Friday, August 17, 2018

How to Tell How Much Fuel is Left in Your Canister - Backpacking Basics



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Have you ever wondered how much fuel that you have left in a used gas canister?  Now you can find out!

This is Backpacking Basics and today I'm sharing with you a little trail secret which you can use to determine how much fuel you have left in your canisters!  All that you need is some water......




Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Eagle Industries Charge Utility Pouch with AS Lining - Pouch 1



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview

This is the first episode of Pouches which is all about PALS/MOLLE pouches.  There are so many pouches and variations on the market but when you go online to try to find the perfect one it is virtually impossible to tell what you are looking at.  Most sites don't even provide dimensions for size referencing.

I'm going to change this with this new series and to start things off we have the Eagle Industries Charge/Utility Pouch with Anti-Static Lining.



Link : https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/mlcs-charge-pouch

Price : $37.95 (expensive; I’d like to see these for around $25)
Weight : 10.1oz
NSN# 8465-01-573-9554  8465015739554

Manufacturer: Eagle Industries

Color: Khaki

This is a genuine US military surplus MOLLE Charge Pouch with Anti-Static lining, manufactured by Eagle Industries.  The pouch is Khaki in color and has an anti-static liner built in-between the outside and inside layers of 500D Nylon.  The top opening features a 1" sewn-in elastic band to hold in the contents, and a flap top lid closure that secures down with Velcro and a plastic buckle.  The flap can also be tucked down inside the pouch, and taller items (like a bottle, radio, etc) can be held down in the pouch using the Y-shaped fastex buckle strap and the elastic band.

This is a great general purpose large utility pouch that measures approximately 12" (H) x 8" (W) x 2" (D) and has 3 MOLLE straps on the back panel to attach to any MOLLE/PALS capable backpack or vest.  There is a drain grommet built in to the bottom of the pouch and there is also two rows of MOLLE webbing on the front of the pouch for attaching smaller pouches.

Features:

Flap top with hook and loop and adjustable fastex buckle with cinch strap closure

GENERAL PURPOSE POUCH DESIGNED TO HOLD DEMOLITION & BREACHING MATERIALS

1 inch wide sewn-in elastic opening to keep items secure

PALS webbing on front and back

Three (3) MOLLE straps

Grommet hole for drainage

Constructed from 500 Denier Nylon

Dimensions: 12" x 8" x 2"

Color: Khaki

MADE IN USA


Monday, August 13, 2018

Waving...Good Bye! - Olight H16 Wave Headlamp - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is 'waving' good bye to the Olight H16 Wave Headlamp...find out what that means now!



Link : https://www.olightstore.com/olight-h16-wave
Price : Retail $60 /
Weight : 4.06oz

2000mAh battery pack.
500 lumens


Friday, August 10, 2018

Snakebite! How to Survive Being Bitten by a Venomous Snake



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently Luke had a VERY close call with a VERY dangerous rattlesnake; in this video he will be going over what to do and what not to do if you get bitten by a Venomous Snake.  This is the information which can save your life!

Adventure with the Timber Rattlesnake : https://youtu.be/WHUJYPepIFs


Wednesday, August 8, 2018

The Best Military Pack On the Market Today? - Savotta Jääkäri L Rucksack



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Want to see one of the best Military packs out on the market today? If yes, then check out my review of the Savotta Jääkäri L Rucksack.

This pack has it all;
Strength.
Comfort.
Adjustability.
Features.
Looks.
and the price isn't terrible either (when compared to other tactical companies).

There is a lot to this pack and this isn't a quick review as I go over every aspect.



Link : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/savotta-jaakari-l-rucksack/57972

Price : $309.99
Weight : 5.24lbs
Colors : Green, Black and M05 Woodland Camo – Woodland Version runs $328.99

Overnight Adventure Video Featuring this Pack : https://youtu.be/WHUJYPepIFs


Monday, August 6, 2018

My Favorite Backpacking/GPS App – AllTrails - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing his favorite backpacking/GPS app which is called AllTrails.  This is what he personally uses for his adventures and has been in testing for a full year now.

Link : https://www.alltrails.com/

Cost : Free limited Version ; $2.50 a month, $30 a year, Lifetime $100

This is my second year of using this app and I was able to renew for $20 thanks to a promotion email which I received.

Available on : Apple and Android – I’ve only used it on IOS so I can’t comment on the Android part.

Who this is for : Hiker, Backpacker, Trail Runner, even Mountain Biker
This is an extremely popular app for a good reason; it’s awesome!

On IOS alone it has an average rating of 4.9 with over 67K+ ratings!


Friday, August 3, 2018

After the Camp - Valley of the Snakes Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is After the Camp for the Valley of the Snakes Solo Overnight Adventure.  Luke talks about the trip, the snake encounters, the gear and so on.

Speaking of gear, here are some of the items which he had with him on that trip;

Sovatta Jääkäri L Rucksack
Israeli Poncho Liner
Snugpak Ionosphere
Mountain Laurel Designs GroundSheet
Terävä Skrama Bush Knife
High Route Gear RectangleLight Food Bag
Kifaru Ultralight Pullout bags
Nemo Zor Short Sleeping Pad
Swiss Military Stove
Toaks Titanium 750 pot


Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Better than Fjallraven? - Tru-Spec 24/7 Xpedition Pants - Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is one which a lot of viewers have been waiting for; the review of the Tru-Spec Men’s 24-7 Xpedition Pants.

Are they tough?
Are they comfortable?
Are they as good as Fjallraven?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.truspec.com/24-7-series/pants/men-s-24-7-xpedition-pants?msID=6002ee02-08bf-4a22-adaa-b7684781ae4d

Cost : MSRP $117 but can be found much cheaper on Amazon and so on. $69 for this size and color on amazon at the time of filming.

Colors : Ranger Green, Black, Coyote, Charcoal gray, ranger green and black, and more.

Sizes : 28x30 all the way up to 40x36

Summary :

These are in my opinion the perfect definition of a tactical pair of pants and besides the looks which scream tactical they have the features to make it true.  When I first saw these I instantly made a mental comparison with Fjallraven trousers which I have personally worn for years and years.

For adventures in cool to slightly warm conditions, these are excellent. Great for backpacking, excellent for bushcraft and for those whom do security they have enough pockets for all of your carry needs.

Pros :
Looks
Quality – Looks to be quiet good; ykk zippers
Features
Pockets – lots of options.  Love the cell phone pocket.
Fit – true to size for me; 32x30 excellent fit - All of the 24-7 Series® pants with a comfort slider waistband run about one size larger.  Large enough for an inner layer for warmth for the winter
Cost – excellent especially when you consider that you are getting what seems to be comparable quality to that of Fjallraven but at a fraction of the price.
Vents
Good drying Abilities; thanks to the material these quicker than any cotton
Tough : no rips or tears so far with my testing.  Reinforced in all the right places.
Flex – these pants offer a fair amount of stretch to them so you can maneuver as you need to. You can deep squat without any issues.

Cons :
Heavy
Hot.  Even with the side vents which do help in breezy conditions, these pants will hold in a lot of heat and for me personally, anything about 75F is simply too hot to wear them.  The warmest conditions that I have tested them out in was around 88F and it was a miserable experience…lots of sweat which was only compounded by the strenuous work which I was doing.  These are perfect for cooler weather

When I received these pants there were some random threads hanging here and there.  Nothing of any concern but not what I would expect to see for a pair of pants which cost around $100 retail.

Durability : This remains to be seen and I have to be honest about this. With Fjallraven trousers I have worn them for years; adventure after adventure, day after day and they have earned their status.  These pants haven’t; so far so good but only time will tell if they can hold up like Fjallraven’s do.


Monday, July 30, 2018

Ready to Haul - Gregory Baltoro 75 (2018) – Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

For numerous months I have been working to review the Gregory Baltoro 75L backpack and today, the Trail Review goes up as it is time to find out if the latest version of this famous pack is worth your hard earned money.

Maine Overnight Adventure Video : https://youtu.be/9rVG9ObplV0



Link : https://www.gregorypacks.com/backpacking/premium/baltoro-75/916BAL75.html

Price : Retail is around $320 – but at the time of filming I have seen it for around $225.

Weight : 5.22lbs

Colors : Dusk Blue and Orange

Sizes : S M L

Optional Liters : 65, 75, 85, and 95 which they refer to as the pro model

Pros :

Comfort : This pack fits like a glove…as the saying goes.  It hugs the body in all of the right places while giving you good lumbar support which is adjustable.  Excellent balance between the hips and shoulders. distributes weight very nicely. straps are super comfortable

Excellent quality

Easy to access pocket and gear – U-shaped access is awesome.

Good capacity

Stylish pack – I love the orange color.

Hydration bag is also a day pack – Offers 12liters of capacity.  Very simple, not the most comfortable but it is useful.

Flexibility : Baltoro’s innovative pivoting shoulder straps and hipbelt play an important role in carrying comfort. Each piece shifts independently, so the pack remains level and close against your body while the shoulder straps and hipbelt move up and down. This feature is especially noticeable on extended climbs, where I could feel one side drop while the other raised up as I took a step

Included rain cover does what it is supposed to do; keep the pack dry. It works.

Waterproof hippocket also works to keep the rain out.

Manages weight as good as most external frame packs; 47lbs loadouts are comfortable with this pack and that says a lot.

Lots of places to clip and attach gear to.

Cons :

Weight : While Gregory has been dropping the weight of this pack over the years with each generation, this thing is still very heavy!  Over 5lbs with the hydration carry day pack and included pack cover – this is not a light pack.  With that being said, this pack is made for hauling so what you get with the weight is the ability to carry a lot of gear, food and water very comfortably.

Price : Full retail price is high; but the on sale price is great.

The Stretch Mesh water bottle pocket has a tendency to push empty bottles out while you are hiking. I’ve had this happen multiple times while on my adventures. To fix this you really have to tighten the compression straps

Breathability : while the back panel and hip belt are more breathable than ever before you are still going to get soaked in sweat when you are hiking.  There is no way around it. It’s better than before but doesn’t compare to some offerings from competitors.

Small Pocket : The only disappointment is that the water-resistant hipbelt pocket is too small to fit a larger smartphone

Summary : At nearly 5 pounds, it’s overbuilt for those who want to travel fast and light, but if you value the extra cushioning and support, it’s one of the best packs on the market.




Friday, July 27, 2018

Almost Bitten by a Rattlesnake - A Second from Disaster - Overnight Adve...



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This Luke's most recent Overnight Adventure which almost turned into a life and death situation while being literally, out in the middle of nowhere.  See what happened now in Valley of the Snakes - A Second From Disaster.


Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Camper’s Cafe - Packit Gourmet’s Good Day Sunshine Bowl (Oatmeal) - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet’s Good Day Sunshine Bowl (Oatmeal) for review.

Will it be a HIT or Miss?

Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/GoodDaySunshineBowl.html


Monday, July 23, 2018

Ultralight! - Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 - Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

 Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time for Luke it pass on his review of the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 tent after multiple months of trail testing!

Link : https://www.bigagnes.com/Tiger-Wall-UL2


Friday, July 20, 2018

Sierra Designs Cloud 35 Sleeping Bag – Zipperless Sleeping Bag Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sierra Designs Cloud 35 Sleeping Bag which happens to be a Zipperless Bag; recently seen in the Maine Overnight Adventure.

Link to Adventure : https://youtu.be/9rVG9ObplV0



Link : https://sierradesigns.com/cloud-800-35-degree/
Price : Retail is $270 but it is common to see this selling for around $200
Weight : 1lb 7oz
Sizes : Regular and Long – This is the Regular version.
Versions : There is also a Cloud 20 degree back which is 1lb 13oz
Color – only available in blue.

REGULAR

·       EN Limit Temp Rating: 26F / -3C
·       EN Comfort Temp Rating:  36F / 2C
·       Fill Weight: 9.5oz / 268g
·       Minimum Weight: 1lb 7oz / 0.66kg
·       Sleeping Pad Sleeve Circumference:  45.5" / 115.6 cm
·       Fits Sleeping Pad (WxH): 20" x 2.5" / 51 x 6.4 cm
·       Fits Up To: 6' 0" / 183 cm
·       Length: 78in / 198 cm
·       Shoulder Circumference: 60" / 152 cm
·       Hip Circumference: 58" / 147 cm
·       Footbox Circumference: 40" / 102 cm
·       Mesh Stoarge Bag Size (LxW): 20 x 12" / 51 x 31 cm
·       Stuff Sack Size (L x W): 13 x 7" / 33 x 18cm
·       Mummy style bag

·      MATERIALS
o   Insulation: 800FP PFC-Free DriDown
o   Shell Fabric: 15d nylon risptop
o   Liner Fabric: 15d nylon risptop



·      KEY FEATURES
o   Patent pending zipperless design for more comfort
o   Oversized integrated comforter resemble all the comforts of your bed at home
o   Insulated shoulder pocket keeps comforter wrapped around you sealing out drafts
o   Patented self-sealing foot vent allows fast and easy ventilation
o   Sleeping pad sleeve keeps pad under you for comfort and warmth and replaces unnecessary bottom insulation
o   PFC-Free 800FP DriDown® and 15d nylon fabrics

Pros :
The whole no zipper thing….it works!
Incredibly lightweight for the temp rating.  No bottom down which saves on weight. You might be saying; Hey I want my down on the bottom and the truth is, no you don’t.. When you compress down It doesn’t keep you warm.. Loft gives you warmth.

Very comfortable – because of the design you can sleep how you want to and it’s easy to manage warmth and air. Think of this bag as a mix between a sleeping bag, a quilt and a comforter as you have a lot of options when it comes to use.  You can have your arms in, arms out, you can even rotate it and use it like a down quilt.

Packs down SUPER small thanks to the high fill down.

Excellent quality and materials.

The temp rating is 35F and I believe that you can reach that rating.  The lowest temps that I have experienced in this is 40F and it was incredibly warm.

I also like the "self sealing foot vent" that allows you to stick your feet out the bottom without undoing anything if they're feeling hot. It does not seem to let any warm air out when our feet are cold.

Cons :
My typical complaint with Sierra Designs is their color schemes; it’s a sleeping bag, who really cares of the color….but wait….I do.  It’s not bad but I wish that it wasn’t so vibrant. 

Because there is no zipper while tossing around in the night it is possible to pop out because you can’t seal it shut. The bag does tuck in on itself and you will have to be conscious of what you are doing to prevent it from unraveling.  Want to prevent the unraveling? Insert a sleeping pad into the back and you won’t have this problem…but then you could potentially get cold in lower temps.

Also with a sleeping pad inserted, the hood of the sleeping bag doesn’t wrap around my head comfortably.

For summer use I like the sleeping pad sleeve….but in the cooler months I don’t because it has a tendency to pull the bag away from your body which means that you will have cold spots.

Summary : I love this sleeping bag and so does my wife.  She has stolen this from me on a number of trips because she likes the ‘mummy’ feel.


Thursday, July 19, 2018

A Cot for Backpacking? - Go-Kot Camping Cot Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Go-Kot Camping Cot which was most recently seen in the Military Surplus Overnight Adventure.

Link : https://youtu.be/V9sx2_WfnRY



Link :  https://store.campingcot.com

Price : Reg. $150 EL. $180

Sizes : 2 sizes; Regular 74” long / Extra long 84”

Colors : Peacock Blue, Coyote Brown, Gray, Navy Blue, Red, Green, Black and more.

Assembled: 26"W x 74"L x 8"H

Carrying Bag: 8"W x 28"L x 3"H (Included)

Weight: 9 lbs.

Made in the USA
Capacity: 350 lbs.

Review :
Pros :

Truly excellent design.

Lightweight compared to many outdoor cots.

Small form factor.

Can be carried for backpacking purposes

Excellent materials.

Good length and width

Very stable

Easy to put together.

Easy to take down.

Provides lots of support for those which back, hips and knee issues.

Recognizable brand as they have been around since the 70’s.

Floor guards are included.  For this type of money they should be included and I am glad that they are. They are meant to protect hardwood floors and tent floors.

Cons :

Even though there are more expensive cots out on the market this one isn’t cheap but it is made with top notch materials and it is made in the USA.

Even though it is lighter than a lot of cots, it is still heavy at almost 10lbs.  When getting the details ready to film this video I saw a review on Amazon that stated that it’s so light that it;

“it doesn’t add hardly any weight to our backpacks!”

That’s complete rubbish as you WILL notice 10lbs of weight in your pack but; for that ten pounds you are getting a very comfortable cot to sleep on.

The cordura material is rough to sleep on; not a problem if you are inside of a sleeping bag but not the most comfortable if you have just a blanket.

Summary :

I didn’t think I would like the Go-Kot as much as I have and that’s based on my previous experiences with other cot products.. I have military cots, cots from other companies and in most cases they aren’t products that I would really recommend for numerous reason but the Go-Kot is different.

It’s a very smart product which features a truly ingenious design which I haven’t seen before.

While it isn’t the cheapest cot, it is by far not the most expensive.  Cots can be expensive with prices going up into the $300 range when it comes to backpacking models.

This cot is very easy to put together and easy to take down; can be done in a minute.  This is important because some cots can be hard as FUNK to put together…I have some which literally require two people.

The Go-Kot isn’t the lightest but when you factor in a balance of weight, price, ease of use and durability, it hits all of the important marks for a great cot.




Monday, July 16, 2018

British MRE Menu 19 - What's in the BOX? - Viewer Mail! #44



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always we are honored and thankful!
By the way, I recently had this MRE in the Military Surplus Adventure and it was AWESOME!

Link : https://youtu.be/V9sx2_WfnRY




Friday, July 13, 2018

Military Surplus Overnight Adventure - -




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is what everyone has been waiting for; the Next Military Surplus Overnight Adventure featuring Military Surplus from all around the world.

A Rare Army Tent.
Moose; the 1986 CUCV M1008 Army Truck.
Some Bushcraft.
A Camp Fire.
MRE's.
A project rifle that I have been working on.
Storms.

I hope that you all enjoy it!

Strength and Honor




Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Extremely Rare Military Tent - Nemo Switchblade 1P SE Tent



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is one of the rarest tents that was developed for the military by Nemo as part of their SHIELD division.




Monday, July 9, 2018

How to Properly Care for Your Tent - Expert Advice - Do's and Don'ts



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about Tents and how to ensure that your tent will last you for years and years while continuing to protect you from the elements.  This guide covers it all; do's and don'ts!




Saturday, July 7, 2018

LACKING - Packit Gourmet Market Pasta Puttanesca Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet's Market Pasta Puttanesca!

It's......Lacking....

Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/Market-Pasta-Puttanesca.html

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Better Than a Woobie? - Israeli Poncho Liner - IDF GI Issue - Military S...





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is taking a look at some hard to find military surplus;
The Israeli Poncho Liner.  Is it better than the USGI Woobie Blanket?
Find out now.....You will want to see this blanket.

Link : https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/israeli-poncho-liner

Weight :  Roughly 1.2lbs
Cost : $40.00




Monday, July 2, 2018

How to Backpack in Bear Country - How to Handle and Prevent Bear Encounters



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about bears; how to handle and how to prevent encounters.  This is something that we receive a lot of questions about and we will show you all what has worked for us over almost 40 years while living, hiking, backpacking in bear country.




Friday, June 29, 2018

How to Setup the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 Tent



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons.   Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 Tent.

Link : https://www.bigagnes.com/Tiger-Wall-UL2




Wednesday, June 27, 2018

French Army Tents Waterproof WARNING F1 and Desert Commando



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons. We are 100% Agenda Free.  Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and you need to watch this video if you own or have been thinking about getting a French Military Tent!

You've Been Warned!

….

Link to F1 tent video : https://youtu.be/Wi1XN1EMTf0




Monday, June 25, 2018

Wait, It has a Dial? No Buttons? - Nitecore EC22 Flashlight - Review



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons.   Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Nitecore EC22 Flashlight!  This is certainly....different and it has a DIAL!

Link NiteCore : http://www.nitecorestore.com/NITECORE-EC22-infinite-brightness-flashlight-p/fl-nite-ec22.htm

   


Friday, June 22, 2018

Backpacking Maine's Coast - Overnight Adventure



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons.   Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today The Outdoor Gear Review heads to Maine for an adventure of a life time; the Bold Coast Trail!  11 Miles of beautiful forest and rugged and rocky coast.

One word...amazing!
Another word...Mosquitoes!

Enjoy the adventure everyone!  A special thank you goes out to all of those who made this adventure possible!


Wednesday, June 20, 2018

What's In Your Pack - Cordage - The Most Important Gear



This channel is made possible by the support of our viewers; Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is talking about the importance of cord and why you should always make sure to carry some in your pack.  Day hike, overnight, multi-day; it's Important!

Link to the Micro Cord : https://atwoodrope.com/collections/micro-cord




Monday, June 18, 2018

Speed Test - Versus - Primus Classic Trail Stove - #4



This Channel is made Possible by the Viewers as we are 100% Agenda Free. Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the Primus Classic Trail Stove.

Also, please forgive some of the camera's focusing issues; I was experimenting with a few things back when this was recorded in February!




Saturday, June 16, 2018

How to Overcome Your Fears When Backpacking - The Dark, Bears, Snakes, G...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

For this episode, I will be going over the most common fears which people have in regards to the outdoors and how to overcome them!  This is backpacking basics and thanks for all of the support for this series and the suggestions for addition episodes.




Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Tactical Ready! Sabra Gear Solo Pack – Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sabra Gear Solo pack; a strong and practical pack for your daily carry needs.  It looks like the Sting pack but it is in fact, different!



Link : https://sabra-gear.com/products/solo
Price : $209 without a waist belt, $253 with one
Weight : 3lbs

In the past we took a look at the sting pack which is 31L vs the solo which is 21

·   Full 500 D Cordura Construction, both outside and inside fabric.
·   Double layered bottom for reinforcement and extreme durability.
·   Full opening of the main compartment by a super tough #10 YKK zipper, for quick and easy access to all of your gear.
·   All the zippers are with durable and easy to grab zipper pulls, for easy operation when wearing gloves or under stress.
·   Two inner pockets with zippers for easy and secure organization.
·   Two open side pockets for bottles or long objects.
·   Hydration bladder sleeve and two hydration ports.
·   Effective compression system allows flat and tight compression when the pack is not fully loaded.
·   Long compression straps allows carrying bulky items on the outside of the pack.
·   Removable back panel built from a polymer sheet and a 6061 T-6 aluminum rod, provides excellent load transfer, stability, and freedom of movement. Can be bent to fit perfectly to the user's body.
·   Removable emergency pad.
·   Optional removable waist belt for maximum comfort when carrying heavy loads.
·   MOLLE webbing In key areas.
·   Two axe loops.
·   Made in Israel.



Volume:
21 Liter / 1280 Cubic inches

Materials:
Fabric: 500 D Cordura.
Zippers: Highly durable #10 and #8 YKK zippers.
Buckles: ITW Nexus and National Molding buckles and plastic parts.
Webbing: Mil-spec nylon straps and webbing.

Solo without waist belt: 1.4 kg / 3 Pounds

Waist belt: 280 Grams / 10 Ounce

Dimensions cm / inch:

Height - 50 / 19.5
Width - 26 / 10
Depth - 16 / 6




Tuesday, June 12, 2018

There are Issues - UCO Stormproof Sweetfire Review








This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the UCO STORMPROOF SWEETFIRE Strikeable Fire Starter.  It's good but not exactly what the company claims them to be.

This will be the LAST of the UCO firestarters that I will review.



Price : $10 on the UCO web site.  $16 on Amazon

Link UCO : https://www.ucogear.com/stormproof-sweetfire-strikable-matches-20-pack-mt--sm--sfp

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-STORMPROOF-SWEETFIRE-Strikeable-Starter/dp/B0796V1V6T

Weight : .2oz each

In the past I reviewed the Sweetfire fire starters and for the most part this is the same product with the exception that this features a much larger section of ignition source material.

Made from sugarcane waste — Bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable biofuel. 20 individual ‘Points’ conveniently connected & ready to break-off and use. Each Point burns for 7 minutes each. Strikable tip, can be used with striker on box, eliminating need for matches. Infused with vegetable wax, UCO Sweetfire is good for the planet & great for every adventure.

This new Stormproof Sweetfire is not only sweet for your gear collection, it's sweet for the planet. Made from a sugarcane by-product called bagasse, this key ingredient is already used around the world as a renewable biofuel. Each of these match points (there are 20 per box) is infused with vegetable wax to allow for up to 7 minutes of burn time per each point. There's also no need to bring matches to light the Sweetfire as each match point has a strikeable tip that can conveniently be used with the striker on the box.

FEATURES

Made from sugarcane waste — Bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable biofuel.

20 individual ‘Points’ conveniently connected & ready to break-off and use.

Each Point burns for 7 minutes each.

Strikable tip, can be used with striker on box, eliminating need for matches.

Infused with vegetable wax, UCO Sweetfire is good for the planet & great for every adventure.

PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS

Package Dimensions: 5.5" x .75" x .4"

Packaged Weight: 4.9 oz. (82 g)

Pros :

split these in half to extend your uses.

Excellent run time

Small form factor.

Lightweight

Good price

Renewable resources

Are they windproof?

Can be ignited with a ferro rod.

They are no longer connected which makes it easier and quicker to use

Cons :

Not really waterproof – only the ignition source if waterproof.

Are they wind proof?

Doesn’t feature a strike anywhere tip

Requires a striker

Summery :


UCO took a good product and improved upon it and in my opinion there is no longer a need for the original sweet fire.  It’s a long running fire starter; it’s not perfect but it’s certainly a product which can assist you a great deal in less than perfect conditions.  There are many fire starters out there on the market with many being much worse than this.




Friday, June 8, 2018

How You Don't Want it to End! - 2018 Epic Road Trip Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke and his TWIN brother Trailblazer head out on their latest road trip adventure but they aren't alone!  Lucas joins the trip as we head northwest along the Canadian border.

Unfortunately this trip doesn't go according to plan.....


15+ States,
Lots of laughs,
Incredible locations,
5,500 miles,
6 days,
some good music,
and more!




Wednesday, June 6, 2018

4+ Year Follow up Review - Snugpak Ionosphere - Worth the Money?



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I've been using the Snugpak Ionosphere tent for over 4 years now and the question is; is it worth the money?  How has it held up?  This is a followup review; 4+ years in the making!



Price : $140 for green version $170 for the tan version on Amazon. Retail is $223

Weight : 3.3lbs / 1520 g.

Colors : Green and Tan

Amazon Link : https://www.amazon.com/Snugpak-Ionosphere-Dome-Tent-Nylon/dp/B06XKTCY9P

This is a product which hasn’t changed much since it was released a long time ago back in 2012 and the truth is, it really doesn’t need to change much because it was such a great product. From the quality, to the functionality to the price, this is one of those rare tents on the market which is well worth the price.

I originally did my review of this tent back in 2013 and have continued to use it over the years and I love it just as much now as I did then.  It’s one of those products that I pull out of my gear storage every few months to use; especially when I’m heading out on the trail with my buddies.  Speaking of which anytime that a friend asks to use a tent or to borrow one, this is one that I grab because it’s lightweight, it’s sturdy, storm worthy and is large enough to work with most people.

So you may be wondering what has changed with this tent since arriving on the market; not much!  Snugpak does off this tent in an additional color; Tan and it looks great!

What many don’t know about this tent is that it is often used in military circles; field shelters, training, jumping and so on. That allows says a lot about the quality of this product and it’s something that I can backup with my own use. This tent has seen more nights out than I can count and with my buddies, double that number.

Think of this tent as a bivy which is the size of a small tent; low profile but that’s large enough for anyone to use.  Also there is enough room for your gear as well.

Thanks to the bug netting, bugs and mosquitoes aren’t an issue.

If you are in a dry location you can use the tent alone as a bug net,

If the weather changes, you can put the rain fly on in about a minute.

There is plenty of room in the interior--so much so that I can actually fit both myself and my pack inside of it.  I’m a short dude, 5’5” or so but this works the same with my buddies who are 6ft, 200 lbs.

If you’re a short person, you can crawl headfirst into the unit and turn around. I can crawl in and turn around, if you are taller or less limber, back into it.

The entrance is very easy to get in and out of It, which can be very helpful if the bugs are out in force or its pouring rain.

The tent rolls up neatly and doesn’t take up much space in your pack.

For the average backpacker or beginner this is one of the best bangs for the buck out there. If you want a no frills, one man tent that you can man pack with ease, this is a great tent.

 DAC TH72M anodized aluminum poles with pre-curved sections, press fit connectors, and color coded for an easy setup.

Setup is simple.

Break down is too.

Quality is very good as this tent continues to live on without any issues. The materials and quality match the price in my opinion. This isn’t a high-end ultralight tent and it won’t perform like one.

Excellent waterproof during heavy downpours and even mild winds around 25mph

Big enough not to feel claustrophobic

Aluminum stakesare strong enough and have taken my abuses very well. They aren’t the best out there by any means but you do get a TON of them!  16 in total!

Works very well when set up in the bed of my truck. This isn’t a free standing tent so I use some ducttape to anchor.  A friend of mine liked this idea and often sets it up in the back of his Toyota Tacoma.

Not perfect;

Could use a mesh pocket on the roof of the tent to hold a light

This isn’t the easiest tent in the world to get into and out of.  If you are over 6ft, it can be comical to watch.

Not free standing

Floor material has held up well but I have continuously used an ultralight ground sheet with it.  This has held a lot.

Condensation is possible with this tent in certain situations.  For me it has never been extreme but noticeable depending on temp and humidity.

Cant sit up in it.



Because of the colors it can be amazing for stealth camping



My advice before buying this tent is to consider the size; will it work for you?  It is a bivy/tent; keep that in mind before you make a purchasing decision.



Most of the complaints that I have seen in regards to this tent come from people who didn’t pay attention to what it was that they were buying.




Monday, June 4, 2018

Hill People Gear People Recon Kit Bag vs Ribz Front Pack!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is VERSUS and today we have the Hill People Gear People Recon Kit Bag vs the Ribz Front Pack!



Hill People Recon Kit Bag Link : http://www.hillpeoplegear.com/Products/CategoryID/1/ProductID/5

Ribz Front Pack Link : http://www.ribzwear.com

Recon Price : $95 for all colors with the exception of the multi cam which is $10 more

Ribz Price : $6

Recon weight :0.81 lb
Ribz weight : 11oz

Sizes :
Recon – One fits all
Ribz – small – XL

If you want all of the details concerning these two rigs, check out my reviews;

Recon Review Link : https://youtu.be/3HPgY45Qz8A

Ribz Review Link : https://youtu.be/6IjadcVo9nQ

….

Both of these pack offer the user a similar ability to carrying gear on the chest with a few differences. The Recon pack is located directly upon the chest whereas the Ribz pack directs the gear to the sides.

The Ribz pack offers a much larger capacity so with this test I will essentially fill each of these packs up to capacity. Once loaded up it will be time to get to the hiking; 2 miles to see which is the most comfortable.

Before wrapping up this video; I am not certain how much life the Ribz company has at the moment. I had received an email some time back where a viewer said that the Ribz company had gone under. I contacted the company and they stated that wasn’t the case. Before filming this trip, I checked the web site myself and the site did seem to be having a few problems.  They also didn’t have any products in stock.




Friday, June 1, 2018

Elevated Bushcraft Stoves Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Elevated Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Pot Used in Video : https://youtu.be/KBCEhPCRZeg




Elevated Bushcraft Stoves Bushcraft Basics





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Elevated Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.



Pot Used in Video : https://youtu.be/KBCEhPCRZeg




Thursday, May 31, 2018

Mountain House Chili Mac vs Backpacker's Pantry Chili Macaroni



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have two products to put up against each other;

Mountain House Chili Mac vs Backpacker's Pantry Chili Macaroni!

The one question that I have is this;

What the heck is that?



Monday, May 28, 2018

Artist Showcase - Andreas Kalani - The Hagen Knife Review




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is beginning a new series where he takes a look at custom knives and in this episode his first review is for the Hagen knife from American craftsman Andreas Kalani.

Andreas Kalani Web Site : http://www.andreaskalani.com




Friday, May 25, 2018

Before You Head Out - Tent Check - Backpacking Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Before you head out on your next adventure, make sure to perfect a Tent Check to prevent a wide range of potential problems from developing/taking place on your adventure.

This is Backpacking Basics!


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

The US Army’s Next Ruck - MOLLE 4000 Rucksack First Look



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Want to see the latest US Army rucksack before anyone else?  This pack is still in the testing phase but I've been able to get my hands on what should be the final version.

This is the MOLLE 4000 Rucksack!




Monday, May 21, 2018

The World's Biggest Match! – UCO Behemoth Sweetfire Matches Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Largest Match in the World....but does bigger mean better?

Hint : This isn't a perfect product.

Today Luke is reviewing the UCO Behemoth Sweetfire Matches.

….

Price : $5 on the UCO web site.  $11.50 on Amazon

Link UCO : https://www.ucogear.com/firestarting/matches/behemoth-sweetfire-match-mt--behemoth--3p?returnurl=%2ffirestarting%2fmatches%2f

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-BEHEMOTH-STORMPROOF-SWEETFIRE-MATCHES/dp/B079ZJ14NK


FEATURES
Stormproof strikeable tip, can be used with included striker in bag, eliminating need for matches.
Made from sugarcane waste - bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable bio fuel.
Each Behemoth is 5.5" long.

SPECIFICATIONS

BurnTime: 15 mins/point
Weight: 0.8oz (23g) each
Dims: 5.5" x 0.75" x 0.4" (14 x 2 x 1 cm) each

Review :

My review for these are essentially the same as with the other stormproof sweetfire fire starters with the exception that this is much, much bigger.  With the longer burn time comes expanded capabilities in nastier, wetter weather.  This is not a fire starter for your average fire but those which involve a great deal of wet material.. Without a doubt there are situations which call for a fire starter like that but for most people it is less likely.

Good addition to any kit



Not waterproof.

Not windproof.



Great for perfect weather conditions.

Car camping

Hunting

Situations where you can do a better job at keeping them dry


Sunday, May 20, 2018

Friday, May 18, 2018

The perfect Cordage? - Atwood Micro Cord - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing what might be the perfect cordage!
Find out more now with the review of the Atwood Micro Cord.

Link : https://atwoodrope.com/collections/micro-cord




Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Worth the Cost? - Hilleberg Nammatj 2 - Real World Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

You all have seen the Hilleberg Nammatj 2 being used throughout the years here with The Outdoor Gear Review and today it is time for the review.

The Question : Is It Worth The Cost?

Link : http://us.hilleberg.com/EN/tent/black-label-tents/nammatj-2/




Monday, May 14, 2018

DON'T BUY - Military Tent Failure! - Dutch Special Forces 2 Man Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I know how much you all love military surplus so why wait until Wednesday right?  Today Luke has his hands on the Dutch Special Forces Tent and is going to see how well it handles a Thunderstorm!

...there will be problems!

...

Dutch Military Surplus Special Forces 2 Man Camo Tent

Link : https://www.sportsmansguide.com/product/index/dutch-military-surplus-special-forces-2-man-camo-tent-used?a=2145671

Cost : $90 tent can be purchased all over the net including ebay and the sportsman guide.

·       Dutch military issue, made in Netherlands
·       Heavyweight canvas in DPM (Disruptive Pattern Material)
·       Room for 2 adults, or 1 adult plus rucksack
·       Fast 1-person setup, in 5 min. or less
·       Heavyweight canvas, vinyl floor
·       Door openings on both sides
·       Multiple Tents zip together
·       102" x 42" x 46"h. 15 lbs.




Friday, May 11, 2018

What Happened? - Return to the Secret Gem - Day Hike Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

A lot can change in 4 years and that is especially true in the backcountry where nature is in control.  4 years ago Lucas and I explored this trail and rightly named it "The Secret Gem" and today, Susan and I return to enjoy it with you all.

The question is....what happened?
What will we find?
Find out now.

Link to Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Bushcraft Perfect and Ultralight - 180 Flame Wood Stove - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the 180 Flame Wood Stove.



Link : http://www.180tack.com/shop/180-flame

Price : $37.95

Weight : 6.2oz on my scale

Material: 304 Stainless Steel

Tough 5 mil plastic pouch can carry water in emergencies

Made in the U.S.A.

Size In Use: 5" L x 4" W x 3 1/4" H
Size Stowed: 5" L x 3 1/4" W x 0.6" H

The design of the 180 Flame incorporates 3 sides for wind screening and heat focusing with an open end allowing ample room for feeding natural fuels into the fire box. When needed, the sturdy sides support heavier cookware than other backpacking stoves. We engineered the 5 pieces of the 180 Flame to interlock together creating a very stable unit with no moving parts which often fail in the field. We've designed a sustainable & durable product that will last you for years. The 180 Flame disassembles quickly stacking into its own clean, compact case with any dirty surfaces on the inside keeping your pack clean.

•          Tip : Start fire and then move the stove to it.  I’ve seen people mentioned that it was hard to start in the stove…..don’t do it that way.

•          Tip : Since you are burning wood, there will be soot; you may want to bring a small towel with you for clean up purposes.

I haven’t seen anyone else mention this but in situations where your fire is dying out and your embers are losing their heat, you can lower the pot supports a few inches which can make warming your coffee or food possible without having to use additional resources and time to get a large flame going again.

…………

Pros :

Price – there are a number of small wood burning stove out on the market like this one and some can be very expensive.  In my opinion the price is right for this stove as it is versatile and easy to use.  It’s not a cheap Chinese stove; made in the use so that higher cost is somewhat justified.  Do know that there are cheaper wood stoves out on the market though.

Lightweight
Strong

I’m a fan of the smaller size as it allows those who like to go light and quick a stove which fits their adventure.

Very stable

Fun to use

Smart design.

Folds down small

Made in the USA!

Great for backpacking, hiking, emergency use and so on.

Good wind block; not perfect but good for an average breeze.
.........
Cons :

Slower than a canister stove and that is something to keep in mind.  What type of adventure are you going on; who much time to cook and to boil will you have.

Since this is a wood burning stove, you may not be able to use this in all parks and backcountry locations.  Make sure to check local regs or you might be sorry when you have to pay a large fine.

With my testing, I have noticed some warping of the steel with prolonged use; the good news is that you can easily form the metal back into place.  This doesn’t have any impact on the performance of the stove and it turns out is to be expected.  The company mentions this on their web site and states that this is completely normal.


Monday, May 7, 2018

How to Get a Good Night's Sleep While Camping : Backpacking Basics





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



For this episode, I will be going over what to do and what not to do to when it comes to getting a good night's sleep while backpacking/camping. This is Backpacking Basics!




Friday, May 4, 2018

Beach Camping Tips Which You Need To Know



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about Beach Camping Tips which you need to know as it will ensure that you have the perfect sandy adventure.

Want to Watch our Island Adventure? https://youtu.be/W1GyPLLYC4w

.....

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Before You Buy - Hilleberg Nammatj 2 - Pitching Instruction



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Hilleberg Nammatj 2 Tent.

Link : http://us.hilleberg.com/EN/tent/black-label-tents/nammatj-2/




Monday, April 30, 2018

How to Prevent and Remove Ticks!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The backpacking season is upon us and that means that ticks are waiting.  Don't worry though, as it's not as bad as it sounds as long as you know how to handle them.  In this episode, Susan and Luke will go over tick prevention, tick removal, tick checks, repellants and so on.




Friday, April 27, 2018

Moose and Drone - See Lone Wolf Mountain Like Never Before!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Let's hit the road with Luke and good old Moose (the army truck);
it's time to see Lone Wolf Mountain in a completely different way, from the Air!

This is Moose and Drone!




Wednesday, April 25, 2018

First Look - Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent - Preview



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Testing has begun with the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent and while you're waiting on the review, here's the preview where Luke goes over all of the functions and features of this very expensive, high quality tent.

Want to see this tent in action, watch this adventure; https://youtu.be/W1GyPLLYC4w




Monday, April 23, 2018

Bushcraft Ground Stoves - How To - Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set Review : https://youtu.be/8CqP6TTKFPc




Friday, April 20, 2018

Canoeing in the Ocean - The Island - Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This trip has it all;

ocean canoeing, deserted island, military aircraft, dolphins, and plenty of adventure!

This is TOGR's latest Overnight Adventure!


Wednesday, April 18, 2018

You Will Want to See This Tent! - French Army Desert Commando Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and you will want to see this tent!

In the past I have shown you all the French F1 Commando Tent but did you know that there is another version which the French military uses?

It's the French Desert Commando Tent and in this video I will be going over both models and speaking of the differences and my future plans for them.

….

Link to F1 tent video : https://youtu.be/Wi1XN1EMTf0




Monday, April 16, 2018

Inexpensive Option - IceTek Backpacking Stove - Speed Test #3 - Versus



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the IceTek Backpacking Stove.  Will it dethrone the Crux as the fastest backpacking stove?

Also, can you spot a defect with the IceTek?  Comment if you do!




Friday, April 13, 2018

What Do You Get for $106 - Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan and I are gearing up for an adventure and we needed some meals to fuel us along the way so we ordered the Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler.

What does $106 get you?

You're about to find out!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/DeluxeMealSampler.html




Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Odd Military Tent - Nemo Shield Tanto SE - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is one of the most interesting/odd tents which has had *SOME* level of use by US military forces;

Super lightweight.
More of a Bivvy.
A bit strange...

This is the Nemo Shield Tanto SE Tent Review.



Link : http://shield.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Tanto+SE+Tent+%28Black+Mesh%29

Price : $ 349.95 when these were being offered to government agencies.  These are very hard to find and sale for at least $530 on eBay.

Weight : 1lb 15oz

Essentially is an inflatable bivy

From what I understand, the design of this tent was taken from the Nemo GoGo and was converted for a military purpose.  How well adopted in the armed forces this was, I do not know.  I would venture to say that it wasn’t wide adopted.

Tanto SE utilizes our AirSupported Technology®, replacing traditional poles with inflatable ribs that reduce erect time and packed size and add strength and repairability. Combined with the Tanto™ Fly, this is a versatile shelter for milder weather conditions and rainy, tropical environments.

Traditional bivy bags are limp, claustrophobic and challenging to use when it’s raining or snowing. But Tanto™ SE tensions out like a tent, has a big enough interior volume to read a map or work on a laptop, a convertible vestibule for meal prep, and room inside for gear. AirSupported Technology® allows the Tanto™ SE to be inflated in under 15 seconds using the Integrated Pump and deflated in less than 5 seconds. The entire canopy of Tanto™ SE is mesh, keeping insects away and allowing excellent air circulation, even when the rain fly is attached. A front and a side entrance allow ingress and egress around whatever equipment you have inside. Used extensively by SOF, the Tanto™ SE is the go to shelter for fast and light operations in temperate and tropical environments.

Seasons: 3-Season

Capacity: 1-Person

Packed weight: 2 lb. 14.2 oz.

Pack size: 7x10"

Peak height: 27"

Floor dimensions: 114x41"

Floor area: 19 sq.ft.

Bathtub floor: Yes

Tent floor material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Number of doors: 1

Number of poles: Rather than support poles, the bivy utilizes a built-in AirBeam strut that you inflate with air using the included foot pump

Tent wall material: No-See-Um® mesh

Rain fly material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Stakes: Aluminum

Stuff sack: Yes

Recommended use: Backpacking,Mountaineering

Made in Viet Nam

AirSupported Technology tensions the bivy like a tent, placing No-See-Um® mesh above your body and keeping insects at a safe distance

Inflates in under 15 seconds using the integrated pump and deflates in less than 5 seconds

Rain fly provides additional storage within arms reach

Swallowtail patterning allows you to add a stick or collapsible pole to prop up the foot end of the inner tent with the rain fly

Stake out the back

Stick for the back

Click pump

Blow and pump

Review :

Pros

Lightweight (approx. 22 oz with accessories) – impressively small size

AirSupported rib provides space overhead

Generous length and shape provide ample headroom – plenty of room for your basic needs

Stakes and footbox help keep the walls off

Because of the limited ventilations, it is warmer than most 3 seasons tents.  During one trip I was able to record a 19 degree temp difference from the inside to the outside

 Packs small

Bigger than a traditional bivy

Very easy to setup – less than a minute!

Definitely waterproof

Cons :

Price if you can find it

 AirSupport pump is not integrated

 Poor Ventilation – poor airflow

Because of the poor ventilation, it’s not a great tent from locations where temps will be above 75f.  Any warmer and this tent becomes a sauna.

Lightweight fabrics require caution/footprint

Single wall condensation issues  - Your sleeping bag will get wet!

Fabric sags when wet

Lose the pump and this tent isn’t going to be inflated!

** Not enough Stakes are included for staking out the back

·       limited breathability

Monday, April 9, 2018

MOLLE and PALS Pouches - Propper U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

MOLLE...
PALS...
Need some additional space?

Today Luke is reviewing the Propper U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit which can be used with the UC pack or any MOLLE and PALS compatible backpack.



Link : https://www.propper.com/bags/pouches/propperr-u-c-2-pack-assault-kit.html

Price : $50
Weight : Small one – 5.2oz
Laege one – 9.0oz

Colors : Black, Coyote, Olive Green

The perfect companion to the Propper U.C. Pack, the U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit provides two individual storage compartments which attach to any MOLLE bag. Each piece has additional MOLLE and hook and loop on the exterior for further customization. The large compartment contains organization for all of your essentials.

·       MOLLE compatible
·       Internal organization within large compartment including key clip, elastic pen channels, and a large zippered mesh pocket
·       MOLLE and hook and loop front allows for additional customization
·       4" H x 11" W x 2" D and 8" H x 11" W x 2" D
·       100% Nylon

Friday, April 6, 2018

What Will We Find? - The Rock Slide - Day Hike Adventure (GH5)



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Storms often close the roads in our area for months at a time; when that happens, it's a great time to explore!  With this Adventure, Luke and Susan are jumping the barricades in search of a rock slide and some storm damage!

What will we find?

Find out now.

Link to Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/




Wednesday, April 4, 2018

How to Setup the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent.




How to Setup the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/



Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent.




Monday, April 2, 2018

Epiphany Outdoor Gear Bellows Fire Starting Kit



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Epiphany Outdoor Gear Bellows Fire Starting Kit.  Do you need the entire kit or just the Bellows?  Find out now!



Link to V3 Bellows Review : https://youtu.be/EnIYti2UOhE

Link : https://www.amazon.com/EPIPHANY-OUTDOOR-GEA-EOGV3LEO-Starting/dp/B00LDYLJDE

Price : $19 at the time of filming

Weight : 2.3oz for the kit including the tube

Included : 3 piece fire starting kit – ferro rod, bellows, fire fuses



This is a basic but highly functional fire kit which I can easily recommend.  I reviewed the V3 pocket bellows a long time back and finally I’m able to get around to the review of the kit.

Light weight, watertight, acceptable price, good performance.

Received a handful of these for review purposes where I have been using one, I have this one for review and I ended up giving away two others away.  One to a viewer and another to a friend of mine.

The Baddest Bees Fuses : The "Baddest Bees" tinder fuses work extremely well. Compact, waterproof, fast-starting, hot burning. But be sure to tease them apart into little fluffballs before trying to light them. In contrast, cotton balls impregnated with petroleum jelly (e.g. Vaseline) are also compact, waterproof, fast-starting , hot burning, and they last longer (all once you tease them apart into fluffballs), and can be made cheaply at home, but your hands get greasy when handling them. The Baddest Bees seem to be wax-impregnated, so there's no greasiness, and they're more compact than cotton balls (but don't burn as long). You choose.

These are great for getting the fire going; strike up, place tender and materials around it and go.

Would I purchase more of these; no as I can make my own fire starter..

Bellows : The bellows is very well made, sturdy, and works extremely well. (Works well for fires in fireplaces too, but a little short for that use.) Buy it, carry it, use it!  It's long length keeps your face out of the fire and the smoke out of your eyes. Bellows can be purchased on its own for $12 and it is WORTH IT!

Extended it is 19" long
Collapsed approx 3.75"
Max width at base is 3/8"

Fire Steel : The fire steel is a pretty standard product. This one has a nice, ergonomic plastic handle. It's a little short, but then this is a compact kit. You can easily get longer ones if desired.

The fire steel striker has serrations on the short end. I found it awkward to use the end, but it strikes easily along the long edge.

The striker is a bit flimsy in my opinion but you can put your own in there if you like.

Container : is awesome – 5.5 inches long. A little over an 1 wide.

Plenty long enough for the included items and anything else that you may want to add.  Steel wool, magnesium shavings, or even a small lighter.

The smaller container is also watertight and once you run out of fuses you can purchase more or you fill it with something else such as Magnesium shavings.

The star of the kit in my opinion is the V3 pocket bellows and the waterproof continer which is comes in.  In my opinion, it is well worth the money especially in regards to the Bellow.. The bellows are of very good construction and made of 300 series stainless steel.

This is perfect for backpackers and bushcrafter; just awesome

Great for getting a fire going.

Great when working with wet materials

Great for getting a fire going in the morning with only embers.




Friday, March 30, 2018

Best Assault Pack Ever? - Sabra Gear Sting Pack Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Best Three Day Assault Pack Ever? Now that's a statement!

What about for Bushcraft?

In this review, Luke is discussing the Pros and Cons of the Sabra Sting Pack and whether or not it meets the Criteria of a truly great Assault Pack.

This backpack has been tested in the rain, the snow, on and off trail and this isn't a Mailbox review.



Sting Pack Link : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/sting
Waist Belt : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/removable-waist-belt
Quick Pouch : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/quick-pouch
Combat Pouch : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/combat-pouch

Prices :
Sting Pack : $219 w/o Belt / $265 with belt
Waist Belt : $45
Quick Pouch : $25
Combat Pouch : $40

Weights :
Sting Pack : 3.3 Pounds
Waist Belt : 9.2 Oz
Quick Pouch : 2.6 Oz
Combat Pouch : 7.1 Oz




Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Best Merino Wool Hiking Shirt Ever? - Woolly Clothing Crew Neck Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Monthly Giveaways. Donator only Content.  Behind the Scenes.   First Looks.  In the Credits!

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Merino wool is known for its impressive qualities which make it a fantastic choice for all season camping, backpacking and hiking and it's also known for its rather high price tag.

Today Luke is reviewing the Woolly Clothing Crew Neck t-shirt; is it going to be the best Merinon Wool Shirt Ever?  What about the cost?

Find out now.

Link : https://www.woolly.clothing/collections/mens-merino/products/190-ss-crew




Monday, March 26, 2018

WHAT IS THAT? - Random Lunch and Chat



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke at Lone Wolf Mountain as he takes a break from reviews and adventures to talk with the viewers.

Plus, he might just show you something special that he is working with.  Maybe TWO special items....




Friday, March 23, 2018

Backpacking in a Blizzard - Winter Storm Backpacking Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

A major winter storm is on the way and...

As the temperature drops...
The Snow begins to fall...
The winds pick up...
The Lone Wolf Heads Out!

This is Luke's latest Winter Overnight Adventure.


Wednesday, March 21, 2018

The Truth About Heated Jackets - Ororo Men's and Women’s Heated Jacket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The Truth About Heated Jackets!

Today Susan and Luke are reviewing Heated Jackets from Ororo and we will be going over what is great and not so great about this new tech.

...

Links :

Mens : https://www.ororowear.com/collections/men/products/men-heated-jacket-black
Women's : https://www.ororowear.com/collections/women/products/women-heated-jacket


Saturday, March 17, 2018

Bushcraft! - Expedition Research Kettle and Bushcraft Grill Set - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing two bushcraft products, both from Expedition Research; the Kettle and the Bushcraft Grills.

...

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set – Review

Link Expedition : http://www.expedition-research.com/bushcraft-grill/

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/2-Pack-Bushcraft-Stainless-Strength-Expedition/dp/B072QZHH25

Price : Retail $20 but at the time of filming these were running for $17

Weight :
Small : 128g / 4.5oz
Mini : 69g / 2.4oz
Carry Bag : 10g / .3oz

....

Expedition Research Expedition Kettle Review
Link : http://www.expedition-research.com/expedition-kettle/

Price : $20 Retail.   $18 on amazon at the time of filming

Weight : 6.2 oz
Hard Anodized Aluminum Construction

New Deep Dish 90-Degree Pour, Stay-On Lid. One Hand Pour Operation.

New Silicone Coated "Stand-Up" & "Lock-Down" Handle. Boil Water in the "Stand-Up" Position for Safety and "Lock-Down" for Storage.
New "Micro-Pour" Precision Spout.
Free Carry Bag Included.
BPA Free.
600ml capacity – 20oz


Thursday, March 15, 2018

Versus - Stove Speed Test #2 - Optimus Crux Lite



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the Optimus Crux Lite stove.  In the first video of this series, we put the MSR Pocket Rocket 2 against BRS 3000T; now we will see how the Optimus Crux Lite compares.




Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Behind the Scenes - After the Camp - Secret Sunrise Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently you have watched as Susan and I ventured into the backcountry to enjoy a beautiful sunrise, now it's time to go behind the scenes with everything that you didn't see!

Link to Adventure : https://youtu.be/y1DQKszYQGo


Sunday, March 11, 2018

Cookies! The Best Ever! - Viewer Mail #41




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I are honored and thankful!
Oh man.......these are some good cookies!




Thursday, March 8, 2018

The Backcountry Secret Sunrise Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Thank you all of joining Susan and I for our next overnight adventure.  This involves an ambitious trip into the Backcountry of Western NC and a mission to experience a bitterly cold Sunrise!

After the Camp is coming up on Monday where we will go behind the scenes of what you see in this Adventure.


Wednesday, March 7, 2018

How to Setup the Outdoor Vitals Dominion 2.5 Person Backpacking Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Outdoor Vitals Dominion 2.5 Person Backpacking Tent.
….

Link : Link :  Link : https://outdoorvitals.com/collections/tents-and-tarps/products/dominion-2-5p-backpacking-tent


Monday, March 5, 2018

'Tactical' and Reversible - Carinthia G Loft Reversible Jacket Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Olive Green and Sand!
G-Loft!

Today Luke is previewing the Carinthia Reversible Jacket and you will have the chance to buy it if you are interested.  Find out why now.

Purchase : http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/p/gear-deals.html

……

Link : https://www.carinthia.eu/bags/en/shop/G-Loft+Reversible+Jacket/?card=1225#_tab_content1
Cost : $200USD

G-Loft Reversible Jacket

Size:
S-XXL

Weight:
1.10lbs for the large700 g (Size L)

Out-In-Side Fabric
100% Polyamide (poly-ah-Myde

G-Loft ISO+ Filling
145g/m²

Colors
olive/sand

Comfort Temperature (EN 342):
5F /- 15°C

Extremely lightweight due to its thermal efficiency
soft and downy to the touch
retains full insulating power even when wet
does not absorb humidity
allows moisture to escape
machine washable

excellent ability to regain loft after several compressions
anti-allergenic, anti bacterial
ykk zippers
wind flap
chin guard
2 large outer pockets
elastic drawcord at hem
elastic cuffs
a compression bag is included if you purchase new; since I purchased used, it didn’t come with it.
Synthetic fill is good for wet and damp conditions which is light, warm and breathable

I am unable to review this product adequantly because it doesn’t fit me proper and I will explain how this came to be.  I was on ebay recently looking for something or another and I happen upon a listing for this jacket.  It was a small but for the price, I figure I would gamble on it.  Well I received the jacket and it is very nice but unfortunately it is too small for me.

So what follows are my impressions of the jacket with limited use.  More than anything, I wanted to make a video on this jacket so that I could get some awareness on this product out there.. This is something that you can have imported here to the USA but it will be very difficult to locate this for sale in the usa as it mainly found in Europe.  Speaking of which Carthina they have been making sleeping bags for civilians and for military applications for over 70 years.  They are based in Austria and are known for very high quality and also, a generally high price.  Military grade products in most if not all cases.

Thoughts on this jacket :

Very well made, very warm, compressible. Stitching is very good



Smart design.  No matter which way you wear it, you have two outside pockets and to inside pockets.  All of which are zippered.



I am familiar with G-Loft from other Carthina products and it is VERY warm and is very close to being as capable as Down.  Probably the closest matching when it comes to synthetic materials.



The material has a cold feeling to it but warms up quickly.



High collar which can block the wind from you neck.  It can also be cinched around the collar to block out snow.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Packit Gourmet Austintacious Tortilla Soup Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet's Austintacious Tortilla Soup!  While it's very good there is one alarming aspect, find out what that is now!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/AustintaciousTortillaSoup.html



Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Stove Speed #1 - Pocket Rocket 2 VS BRS 3000T - VERSUS!





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today Luke begins his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and to start off with this series, we have the MSR Pocket Rocket 2 vs BRS 3000T.



Which shall be the winner and move on to face the others?


Monday, February 26, 2018

What Do You Need? - Optimus Elektra FE Cook System Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Optimus Elektra FE Cook System!

....

Link : https://www.optimusstoves.com/us/us/16999-8019748-optimus-elektra-fe

Price : Retail is $100 but you will find this for a bit lower here and there.

Weight :

Entire Kit : 1lbs 1oz and that is without a can of fuel.
Pot with Top : 9.7 oz
Stove with storage bag : 2.9oz
Wind Screen : 3oz
Sponge : .4oz
Piezo ignitor : .7oz
Aluminum

The Elektra FE Cook System is a fuel-efficient, high-performance wonder – you get a 28% faster boil time at a 20% fuel savings. (Small print: faster compared to a normal pot with no lid or windscreen.). The lightweight system that fits snugly in your pack includes the Crux Lite stove, a heat exchange pot with lid and a new non-stick coating, clip-on windscreen, our practical BOB cleanup sponge and a handheld Piezo ignitor. I’ll take your “fast” and raise you one: In just over 2 minutes, you have boil and soup’s on!

Fuel Type
LPG gas canisters
Boil Time
2.3 min/1L
Burn Time
[max output] 90min
Heat Output
3000W
Piezo Ignition
yes
Includes crux lite stove, heat exchange pot, lid, grill pan, piezo igniter, windshield

…..

·       A lightweight, fast-cooking backpacking stove
-        Not the lightest or the Fastest .  You will see some describe this set as ultralight but that isn’t accurate.  In fact, as a kit it is heavy compared to titanium offerings…which are much lighter and more expensive.
·       Boils a liter of water in under 2.5 minutes – I found it to be around 3 minutes with my testing.
·       Windshield makes cook times faster
·       Piezo ignition lights stove without lighter or matches
·       Lid doubles as fry pan for added versatility

The lightweight Crux Lite stove features Heat Exchange Technology and 10,200 BTU of heat output for fast and effortless boiling.

Review :

I tend to go more minimal with a focus on light and fast backpacking but as a whole this is a great kit.  This is a great kit which is only missing a few items such as a spork and so on.

It’s a nice setup for the price

The medium size fuel canister, the stove burner head (in its own transport bag), and the Piezo lighter all fit inside the pot system with room to spare. Also included is a drawstring closure mesh bag that encases the whole system. This makes for easy transport and setup. The Optimus "system" fully meets my needs.

would highly recommend for all conditions except extreme cold and altitude since the fuel used does not work well in those conditions.

The nonstick surface is especially nice if you are cooking while out on your adventure. The "frypan" top makes great egg pucks for sandwich thins. It will do a nice sausage patty too, but you are gonna have to cut up the bacon slices.