpacking and hiking and it's also known for its rather high price tag.

Today Luke is reviewing the Woolly Clothing Crew Neck t-shirt; is it going to be the best Merinon Wool Shirt Ever?  What about the cost?

Find out now.

Link : https://www.woolly.clothing/collections/mens-merino/products/190-ss-crew




Monday, March 26, 2018

WHAT IS THAT? - Random Lunch and Chat



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke at Lone Wolf Mountain as he takes a break from reviews and adventures to talk with the viewers.

Plus, he might just show you something special that he is working with.  Maybe TWO special items....




Friday, March 23, 2018

Backpacking in a Blizzard - Winter Storm Backpacking Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

A major winter storm is on the way and...

As the temperature drops...
The Snow begins to fall...
The winds pick up...
The Lone Wolf Heads Out!

This is Luke's latest Winter Overnight Adventure.


Wednesday, March 21, 2018

The Truth About Heated Jackets - Ororo Men's and Women’s Heated Jacket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The Truth About Heated Jackets!

Today Susan and Luke are reviewing Heated Jackets from Ororo and we will be going over what is great and not so great about this new tech.

...

Links :

Mens : https://www.ororowear.com/collections/men/products/men-heated-jacket-black
Women's : https://www.ororowear.com/collections/women/products/women-heated-jacket


Saturday, March 17, 2018

Bushcraft! - Expedition Research Kettle and Bushcraft Grill Set - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing two bushcraft products, both from Expedition Research; the Kettle and the Bushcraft Grills.

...

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set – Review

Link Expedition : http://www.expedition-research.com/bushcraft-grill/

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/2-Pack-Bushcraft-Stainless-Strength-Expedition/dp/B072QZHH25

Price : Retail $20 but at the time of filming these were running for $17

Weight :
Small : 128g / 4.5oz
Mini : 69g / 2.4oz
Carry Bag : 10g / .3oz

....

Expedition Research Expedition Kettle Review
Link : http://www.expedition-research.com/expedition-kettle/

Price : $20 Retail.   $18 on amazon at the time of filming

Weight : 6.2 oz
Hard Anodized Aluminum Construction

New Deep Dish 90-Degree Pour, Stay-On Lid. One Hand Pour Operation.

New Silicone Coated "Stand-Up" & "Lock-Down" Handle. Boil Water in the "Stand-Up" Position for Safety and "Lock-Down" for Storage.
New "Micro-Pour" Precision Spout.
Free Carry Bag Included.
BPA Free.
600ml capacity – 20oz


Thursday, March 15, 2018

Versus - Stove Speed Test #2 - Optimus Crux Lite



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the Optimus Crux Lite stove.  In the first video of this series, we put the MSR Pocket Rocket 2 against BRS 3000T; now we will see how the Optimus Crux Lite compares.




Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Behind the Scenes - After the Camp - Secret Sunrise Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently you have watched as Susan and I ventured into the backcountry to enjoy a beautiful sunrise, now it's time to go behind the scenes with everything that you didn't see!

Link to Adventure : https://youtu.be/y1DQKszYQGo


Sunday, March 11, 2018

Cookies! The Best Ever! - Viewer Mail #41




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I are honored and thankful!
Oh man.......these are some good cookies!




Thursday, March 8, 2018

The Backcountry Secret Sunrise Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Thank you all of joining Susan and I for our next overnight adventure.  This involves an ambitious trip into the Backcountry of Western NC and a mission to experience a bitterly cold Sunrise!

After the Camp is coming up on Monday where we will go behind the scenes of what you see in this Adventure.


Wednesday, March 7, 2018

How to Setup the Outdoor Vitals Dominion 2.5 Person Backpacking Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Outdoor Vitals Dominion 2.5 Person Backpacking Tent.
….

Link : Link :  Link : https://outdoorvitals.com/collections/tents-and-tarps/products/dominion-2-5p-backpacking-tent


Monday, March 5, 2018

'Tactical' and Reversible - Carinthia G Loft Reversible Jacket Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Olive Green and Sand!
G-Loft!

Today Luke is previewing the Carinthia Reversible Jacket and you will have the chance to buy it if you are interested.  Find out why now.

Purchase : http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/p/gear-deals.html

……

Link : https://www.carinthia.eu/bags/en/shop/G-Loft+Reversible+Jacket/?card=1225#_tab_content1
Cost : $200USD

G-Loft Reversible Jacket

Size:
S-XXL

Weight:
1.10lbs for the large700 g (Size L)

Out-In-Side Fabric
100% Polyamide (poly-ah-Myde

G-Loft ISO+ Filling
145g/m²

Colors
olive/sand

Comfort Temperature (EN 342):
5F /- 15°C

Extremely lightweight due to its thermal efficiency
soft and downy to the touch
retains full insulating power even when wet
does not absorb humidity
allows moisture to escape
machine washable

excellent ability to regain loft after several compressions
anti-allergenic, anti bacterial
ykk zippers
wind flap
chin guard
2 large outer pockets
elastic drawcord at hem
elastic cuffs
a compression bag is included if you purchase new; since I purchased used, it didn’t come with it.
Synthetic fill is good for wet and damp conditions which is light, warm and breathable

I am unable to review this product adequantly because it doesn’t fit me proper and I will explain how this came to be.  I was on ebay recently looking for something or another and I happen upon a listing for this jacket.  It was a small but for the price, I figure I would gamble on it.  Well I received the jacket and it is very nice but unfortunately it is too small for me.

So what follows are my impressions of the jacket with limited use.  More than anything, I wanted to make a video on this jacket so that I could get some awareness on this product out there.. This is something that you can have imported here to the USA but it will be very difficult to locate this for sale in the usa as it mainly found in Europe.  Speaking of which Carthina they have been making sleeping bags for civilians and for military applications for over 70 years.  They are based in Austria and are known for very high quality and also, a generally high price.  Military grade products in most if not all cases.

Thoughts on this jacket :

Very well made, very warm, compressible. Stitching is very good



Smart design.  No matter which way you wear it, you have two outside pockets and to inside pockets.  All of which are zippered.



I am familiar with G-Loft from other Carthina products and it is VERY warm and is very close to being as capable as Down.  Probably the closest matching when it comes to synthetic materials.



The material has a cold feeling to it but warms up quickly.



High collar which can block the wind from you neck.  It can also be cinched around the collar to block out snow.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Packit Gourmet Austintacious Tortilla Soup Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet's Austintacious Tortilla Soup!  While it's very good there is one alarming aspect, find out what that is now!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/AustintaciousTortillaSoup.html



Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Stove Speed #1 - Pocket Rocket 2 VS BRS 3000T - VERSUS!





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today Luke begins his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and to start off with this series, we have the MSR Pocket Rocket 2 vs BRS 3000T.



Which shall be the winner and move on to face the others?


Monday, February 26, 2018

What Do You Need? - Optimus Elektra FE Cook System Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Optimus Elektra FE Cook System!

....

Link : https://www.optimusstoves.com/us/us/16999-8019748-optimus-elektra-fe

Price : Retail is $100 but you will find this for a bit lower here and there.

Weight :

Entire Kit : 1lbs 1oz and that is without a can of fuel.
Pot with Top : 9.7 oz
Stove with storage bag : 2.9oz
Wind Screen : 3oz
Sponge : .4oz
Piezo ignitor : .7oz
Aluminum

The Elektra FE Cook System is a fuel-efficient, high-performance wonder – you get a 28% faster boil time at a 20% fuel savings. (Small print: faster compared to a normal pot with no lid or windscreen.). The lightweight system that fits snugly in your pack includes the Crux Lite stove, a heat exchange pot with lid and a new non-stick coating, clip-on windscreen, our practical BOB cleanup sponge and a handheld Piezo ignitor. I’ll take your “fast” and raise you one: In just over 2 minutes, you have boil and soup’s on!

Fuel Type
LPG gas canisters
Boil Time
2.3 min/1L
Burn Time
[max output] 90min
Heat Output
3000W
Piezo Ignition
yes
Includes crux lite stove, heat exchange pot, lid, grill pan, piezo igniter, windshield

…..

·       A lightweight, fast-cooking backpacking stove
-        Not the lightest or the Fastest .  You will see some describe this set as ultralight but that isn’t accurate.  In fact, as a kit it is heavy compared to titanium offerings…which are much lighter and more expensive.
·       Boils a liter of water in under 2.5 minutes – I found it to be around 3 minutes with my testing.
·       Windshield makes cook times faster
·       Piezo ignition lights stove without lighter or matches
·       Lid doubles as fry pan for added versatility

The lightweight Crux Lite stove features Heat Exchange Technology and 10,200 BTU of heat output for fast and effortless boiling.

Review :

I tend to go more minimal with a focus on light and fast backpacking but as a whole this is a great kit.  This is a great kit which is only missing a few items such as a spork and so on.

It’s a nice setup for the price

The medium size fuel canister, the stove burner head (in its own transport bag), and the Piezo lighter all fit inside the pot system with room to spare. Also included is a drawstring closure mesh bag that encases the whole system. This makes for easy transport and setup. The Optimus "system" fully meets my needs.

would highly recommend for all conditions except extreme cold and altitude since the fuel used does not work well in those conditions.

The nonstick surface is especially nice if you are cooking while out on your adventure. The "frypan" top makes great egg pucks for sandwich thins. It will do a nice sausage patty too, but you are gonna have to cut up the bacon slices.

Sunday, February 25, 2018

Friday, February 23, 2018

Four Season Excellence - Sierra Designs Convert 2 - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to review the Sierra Designs 4 Season Convert 2 tent.  I've put the time into this product so you don't have to and here are my thoughts!



Link :  https://sierradesigns.com/convert2/

Weight :
Minimum Trail Weight
4 lbs. 9 oz.
Packaged Weight
5 lbs. 2 oz.

Price : $499 retail.  This may sound high but for a 4 season tent, it isn’t.  There is a 3 person version available.

Setup : The setup for this tent isn’t all that quick and that’s pretty common for most true 4 season tents.  Tents which can handle the elements typically take more time to setup and to anchor it down.  This isn’t a con so much as a common trait to such tents.  There are some 4 season tents which are much quicker to setup but there are always going to be trade offs.  Always!

It’s an easy process but it is one that takes time

Experiences :

I have almost a week of cumulative time spent in this week which involved steady rain for over 10 hours without a single leak.  It has endured strong winds up to 40mph and snow.

Temp ranges have been from roughly 35f to 10f.

This tent has handled everything that I have put it into with ease and the most impressive aspect has been the handling of wind!  This tent is rock solid and I mean that, ROCK SOLID.  It has easily handled a winter storm with winds up to mph and never did I feel uneasy.

It handles the snow with ease.  Winds with ease.  Rain so far with my testing with ease.

I am concerned about the rear vent and whether or not wind driven rain could enter through the zipper.  Based on other Sierra Designs tents which I have tested, I would say that it would likely leak but that would be a very rare occurrence and would be a very specific failure which wouldn’t be likely.

Very durable so far with my testing.

Lots of living space – good for two people.  Palace for one.

Vestibule offers you a lot of space for cooking and gear.  For tall people it be hard to hunker in but it is completely useable.

Ventilation is excellent and even with camping out in 10+ hours of rain I didn’t have any issues with moisture build up.

Mesh door and vent which not all 4 season tents have

Very compressible

Great storage sack

Color : Love it or hate it, this is what you get with a sierra design product.  I often refer to their color schemes as tele tubby colors.  I don’t hate it but I do wish they would go with dark earth tones as that would open up their products to a new market of individuals.  I see the comments on their products in my video and the most common complaint are the colors.

Not the smallest of tents; will need some space to setup

Pros:
Mesh increases versatility
Strong waterproof DriZone material
Ventilation
Jake's corners and internal guylines(optional) increase tents strength in high winds
Adequately sized for two people and gear
Lightweight and compact in fastpack mode
Price
This tent comes in component parts. Because the vestibule zips off, you can better divide up the weight of the tent / poles between two carriers.
Once sealed up, will hold in some heat!

Cons:

Cheap tent stakes included
Non-Reflective Guy Lines

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Best Backpacking Pillow Ever? - Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Pillow



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Like Beautiful Pictures? Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing the Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Pillow!



Link : http://www.proforceequipment.com/product-details.php?id=572&catid=24

Weight : 85g to 2.9oz

Price : Retail is $19 / strangely on Amazon at the time of filming, there was one company who is selling this pillow….for $73.44 plus $4.49

Colors : Olive Coyote and Navy Blue

The Snugpak Basecamp Air Pillow inflates just right, whether you like a hard pillow or one with some movement/flexibility., you decide how you want it. This one is tough, high quality and durable. When not in use it can be easily deflated and stored. Light and compact, it comes with its own stuff sack and repair kit.

SIZE 18 x 10 x 3in | 45 x 25 x 8cm
PACK SIZE 4 x 5in | 10 x 13cm
WEIGHT 3oz (85g)
FABRIC 30D Stretch Fabric/TPU Coating

Review :

Very nice product. Good quality

Lightweight

Nice storage stuff sack

Pillow materials are soft and comfortable; pleasant to have against your face and skin.  A lot of pillows on the market are not very comfortable and will require you to wrap them in different material

Good solid Valve. Not Cheap or flimsy like some.



Easy to inflate..

Easy to release the air and fold it.



Stuff sack is perfectly sized.



When inflated, it is incredibly soft; not hard or harsh when laying upon it.



This is not a super thick pillow; about 3 inches when inflated.

Pro Tip : If you need more thickness, release some of the air and then fold the pillow in half; perfect solution!



Oddity 1 : When inflating your pad, it is incredible loud!. It sounds like a jet engine!. Not a con, just worth mentioning.



Oddity 2 : Pad is supposed to come with a repair kit. Mine review model didn’t have one and I’m not sure if that is because it is a T&E model or it was a mistake.



To Sum It Up :

This has to be one of my favorite pillows; it’s perfect for backpacking and camping.

Great in a tent.

Great in a hammock.


Monday, February 19, 2018

Old but Awesome - Arc’teryx Covert Collar Zip Sweater – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing the Arc’teryx Covert Collar Zip Sweater; a very thick and warm sweater which is still easy to find today and is often times very inexpensive.  This is one of those products which I receive a lot of questions about.



Link : Your best bet is to find one of these used on eBay as they have been discontinued some years back.  Note : There is a modern Covert jacket which features a full zip which costs $200

 Price :  When these were being offered these would sell for around the $160 range but since they can only be purchased used you will find them on eBay for around $60 - $80.  At times you will see an auction listing for as low as $8 like I did at the time of filming.

I purchased mine back in 2015 for $40 and let me tell you, this is one heck of a nice sweater.

Features ¼ collar zip and is one of the thickest fleece jackets that I have ever seen.  It is what I would refer to as a heavy weight fleece sweater.

Looks like Wool
Made from Polartec® Thermal Pro – 100% polyester
Keeps you warm, dry by wicking away moisture, very breathable.
Features a small stretch-woven laminate sleeve pocket with welt-closure zipper

Pros :

Misty drizzle deep in the back country, too cold for light base layer but too warm and pushing it too hard (timed ride pick up) for the windstopper or rain jacket. Got damp but stayed warm and still pleanty breathable enough to let heat out. Water seemed to collect mostly in cuffs and shirt bottom for easy ringing excess water. This was a full day of pushing too. Was very impressed and was one of those days you're glad you paid the extra cash!

It is made out of a fleece knit where the fabric resembles a traditional knit sweater more that a traditional fleece pull-over. It seems far more warm than any of my other fleece pull-overs.

I love the color of this sweater; it’s not bright or flamboyant; it almost has a tactical feel to it and I think that is why I get so many messages about it.  Over the years, I can’t even count how many times I have been asked about it.

Great as a layering piece

Flattering fit

For hiking, backpacking, sky, going to town, etc, this is an awesome sweater!

Cons :

The sizing for this seems small in my opinion and that may be because it is form fitting but this is a medium and it fits like a small.

Even used the price tag is high but for this level of thickness and warmth it is worth it.

They are short in the torso length so keep that in mind

Not wind resistant…but it’s as sweater….I say this because if I didn’t mention it I would hear about it later from that one viewer; “You didn’t say that it wouldn’t block the wind.”

Very small collar; it isn’t going to block much.


Sunday, February 18, 2018

That is Going In My Office! - Viewer Mail #40



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I are honored and thankful!
That is definitely going in my Office!




Thursday, February 15, 2018

Cheap Gear Challenge #1 - Overnight Adventure - There Will Be Problems




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the first episode of the Cheap Gear Challenge!
This is an overnight adventure which features a strong focus on budget gear...
there will be failures....

Enjoy!  More adventures on the way.


Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Is this Innovation? - Sierra Designs Flex Capacitor - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sierra Designs Flex Capacitor;
a lightweight pack which is truly different from other products out on the market!

Let the honest review begin now!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/flex-capacitor/

Features

Expandable 40-60L volume (volume varies between sizes)
Ultralight weight design
2 torso sizes (non-adjustable)
4 hip belt sizes
U-shaped top access zipper
Zippered stash pocket on lid
Removable reservoir sleeve
Shoulder strap water bottle pocket
Stretch mesh side water bottle pockets
Two hip belt pockets
Compression straps
Ice axe/trekking pole loop

Suspension Features

Lightweight "Y-FLEX" suspension
EVA foam hip belt and shoulder straps
Raised lumbar and scapula pads (EVA foam)
Load lifter straps
Hip belt stabilizer straps
Adjustable hip belt




Sunday, February 11, 2018

Awesome or Gimmick? - Dragon Heatwear Wyvern Womens Heated Jacket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Susan is reviewing a Heated Jacket from Dragon Heatwear.

Will it be awesome or will she find this to be a gimmick.

Honest review is coming up now!

Link : https://dragonheatwear.com/collections/womens/products/wyvern-womens-heated-jacket

...




Thursday, February 8, 2018

Explorers - Day Hike Adventure with Photos and Stories



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Explorers....
Hitting the Trails....

Susan and I head into VA to do some exploring and found some great trails!  Enjoy the adventure as we go from trail to trail, tell stories and share some of the photos which Luke took.




Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Hot or Not - UCO Sweetfire Strikable Fire Starter - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Fire from Sugar?
7 Minute Match?
Hot or Not?
Find out Now.

This is the review of the UCO Sweetfire Strikable Fire Starter.

….

UCO Link : https://www.ucogear.com/sweetfire-strikeable-fire-starter-mt--sfp

Amazon Link : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-SweetFire-Strikeable-Firestarter-Piece/dp/B01L2V5E6A

Price on Amazon : $7.30
Price on UCO : $5.99
Weight Per Package : 4.7oz
Weight per Match : .2 of an oz
5 tenders are 1oz

Tip : Light and then hold at a downward angel to light the others sides

The Sweetfire Strikeable Fire Starter is not only sweet for your gear collection, it's sweet for the planet. Made from a sugarcane by-product called bagasse, this key ingredient is already used around the world as a renewable biofuel. Each of these match points (there are 20 per box) is infused with vegetable wax to allow for up to 7 minutes of burn time per each point. There's also no need to bring matches to light the Sweetfire as each match point has a strikeable tip that can conveniently be used with the striker on the box.

It’s not a match but rather a strikeable fire starter and therefore bridges functions between a match and a compressed fiber fire starter

Pros :

  • Small form factor
  • In the right conditions they can burn for a long time.
  • Can carry many without much added weight
  • No strong odor like some similar products
  • Easy start for a fire or wood stove (good weather)
  • Long burn time – UCO claims 7 minutes and I have gotten up to 10 with my testing.  When pushing passed the 6 minute or so mark the flame isn’t very hot or effective.
  • Burns when wet and in rain/snow
  • Environmentally sustainable product
  • Can be lit with a ferro rod if you take the time to scrap some of the fuel into a pile.
  • Can be lit with a lighter


Cons :

  •  Strike point is not waterproof and will get gummy if damp enough.
  •  Match will absorb water if exposed and will fall apart…but can still be lighted with a lighter
  •   No windproof – will need shelter in the wind
  •  Not strike-anywhere
  • Cost/unit higher than alternatives


Uses :

For calm weather and for wood stoves, these are awesome. You could wake in the morning, grab one of these, throw it in your stove, put some wood on it and go brush your teeth, use the bathroom, then come back and your water is boiling.

These are great in good weather, not the best in rough conditions.

Recommendation :

Make the striking point storm proof as this would make the product much more usable

Great for perfect weather conditions.

Car camping

Hunting

Situations where you can do a better job at keeping them dry


Sunday, February 4, 2018

Not So Quick - How To Setup the Sierra Designs Convert 2



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Sierra Designs 4 Season Convert 2 tent.

….

Link : Link :  https://sierradesigns.com/convert2/


Thursday, February 1, 2018

Warm, Lightweight, Less Expensive, Excellent Quality - UGQ Bandit Top Quilt



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview

Today Luke is reviewing the UGQ Bandit Top Quilt!

Light, Warm and Less Expensive than other companies!

….

Link : https://ugqoutdoor.com/top-quilts/bandit/

Weight : 1lbs 13oz on my scale

Price : As Shipped $297.95.  Can be customized for each user.

When it comes to price, this is afford for a custom made quilt. I have other quilts which are for less harsh temps that cost almost double the price of this one here. Very competitive!

All BANDIT Quilts include a 40d Silpoly Stuff Sack and our Pad Attachment System (Single Strap).

With a custom order like this, there is going to be a wait time which is common across all companies like this one.  At the time of filming, wait times were running 9 – 10 weeks!  Again this is very common with smaller companies who are offering custom products.

The loft on this quilt is amazing!

Awesome for backpacking, camping and hammock use

When compared to other companies; similarly speced quilts would run;

Zpacks : Around the $360 price range

Enlightened : $300

Katabatic Gear  : $460

Without a doubt I would recommend this company and their products as I am more than thrilled with what I have received here.  Absolutely awesome in terms of quality and construction.  Very fair pricing which puts most of their competitors to shame.  Very well thoughtout and very customizable in terms of your order.


Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Snugpak Basecamp OPS Elite XL Self-Inflating Mat with Built In Pillow



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Snugpak Basecamp OPS Elite XL Self-Inflating Mat which claims to have a built in pillow.

Will Luke approve?

Find out now!



Link : http://www.proforceequipment.com/product-details.php?id=568&catid=24
Weight : 1700g / 3.74lbs
Price : Retail is $99
Colors : OD Green and Blue

SIZE OPEN 77 x 24 x 2in | 195 x 62 x 5cm
PACK SIZE 7 x 25in | 18 x 63cm
WEIGHT TBD
FABRIC TOP 75D Polyester Pongee/TPU
FABRIC BOTTOM 100% Polyester Peach Brushed/TPU
FOAM 20kg/m3 PU - Jet stream Wave Form

Review :

This pad is huge! Long, wide and heavy.

Only for car camping or situations where you can deliver your gear.. Only a giant is going to carry this pad.

Great quality materials.

Very comfortable; good thickness, comfortable even for side sleepers.. Material isn’t annoying to your skin like some sleeping pads.

Inflates on it’s own.

Easy to release the air and roll it up.

Cons :
I’m not a fan of the built in pillow. I see where they are going with it but in my opinion it isn’t really a pillow.

The top of the pad has some additional thickness but it’s not enough to equal a pillow. For me, I would be using my backpack or some clothes for a pillow with this pad.




Sunday, January 28, 2018

AlpineAire Foods Three Cheese Chicken Pasta Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's time for Camper's Cafe where Susan and Luke try out backpacking foods from all around the world.  Today we have Three Cheese Chicken Pasta from AlpineAire Foods.  What do you think the odds are that this makes Luke Angry?

Find out now!

Link : https://www.alpineaire.com/us/us/411-60441-three-cheese-chicken-pasta

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Winter Storm Stealth Overnight Adventure -Guardians of the Forest




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a Winter Storm Stealth Overnight Adventure which features 3 Guardians of the Forest!  This happens to be one of my most memorable of trips...find out why now!

Enjoy everyone!

...

Gear List :

Sierra Designs Flex Capacitor Backpack

Mountain Laurel Designs Ground Sheet

Golite Shangri 3 Tent

Thermarest XTherm Sleeping Pad

German Military Shooting Pad

Swiss Military M71 Stove

Golite Adrenaline 0F Quilt

Mountain House Meal

Toaks Titanium Spoon

Mountain Laurel Designs Titanium Mug

Toaks Titanium Cup with Handle - 750ml

Kifaru Ultralight Pullout Bas for Organizing

Sunjack Light Stick

Woolly Merino Wool Long Sleeve

Scarpa Kailash GTX Boots

Mammut Jacket - Very old. Not sure of the model.

Fjallraven Barents Pro

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

US Military Cold Weather Pants and Parka – Gen III Level 7



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the US Military Cold Weather Pants and Parka; Gen III Level 7
Serious Warmth!

...

Link : eBay or Military Surplus Stores

Price : $39 - $65 – Don’t purchase on Amazon; those sellers overcharge…BIG TIME

Sizes : Small Regular to 2xl Tall

Extreme Cold Weather Parka Genuine US Military Gen III L7 Primaloft Med Reg Grey

Extreme Cold Weather Parka Jacket Medium Regular Coat  - Urban Grey! Slightly Used By U. S. Army In Excellent Condition! Official US Army Military Issue! PCU Level 7! With hood! Genuine Military Surplus! NSN # 8415-01-538-6289 8415015386289

Water resistant outer shell and PrimaLoft® Sport, thermal bonded, high-loft insulation

Highly durable and breathable
Maintains warmth even when wet
Thongs on zippers for ease of use when wearing gloves
Two-Way center-front zipper with protective wind flap
Nylon reinforced elbows
Two front zipper pockets
Ripstop Nylon inner lining
Bottom hem with elastic cord for adjustability
High collar with collapsible, stowable insulated hood
Velcro® fasteners for rand and name plates
Level 7 ECWCS - Extended/Extreme Cold Weather Clothing System
Increased warmth with significantly less weight than previous generation ECWCS

* Level-7 part of the extended cold weather clothing system (ECWCS)
* PRIMALOFT insulation technology for high performance comfort and superior warmth
* Water Resistant
* Superior Warmth
* Lightweight
* Thongs On Zippers
·       Heaviest, outermost ECWCS layer (Designated as 'Level VII' by the Army)
·       Currently issued by the US Military
·       Designed for use in temperatures as low as -40 degrees
·       Made in the USA

Based on layering systems currently utilized by mountaineering professionals and designed by the U.S. Army, the GEN III Extended Cold Weather Clothing System (ECWCS) has proven to be a game-changer for the modern warfighter. Using proprietary materials and technologically advanced construction methods, ECWCS garments allow the wearer to comfortably operate and sustain a variety of operations in the most extreme conditions.

These GEN III Extended Cold Weather Clothing System (ECWCS) Parkas feature a two-way center-front zipper opening with a protective wind flap, nylon reinforced elbows, two front zipper pockets, a rip stop nylon inner lining and an elastic cord in the bottom hem for adjustability. It is also constructed with a collar containing a collapsible insulated hood with drawstring that stows easily inside the collar. In addition, there are Velcro fasteners to attach rank badges and name plates as well as elastic cuffs with Velcro adjustment straps.

Technical Information
Scent Control: No
Insulation: Yes, Primaloft
Fabric: Proprietary materials
Windproof: Yes
National Stock Number : 8415-01-074-9420

…..

Super warm – Can be used as a sleeping bag in some conditions
Bulky – because of the size it is a bit unwieldly

This jacket is legit....Best I've worn in winter conditions...Wore the jacket and pant in 15 degree weather during a winter camping trip last season......I was extremely warm. When paired with a mid layer..(upper and lower)...incredibly warm...Definitely buy a size down...I'm a big dude...6 foot..210 lbs...So I thought I'd buy a large long....Epic mistake...Fits extremely big...Other than that....Jacket is phenomenal...

I would suggest sizing down because these are large.


Sunday, January 21, 2018

My Daily Carry - Kershaw Cryo II Pocket Knife Review - Blade Perfection



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Kershaw Cryo II Pocket Knife which happens to be his knife of choice (daily carry) for many reasons.

Razor Sharp
Inexpensive
Easy to Sharpen



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Kershaw-1556TI-3-25-inch-Carbo-Nitride-4-Position/dp/B00AU6NWP4

Price : $30.96 –

Weight : 5.5oz -

I don’t remember how long ago it was, a number of years, a viewer sent me this knife and it has been in my pocket ever since.  It’s likely that there are a million videos on this knife out there as it has been on the market for some time but I thought that I would share with you all what I personally carry.

….

·       SpeedSafe® assisted opening
·       Frame lock, lockbar stabilizer
·       Flipper and thumbstud
·       4-position deep-carry pocketclip (tip-up/tip-down; left/right)
·       Steel: 8Cr13MoV, titanium carbo-nitride coating
·       Handle: 410 stainless steel, titanium carbo-nitride coating
·       Blade length: 3.25 in. (8.3 cm)
·       Closed length: 4.4 in. (11.1 cm)
·       Overall length: 7.75 in. (19.7 cm)
·       Weight: 5.5 oz. (155.9 g)

Lanyard hole

Quality : The Cryo 1 is a good knife but it has always felt a bit small to me.  The Cryo 2 is perfect in my opinion and it has enough weight to feel substantial. Not too heavy, not too light.  I personally wouldn’t want to go any heavier than this.   I like the gray titanium color.  The blackwash version of this knife is around $5 more expensive but it does look good.

Blade : Out of the box, very sharp.  Thanks to the steel, it is also easy to sharpen which I have had to do a number of times over the years. The back of the blade isn’t capable of throwing sparks.  The coating does not flake or peel off. I have used this on many apples without issues. The worst that I have heard happens with the coating is that it rubs off or fades over time. The sharpening angle is 18 – 22 degrees.  Kershaw offers free lifetime sharpening.

The blade has withstood all of the abuse which I have put it through;

Cutting, wood work, rope cutting, weedeater string, wire cutting, screwdriver work, wire cutter, and everything else.

The steel is good, not the best but it shouldn’t be for the price.

Budget Chinese steel

Hallow Grind on the blade.

Blade is perfectly centered

Never had an issue with locking or unlocking.

No play play – no wiggle

Wipes open due to a spring; excellent speed

Excellent balance

Opening : Exceptionally easy and satisfying!

Thumb stud hasn’t destroyed my pockets even after all of these years.  That’s a testimate to the knife and to my pants.  The thumbstud is next to the framelock for left handed users.  Doable but not as elegant as the other side.

Grip : Excellent, no issues with slipping.  Gimping on the blade is very usable. Handle: 410 stainless steel, titanium carbo-nitride coating

Gimping on top and bottom for control over the blade

Finger guard at the bottom;

The knife is thin.

Pocket Clip :  Excellent quality and there are four positions with a torque bit

Doesn’t rip your pants up

Doesn’t fallout EVER

Issues : As far as mine goes, I haven’t had any with years of use. I have seen a constant complaint of breaking pocket clips.

..

This is an incredible bargain and I would easily purchase this knife again if I had to.  I like this knife so much that if I had to pick one pocket knife, it would be this one.  It’s sharp, strong, looks good, and it is fast!  Concealable, good weight.  All of these factors make for the best EDC knife that I have ever used.  Very thin!

This is my edc blade.  This is my backpacking knife.  This is my secondary bushcraft knife.


Friday, January 19, 2018

Gen III Cold Weather Fleece Jacket – Military – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Gen III Cold Weather Fleece Jacket.  Military Surplus for the Win!

...it is a bit weird looking....

….

Link : eBay will be your best source for these and will offer you the best prices

Price : $17 - $30.  Depending on vender

Color : Foliage Green – I saw a black version online but I couldn’t tell if it was legit issue or not.

Makers : This one made by Tru-Spec but there are other makers out there including Peckham. Rothco has a version of this but I have read that they are not authorized.  Knock offs in other words.

From what I understand these are offered only to the army and haven’t been served to the Marines.

Primary Insulation Layer: Worn underneath shell layers or worn as an outer garment in cool conditions.

The GEN III High-Loft Fleece Jacket is the primary insulation layer for use in moderate to cold conditions.

Constructed with Polartec® Thermal Pro® material the insulation on the Level III Jacket creates air pockets that trap air and retain body heat providing outstanding warmth without weight. With excellent breathability, the Level III jacket dries quickly with increased warmth while maintaining lower bulk and increased durability than previous systems.

GEN III Cold Weather Fleece Jacket Features:

Polartec Thermal Pro Material Traps Air and Retains Body Heat

Nylon Reinforcements at the Collar, Shoulders and Elbows

Zipper Front and Cord Pull

Stretch-Grid Fleece Side Panels adds Comfort and Breathability

High Collar with Full Zipper-Front and Wind Protection Flap

Two Internal Chest Pockets and Two Outer Side Pockets

Ragland Sleeve for Better Range of Motion

Elastic Sleeve Cuffs

Low Bulk with Increased Durability

VELCRO® brand fasteners for affixing name, rank and insignia

Increased Warmth with Significantly Less Weight than Previous Generation ECWCS

Level 3 ECWCS - Extended/Extreme Cold Weather Clothing System

Color: Foliage Green

With a wind jacket and a good base layer I’m comfortable down to 20F with an outer shell to block the wind.

Very comfy jacket. This is not an outer layer. Wind blows right through it. However when used as an under layer below a wind proof jacket

It is excellent. Where a cold wind is not blowing this is not an issue. This jacket is very light and easy to move around in. Size is true to size.

…..

Impressions :

This isn’t my favorite fleece jacket in the world but it is certainly different than what you will find on the civilian market.   Warm, breathable, good quality, cheap.


Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Keeps the Snow Out! - Outdoor Designs Alpine Gaiters - Multiyear Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Outdoor Designs Alpine Gaiters.
Light weight.
Not Bulky.
Keeps the Snow out.



Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001G6O7Q0

Weight : 7.2oz
Price : $34.94
Colors : Solid Black and Green and Black.
Purchased : January 24, 2012

Size : Small, Medium and Large – Prices vary on Size but around $30 - $35 is common

Mine are the small size.  Of course make sure to get the right size for your calf



·       Synthetic
·       Front opening gaiter
·       The gaiters are made of a double layer of breatheable, ripstop, nylon material called "watergate material" which must be a proprietary term. It stands up to the elements very well. The material is somewhat like that used in heavy duty snow bibs or pants without heavy insulation.
·       Fully opening YKK zipper with full length with Velcro storm flap
·       Rubberized abrasion resistant underboot strap
·       Shock cord calf adjustment
·       Ideally paired with leather hiking boots or plastic mountaineering boots
·       Fits calves – 13.5 inches with no issues to comfort

These gaiters are for the purpose of keeping moisture out along with dirt and so on.  These will not protect you from snake bites

These are what I personally use in the winter for snow and so on. I backpack in them, work around the house and so on to keep my pants dry and to keep snow out of my boots. For summer time use if you need a gaiter to keep out debris I would go with a smaller option unless you need the height.

full length gaitrers featuring Watergate fabric. ò Watergate technologies 3 layer rip-stop fabric leg section. ò Double layer rip-stop material boot section. ò Front opening YKK zipper with full length with Velcro storm flap. Security snaps at the top and bottom of the storm flap. ò Dual adjusting, rubberized, abrasion resistant underboot strap. ò Double-riveted boot lace hook. ò 2" wide elastic at the bottom and 1" wide elastic at the ankle. ò Shock cord calf adjustment. Sold in pairs.

Top Leg Section - 9.5" h x 8" w MD: Top Leg Section - 10" h x 8.5" w LG: Top Leg Section - 11" h x 9" w

Review :
Pros :

I hike a lot in woods, and muddy terrain, and these gaiters keep my legs and pants dry and clean. Easy to put on and adjust. The rubber strap holds up really well - not a mark after miles and miles of hikes over rocks etc.

Super easy to get on/off with the front zip and good velcro

 The waterproof fabric is thick enough to protect against brush, yet pliable to be workable.

Not very bulky.

versatile: hiking, snowshoeing, cross-country skying, shoveling snow, etc. etc.

While not insulating they will keep you warmer by blocking the wind

Cons :
The strap under the arch is a bit long for my size 9us boot and leaves a long bit flapping but it can be cut off or tucked under the gaiter.

The zipper tab is a bit smallish so I'll probably add a pull cord, but otherwise perfect.

These are more expensive than some of the gaiters on the market but you are getting very good quality for the price.  With that being said there are plenty of gaiters which are a hell of a lot more expensive.

The strap is a bit hard to tighten; it can be done but it isn’t super easy.  For myself, it’s one and done.




Monday, January 15, 2018

Calling Them Out! - American Standard 198pc First Aid Kit Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the American Standard 198pc Kit which is mainly a first aid kit but with survival components thrown in.

Unfortunately Luke has to call them out....

...

Link : https://www.amazon.com/American-Standard-Survival-Waterproof-Approved/dp/B01M2YC9IM

Price : $29.95

Weight : 2lbs 3oz

198 piece kit –

This is part first aid kit and part survival kit

·   Nylon bag - no name zips

Very well rounded kit.  Would certainly cost you more if you were to put this together yourself

Great solution to put in your car or truck, boat for emergencies.

For backpacking and hiking, it is too much but as part of a smaller system this will keep you going for some time.  I carry a small first aid kit and I have been refilling it from this kit here.

Not every component is going to be something that you use like the face mask….but when the time comes you will be glad that you have it.

……

Review :

I like this kit as it’s not bad for the price.

Almost all of the reviews on amazon are BS.


Sunday, January 14, 2018

The Best Cookies Ever - Viewer Mail #39





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



It's mail time again and as always we are honored and thankful!

You all are the best viewers and these are the best cookies EVER!




Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Final Box and Overall Review - Nomadik Subscription Box



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today we take a look at the final box from the Nomadik Subscription service.  How does Luke and Susan feel about this service as a whole;

find out now!

...

Link : https://thenomadik.com




Sunday, January 7, 2018

Splav Raid 45 Military Pack – Preview



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is sharing his thoughts on the Russian Splav Raid 45 Military Pack.

….

Link : With this pack you will find this on eBay and from multiple sellers. I haven’t found a source outside of eBay which will ship to the USA.

Weight : 4.18lbs

Price : Around $200 with free shipping – Some sellers will have lower prices but will charge a high shipping fee; no matter what you pay around $200

Sizes : There is a Raid 45 pack and there is a Raid 60

Colors : Olive Green and Black

Volume: 45L
Material: Polyester 600D
Duraflex buckets


Airmesh back - Two layers of foam and a grid of AirMesh for softness and ventilation.
Small version of the Raid 60 pack.

side pockets are not included in the package and are on sale separately!

Removable, height adjustable straps.

Bottom seems to be reinforced.

Includes pack cover

Attachments : There are Side Attachment pockets available for this pack and the Raid 60. Some Raid 60 packs will come with the side pouches. This side pouches offer you 7.5 liters each and they run around $50 and that includes shipping.. If you are buying a Raid pack and the pockets the seller may give you a good deal. It doesn’t hurt to ask.

volume: 7,5 7,5 l
materials: 600D Polyester
accessories: Duraflex®
weight:  7oz

Review :

Pros :

For the price this is a solid military/tactical backpack. The quality is great, the pack has all of the features which you would expect.

Includes a pack cover but if you are going to endure heavy rains I would suggest a waterproof liner inside of the pack-large trash bags work great for this.

Cons :

There is no frame sheet to this pack so if the pack is packed beyond capacity it will deform the shape.  Even then the pack remains comfortable.

The materials are polyester; very good quality polyester but it is polyester nonetheless.  Nylon would be the material I would choose if I had the choice for everyone but the most drive of solider will be just fine with the 600D polyester.

Review :

I purchased this pack with my own money because you all voted and decided that this is what you all would like to see in action.  So far, there are have been two overnight trips with this pack and I like it a lot.  While I am still in the early stages of testing I like what I am seeing here a lot.  It handles the weight of the pack extremely well; up hill, down hill, in the snow and so on; no issues.  In fact, it surprised me how well that it handled the terrain; better than some high cost military packs.

I didn’t know what to expect when it comes to quality but I’m impressed as there are no issues with quality.  I’m not seeing anything yet which would make me think that this pack would fail.

Of course I will keep on with the testing and if issues present themselves I will do a followup video.



Thursday, January 4, 2018

Part 2 Followup - ISSUES - Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Mat





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



This is part two of the Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Mat w/Built-In Foot Pump review.  Part 1 can be found here;

https://youtu.be/yUfrJgtX3vA



Make sure to watch both parts as this pad developed an issue since the filming of the review.





Link : http://www.proforceequipment.com/product-details.php?id=571&catid=24



Weight : 19oz / just over a 1lb



Price : Retail $79.00



Colors : Olive Coyote and Navy Blue



The Snugpak Base Camp Ops Air Mat with Built-In Foot Pump packs down to almost nothing. It has a valve for manual inflation but it also has a built in foot pump where you can pump it up quickly and easily with just the tap of your foot. It has a non-slip bottom so the mat does not slide around easily. Light and compact, it comes with its own stuff sack and repair kit.



Non-insulated so for colder temps keep that in mind and plan accordingly



3” cushion



Non-slip bottom



SIZE OPEN 72x20x3in | 183x51x8cm

PACK SIZE 5 x 11in | 12 x 28cm

WEIGHT 19oz (550g)

FABRIC TOP 75D Polyester Pongee/TPU

FABRIC BOTTOM 100% Polyester Peach Brushed/TPU





Review :

Very nice product. Good quality

Lightweight for the size

Large; good width and length

Nice storage stuff sack

materials are soft and comfortable; pleasant to have against your skin.



Good solid Valve. Not Cheap or flimsy like some.



Easy to inflate thanks to the pump. Also very easy to release the air and fold it back up

Pump works very well; can be done by stepping on it or by using your hands.



Stuff sack is perfectly sized.



When inflated, it is nice and comfortable.



Thanks to the non-slip bottom this pad does a great job of staying in place. Good thinking Snugpak



Thickness :



Oddity 1 : Didn’t receive a repair kit with my T&E unit



To Sum It Up :



This is a great sleeping pad for people would want a seriously easy to use pad. Super easy to inflate, large, long, comfortable. Great for a side sleeper



This is an initial review based on 3 nights out with this pad.  If anything changes with my further testing an additional video will follow.



Pro Tip : Easily place the included retention strap around the pad, grab with index finger and pull around.. Nice and easy




Part 1 - Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Mat w:Built In Foot Pump



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is part one of the Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Mat w/Built-In Foot Pump review.  Part 2 can be found here;

https://youtu.be/AdJIutgH0rk

Make sure to watch both parts as this pad developed an issue since the filming of the review.



Link : http://www.proforceequipment.com/product-details.php?id=571&catid=24

Weight : 19oz / just over a 1lb

Price : Retail $79.00

Colors : Olive Coyote and Navy Blue

The Snugpak Base Camp Ops Air Mat with Built-In Foot Pump packs down to almost nothing. It has a valve for manual inflation but it also has a built in foot pump where you can pump it up quickly and easily with just the tap of your foot. It has a non-slip bottom so the mat does not slide around easily. Light and compact, it comes with its own stuff sack and repair kit.

Non-insulated so for colder temps keep that in mind and plan accordingly

3” cushion

Non-slip bottom

SIZE OPEN 72x20x3in | 183x51x8cm

PACK SIZE 5 x 11in | 12 x 28cm

WEIGHT 19oz (550g)

FABRIC TOP 75D Polyester Pongee/TPU

FABRIC BOTTOM 100% Polyester Peach Brushed/TPU

Review :

Very nice product. Good quality
Lightweight for the size
Large; good width and length
Nice storage stuff sack
materials are soft and comfortable; pleasant to have against your skin.
Good solid Valve. Not Cheap or flimsy like some.
Easy to inflate thanks to the pump. Also very easy to release the air and fold it back up
Pump works very well; can be done by stepping on it or by using your hands.
Stuff sack is perfectly sized.
When inflated, it is nice and comfortable.
Thanks to the non-slip bottom this pad does a great job of staying in place. Good thinking Snugpak
Thickness :

Oddity 1 : Didn’t receive a repair kit with my T&E unit
To Sum It Up :

This is a great sleeping pad for people would want a seriously easy to use pad. Super easy to inflate, large, long, comfortable. Great for a side sleeper

This is an initial review based on 3 nights out with this pad.  If anything changes with my further testing an additional video will follow.

Pro Tip : Easily place the included retention strap around the pad, grab with index finger and pull around.. Nice and easy




Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Super Warm and Inexpensive - Outdoor Research Military Gloves – Mutant M...



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Outdoor Research Military Gloves which are known as the Mutant Mitts!  Very fitting name as you are about to see.

Military Quality
Super Warm
Inexpensive

...

Link : Can be found on eBay and some military surplus sites.  Not very hard to find but sizes will come and go.  I didn’t see any smalls while getting ready for the review but they do pop up often

Sizes : Small through at least XXL

Weight : 11.7oz with liner – 7.9oz for the shell- 8.7oz with knit gloves

Price : Prices Range - $35 - $55

Used in the Navy and Marines

Features :

If you know about these mutant mitt gloves, you either have a pair already or you want to own a pair. These are the most superior military issue cold weather mutant mitt gloves that we’ve ever seen. Manufactured by Outdoor Research, a leader in the manufacturing of outdoor gear. The outer shell is made of 330 denier Cordura fabric which makes this glove tough and flexible. The outer shell features a rubber palm, and two Velcro cinch straps (one at the wrist and one at the forearm). The shell and liner are both contoured to the natural shape of a relaxed hand which makes a more comfortable fit. The removable mitten liners are made of Goretex™ which make these mutant mitts waterproof and breathable. Both mitten and liner have a three finger design, so you can use the pointer/trigger finger when needed or keep it with the rest of you fingers for added warmth. Regularly retails for over $150.00, so don’t miss this deal!

Mutant Mitts Details:

NSN: 8415-01-457-4781
Made in USA
Color: Black

The improved cold weather trigger finger mitten is light weight, reduced bulk, hydrophobic, quick drying, and designed with a trigger finger for weapon operation. The mitten is intended to be used in temperatures ranging from -25 to 10°F. The mitten is compatible with the snow camouflage mitten shells and improved glove insert, and replaces the trigger finger mitten shells and inserts.

The design of the mitten allows a left or right handed Marine to fire his personal or crew served weapon. Each mitten has an extended gauntlet to provide continuous protection to the wrist and lower forearm.

From what I understand, these have been discontinued.


PALM:

+ AlpenGrip® palm provides excellent grip
+ 3-finger, trigger-finger design increases dexterity and warmth
+ Boxed construction and curved shape provide insulation and dexterity
+ Seam guard protects thumb seam
+ 1 in.-wide hook/loop Cinch-Straps with shear tabs at wrist and gauntlet
+ Extra long gauntlet for additional protection
+ Removable Idiot Cord attaches mitt to wrist

REMOVABLE LINER:

+ Moonlite Pile fleece with one layer on the palm and two over the back of the hand for compression-resistant warmth

+ Pull loop for easy on/off
…….

Pros :

Very thick
Very warm – VERY WARM!
Excellent quality – Expedition Level
Excellent price
Removable liner which can be cleaned easily
You can use your own liner gloves; which I often do.
Breathable thanks to the Goretex
Excellent dexterity