Friday, October 19, 2018

Rained Out - Overnight Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This Luke's most recent Overnight Adventure and it was a wet one!
Thank you all for joining me!








Wednesday, October 17, 2018

AWESOME POUCH! - Medium Reversible Pouch - Pouch 5




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today up for review is the Medium Reversible Pouch which is one of my favorites.  Trust me, this is AWESOME!

This is the 5th episode of Pouches which is all about PALS/MOLLE pouches.  There are so many pouches and variations on the market but when you go online to try to find the perfect one it is virtually impossible to tell what you are looking at.  Most sites don't even provide dimensions for size referencing.

Where to find them?  eBay will be your best bet.
Price : Whatever you can find it for.




Monday, October 15, 2018

The Forgotten Special Forces Backpack - Gregory Spear UM21 Military Back...



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is showing off the forgotten Special Forces backpack which was made my Gregory in the 90's.  This is the UM21 StrapMaster 2000....

Is it better than the ILBE ruck?
You will want to see this pack!




Friday, October 12, 2018

Why Do I Open Packages this Way? - Viewer Mail #47




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's time for another Viewer Mail episode and I am forever thankful for the kindness that you have shown my family and I.  In this episode, some Knife Porn!!!! and I explain why I open packages the way that I do...

You don't want to miss this....    (o_0)
haha


Wednesday, October 10, 2018

More Snugpak Issues - Buyer Beware Warning - Stasha Tarp Quality Check



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Last week I pointed out the poor quality of the Snugpak All Weather Shelter Tarp with my review and today I'm doing a quick quality check of the Snugpak Stasha Tarp.....

Buyer Beware Warning!


Monday, October 8, 2018

Quick Look - Military IFAK Individual First Aid Kit



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Not long ago we took at a look at an IFAK Pouch and I figured that we should see what a military IFAK kit looks like so here we go!  By the way, IFAK stands for; Individual First Aid Kit.




Friday, October 5, 2018

Winner Winner Fjallraven Canvas Belt



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Thank you everyone for entering the giveaway!
Good Luck and Stay Tuned as another Giveaway is coming up VERY soon!.


Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Warning - Snugpak Pro Force All Weather Shelter Tarp - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today I am reviewing the Snugpak All Weather Shelter Tarp and my questions is this; Snugpak, what the heck has happened to your quality?

This is terrible!

Link : https://www.snugpakusa.com/product.php?id=85


Monday, October 1, 2018

Esbit vs Expedition Research - Hexamine Tablets - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke has a head to head battle;

Esbit VS Expedition Research Hexamine Tablets!
Firestarter vs Firestarter!

Expedition Research makes some bold claims...are they true or are they false?
Find out now.

Link : http://www.expedition-research.com/shop/expedition-solid-fuel-hexamine-tablets-rugged-submersible-storage-tray


Friday, September 28, 2018

NAVY UPDATE - Random Lunch and Chat




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke at Lone Wolf Mountain as he takes a break from reviews and adventures to talk with the viewers. Including an update concerning his daughter and the Navy.


Wednesday, September 26, 2018

USMC First Aid Kit Pouch (IFAK) A1 Pouch - Pouch 4




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the 4th episode of Pouches which is all about PALS/MOLLE pouches.  There are so many pouches and variations on the market but when you go online to try to find the perfect one it is virtually impossible to tell what you are looking at.  Most sites don't even provide dimensions for size referencing.

Today up for review is the USMC First Aid Kit Pouch (IFAK) A1 Pouch



Link : https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/individual-first-aid-kit-pouch-coyote

Price : $7.95 for a used one; $13.95 new
Weight : 5.9oz

This is a genuine US military surplus Individual First Aid Kit Pouch (IFAK) in Coyote Brown.

This pouch measures approximately 7" (H) x 6" (W) x 3" (D) and features a plastic buckle fastener to secure the pouch closed.  This pouch was designed to hold an insert (not included) that contains individual first aid kit supplies.  This pouch features plastic stiffeners on each side to maintain the shape of the pouch even if it's not full.  This would be a great general purpose utility pouch that can be added to any piece of MOLLE/PALS compatible gear.

Excellent pouch for assorted items; you could place your misc kit inside of this, your first aid kit, power bag, etc.




Monday, September 24, 2018

Is It Any Good? - ClubTAC September 2018 Subscription Box Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the September ClubTAC Subscription Box. Is it any good?  Find out now!

...

Link : https://www.clubtac.com




Friday, September 21, 2018

Vlogging Hurricane Florence 2018 - Mountains of NC




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke as Hurricane Florence makes landfall in NC and slowly tracks towards the mountains.

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Multi-Purpose - Specter Ground Illumination Flare Pouch - Pouch 3



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the 3rd episode of Pouches which is all about PALS/MOLLE pouches.  There are so many pouches and variations on the market but when you go online to try to find the perfect one it is virtually impossible to tell what you are looking at.  Most sites don't even provide dimensions for size referencing.

Today up for review is the Specter Ground Illumination Flare Pouch!



Link :https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/flare-pouch
Price : $9.99
Weight : 4oz


Monday, September 17, 2018

Innovative Hanging System - Ultralight Food Hanging System Preview



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is previewing a food hanging system which has launched into a Kickstarter program today.

Link : https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/selkirkdesign/worlds-first-ultralight-food-hanging-system?ref=91tgob




Friday, September 14, 2018

Revisited - Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke and Susan are revisiting the Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler to discuss some recent changes which have taken place.

Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/DeluxeMealSampler.html


Wednesday, September 12, 2018

The Perfect Flashlight Pouch - Specter Single 40mm Pouch - Pouch 2



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the second episode of Pouches which is all about PALS/MOLLE pouches.  There are so many pouches and variations on the market but when you go online to try to find the perfect one it is virtually impossible to tell what you are looking at.  Most sites don't even provide dimensions for size referencing.

I'm going to change this with this new series and today we have the Specter Single 40mm Pouch which makes an excellent flashlight carrier.



Link : https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/single-40mm-grenade-pouch

Price : $3.95

Colors : Available in Black, Olive Drab, Coyote Tan and ACU Universal Camo

Weight : 2.5oz

This pouch is designed to carry a single 40mm grenade.

This pouch is constructed from 1000 denier cordura nylon with an inner packcloth liner and features both velcro and side release buckle closures for maximum versatility and pouch security. This pouch also features Specter Gear Specter Snap system that is fully compatible with current MOLLE/PALS load bearing equipment yet allows for greater versatility and easy field repair. Additionally, this pouch features Specter Gear new free flow pouch bottom design that allows sand, dust, water and other debris to rapidly pass through the bottom of the pouch much more efficiently than a grommet or mesh would.

Small enough for use on a backpack as well as your belt for tools and gear.
In my opinion, this is the perfect size for a flashlight as long as it is within

What I like is that it is extra secure; you have the buckle and the velcro


Monday, September 10, 2018

Fjallraven Canvas Belt Giveaway - Enter NOW



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke and Susan are doing a Giveaway for a Fjallraven Product...
Enter Now!

Watch the video below;
Valley of the Snakes Overnight Adventure : https://youtu.be/WHUJYPepIFs

Comment on your favorite piece of gear from the adventure below.
Boom, it's that simple!


Sunday, September 9, 2018

Awesome for Me, Awesome for You! - Viewer Mail #46



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's time for another Viewer Mail episode and this one will give you a preview of an upcoming giveaway!

As always we are so very thankful!




Friday, September 7, 2018

Vanquest IBEX 35 Review - Excellent Quality but HEAVY




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Vanquest IBEX 35 backpack.  While it has a lot going for it there are some issues....
...

Link : https://www.vanquest.com/products/ibex-35-backpack.html

Weight : 4.95lbs
Cost : $220
Colors : Black, Gray, Coyote Brown ; there is a multicam version but it is more expensive.

Summary : This is the NEXT Generation of IBEX pack from Vanquest and what we are seeing here are some profound changes which have made this pack better in just about every single way.  That’s not to say that there isn’t room for improvement because I do have some suggestions to make.

A few months back, you may have noticed a rush of reviews on this backpack but instead of rushing to publish a video to youtube I have been testing this product out in every sort of situation possible and after many months I am ready to share my thoughts.  So what you have here is a very comprehensive review.




Wednesday, September 5, 2018

USGI ACU Reversible Field Tarp



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Last week we discussed the USGI Marpat Field Tarp and today we are looking at its twin brother the ACU Field Tarp!   This is a short and sweet episode so lets get to it!




Monday, September 3, 2018

Vasque Men's Mantra 2.0 Hiking Shoe – Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Vasque Men's Mantra 2.0 Hiking Shoe.



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Vasque-Mantra-Hiking-Earth-Pepper/dp/B00I69VSU8

Price : Retail Price is $130 – But at the time of filming these are selling for as low as $84

·       Weight : WEIGHT : 2 lbs. 4 oz. (1026g)

Versions : There is a men’s and women’s version as well as a GTX version which features gore-tex and is waterproof.  That version retails for $150

Colors : This color and a dark earth and chili pepper.
Sizes : 7 – 13 with wide sizes available.


Sunday, September 2, 2018

Did Luke Eat a Chicken Foot? - Viewer Mail #45



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

We are doing a bit of getting caught up and today it's mail time and as always we are honored and thankful!


Friday, August 31, 2018

6500 LUMENS!!!! - NiteCore Concept 2 - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing a flashlight that is so powerful that it could easily start a fire!  This is the NiteCore 6500 Lumens Concept 2 which is a 6,500 Lumens torch!



Link : http://www.nitecorestore.com/Concept-2-6500-lumen-rechargeable-flashlight-p/fl-nite-concept2.htm

Price : Retail $200
Weight : 12.28oz




Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Revisiting the USMC Field Tarp



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the USMC Field Tarp which features the Marpat Camo.
Genuine Military Surplus and it's AWESOME!
This is my followup review after 4 additional years worth of use!




Monday, August 27, 2018

Best Saw? - Agawa Canyon BOREAL21 Folding Bow Saw Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing what he believes to be the one of the very best hand saws out on the market. This is the Agawa Canyon BOREAL21.

Link : https://agawacanyoninc.com

Friday, August 24, 2018

The Secret Gem 2 First Attempt Day Hike Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke has found a new Secret Gem to share with you all and with this adventure, he fails to make it to the end of the trail.  Find out why now and enjoy some amazing country along the NC/TN border.

Yes, this was one STEEP hike!

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Propper Series 100 8" Military Boot - Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Propper Series 100 8" military Boot.



Link : https://www.propper.com/series-100-8-military-boot.html

Price : $109.99
Sizes : 5m – 15m with wide sizes available.
There is a waterproof version available for a bit more.

Pros :
Very good quality.  Over the years I have purchased and used many brands of military boot and I can tell you that  they are not all created equal.  For an example, I have found Rebook’s to be very good but Rocky’s to be TERRIBLE in all categories.

Short break in period – roughly 10 days

Lightweight : Not the lightest of all boots but not the heaviest either.  I have some which are extremely heavy and will kill your legs are a long day or hiking.

Very comfortable in general especially after break in.  Very supportive and the included sole inserts allow you to tailor your fit.

Soles do a good job of conforming to the pressure of your steps.

Good arch and ankle support.

They are made from water-resistant suede leather and 1000D Cordura that keeps them nice and dry. Speaking of dry, they do dry quite fast, which is nice after a day in the Florida swamps. They are pretty cool inside. Combined with a good pair of socks and your feet stay decently cool. While they cool, this is Florida and my feet sweat, however, now after some heavy-duty daily use they still don’t smell. I can’t say that about my old boots. Propper equips the Series 100 with an anti microbial lining that keeps the smell away.

I think so. They are only a hair over a hundred bucks and when it comes to boots that’s pretty affordable. They’re true fit to U.S. sizes so there is no guesswork when choosing a pair. They are supportive, comfortable, and they don’t smell like…well like a foot. The Series 100s are solid boots.

I’ve been testing these out for roughly 3 months and so far they have held up well to all of the miles which I have put on them which I estimate to be around 45 miles now.

Good laces; have held up well to use.

The uppers have metal loop eyelets from the ankles up. Propper says it’s a NATO speed lacing system. The eyelets make room for quick loosening of the laces for removing the boots. Tightening is likewise fast and easy, so much so that it’s necessary to keep tension on the laces until they’re tied, else they loosen on their own. It’s a small price to pay for speed, especially when considering these as duty gear.

Sole flexibility is moderate. Propper says they’re oil-resistant, too.

Cons :

These boots have a tendency to rub the right ankle and this seems to a common complaint which I have seen online.  This has virtually gone away with wear and use.

Because of the high profile of these boots, in hot temps you will sweat a lot!  This is common with all boots of this style.

I found the sole to be SLICK right out of the box on wet rocks and wood surfaces.  In fact, when new I just about slid across my deck while walking out to my office.   With use they have become more grippy; on dirt, gravel, in the forest, etc, the boots do a good job of digging in with little give.

……

In the end these boots have worked out very well for me and I think they are worthy of your outdoor needs.  Something to think about with these boots is that you need to narrow down your sizing more so than a full leather boot and that’s because you can’t form Cordura like you can leather.  With leather military boots you can soak them, allow them to dry during use which will provide you with a custom fit.  With these boots you do have the soles which you can use or not use so that you can essentially achieve the same sort of fit.

The price is good, the quality is very good and they are comfortable.




Monday, August 20, 2018

ThruNite Catapult V6 Flashlight - Honest Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Why does Luke have TWO of the ThruNite Catapult V6 Flashlights?
Was it due to a defect?
Will he recommend the Catapult V6 Flashlight to his viewers?
Find out now in his honest review which doesn't hold back any punches.



Link : http://www.thrunite.com/thrunite-catapult-v6-mini-thrower-rechargeable-flashlight/
Price : $74.99
Weight : 10oz with battery

Cool White and NW versions

This is my second V6 as the first which I received was actually defective.  It turned out to be the battery and not the flashlight; any sort of defect with a ThruNite product is a rarity with my use over the years. Out of all of the flashlights which I have reviewed, only maybe 4 have had any problems.  I have never had an issue from a ThruNite Battery until now.


Friday, August 17, 2018

How to Tell How Much Fuel is Left in Your Canister - Backpacking Basics



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Have you ever wondered how much fuel that you have left in a used gas canister?  Now you can find out!

This is Backpacking Basics and today I'm sharing with you a little trail secret which you can use to determine how much fuel you have left in your canisters!  All that you need is some water......




Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Eagle Industries Charge Utility Pouch with AS Lining - Pouch 1



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview

This is the first episode of Pouches which is all about PALS/MOLLE pouches.  There are so many pouches and variations on the market but when you go online to try to find the perfect one it is virtually impossible to tell what you are looking at.  Most sites don't even provide dimensions for size referencing.

I'm going to change this with this new series and to start things off we have the Eagle Industries Charge/Utility Pouch with Anti-Static Lining.



Link : https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/mlcs-charge-pouch

Price : $37.95 (expensive; I’d like to see these for around $25)
Weight : 10.1oz
NSN# 8465-01-573-9554  8465015739554

Manufacturer: Eagle Industries

Color: Khaki

This is a genuine US military surplus MOLLE Charge Pouch with Anti-Static lining, manufactured by Eagle Industries.  The pouch is Khaki in color and has an anti-static liner built in-between the outside and inside layers of 500D Nylon.  The top opening features a 1" sewn-in elastic band to hold in the contents, and a flap top lid closure that secures down with Velcro and a plastic buckle.  The flap can also be tucked down inside the pouch, and taller items (like a bottle, radio, etc) can be held down in the pouch using the Y-shaped fastex buckle strap and the elastic band.

This is a great general purpose large utility pouch that measures approximately 12" (H) x 8" (W) x 2" (D) and has 3 MOLLE straps on the back panel to attach to any MOLLE/PALS capable backpack or vest.  There is a drain grommet built in to the bottom of the pouch and there is also two rows of MOLLE webbing on the front of the pouch for attaching smaller pouches.

Features:

Flap top with hook and loop and adjustable fastex buckle with cinch strap closure

GENERAL PURPOSE POUCH DESIGNED TO HOLD DEMOLITION & BREACHING MATERIALS

1 inch wide sewn-in elastic opening to keep items secure

PALS webbing on front and back

Three (3) MOLLE straps

Grommet hole for drainage

Constructed from 500 Denier Nylon

Dimensions: 12" x 8" x 2"

Color: Khaki

MADE IN USA


Monday, August 13, 2018

Waving...Good Bye! - Olight H16 Wave Headlamp - Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is 'waving' good bye to the Olight H16 Wave Headlamp...find out what that means now!



Link : https://www.olightstore.com/olight-h16-wave
Price : Retail $60 /
Weight : 4.06oz

2000mAh battery pack.
500 lumens


Friday, August 10, 2018

Snakebite! How to Survive Being Bitten by a Venomous Snake



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently Luke had a VERY close call with a VERY dangerous rattlesnake; in this video he will be going over what to do and what not to do if you get bitten by a Venomous Snake.  This is the information which can save your life!

Adventure with the Timber Rattlesnake : https://youtu.be/WHUJYPepIFs


Wednesday, August 8, 2018

The Best Military Pack On the Market Today? - Savotta Jääkäri L Rucksack



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Want to see one of the best Military packs out on the market today? If yes, then check out my review of the Savotta Jääkäri L Rucksack.

This pack has it all;
Strength.
Comfort.
Adjustability.
Features.
Looks.
and the price isn't terrible either (when compared to other tactical companies).

There is a lot to this pack and this isn't a quick review as I go over every aspect.



Link : https://www.varusteleka.com/en/product/savotta-jaakari-l-rucksack/57972

Price : $309.99
Weight : 5.24lbs
Colors : Green, Black and M05 Woodland Camo – Woodland Version runs $328.99

Overnight Adventure Video Featuring this Pack : https://youtu.be/WHUJYPepIFs


Monday, August 6, 2018

My Favorite Backpacking/GPS App – AllTrails - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing his favorite backpacking/GPS app which is called AllTrails.  This is what he personally uses for his adventures and has been in testing for a full year now.

Link : https://www.alltrails.com/

Cost : Free limited Version ; $2.50 a month, $30 a year, Lifetime $100

This is my second year of using this app and I was able to renew for $20 thanks to a promotion email which I received.

Available on : Apple and Android – I’ve only used it on IOS so I can’t comment on the Android part.

Who this is for : Hiker, Backpacker, Trail Runner, even Mountain Biker
This is an extremely popular app for a good reason; it’s awesome!

On IOS alone it has an average rating of 4.9 with over 67K+ ratings!


Friday, August 3, 2018

After the Camp - Valley of the Snakes Adventure



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is After the Camp for the Valley of the Snakes Solo Overnight Adventure.  Luke talks about the trip, the snake encounters, the gear and so on.

Speaking of gear, here are some of the items which he had with him on that trip;

Sovatta Jääkäri L Rucksack
Israeli Poncho Liner
Snugpak Ionosphere
Mountain Laurel Designs GroundSheet
Terävä Skrama Bush Knife
High Route Gear RectangleLight Food Bag
Kifaru Ultralight Pullout bags
Nemo Zor Short Sleeping Pad
Swiss Military Stove
Toaks Titanium 750 pot


Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Better than Fjallraven? - Tru-Spec 24/7 Xpedition Pants - Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is one which a lot of viewers have been waiting for; the review of the Tru-Spec Men’s 24-7 Xpedition Pants.

Are they tough?
Are they comfortable?
Are they as good as Fjallraven?

Find out now!



Link : https://www.truspec.com/24-7-series/pants/men-s-24-7-xpedition-pants?msID=6002ee02-08bf-4a22-adaa-b7684781ae4d

Cost : MSRP $117 but can be found much cheaper on Amazon and so on. $69 for this size and color on amazon at the time of filming.

Colors : Ranger Green, Black, Coyote, Charcoal gray, ranger green and black, and more.

Sizes : 28x30 all the way up to 40x36

Summary :

These are in my opinion the perfect definition of a tactical pair of pants and besides the looks which scream tactical they have the features to make it true.  When I first saw these I instantly made a mental comparison with Fjallraven trousers which I have personally worn for years and years.

For adventures in cool to slightly warm conditions, these are excellent. Great for backpacking, excellent for bushcraft and for those whom do security they have enough pockets for all of your carry needs.

Pros :
Looks
Quality – Looks to be quiet good; ykk zippers
Features
Pockets – lots of options.  Love the cell phone pocket.
Fit – true to size for me; 32x30 excellent fit - All of the 24-7 Series® pants with a comfort slider waistband run about one size larger.  Large enough for an inner layer for warmth for the winter
Cost – excellent especially when you consider that you are getting what seems to be comparable quality to that of Fjallraven but at a fraction of the price.
Vents
Good drying Abilities; thanks to the material these quicker than any cotton
Tough : no rips or tears so far with my testing.  Reinforced in all the right places.
Flex – these pants offer a fair amount of stretch to them so you can maneuver as you need to. You can deep squat without any issues.

Cons :
Heavy
Hot.  Even with the side vents which do help in breezy conditions, these pants will hold in a lot of heat and for me personally, anything about 75F is simply too hot to wear them.  The warmest conditions that I have tested them out in was around 88F and it was a miserable experience…lots of sweat which was only compounded by the strenuous work which I was doing.  These are perfect for cooler weather

When I received these pants there were some random threads hanging here and there.  Nothing of any concern but not what I would expect to see for a pair of pants which cost around $100 retail.

Durability : This remains to be seen and I have to be honest about this. With Fjallraven trousers I have worn them for years; adventure after adventure, day after day and they have earned their status.  These pants haven’t; so far so good but only time will tell if they can hold up like Fjallraven’s do.


Monday, July 30, 2018

Ready to Haul - Gregory Baltoro 75 (2018) – Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

For numerous months I have been working to review the Gregory Baltoro 75L backpack and today, the Trail Review goes up as it is time to find out if the latest version of this famous pack is worth your hard earned money.

Maine Overnight Adventure Video : https://youtu.be/9rVG9ObplV0



Link : https://www.gregorypacks.com/backpacking/premium/baltoro-75/916BAL75.html

Price : Retail is around $320 – but at the time of filming I have seen it for around $225.

Weight : 5.22lbs

Colors : Dusk Blue and Orange

Sizes : S M L

Optional Liters : 65, 75, 85, and 95 which they refer to as the pro model

Pros :

Comfort : This pack fits like a glove…as the saying goes.  It hugs the body in all of the right places while giving you good lumbar support which is adjustable.  Excellent balance between the hips and shoulders. distributes weight very nicely. straps are super comfortable

Excellent quality

Easy to access pocket and gear – U-shaped access is awesome.

Good capacity

Stylish pack – I love the orange color.

Hydration bag is also a day pack – Offers 12liters of capacity.  Very simple, not the most comfortable but it is useful.

Flexibility : Baltoro’s innovative pivoting shoulder straps and hipbelt play an important role in carrying comfort. Each piece shifts independently, so the pack remains level and close against your body while the shoulder straps and hipbelt move up and down. This feature is especially noticeable on extended climbs, where I could feel one side drop while the other raised up as I took a step

Included rain cover does what it is supposed to do; keep the pack dry. It works.

Waterproof hippocket also works to keep the rain out.

Manages weight as good as most external frame packs; 47lbs loadouts are comfortable with this pack and that says a lot.

Lots of places to clip and attach gear to.

Cons :

Weight : While Gregory has been dropping the weight of this pack over the years with each generation, this thing is still very heavy!  Over 5lbs with the hydration carry day pack and included pack cover – this is not a light pack.  With that being said, this pack is made for hauling so what you get with the weight is the ability to carry a lot of gear, food and water very comfortably.

Price : Full retail price is high; but the on sale price is great.

The Stretch Mesh water bottle pocket has a tendency to push empty bottles out while you are hiking. I’ve had this happen multiple times while on my adventures. To fix this you really have to tighten the compression straps

Breathability : while the back panel and hip belt are more breathable than ever before you are still going to get soaked in sweat when you are hiking.  There is no way around it. It’s better than before but doesn’t compare to some offerings from competitors.

Small Pocket : The only disappointment is that the water-resistant hipbelt pocket is too small to fit a larger smartphone

Summary : At nearly 5 pounds, it’s overbuilt for those who want to travel fast and light, but if you value the extra cushioning and support, it’s one of the best packs on the market.




Friday, July 27, 2018

Almost Bitten by a Rattlesnake - A Second from Disaster - Overnight Adve...



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This Luke's most recent Overnight Adventure which almost turned into a life and death situation while being literally, out in the middle of nowhere.  See what happened now in Valley of the Snakes - A Second From Disaster.


Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Camper’s Cafe - Packit Gourmet’s Good Day Sunshine Bowl (Oatmeal) - Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet’s Good Day Sunshine Bowl (Oatmeal) for review.

Will it be a HIT or Miss?

Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/GoodDaySunshineBowl.html


Monday, July 23, 2018

Ultralight! - Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 - Trail Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

 Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It is time for Luke it pass on his review of the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 tent after multiple months of trail testing!

Link : https://www.bigagnes.com/Tiger-Wall-UL2


Friday, July 20, 2018

Sierra Designs Cloud 35 Sleeping Bag – Zipperless Sleeping Bag Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sierra Designs Cloud 35 Sleeping Bag which happens to be a Zipperless Bag; recently seen in the Maine Overnight Adventure.

Link to Adventure : https://youtu.be/9rVG9ObplV0



Link : https://sierradesigns.com/cloud-800-35-degree/
Price : Retail is $270 but it is common to see this selling for around $200
Weight : 1lb 7oz
Sizes : Regular and Long – This is the Regular version.
Versions : There is also a Cloud 20 degree back which is 1lb 13oz
Color – only available in blue.

REGULAR

·       EN Limit Temp Rating: 26F / -3C
·       EN Comfort Temp Rating:  36F / 2C
·       Fill Weight: 9.5oz / 268g
·       Minimum Weight: 1lb 7oz / 0.66kg
·       Sleeping Pad Sleeve Circumference:  45.5" / 115.6 cm
·       Fits Sleeping Pad (WxH): 20" x 2.5" / 51 x 6.4 cm
·       Fits Up To: 6' 0" / 183 cm
·       Length: 78in / 198 cm
·       Shoulder Circumference: 60" / 152 cm
·       Hip Circumference: 58" / 147 cm
·       Footbox Circumference: 40" / 102 cm
·       Mesh Stoarge Bag Size (LxW): 20 x 12" / 51 x 31 cm
·       Stuff Sack Size (L x W): 13 x 7" / 33 x 18cm
·       Mummy style bag

·      MATERIALS
o   Insulation: 800FP PFC-Free DriDown
o   Shell Fabric: 15d nylon risptop
o   Liner Fabric: 15d nylon risptop



·      KEY FEATURES
o   Patent pending zipperless design for more comfort
o   Oversized integrated comforter resemble all the comforts of your bed at home
o   Insulated shoulder pocket keeps comforter wrapped around you sealing out drafts
o   Patented self-sealing foot vent allows fast and easy ventilation
o   Sleeping pad sleeve keeps pad under you for comfort and warmth and replaces unnecessary bottom insulation
o   PFC-Free 800FP DriDown® and 15d nylon fabrics

Pros :
The whole no zipper thing….it works!
Incredibly lightweight for the temp rating.  No bottom down which saves on weight. You might be saying; Hey I want my down on the bottom and the truth is, no you don’t.. When you compress down It doesn’t keep you warm.. Loft gives you warmth.

Very comfortable – because of the design you can sleep how you want to and it’s easy to manage warmth and air. Think of this bag as a mix between a sleeping bag, a quilt and a comforter as you have a lot of options when it comes to use.  You can have your arms in, arms out, you can even rotate it and use it like a down quilt.

Packs down SUPER small thanks to the high fill down.

Excellent quality and materials.

The temp rating is 35F and I believe that you can reach that rating.  The lowest temps that I have experienced in this is 40F and it was incredibly warm.

I also like the "self sealing foot vent" that allows you to stick your feet out the bottom without undoing anything if they're feeling hot. It does not seem to let any warm air out when our feet are cold.

Cons :
My typical complaint with Sierra Designs is their color schemes; it’s a sleeping bag, who really cares of the color….but wait….I do.  It’s not bad but I wish that it wasn’t so vibrant. 

Because there is no zipper while tossing around in the night it is possible to pop out because you can’t seal it shut. The bag does tuck in on itself and you will have to be conscious of what you are doing to prevent it from unraveling.  Want to prevent the unraveling? Insert a sleeping pad into the back and you won’t have this problem…but then you could potentially get cold in lower temps.

Also with a sleeping pad inserted, the hood of the sleeping bag doesn’t wrap around my head comfortably.

For summer use I like the sleeping pad sleeve….but in the cooler months I don’t because it has a tendency to pull the bag away from your body which means that you will have cold spots.

Summary : I love this sleeping bag and so does my wife.  She has stolen this from me on a number of trips because she likes the ‘mummy’ feel.


Thursday, July 19, 2018

A Cot for Backpacking? - Go-Kot Camping Cot Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Go-Kot Camping Cot which was most recently seen in the Military Surplus Overnight Adventure.

Link : https://youtu.be/V9sx2_WfnRY



Link :  https://store.campingcot.com

Price : Reg. $150 EL. $180

Sizes : 2 sizes; Regular 74” long / Extra long 84”

Colors : Peacock Blue, Coyote Brown, Gray, Navy Blue, Red, Green, Black and more.

Assembled: 26"W x 74"L x 8"H

Carrying Bag: 8"W x 28"L x 3"H (Included)

Weight: 9 lbs.

Made in the USA
Capacity: 350 lbs.

Review :
Pros :

Truly excellent design.

Lightweight compared to many outdoor cots.

Small form factor.

Can be carried for backpacking purposes

Excellent materials.

Good length and width

Very stable

Easy to put together.

Easy to take down.

Provides lots of support for those which back, hips and knee issues.

Recognizable brand as they have been around since the 70’s.

Floor guards are included.  For this type of money they should be included and I am glad that they are. They are meant to protect hardwood floors and tent floors.

Cons :

Even though there are more expensive cots out on the market this one isn’t cheap but it is made with top notch materials and it is made in the USA.

Even though it is lighter than a lot of cots, it is still heavy at almost 10lbs.  When getting the details ready to film this video I saw a review on Amazon that stated that it’s so light that it;

“it doesn’t add hardly any weight to our backpacks!”

That’s complete rubbish as you WILL notice 10lbs of weight in your pack but; for that ten pounds you are getting a very comfortable cot to sleep on.

The cordura material is rough to sleep on; not a problem if you are inside of a sleeping bag but not the most comfortable if you have just a blanket.

Summary :

I didn’t think I would like the Go-Kot as much as I have and that’s based on my previous experiences with other cot products.. I have military cots, cots from other companies and in most cases they aren’t products that I would really recommend for numerous reason but the Go-Kot is different.

It’s a very smart product which features a truly ingenious design which I haven’t seen before.

While it isn’t the cheapest cot, it is by far not the most expensive.  Cots can be expensive with prices going up into the $300 range when it comes to backpacking models.

This cot is very easy to put together and easy to take down; can be done in a minute.  This is important because some cots can be hard as FUNK to put together…I have some which literally require two people.

The Go-Kot isn’t the lightest but when you factor in a balance of weight, price, ease of use and durability, it hits all of the important marks for a great cot.




Monday, July 16, 2018

British MRE Menu 19 - What's in the BOX? - Viewer Mail! #44



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always we are honored and thankful!
By the way, I recently had this MRE in the Military Surplus Adventure and it was AWESOME!

Link : https://youtu.be/V9sx2_WfnRY




Friday, July 13, 2018

Military Surplus Overnight Adventure - -




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is what everyone has been waiting for; the Next Military Surplus Overnight Adventure featuring Military Surplus from all around the world.

A Rare Army Tent.
Moose; the 1986 CUCV M1008 Army Truck.
Some Bushcraft.
A Camp Fire.
MRE's.
A project rifle that I have been working on.
Storms.

I hope that you all enjoy it!

Strength and Honor




Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Extremely Rare Military Tent - Nemo Switchblade 1P SE Tent



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is one of the rarest tents that was developed for the military by Nemo as part of their SHIELD division.




Monday, July 9, 2018

How to Properly Care for Your Tent - Expert Advice - Do's and Don'ts



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about Tents and how to ensure that your tent will last you for years and years while continuing to protect you from the elements.  This guide covers it all; do's and don'ts!




Saturday, July 7, 2018

LACKING - Packit Gourmet Market Pasta Puttanesca Review



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet's Market Pasta Puttanesca!

It's......Lacking....

Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/Market-Pasta-Puttanesca.html

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Better Than a Woobie? - Israeli Poncho Liner - IDF GI Issue - Military S...





This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is taking a look at some hard to find military surplus;
The Israeli Poncho Liner.  Is it better than the USGI Woobie Blanket?
Find out now.....You will want to see this blanket.

Link : https://www.thunderheadoutfitters.com/product/israeli-poncho-liner

Weight :  Roughly 1.2lbs
Cost : $40.00




Monday, July 2, 2018

How to Backpack in Bear Country - How to Handle and Prevent Bear Encounters



This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about bears; how to handle and how to prevent encounters.  This is something that we receive a lot of questions about and we will show you all what has worked for us over almost 40 years while living, hiking, backpacking in bear country.




Friday, June 29, 2018

How to Setup the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 Tent



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons.   Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 Tent.

Link : https://www.bigagnes.com/Tiger-Wall-UL2




Wednesday, June 27, 2018

French Army Tents Waterproof WARNING F1 and Desert Commando



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons. We are 100% Agenda Free.  Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and you need to watch this video if you own or have been thinking about getting a French Military Tent!

You've Been Warned!

….

Link to F1 tent video : https://youtu.be/Wi1XN1EMTf0




Monday, June 25, 2018

Wait, It has a Dial? No Buttons? - Nitecore EC22 Flashlight - Review



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons.   Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Nitecore EC22 Flashlight!  This is certainly....different and it has a DIAL!

Link NiteCore : http://www.nitecorestore.com/NITECORE-EC22-infinite-brightness-flashlight-p/fl-nite-ec22.htm

   


Friday, June 22, 2018

Backpacking Maine's Coast - Overnight Adventure



This channel is made possible by the viewers and the generous donations of our Patrons.   Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today The Outdoor Gear Review heads to Maine for an adventure of a life time; the Bold Coast Trail!  11 Miles of beautiful forest and rugged and rocky coast.

One word...amazing!
Another word...Mosquitoes!

Enjoy the adventure everyone!  A special thank you goes out to all of those who made this adventure possible!


Wednesday, June 20, 2018

What's In Your Pack - Cordage - The Most Important Gear



This channel is made possible by the support of our viewers; Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is talking about the importance of cord and why you should always make sure to carry some in your pack.  Day hike, overnight, multi-day; it's Important!

Link to the Micro Cord : https://atwoodrope.com/collections/micro-cord




Monday, June 18, 2018

Speed Test - Versus - Primus Classic Trail Stove - #4



This Channel is made Possible by the Viewers as we are 100% Agenda Free. Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the Primus Classic Trail Stove.

Also, please forgive some of the camera's focusing issues; I was experimenting with a few things back when this was recorded in February!




Saturday, June 16, 2018

How to Overcome Your Fears When Backpacking - The Dark, Bears, Snakes, G...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

For this episode, I will be going over the most common fears which people have in regards to the outdoors and how to overcome them!  This is backpacking basics and thanks for all of the support for this series and the suggestions for addition episodes.




Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Tactical Ready! Sabra Gear Solo Pack – Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sabra Gear Solo pack; a strong and practical pack for your daily carry needs.  It looks like the Sting pack but it is in fact, different!



Link : https://sabra-gear.com/products/solo
Price : $209 without a waist belt, $253 with one
Weight : 3lbs

In the past we took a look at the sting pack which is 31L vs the solo which is 21

·   Full 500 D Cordura Construction, both outside and inside fabric.
·   Double layered bottom for reinforcement and extreme durability.
·   Full opening of the main compartment by a super tough #10 YKK zipper, for quick and easy access to all of your gear.
·   All the zippers are with durable and easy to grab zipper pulls, for easy operation when wearing gloves or under stress.
·   Two inner pockets with zippers for easy and secure organization.
·   Two open side pockets for bottles or long objects.
·   Hydration bladder sleeve and two hydration ports.
·   Effective compression system allows flat and tight compression when the pack is not fully loaded.
·   Long compression straps allows carrying bulky items on the outside of the pack.
·   Removable back panel built from a polymer sheet and a 6061 T-6 aluminum rod, provides excellent load transfer, stability, and freedom of movement. Can be bent to fit perfectly to the user's body.
·   Removable emergency pad.
·   Optional removable waist belt for maximum comfort when carrying heavy loads.
·   MOLLE webbing In key areas.
·   Two axe loops.
·   Made in Israel.



Volume:
21 Liter / 1280 Cubic inches

Materials:
Fabric: 500 D Cordura.
Zippers: Highly durable #10 and #8 YKK zippers.
Buckles: ITW Nexus and National Molding buckles and plastic parts.
Webbing: Mil-spec nylon straps and webbing.

Solo without waist belt: 1.4 kg / 3 Pounds

Waist belt: 280 Grams / 10 Ounce

Dimensions cm / inch:

Height - 50 / 19.5
Width - 26 / 10
Depth - 16 / 6




Tuesday, June 12, 2018

There are Issues - UCO Stormproof Sweetfire Review








This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the UCO STORMPROOF SWEETFIRE Strikeable Fire Starter.  It's good but not exactly what the company claims them to be.

This will be the LAST of the UCO firestarters that I will review.



Price : $10 on the UCO web site.  $16 on Amazon

Link UCO : https://www.ucogear.com/stormproof-sweetfire-strikable-matches-20-pack-mt--sm--sfp

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-STORMPROOF-SWEETFIRE-Strikeable-Starter/dp/B0796V1V6T

Weight : .2oz each

In the past I reviewed the Sweetfire fire starters and for the most part this is the same product with the exception that this features a much larger section of ignition source material.

Made from sugarcane waste — Bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable biofuel. 20 individual ‘Points’ conveniently connected & ready to break-off and use. Each Point burns for 7 minutes each. Strikable tip, can be used with striker on box, eliminating need for matches. Infused with vegetable wax, UCO Sweetfire is good for the planet & great for every adventure.

This new Stormproof Sweetfire is not only sweet for your gear collection, it's sweet for the planet. Made from a sugarcane by-product called bagasse, this key ingredient is already used around the world as a renewable biofuel. Each of these match points (there are 20 per box) is infused with vegetable wax to allow for up to 7 minutes of burn time per each point. There's also no need to bring matches to light the Sweetfire as each match point has a strikeable tip that can conveniently be used with the striker on the box.

FEATURES

Made from sugarcane waste — Bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable biofuel.

20 individual ‘Points’ conveniently connected & ready to break-off and use.

Each Point burns for 7 minutes each.

Strikable tip, can be used with striker on box, eliminating need for matches.

Infused with vegetable wax, UCO Sweetfire is good for the planet & great for every adventure.

PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS

Package Dimensions: 5.5" x .75" x .4"

Packaged Weight: 4.9 oz. (82 g)

Pros :

split these in half to extend your uses.

Excellent run time

Small form factor.

Lightweight

Good price

Renewable resources

Are they windproof?

Can be ignited with a ferro rod.

They are no longer connected which makes it easier and quicker to use

Cons :

Not really waterproof – only the ignition source if waterproof.

Are they wind proof?

Doesn’t feature a strike anywhere tip

Requires a striker

Summery :


UCO took a good product and improved upon it and in my opinion there is no longer a need for the original sweet fire.  It’s a long running fire starter; it’s not perfect but it’s certainly a product which can assist you a great deal in less than perfect conditions.  There are many fire starters out there on the market with many being much worse than this.




Friday, June 8, 2018

How You Don't Want it to End! - 2018 Epic Road Trip Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke and his TWIN brother Trailblazer head out on their latest road trip adventure but they aren't alone!  Lucas joins the trip as we head northwest along the Canadian border.

Unfortunately this trip doesn't go according to plan.....


15+ States,
Lots of laughs,
Incredible locations,
5,500 miles,
6 days,
some good music,
and more!




Wednesday, June 6, 2018

4+ Year Follow up Review - Snugpak Ionosphere - Worth the Money?



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I've been using the Snugpak Ionosphere tent for over 4 years now and the question is; is it worth the money?  How has it held up?  This is a followup review; 4+ years in the making!



Price : $140 for green version $170 for the tan version on Amazon. Retail is $223

Weight : 3.3lbs / 1520 g.

Colors : Green and Tan

Amazon Link : https://www.amazon.com/Snugpak-Ionosphere-Dome-Tent-Nylon/dp/B06XKTCY9P

This is a product which hasn’t changed much since it was released a long time ago back in 2012 and the truth is, it really doesn’t need to change much because it was such a great product. From the quality, to the functionality to the price, this is one of those rare tents on the market which is well worth the price.

I originally did my review of this tent back in 2013 and have continued to use it over the years and I love it just as much now as I did then.  It’s one of those products that I pull out of my gear storage every few months to use; especially when I’m heading out on the trail with my buddies.  Speaking of which anytime that a friend asks to use a tent or to borrow one, this is one that I grab because it’s lightweight, it’s sturdy, storm worthy and is large enough to work with most people.

So you may be wondering what has changed with this tent since arriving on the market; not much!  Snugpak does off this tent in an additional color; Tan and it looks great!

What many don’t know about this tent is that it is often used in military circles; field shelters, training, jumping and so on. That allows says a lot about the quality of this product and it’s something that I can backup with my own use. This tent has seen more nights out than I can count and with my buddies, double that number.

Think of this tent as a bivy which is the size of a small tent; low profile but that’s large enough for anyone to use.  Also there is enough room for your gear as well.

Thanks to the bug netting, bugs and mosquitoes aren’t an issue.

If you are in a dry location you can use the tent alone as a bug net,

If the weather changes, you can put the rain fly on in about a minute.

There is plenty of room in the interior--so much so that I can actually fit both myself and my pack inside of it.  I’m a short dude, 5’5” or so but this works the same with my buddies who are 6ft, 200 lbs.

If you’re a short person, you can crawl headfirst into the unit and turn around. I can crawl in and turn around, if you are taller or less limber, back into it.

The entrance is very easy to get in and out of It, which can be very helpful if the bugs are out in force or its pouring rain.

The tent rolls up neatly and doesn’t take up much space in your pack.

For the average backpacker or beginner this is one of the best bangs for the buck out there. If you want a no frills, one man tent that you can man pack with ease, this is a great tent.

 DAC TH72M anodized aluminum poles with pre-curved sections, press fit connectors, and color coded for an easy setup.

Setup is simple.

Break down is too.

Quality is very good as this tent continues to live on without any issues. The materials and quality match the price in my opinion. This isn’t a high-end ultralight tent and it won’t perform like one.

Excellent waterproof during heavy downpours and even mild winds around 25mph

Big enough not to feel claustrophobic

Aluminum stakesare strong enough and have taken my abuses very well. They aren’t the best out there by any means but you do get a TON of them!  16 in total!

Works very well when set up in the bed of my truck. This isn’t a free standing tent so I use some ducttape to anchor.  A friend of mine liked this idea and often sets it up in the back of his Toyota Tacoma.

Not perfect;

Could use a mesh pocket on the roof of the tent to hold a light

This isn’t the easiest tent in the world to get into and out of.  If you are over 6ft, it can be comical to watch.

Not free standing

Floor material has held up well but I have continuously used an ultralight ground sheet with it.  This has held a lot.

Condensation is possible with this tent in certain situations.  For me it has never been extreme but noticeable depending on temp and humidity.

Cant sit up in it.



Because of the colors it can be amazing for stealth camping



My advice before buying this tent is to consider the size; will it work for you?  It is a bivy/tent; keep that in mind before you make a purchasing decision.



Most of the complaints that I have seen in regards to this tent come from people who didn’t pay attention to what it was that they were buying.




Monday, June 4, 2018

Hill People Gear People Recon Kit Bag vs Ribz Front Pack!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is VERSUS and today we have the Hill People Gear People Recon Kit Bag vs the Ribz Front Pack!



Hill People Recon Kit Bag Link : http://www.hillpeoplegear.com/Products/CategoryID/1/ProductID/5

Ribz Front Pack Link : http://www.ribzwear.com

Recon Price : $95 for all colors with the exception of the multi cam which is $10 more

Ribz Price : $6

Recon weight :0.81 lb
Ribz weight : 11oz

Sizes :
Recon – One fits all
Ribz – small – XL

If you want all of the details concerning these two rigs, check out my reviews;

Recon Review Link : https://youtu.be/3HPgY45Qz8A

Ribz Review Link : https://youtu.be/6IjadcVo9nQ

….

Both of these pack offer the user a similar ability to carrying gear on the chest with a few differences. The Recon pack is located directly upon the chest whereas the Ribz pack directs the gear to the sides.

The Ribz pack offers a much larger capacity so with this test I will essentially fill each of these packs up to capacity. Once loaded up it will be time to get to the hiking; 2 miles to see which is the most comfortable.

Before wrapping up this video; I am not certain how much life the Ribz company has at the moment. I had received an email some time back where a viewer said that the Ribz company had gone under. I contacted the company and they stated that wasn’t the case. Before filming this trip, I checked the web site myself and the site did seem to be having a few problems.  They also didn’t have any products in stock.




Friday, June 1, 2018

Elevated Bushcraft Stoves Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Elevated Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Pot Used in Video : https://youtu.be/KBCEhPCRZeg




Elevated Bushcraft Stoves Bushcraft Basics





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Elevated Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.



Pot Used in Video : https://youtu.be/KBCEhPCRZeg




Thursday, May 31, 2018

Mountain House Chili Mac vs Backpacker's Pantry Chili Macaroni



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have two products to put up against each other;

Mountain House Chili Mac vs Backpacker's Pantry Chili Macaroni!

The one question that I have is this;

What the heck is that?



Monday, May 28, 2018

Artist Showcase - Andreas Kalani - The Hagen Knife Review




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is beginning a new series where he takes a look at custom knives and in this episode his first review is for the Hagen knife from American craftsman Andreas Kalani.

Andreas Kalani Web Site : http://www.andreaskalani.com




Friday, May 25, 2018

Before You Head Out - Tent Check - Backpacking Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Before you head out on your next adventure, make sure to perfect a Tent Check to prevent a wide range of potential problems from developing/taking place on your adventure.

This is Backpacking Basics!


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

The US Army’s Next Ruck - MOLLE 4000 Rucksack First Look



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Want to see the latest US Army rucksack before anyone else?  This pack is still in the testing phase but I've been able to get my hands on what should be the final version.

This is the MOLLE 4000 Rucksack!




Monday, May 21, 2018

The World's Biggest Match! – UCO Behemoth Sweetfire Matches Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Largest Match in the World....but does bigger mean better?

Hint : This isn't a perfect product.

Today Luke is reviewing the UCO Behemoth Sweetfire Matches.

….

Price : $5 on the UCO web site.  $11.50 on Amazon

Link UCO : https://www.ucogear.com/firestarting/matches/behemoth-sweetfire-match-mt--behemoth--3p?returnurl=%2ffirestarting%2fmatches%2f

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-BEHEMOTH-STORMPROOF-SWEETFIRE-MATCHES/dp/B079ZJ14NK


FEATURES
Stormproof strikeable tip, can be used with included striker in bag, eliminating need for matches.
Made from sugarcane waste - bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable bio fuel.
Each Behemoth is 5.5" long.

SPECIFICATIONS

BurnTime: 15 mins/point
Weight: 0.8oz (23g) each
Dims: 5.5" x 0.75" x 0.4" (14 x 2 x 1 cm) each

Review :

My review for these are essentially the same as with the other stormproof sweetfire fire starters with the exception that this is much, much bigger.  With the longer burn time comes expanded capabilities in nastier, wetter weather.  This is not a fire starter for your average fire but those which involve a great deal of wet material.. Without a doubt there are situations which call for a fire starter like that but for most people it is less likely.

Good addition to any kit



Not waterproof.

Not windproof.



Great for perfect weather conditions.

Car camping

Hunting

Situations where you can do a better job at keeping them dry


Sunday, May 20, 2018

Friday, May 18, 2018

The perfect Cordage? - Atwood Micro Cord - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing what might be the perfect cordage!
Find out more now with the review of the Atwood Micro Cord.

Link : https://atwoodrope.com/collections/micro-cord




Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Worth the Cost? - Hilleberg Nammatj 2 - Real World Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

You all have seen the Hilleberg Nammatj 2 being used throughout the years here with The Outdoor Gear Review and today it is time for the review.

The Question : Is It Worth The Cost?

Link : http://us.hilleberg.com/EN/tent/black-label-tents/nammatj-2/




Monday, May 14, 2018

DON'T BUY - Military Tent Failure! - Dutch Special Forces 2 Man Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I know how much you all love military surplus so why wait until Wednesday right?  Today Luke has his hands on the Dutch Special Forces Tent and is going to see how well it handles a Thunderstorm!

...there will be problems!

...

Dutch Military Surplus Special Forces 2 Man Camo Tent

Link : https://www.sportsmansguide.com/product/index/dutch-military-surplus-special-forces-2-man-camo-tent-used?a=2145671

Cost : $90 tent can be purchased all over the net including ebay and the sportsman guide.

·       Dutch military issue, made in Netherlands
·       Heavyweight canvas in DPM (Disruptive Pattern Material)
·       Room for 2 adults, or 1 adult plus rucksack
·       Fast 1-person setup, in 5 min. or less
·       Heavyweight canvas, vinyl floor
·       Door openings on both sides
·       Multiple Tents zip together
·       102" x 42" x 46"h. 15 lbs.




Friday, May 11, 2018

What Happened? - Return to the Secret Gem - Day Hike Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

A lot can change in 4 years and that is especially true in the backcountry where nature is in control.  4 years ago Lucas and I explored this trail and rightly named it "The Secret Gem" and today, Susan and I return to enjoy it with you all.

The question is....what happened?
What will we find?
Find out now.

Link to Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Bushcraft Perfect and Ultralight - 180 Flame Wood Stove - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the 180 Flame Wood Stove.



Link : http://www.180tack.com/shop/180-flame

Price : $37.95

Weight : 6.2oz on my scale

Material: 304 Stainless Steel

Tough 5 mil plastic pouch can carry water in emergencies

Made in the U.S.A.

Size In Use: 5" L x 4" W x 3 1/4" H
Size Stowed: 5" L x 3 1/4" W x 0.6" H

The design of the 180 Flame incorporates 3 sides for wind screening and heat focusing with an open end allowing ample room for feeding natural fuels into the fire box. When needed, the sturdy sides support heavier cookware than other backpacking stoves. We engineered the 5 pieces of the 180 Flame to interlock together creating a very stable unit with no moving parts which often fail in the field. We've designed a sustainable & durable product that will last you for years. The 180 Flame disassembles quickly stacking into its own clean, compact case with any dirty surfaces on the inside keeping your pack clean.

•          Tip : Start fire and then move the stove to it.  I’ve seen people mentioned that it was hard to start in the stove…..don’t do it that way.

•          Tip : Since you are burning wood, there will be soot; you may want to bring a small towel with you for clean up purposes.

I haven’t seen anyone else mention this but in situations where your fire is dying out and your embers are losing their heat, you can lower the pot supports a few inches which can make warming your coffee or food possible without having to use additional resources and time to get a large flame going again.

…………

Pros :

Price – there are a number of small wood burning stove out on the market like this one and some can be very expensive.  In my opinion the price is right for this stove as it is versatile and easy to use.  It’s not a cheap Chinese stove; made in the use so that higher cost is somewhat justified.  Do know that there are cheaper wood stoves out on the market though.

Lightweight
Strong

I’m a fan of the smaller size as it allows those who like to go light and quick a stove which fits their adventure.

Very stable

Fun to use

Smart design.

Folds down small

Made in the USA!

Great for backpacking, hiking, emergency use and so on.

Good wind block; not perfect but good for an average breeze.
.........
Cons :

Slower than a canister stove and that is something to keep in mind.  What type of adventure are you going on; who much time to cook and to boil will you have.

Since this is a wood burning stove, you may not be able to use this in all parks and backcountry locations.  Make sure to check local regs or you might be sorry when you have to pay a large fine.

With my testing, I have noticed some warping of the steel with prolonged use; the good news is that you can easily form the metal back into place.  This doesn’t have any impact on the performance of the stove and it turns out is to be expected.  The company mentions this on their web site and states that this is completely normal.


Monday, May 7, 2018

How to Get a Good Night's Sleep While Camping : Backpacking Basics





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



For this episode, I will be going over what to do and what not to do to when it comes to getting a good night's sleep while backpacking/camping. This is Backpacking Basics!




Friday, May 4, 2018

Beach Camping Tips Which You Need To Know



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about Beach Camping Tips which you need to know as it will ensure that you have the perfect sandy adventure.

Want to Watch our Island Adventure? https://youtu.be/W1GyPLLYC4w

.....

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Before You Buy - Hilleberg Nammatj 2 - Pitching Instruction



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Hilleberg Nammatj 2 Tent.

Link : http://us.hilleberg.com/EN/tent/black-label-tents/nammatj-2/




Monday, April 30, 2018

How to Prevent and Remove Ticks!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The backpacking season is upon us and that means that ticks are waiting.  Don't worry though, as it's not as bad as it sounds as long as you know how to handle them.  In this episode, Susan and Luke will go over tick prevention, tick removal, tick checks, repellants and so on.




Friday, April 27, 2018

Moose and Drone - See Lone Wolf Mountain Like Never Before!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Let's hit the road with Luke and good old Moose (the army truck);
it's time to see Lone Wolf Mountain in a completely different way, from the Air!

This is Moose and Drone!




Wednesday, April 25, 2018

First Look - Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent - Preview



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Testing has begun with the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent and while you're waiting on the review, here's the preview where Luke goes over all of the functions and features of this very expensive, high quality tent.

Want to see this tent in action, watch this adventure; https://youtu.be/W1GyPLLYC4w




Monday, April 23, 2018

Bushcraft Ground Stoves - How To - Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set Review : https://youtu.be/8CqP6TTKFPc




Friday, April 20, 2018

Canoeing in the Ocean - The Island - Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This trip has it all;

ocean canoeing, deserted island, military aircraft, dolphins, and plenty of adventure!

This is TOGR's latest Overnight Adventure!


Wednesday, April 18, 2018

You Will Want to See This Tent! - French Army Desert Commando Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and you will want to see this tent!

In the past I have shown you all the French F1 Commando Tent but did you know that there is another version which the French military uses?

It's the French Desert Commando Tent and in this video I will be going over both models and speaking of the differences and my future plans for them.

….

Link to F1 tent video : https://youtu.be/Wi1XN1EMTf0




Monday, April 16, 2018

Inexpensive Option - IceTek Backpacking Stove - Speed Test #3 - Versus



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the IceTek Backpacking Stove.  Will it dethrone the Crux as the fastest backpacking stove?

Also, can you spot a defect with the IceTek?  Comment if you do!




Friday, April 13, 2018

What Do You Get for $106 - Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan and I are gearing up for an adventure and we needed some meals to fuel us along the way so we ordered the Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler.

What does $106 get you?

You're about to find out!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/DeluxeMealSampler.html




Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Odd Military Tent - Nemo Shield Tanto SE - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is one of the most interesting/odd tents which has had *SOME* level of use by US military forces;

Super lightweight.
More of a Bivvy.
A bit strange...

This is the Nemo Shield Tanto SE Tent Review.



Link : http://shield.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Tanto+SE+Tent+%28Black+Mesh%29

Price : $ 349.95 when these were being offered to government agencies.  These are very hard to find and sale for at least $530 on eBay.

Weight : 1lb 15oz

Essentially is an inflatable bivy

From what I understand, the design of this tent was taken from the Nemo GoGo and was converted for a military purpose.  How well adopted in the armed forces this was, I do not know.  I would venture to say that it wasn’t wide adopted.

Tanto SE utilizes our AirSupported Technology®, replacing traditional poles with inflatable ribs that reduce erect time and packed size and add strength and repairability. Combined with the Tanto™ Fly, this is a versatile shelter for milder weather conditions and rainy, tropical environments.

Traditional bivy bags are limp, claustrophobic and challenging to use when it’s raining or snowing. But Tanto™ SE tensions out like a tent, has a big enough interior volume to read a map or work on a laptop, a convertible vestibule for meal prep, and room inside for gear. AirSupported Technology® allows the Tanto™ SE to be inflated in under 15 seconds using the Integrated Pump and deflated in less than 5 seconds. The entire canopy of Tanto™ SE is mesh, keeping insects away and allowing excellent air circulation, even when the rain fly is attached. A front and a side entrance allow ingress and egress around whatever equipment you have inside. Used extensively by SOF, the Tanto™ SE is the go to shelter for fast and light operations in temperate and tropical environments.

Seasons: 3-Season

Capacity: 1-Person

Packed weight: 2 lb. 14.2 oz.

Pack size: 7x10"

Peak height: 27"

Floor dimensions: 114x41"

Floor area: 19 sq.ft.

Bathtub floor: Yes

Tent floor material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Number of doors: 1

Number of poles: Rather than support poles, the bivy utilizes a built-in AirBeam strut that you inflate with air using the included foot pump

Tent wall material: No-See-Um® mesh

Rain fly material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Stakes: Aluminum

Stuff sack: Yes

Recommended use: Backpacking,Mountaineering

Made in Viet Nam

AirSupported Technology tensions the bivy like a tent, placing No-See-Um® mesh above your body and keeping insects at a safe distance

Inflates in under 15 seconds using the integrated pump and deflates in less than 5 seconds

Rain fly provides additional storage within arms reach

Swallowtail patterning allows you to add a stick or collapsible pole to prop up the foot end of the inner tent with the rain fly

Stake out the back

Stick for the back

Click pump

Blow and pump

Review :

Pros

Lightweight (approx. 22 oz with accessories) – impressively small size

AirSupported rib provides space overhead

Generous length and shape provide ample headroom – plenty of room for your basic needs

Stakes and footbox help keep the walls off

Because of the limited ventilations, it is warmer than most 3 seasons tents.  During one trip I was able to record a 19 degree temp difference from the inside to the outside

 Packs small

Bigger than a traditional bivy

Very easy to setup – less than a minute!

Definitely waterproof

Cons :

Price if you can find it

 AirSupport pump is not integrated

 Poor Ventilation – poor airflow

Because of the poor ventilation, it’s not a great tent from locations where temps will be above 75f.  Any warmer and this tent becomes a sauna.

Lightweight fabrics require caution/footprint

Single wall condensation issues  - Your sleeping bag will get wet!

Fabric sags when wet

Lose the pump and this tent isn’t going to be inflated!

** Not enough Stakes are included for staking out the back

·       limited breathability