Monday, June 18, 2018

Speed Test - Versus - Primus Classic Trail Stove - #4



This Channel is made Possible by the Viewers as we are 100% Agenda Free. Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the Primus Classic Trail Stove.

Also, please forgive some of the camera's focusing issues; I was experimenting with a few things back when this was recorded in February!




Saturday, June 16, 2018

How to Overcome Your Fears When Backpacking - The Dark, Bears, Snakes, G...




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

For this episode, I will be going over the most common fears which people have in regards to the outdoors and how to overcome them!  This is backpacking basics and thanks for all of the support for this series and the suggestions for addition episodes.




Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Tactical Ready! Sabra Gear Solo Pack – Review




This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sabra Gear Solo pack; a strong and practical pack for your daily carry needs.  It looks like the Sting pack but it is in fact, different!



Link : https://sabra-gear.com/products/solo
Price : $209 without a waist belt, $253 with one
Weight : 3lbs

In the past we took a look at the sting pack which is 31L vs the solo which is 21

·   Full 500 D Cordura Construction, both outside and inside fabric.
·   Double layered bottom for reinforcement and extreme durability.
·   Full opening of the main compartment by a super tough #10 YKK zipper, for quick and easy access to all of your gear.
·   All the zippers are with durable and easy to grab zipper pulls, for easy operation when wearing gloves or under stress.
·   Two inner pockets with zippers for easy and secure organization.
·   Two open side pockets for bottles or long objects.
·   Hydration bladder sleeve and two hydration ports.
·   Effective compression system allows flat and tight compression when the pack is not fully loaded.
·   Long compression straps allows carrying bulky items on the outside of the pack.
·   Removable back panel built from a polymer sheet and a 6061 T-6 aluminum rod, provides excellent load transfer, stability, and freedom of movement. Can be bent to fit perfectly to the user's body.
·   Removable emergency pad.
·   Optional removable waist belt for maximum comfort when carrying heavy loads.
·   MOLLE webbing In key areas.
·   Two axe loops.
·   Made in Israel.



Volume:
21 Liter / 1280 Cubic inches

Materials:
Fabric: 500 D Cordura.
Zippers: Highly durable #10 and #8 YKK zippers.
Buckles: ITW Nexus and National Molding buckles and plastic parts.
Webbing: Mil-spec nylon straps and webbing.

Solo without waist belt: 1.4 kg / 3 Pounds

Waist belt: 280 Grams / 10 Ounce

Dimensions cm / inch:

Height - 50 / 19.5
Width - 26 / 10
Depth - 16 / 6




Tuesday, June 12, 2018

There are Issues - UCO Stormproof Sweetfire Review








This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the UCO STORMPROOF SWEETFIRE Strikeable Fire Starter.  It's good but not exactly what the company claims them to be.

This will be the LAST of the UCO firestarters that I will review.



Price : $10 on the UCO web site.  $16 on Amazon

Link UCO : https://www.ucogear.com/stormproof-sweetfire-strikable-matches-20-pack-mt--sm--sfp

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-STORMPROOF-SWEETFIRE-Strikeable-Starter/dp/B0796V1V6T

Weight : .2oz each

In the past I reviewed the Sweetfire fire starters and for the most part this is the same product with the exception that this features a much larger section of ignition source material.

Made from sugarcane waste — Bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable biofuel. 20 individual ‘Points’ conveniently connected & ready to break-off and use. Each Point burns for 7 minutes each. Strikable tip, can be used with striker on box, eliminating need for matches. Infused with vegetable wax, UCO Sweetfire is good for the planet & great for every adventure.

This new Stormproof Sweetfire is not only sweet for your gear collection, it's sweet for the planet. Made from a sugarcane by-product called bagasse, this key ingredient is already used around the world as a renewable biofuel. Each of these match points (there are 20 per box) is infused with vegetable wax to allow for up to 7 minutes of burn time per each point. There's also no need to bring matches to light the Sweetfire as each match point has a strikeable tip that can conveniently be used with the striker on the box.

FEATURES

Made from sugarcane waste — Bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable biofuel.

20 individual ‘Points’ conveniently connected & ready to break-off and use.

Each Point burns for 7 minutes each.

Strikable tip, can be used with striker on box, eliminating need for matches.

Infused with vegetable wax, UCO Sweetfire is good for the planet & great for every adventure.

PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS

Package Dimensions: 5.5" x .75" x .4"

Packaged Weight: 4.9 oz. (82 g)

Pros :

split these in half to extend your uses.

Excellent run time

Small form factor.

Lightweight

Good price

Renewable resources

Are they windproof?

Can be ignited with a ferro rod.

They are no longer connected which makes it easier and quicker to use

Cons :

Not really waterproof – only the ignition source if waterproof.

Are they wind proof?

Doesn’t feature a strike anywhere tip

Requires a striker

Summery :


UCO took a good product and improved upon it and in my opinion there is no longer a need for the original sweet fire.  It’s a long running fire starter; it’s not perfect but it’s certainly a product which can assist you a great deal in less than perfect conditions.  There are many fire starters out there on the market with many being much worse than this.




Friday, June 8, 2018

How You Don't Want it to End! - 2018 Epic Road Trip Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke and his TWIN brother Trailblazer head out on their latest road trip adventure but they aren't alone!  Lucas joins the trip as we head northwest along the Canadian border.

Unfortunately this trip doesn't go according to plan.....


15+ States,
Lots of laughs,
Incredible locations,
5,500 miles,
6 days,
some good music,
and more!




Wednesday, June 6, 2018

4+ Year Follow up Review - Snugpak Ionosphere - Worth the Money?



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I've been using the Snugpak Ionosphere tent for over 4 years now and the question is; is it worth the money?  How has it held up?  This is a followup review; 4+ years in the making!



Price : $140 for green version $170 for the tan version on Amazon. Retail is $223

Weight : 3.3lbs / 1520 g.

Colors : Green and Tan

Amazon Link : https://www.amazon.com/Snugpak-Ionosphere-Dome-Tent-Nylon/dp/B06XKTCY9P

This is a product which hasn’t changed much since it was released a long time ago back in 2012 and the truth is, it really doesn’t need to change much because it was such a great product. From the quality, to the functionality to the price, this is one of those rare tents on the market which is well worth the price.

I originally did my review of this tent back in 2013 and have continued to use it over the years and I love it just as much now as I did then.  It’s one of those products that I pull out of my gear storage every few months to use; especially when I’m heading out on the trail with my buddies.  Speaking of which anytime that a friend asks to use a tent or to borrow one, this is one that I grab because it’s lightweight, it’s sturdy, storm worthy and is large enough to work with most people.

So you may be wondering what has changed with this tent since arriving on the market; not much!  Snugpak does off this tent in an additional color; Tan and it looks great!

What many don’t know about this tent is that it is often used in military circles; field shelters, training, jumping and so on. That allows says a lot about the quality of this product and it’s something that I can backup with my own use. This tent has seen more nights out than I can count and with my buddies, double that number.

Think of this tent as a bivy which is the size of a small tent; low profile but that’s large enough for anyone to use.  Also there is enough room for your gear as well.

Thanks to the bug netting, bugs and mosquitoes aren’t an issue.

If you are in a dry location you can use the tent alone as a bug net,

If the weather changes, you can put the rain fly on in about a minute.

There is plenty of room in the interior--so much so that I can actually fit both myself and my pack inside of it.  I’m a short dude, 5’5” or so but this works the same with my buddies who are 6ft, 200 lbs.

If you’re a short person, you can crawl headfirst into the unit and turn around. I can crawl in and turn around, if you are taller or less limber, back into it.

The entrance is very easy to get in and out of It, which can be very helpful if the bugs are out in force or its pouring rain.

The tent rolls up neatly and doesn’t take up much space in your pack.

For the average backpacker or beginner this is one of the best bangs for the buck out there. If you want a no frills, one man tent that you can man pack with ease, this is a great tent.

 DAC TH72M anodized aluminum poles with pre-curved sections, press fit connectors, and color coded for an easy setup.

Setup is simple.

Break down is too.

Quality is very good as this tent continues to live on without any issues. The materials and quality match the price in my opinion. This isn’t a high-end ultralight tent and it won’t perform like one.

Excellent waterproof during heavy downpours and even mild winds around 25mph

Big enough not to feel claustrophobic

Aluminum stakesare strong enough and have taken my abuses very well. They aren’t the best out there by any means but you do get a TON of them!  16 in total!

Works very well when set up in the bed of my truck. This isn’t a free standing tent so I use some ducttape to anchor.  A friend of mine liked this idea and often sets it up in the back of his Toyota Tacoma.

Not perfect;

Could use a mesh pocket on the roof of the tent to hold a light

This isn’t the easiest tent in the world to get into and out of.  If you are over 6ft, it can be comical to watch.

Not free standing

Floor material has held up well but I have continuously used an ultralight ground sheet with it.  This has held a lot.

Condensation is possible with this tent in certain situations.  For me it has never been extreme but noticeable depending on temp and humidity.

Cant sit up in it.



Because of the colors it can be amazing for stealth camping



My advice before buying this tent is to consider the size; will it work for you?  It is a bivy/tent; keep that in mind before you make a purchasing decision.



Most of the complaints that I have seen in regards to this tent come from people who didn’t pay attention to what it was that they were buying.




Monday, June 4, 2018

Hill People Gear People Recon Kit Bag vs Ribz Front Pack!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is VERSUS and today we have the Hill People Gear People Recon Kit Bag vs the Ribz Front Pack!



Hill People Recon Kit Bag Link : http://www.hillpeoplegear.com/Products/CategoryID/1/ProductID/5

Ribz Front Pack Link : http://www.ribzwear.com

Recon Price : $95 for all colors with the exception of the multi cam which is $10 more

Ribz Price : $6

Recon weight :0.81 lb
Ribz weight : 11oz

Sizes :
Recon – One fits all
Ribz – small – XL

If you want all of the details concerning these two rigs, check out my reviews;

Recon Review Link : https://youtu.be/3HPgY45Qz8A

Ribz Review Link : https://youtu.be/6IjadcVo9nQ

….

Both of these pack offer the user a similar ability to carrying gear on the chest with a few differences. The Recon pack is located directly upon the chest whereas the Ribz pack directs the gear to the sides.

The Ribz pack offers a much larger capacity so with this test I will essentially fill each of these packs up to capacity. Once loaded up it will be time to get to the hiking; 2 miles to see which is the most comfortable.

Before wrapping up this video; I am not certain how much life the Ribz company has at the moment. I had received an email some time back where a viewer said that the Ribz company had gone under. I contacted the company and they stated that wasn’t the case. Before filming this trip, I checked the web site myself and the site did seem to be having a few problems.  They also didn’t have any products in stock.




Friday, June 1, 2018

Elevated Bushcraft Stoves Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Elevated Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Pot Used in Video : https://youtu.be/KBCEhPCRZeg




Elevated Bushcraft Stoves Bushcraft Basics





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Elevated Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.



Pot Used in Video : https://youtu.be/KBCEhPCRZeg




Thursday, May 31, 2018

Mountain House Chili Mac vs Backpacker's Pantry Chili Macaroni



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have two products to put up against each other;

Mountain House Chili Mac vs Backpacker's Pantry Chili Macaroni!

The one question that I have is this;

What the heck is that?



Monday, May 28, 2018

Artist Showcase - Andreas Kalani - The Hagen Knife Review




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is beginning a new series where he takes a look at custom knives and in this episode his first review is for the Hagen knife from American craftsman Andreas Kalani.

Andreas Kalani Web Site : http://www.andreaskalani.com




Friday, May 25, 2018

Before You Head Out - Tent Check - Backpacking Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Before you head out on your next adventure, make sure to perfect a Tent Check to prevent a wide range of potential problems from developing/taking place on your adventure.

This is Backpacking Basics!


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

The US Army’s Next Ruck - MOLLE 4000 Rucksack First Look



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Want to see the latest US Army rucksack before anyone else?  This pack is still in the testing phase but I've been able to get my hands on what should be the final version.

This is the MOLLE 4000 Rucksack!




Monday, May 21, 2018

The World's Biggest Match! – UCO Behemoth Sweetfire Matches Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Largest Match in the World....but does bigger mean better?

Hint : This isn't a perfect product.

Today Luke is reviewing the UCO Behemoth Sweetfire Matches.

….

Price : $5 on the UCO web site.  $11.50 on Amazon

Link UCO : https://www.ucogear.com/firestarting/matches/behemoth-sweetfire-match-mt--behemoth--3p?returnurl=%2ffirestarting%2fmatches%2f

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-BEHEMOTH-STORMPROOF-SWEETFIRE-MATCHES/dp/B079ZJ14NK


FEATURES
Stormproof strikeable tip, can be used with included striker in bag, eliminating need for matches.
Made from sugarcane waste - bagasse is a fibrous sugarcane by-product and is used around the world as a renewable bio fuel.
Each Behemoth is 5.5" long.

SPECIFICATIONS

BurnTime: 15 mins/point
Weight: 0.8oz (23g) each
Dims: 5.5" x 0.75" x 0.4" (14 x 2 x 1 cm) each

Review :

My review for these are essentially the same as with the other stormproof sweetfire fire starters with the exception that this is much, much bigger.  With the longer burn time comes expanded capabilities in nastier, wetter weather.  This is not a fire starter for your average fire but those which involve a great deal of wet material.. Without a doubt there are situations which call for a fire starter like that but for most people it is less likely.

Good addition to any kit



Not waterproof.

Not windproof.



Great for perfect weather conditions.

Car camping

Hunting

Situations where you can do a better job at keeping them dry


Sunday, May 20, 2018

Friday, May 18, 2018

The perfect Cordage? - Atwood Micro Cord - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing what might be the perfect cordage!
Find out more now with the review of the Atwood Micro Cord.

Link : https://atwoodrope.com/collections/micro-cord




Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Worth the Cost? - Hilleberg Nammatj 2 - Real World Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

You all have seen the Hilleberg Nammatj 2 being used throughout the years here with The Outdoor Gear Review and today it is time for the review.

The Question : Is It Worth The Cost?

Link : http://us.hilleberg.com/EN/tent/black-label-tents/nammatj-2/




Monday, May 14, 2018

DON'T BUY - Military Tent Failure! - Dutch Special Forces 2 Man Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

I know how much you all love military surplus so why wait until Wednesday right?  Today Luke has his hands on the Dutch Special Forces Tent and is going to see how well it handles a Thunderstorm!

...there will be problems!

...

Dutch Military Surplus Special Forces 2 Man Camo Tent

Link : https://www.sportsmansguide.com/product/index/dutch-military-surplus-special-forces-2-man-camo-tent-used?a=2145671

Cost : $90 tent can be purchased all over the net including ebay and the sportsman guide.

·       Dutch military issue, made in Netherlands
·       Heavyweight canvas in DPM (Disruptive Pattern Material)
·       Room for 2 adults, or 1 adult plus rucksack
·       Fast 1-person setup, in 5 min. or less
·       Heavyweight canvas, vinyl floor
·       Door openings on both sides
·       Multiple Tents zip together
·       102" x 42" x 46"h. 15 lbs.




Friday, May 11, 2018

What Happened? - Return to the Secret Gem - Day Hike Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

A lot can change in 4 years and that is especially true in the backcountry where nature is in control.  4 years ago Lucas and I explored this trail and rightly named it "The Secret Gem" and today, Susan and I return to enjoy it with you all.

The question is....what happened?
What will we find?
Find out now.

Link to Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Bushcraft Perfect and Ultralight - 180 Flame Wood Stove - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the 180 Flame Wood Stove.



Link : http://www.180tack.com/shop/180-flame

Price : $37.95

Weight : 6.2oz on my scale

Material: 304 Stainless Steel

Tough 5 mil plastic pouch can carry water in emergencies

Made in the U.S.A.

Size In Use: 5" L x 4" W x 3 1/4" H
Size Stowed: 5" L x 3 1/4" W x 0.6" H

The design of the 180 Flame incorporates 3 sides for wind screening and heat focusing with an open end allowing ample room for feeding natural fuels into the fire box. When needed, the sturdy sides support heavier cookware than other backpacking stoves. We engineered the 5 pieces of the 180 Flame to interlock together creating a very stable unit with no moving parts which often fail in the field. We've designed a sustainable & durable product that will last you for years. The 180 Flame disassembles quickly stacking into its own clean, compact case with any dirty surfaces on the inside keeping your pack clean.

•          Tip : Start fire and then move the stove to it.  I’ve seen people mentioned that it was hard to start in the stove…..don’t do it that way.

•          Tip : Since you are burning wood, there will be soot; you may want to bring a small towel with you for clean up purposes.

I haven’t seen anyone else mention this but in situations where your fire is dying out and your embers are losing their heat, you can lower the pot supports a few inches which can make warming your coffee or food possible without having to use additional resources and time to get a large flame going again.

…………

Pros :

Price – there are a number of small wood burning stove out on the market like this one and some can be very expensive.  In my opinion the price is right for this stove as it is versatile and easy to use.  It’s not a cheap Chinese stove; made in the use so that higher cost is somewhat justified.  Do know that there are cheaper wood stoves out on the market though.

Lightweight
Strong

I’m a fan of the smaller size as it allows those who like to go light and quick a stove which fits their adventure.

Very stable

Fun to use

Smart design.

Folds down small

Made in the USA!

Great for backpacking, hiking, emergency use and so on.

Good wind block; not perfect but good for an average breeze.
.........
Cons :

Slower than a canister stove and that is something to keep in mind.  What type of adventure are you going on; who much time to cook and to boil will you have.

Since this is a wood burning stove, you may not be able to use this in all parks and backcountry locations.  Make sure to check local regs or you might be sorry when you have to pay a large fine.

With my testing, I have noticed some warping of the steel with prolonged use; the good news is that you can easily form the metal back into place.  This doesn’t have any impact on the performance of the stove and it turns out is to be expected.  The company mentions this on their web site and states that this is completely normal.


Monday, May 7, 2018

How to Get a Good Night's Sleep While Camping : Backpacking Basics





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



For this episode, I will be going over what to do and what not to do to when it comes to getting a good night's sleep while backpacking/camping. This is Backpacking Basics!




Friday, May 4, 2018

Beach Camping Tips Which You Need To Know



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This episode is all about Beach Camping Tips which you need to know as it will ensure that you have the perfect sandy adventure.

Want to Watch our Island Adventure? https://youtu.be/W1GyPLLYC4w

.....

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Before You Buy - Hilleberg Nammatj 2 - Pitching Instruction



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Hilleberg Nammatj 2 Tent.

Link : http://us.hilleberg.com/EN/tent/black-label-tents/nammatj-2/




Monday, April 30, 2018

How to Prevent and Remove Ticks!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The backpacking season is upon us and that means that ticks are waiting.  Don't worry though, as it's not as bad as it sounds as long as you know how to handle them.  In this episode, Susan and Luke will go over tick prevention, tick removal, tick checks, repellants and so on.




Friday, April 27, 2018

Moose and Drone - See Lone Wolf Mountain Like Never Before!



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Let's hit the road with Luke and good old Moose (the army truck);
it's time to see Lone Wolf Mountain in a completely different way, from the Air!

This is Moose and Drone!




Wednesday, April 25, 2018

First Look - Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent - Preview



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Testing has begun with the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent and while you're waiting on the review, here's the preview where Luke goes over all of the functions and features of this very expensive, high quality tent.

Want to see this tent in action, watch this adventure; https://youtu.be/W1GyPLLYC4w




Monday, April 23, 2018

Bushcraft Ground Stoves - How To - Bushcraft Basics



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today it's time for some Bushcraft tutorials involving Ground Stoves.  I have receive a lot of requests for this video so here you go.

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set Review : https://youtu.be/8CqP6TTKFPc




Friday, April 20, 2018

Canoeing in the Ocean - The Island - Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This trip has it all;

ocean canoeing, deserted island, military aircraft, dolphins, and plenty of adventure!

This is TOGR's latest Overnight Adventure!


Wednesday, April 18, 2018

You Will Want to See This Tent! - French Army Desert Commando Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's Military Surplus Wednesday and you will want to see this tent!

In the past I have shown you all the French F1 Commando Tent but did you know that there is another version which the French military uses?

It's the French Desert Commando Tent and in this video I will be going over both models and speaking of the differences and my future plans for them.

….

Link to F1 tent video : https://youtu.be/Wi1XN1EMTf0




Monday, April 16, 2018

Inexpensive Option - IceTek Backpacking Stove - Speed Test #3 - Versus



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the IceTek Backpacking Stove.  Will it dethrone the Crux as the fastest backpacking stove?

Also, can you spot a defect with the IceTek?  Comment if you do!




Friday, April 13, 2018

What Do You Get for $106 - Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Susan and I are gearing up for an adventure and we needed some meals to fuel us along the way so we ordered the Packit Gourmet Deluxe Meal Sampler.

What does $106 get you?

You're about to find out!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/DeluxeMealSampler.html




Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Odd Military Tent - Nemo Shield Tanto SE - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

What you are about to see is one of the most interesting/odd tents which has had *SOME* level of use by US military forces;

Super lightweight.
More of a Bivvy.
A bit strange...

This is the Nemo Shield Tanto SE Tent Review.



Link : http://shield.nemoequipment.com/product/?p=Tanto+SE+Tent+%28Black+Mesh%29

Price : $ 349.95 when these were being offered to government agencies.  These are very hard to find and sale for at least $530 on eBay.

Weight : 1lb 15oz

Essentially is an inflatable bivy

From what I understand, the design of this tent was taken from the Nemo GoGo and was converted for a military purpose.  How well adopted in the armed forces this was, I do not know.  I would venture to say that it wasn’t wide adopted.

Tanto SE utilizes our AirSupported Technology®, replacing traditional poles with inflatable ribs that reduce erect time and packed size and add strength and repairability. Combined with the Tanto™ Fly, this is a versatile shelter for milder weather conditions and rainy, tropical environments.

Traditional bivy bags are limp, claustrophobic and challenging to use when it’s raining or snowing. But Tanto™ SE tensions out like a tent, has a big enough interior volume to read a map or work on a laptop, a convertible vestibule for meal prep, and room inside for gear. AirSupported Technology® allows the Tanto™ SE to be inflated in under 15 seconds using the Integrated Pump and deflated in less than 5 seconds. The entire canopy of Tanto™ SE is mesh, keeping insects away and allowing excellent air circulation, even when the rain fly is attached. A front and a side entrance allow ingress and egress around whatever equipment you have inside. Used extensively by SOF, the Tanto™ SE is the go to shelter for fast and light operations in temperate and tropical environments.

Seasons: 3-Season

Capacity: 1-Person

Packed weight: 2 lb. 14.2 oz.

Pack size: 7x10"

Peak height: 27"

Floor dimensions: 114x41"

Floor area: 19 sq.ft.

Bathtub floor: Yes

Tent floor material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Number of doors: 1

Number of poles: Rather than support poles, the bivy utilizes a built-in AirBeam strut that you inflate with air using the included foot pump

Tent wall material: No-See-Um® mesh

Rain fly material: 30 denier polyurethane-coated nylon

Stakes: Aluminum

Stuff sack: Yes

Recommended use: Backpacking,Mountaineering

Made in Viet Nam

AirSupported Technology tensions the bivy like a tent, placing No-See-Um® mesh above your body and keeping insects at a safe distance

Inflates in under 15 seconds using the integrated pump and deflates in less than 5 seconds

Rain fly provides additional storage within arms reach

Swallowtail patterning allows you to add a stick or collapsible pole to prop up the foot end of the inner tent with the rain fly

Stake out the back

Stick for the back

Click pump

Blow and pump

Review :

Pros

Lightweight (approx. 22 oz with accessories) – impressively small size

AirSupported rib provides space overhead

Generous length and shape provide ample headroom – plenty of room for your basic needs

Stakes and footbox help keep the walls off

Because of the limited ventilations, it is warmer than most 3 seasons tents.  During one trip I was able to record a 19 degree temp difference from the inside to the outside

 Packs small

Bigger than a traditional bivy

Very easy to setup – less than a minute!

Definitely waterproof

Cons :

Price if you can find it

 AirSupport pump is not integrated

 Poor Ventilation – poor airflow

Because of the poor ventilation, it’s not a great tent from locations where temps will be above 75f.  Any warmer and this tent becomes a sauna.

Lightweight fabrics require caution/footprint

Single wall condensation issues  - Your sleeping bag will get wet!

Fabric sags when wet

Lose the pump and this tent isn’t going to be inflated!

** Not enough Stakes are included for staking out the back

·       limited breathability

Monday, April 9, 2018

MOLLE and PALS Pouches - Propper U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

MOLLE...
PALS...
Need some additional space?

Today Luke is reviewing the Propper U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit which can be used with the UC pack or any MOLLE and PALS compatible backpack.



Link : https://www.propper.com/bags/pouches/propperr-u-c-2-pack-assault-kit.html

Price : $50
Weight : Small one – 5.2oz
Laege one – 9.0oz

Colors : Black, Coyote, Olive Green

The perfect companion to the Propper U.C. Pack, the U.C. 2 Pack Assault Kit provides two individual storage compartments which attach to any MOLLE bag. Each piece has additional MOLLE and hook and loop on the exterior for further customization. The large compartment contains organization for all of your essentials.

·       MOLLE compatible
·       Internal organization within large compartment including key clip, elastic pen channels, and a large zippered mesh pocket
·       MOLLE and hook and loop front allows for additional customization
·       4" H x 11" W x 2" D and 8" H x 11" W x 2" D
·       100% Nylon

Friday, April 6, 2018

What Will We Find? - The Rock Slide - Day Hike Adventure (GH5)



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Storms often close the roads in our area for months at a time; when that happens, it's a great time to explore!  With this Adventure, Luke and Susan are jumping the barricades in search of a rock slide and some storm damage!

What will we find?

Find out now.

Link to Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/




Wednesday, April 4, 2018

How to Setup the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent.




How to Setup the Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/



Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Fjallraven Abikso View 2 Tent.




Monday, April 2, 2018

Epiphany Outdoor Gear Bellows Fire Starting Kit



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Epiphany Outdoor Gear Bellows Fire Starting Kit.  Do you need the entire kit or just the Bellows?  Find out now!



Link to V3 Bellows Review : https://youtu.be/EnIYti2UOhE

Link : https://www.amazon.com/EPIPHANY-OUTDOOR-GEA-EOGV3LEO-Starting/dp/B00LDYLJDE

Price : $19 at the time of filming

Weight : 2.3oz for the kit including the tube

Included : 3 piece fire starting kit – ferro rod, bellows, fire fuses



This is a basic but highly functional fire kit which I can easily recommend.  I reviewed the V3 pocket bellows a long time back and finally I’m able to get around to the review of the kit.

Light weight, watertight, acceptable price, good performance.

Received a handful of these for review purposes where I have been using one, I have this one for review and I ended up giving away two others away.  One to a viewer and another to a friend of mine.

The Baddest Bees Fuses : The "Baddest Bees" tinder fuses work extremely well. Compact, waterproof, fast-starting, hot burning. But be sure to tease them apart into little fluffballs before trying to light them. In contrast, cotton balls impregnated with petroleum jelly (e.g. Vaseline) are also compact, waterproof, fast-starting , hot burning, and they last longer (all once you tease them apart into fluffballs), and can be made cheaply at home, but your hands get greasy when handling them. The Baddest Bees seem to be wax-impregnated, so there's no greasiness, and they're more compact than cotton balls (but don't burn as long). You choose.

These are great for getting the fire going; strike up, place tender and materials around it and go.

Would I purchase more of these; no as I can make my own fire starter..

Bellows : The bellows is very well made, sturdy, and works extremely well. (Works well for fires in fireplaces too, but a little short for that use.) Buy it, carry it, use it!  It's long length keeps your face out of the fire and the smoke out of your eyes. Bellows can be purchased on its own for $12 and it is WORTH IT!

Extended it is 19" long
Collapsed approx 3.75"
Max width at base is 3/8"

Fire Steel : The fire steel is a pretty standard product. This one has a nice, ergonomic plastic handle. It's a little short, but then this is a compact kit. You can easily get longer ones if desired.

The fire steel striker has serrations on the short end. I found it awkward to use the end, but it strikes easily along the long edge.

The striker is a bit flimsy in my opinion but you can put your own in there if you like.

Container : is awesome – 5.5 inches long. A little over an 1 wide.

Plenty long enough for the included items and anything else that you may want to add.  Steel wool, magnesium shavings, or even a small lighter.

The smaller container is also watertight and once you run out of fuses you can purchase more or you fill it with something else such as Magnesium shavings.

The star of the kit in my opinion is the V3 pocket bellows and the waterproof continer which is comes in.  In my opinion, it is well worth the money especially in regards to the Bellow.. The bellows are of very good construction and made of 300 series stainless steel.

This is perfect for backpackers and bushcrafter; just awesome

Great for getting a fire going.

Great when working with wet materials

Great for getting a fire going in the morning with only embers.




Friday, March 30, 2018

Best Assault Pack Ever? - Sabra Gear Sting Pack Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Best Three Day Assault Pack Ever? Now that's a statement!

What about for Bushcraft?

In this review, Luke is discussing the Pros and Cons of the Sabra Sting Pack and whether or not it meets the Criteria of a truly great Assault Pack.

This backpack has been tested in the rain, the snow, on and off trail and this isn't a Mailbox review.



Sting Pack Link : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/sting
Waist Belt : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/removable-waist-belt
Quick Pouch : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/quick-pouch
Combat Pouch : https://sabra-gear.com/collections/backpacks/products/combat-pouch

Prices :
Sting Pack : $219 w/o Belt / $265 with belt
Waist Belt : $45
Quick Pouch : $25
Combat Pouch : $40

Weights :
Sting Pack : 3.3 Pounds
Waist Belt : 9.2 Oz
Quick Pouch : 2.6 Oz
Combat Pouch : 7.1 Oz




Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Best Merino Wool Hiking Shirt Ever? - Woolly Clothing Crew Neck Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Monthly Giveaways. Donator only Content.  Behind the Scenes.   First Looks.  In the Credits!

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Merino wool is known for its impressive qualities which make it a fantastic choice for all season camping, backpacking and hiking and it's also known for its rather high price tag.

Today Luke is reviewing the Woolly Clothing Crew Neck t-shirt; is it going to be the best Merinon Wool Shirt Ever?  What about the cost?

Find out now.

Link : https://www.woolly.clothing/collections/mens-merino/products/190-ss-crew




Monday, March 26, 2018

WHAT IS THAT? - Random Lunch and Chat



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke at Lone Wolf Mountain as he takes a break from reviews and adventures to talk with the viewers.

Plus, he might just show you something special that he is working with.  Maybe TWO special items....




Friday, March 23, 2018

Backpacking in a Blizzard - Winter Storm Backpacking Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

A major winter storm is on the way and...

As the temperature drops...
The Snow begins to fall...
The winds pick up...
The Lone Wolf Heads Out!

This is Luke's latest Winter Overnight Adventure.


Wednesday, March 21, 2018

The Truth About Heated Jackets - Ororo Men's and Women’s Heated Jacket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The Truth About Heated Jackets!

Today Susan and Luke are reviewing Heated Jackets from Ororo and we will be going over what is great and not so great about this new tech.

...

Links :

Mens : https://www.ororowear.com/collections/men/products/men-heated-jacket-black
Women's : https://www.ororowear.com/collections/women/products/women-heated-jacket


Saturday, March 17, 2018

Bushcraft! - Expedition Research Kettle and Bushcraft Grill Set - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing two bushcraft products, both from Expedition Research; the Kettle and the Bushcraft Grills.

...

Expedition Research Bushcraft Grill Set – Review

Link Expedition : http://www.expedition-research.com/bushcraft-grill/

Link Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/2-Pack-Bushcraft-Stainless-Strength-Expedition/dp/B072QZHH25

Price : Retail $20 but at the time of filming these were running for $17

Weight :
Small : 128g / 4.5oz
Mini : 69g / 2.4oz
Carry Bag : 10g / .3oz

....

Expedition Research Expedition Kettle Review
Link : http://www.expedition-research.com/expedition-kettle/

Price : $20 Retail.   $18 on amazon at the time of filming

Weight : 6.2 oz
Hard Anodized Aluminum Construction

New Deep Dish 90-Degree Pour, Stay-On Lid. One Hand Pour Operation.

New Silicone Coated "Stand-Up" & "Lock-Down" Handle. Boil Water in the "Stand-Up" Position for Safety and "Lock-Down" for Storage.
New "Micro-Pour" Precision Spout.
Free Carry Bag Included.
BPA Free.
600ml capacity – 20oz


Thursday, March 15, 2018

Versus - Stove Speed Test #2 - Optimus Crux Lite



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke continues his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and I'm testing the Optimus Crux Lite stove.  In the first video of this series, we put the MSR Pocket Rocket 2 against BRS 3000T; now we will see how the Optimus Crux Lite compares.




Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Behind the Scenes - After the Camp - Secret Sunrise Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Recently you have watched as Susan and I ventured into the backcountry to enjoy a beautiful sunrise, now it's time to go behind the scenes with everything that you didn't see!

Link to Adventure : https://youtu.be/y1DQKszYQGo


Sunday, March 11, 2018

Cookies! The Best Ever! - Viewer Mail #41




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I are honored and thankful!
Oh man.......these are some good cookies!




Thursday, March 8, 2018

The Backcountry Secret Sunrise Overnight Adventure



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Thank you all of joining Susan and I for our next overnight adventure.  This involves an ambitious trip into the Backcountry of Western NC and a mission to experience a bitterly cold Sunrise!

After the Camp is coming up on Monday where we will go behind the scenes of what you see in this Adventure.


Wednesday, March 7, 2018

How to Setup the Outdoor Vitals Dominion 2.5 Person Backpacking Tent



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the  Outdoor Vitals Dominion 2.5 Person Backpacking Tent.
….

Link : Link :  Link : https://outdoorvitals.com/collections/tents-and-tarps/products/dominion-2-5p-backpacking-tent


Monday, March 5, 2018

'Tactical' and Reversible - Carinthia G Loft Reversible Jacket Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Olive Green and Sand!
G-Loft!

Today Luke is previewing the Carinthia Reversible Jacket and you will have the chance to buy it if you are interested.  Find out why now.

Purchase : http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/p/gear-deals.html

……

Link : https://www.carinthia.eu/bags/en/shop/G-Loft+Reversible+Jacket/?card=1225#_tab_content1
Cost : $200USD

G-Loft Reversible Jacket

Size:
S-XXL

Weight:
1.10lbs for the large700 g (Size L)

Out-In-Side Fabric
100% Polyamide (poly-ah-Myde

G-Loft ISO+ Filling
145g/m²

Colors
olive/sand

Comfort Temperature (EN 342):
5F /- 15°C

Extremely lightweight due to its thermal efficiency
soft and downy to the touch
retains full insulating power even when wet
does not absorb humidity
allows moisture to escape
machine washable

excellent ability to regain loft after several compressions
anti-allergenic, anti bacterial
ykk zippers
wind flap
chin guard
2 large outer pockets
elastic drawcord at hem
elastic cuffs
a compression bag is included if you purchase new; since I purchased used, it didn’t come with it.
Synthetic fill is good for wet and damp conditions which is light, warm and breathable

I am unable to review this product adequantly because it doesn’t fit me proper and I will explain how this came to be.  I was on ebay recently looking for something or another and I happen upon a listing for this jacket.  It was a small but for the price, I figure I would gamble on it.  Well I received the jacket and it is very nice but unfortunately it is too small for me.

So what follows are my impressions of the jacket with limited use.  More than anything, I wanted to make a video on this jacket so that I could get some awareness on this product out there.. This is something that you can have imported here to the USA but it will be very difficult to locate this for sale in the usa as it mainly found in Europe.  Speaking of which Carthina they have been making sleeping bags for civilians and for military applications for over 70 years.  They are based in Austria and are known for very high quality and also, a generally high price.  Military grade products in most if not all cases.

Thoughts on this jacket :

Very well made, very warm, compressible. Stitching is very good



Smart design.  No matter which way you wear it, you have two outside pockets and to inside pockets.  All of which are zippered.



I am familiar with G-Loft from other Carthina products and it is VERY warm and is very close to being as capable as Down.  Probably the closest matching when it comes to synthetic materials.



The material has a cold feeling to it but warms up quickly.



High collar which can block the wind from you neck.  It can also be cinched around the collar to block out snow.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Packit Gourmet Austintacious Tortilla Soup Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today for this episode of the Camper's Cafe, Luke and Susie have the Packit Gourmet's Austintacious Tortilla Soup!  While it's very good there is one alarming aspect, find out what that is now!



Link : https://www.packitgourmet.com/AustintaciousTortillaSoup.html



Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Stove Speed #1 - Pocket Rocket 2 VS BRS 3000T - VERSUS!





Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR



Today Luke begins his search for the fastest backpacking stove on the market!  This is VERSUS and to start off with this series, we have the MSR Pocket Rocket 2 vs BRS 3000T.



Which shall be the winner and move on to face the others?


Monday, February 26, 2018

What Do You Need? - Optimus Elektra FE Cook System Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Optimus Elektra FE Cook System!

....

Link : https://www.optimusstoves.com/us/us/16999-8019748-optimus-elektra-fe

Price : Retail is $100 but you will find this for a bit lower here and there.

Weight :

Entire Kit : 1lbs 1oz and that is without a can of fuel.
Pot with Top : 9.7 oz
Stove with storage bag : 2.9oz
Wind Screen : 3oz
Sponge : .4oz
Piezo ignitor : .7oz
Aluminum

The Elektra FE Cook System is a fuel-efficient, high-performance wonder – you get a 28% faster boil time at a 20% fuel savings. (Small print: faster compared to a normal pot with no lid or windscreen.). The lightweight system that fits snugly in your pack includes the Crux Lite stove, a heat exchange pot with lid and a new non-stick coating, clip-on windscreen, our practical BOB cleanup sponge and a handheld Piezo ignitor. I’ll take your “fast” and raise you one: In just over 2 minutes, you have boil and soup’s on!

Fuel Type
LPG gas canisters
Boil Time
2.3 min/1L
Burn Time
[max output] 90min
Heat Output
3000W
Piezo Ignition
yes
Includes crux lite stove, heat exchange pot, lid, grill pan, piezo igniter, windshield

…..

·       A lightweight, fast-cooking backpacking stove
-        Not the lightest or the Fastest .  You will see some describe this set as ultralight but that isn’t accurate.  In fact, as a kit it is heavy compared to titanium offerings…which are much lighter and more expensive.
·       Boils a liter of water in under 2.5 minutes – I found it to be around 3 minutes with my testing.
·       Windshield makes cook times faster
·       Piezo ignition lights stove without lighter or matches
·       Lid doubles as fry pan for added versatility

The lightweight Crux Lite stove features Heat Exchange Technology and 10,200 BTU of heat output for fast and effortless boiling.

Review :

I tend to go more minimal with a focus on light and fast backpacking but as a whole this is a great kit.  This is a great kit which is only missing a few items such as a spork and so on.

It’s a nice setup for the price

The medium size fuel canister, the stove burner head (in its own transport bag), and the Piezo lighter all fit inside the pot system with room to spare. Also included is a drawstring closure mesh bag that encases the whole system. This makes for easy transport and setup. The Optimus "system" fully meets my needs.

would highly recommend for all conditions except extreme cold and altitude since the fuel used does not work well in those conditions.

The nonstick surface is especially nice if you are cooking while out on your adventure. The "frypan" top makes great egg pucks for sandwich thins. It will do a nice sausage patty too, but you are gonna have to cut up the bacon slices.

Sunday, February 25, 2018

Friday, February 23, 2018

Four Season Excellence - Sierra Designs Convert 2 - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is time to review the Sierra Designs 4 Season Convert 2 tent.  I've put the time into this product so you don't have to and here are my thoughts!



Link :  https://sierradesigns.com/convert2/

Weight :
Minimum Trail Weight
4 lbs. 9 oz.
Packaged Weight
5 lbs. 2 oz.

Price : $499 retail.  This may sound high but for a 4 season tent, it isn’t.  There is a 3 person version available.

Setup : The setup for this tent isn’t all that quick and that’s pretty common for most true 4 season tents.  Tents which can handle the elements typically take more time to setup and to anchor it down.  This isn’t a con so much as a common trait to such tents.  There are some 4 season tents which are much quicker to setup but there are always going to be trade offs.  Always!

It’s an easy process but it is one that takes time

Experiences :

I have almost a week of cumulative time spent in this week which involved steady rain for over 10 hours without a single leak.  It has endured strong winds up to 40mph and snow.

Temp ranges have been from roughly 35f to 10f.

This tent has handled everything that I have put it into with ease and the most impressive aspect has been the handling of wind!  This tent is rock solid and I mean that, ROCK SOLID.  It has easily handled a winter storm with winds up to mph and never did I feel uneasy.

It handles the snow with ease.  Winds with ease.  Rain so far with my testing with ease.

I am concerned about the rear vent and whether or not wind driven rain could enter through the zipper.  Based on other Sierra Designs tents which I have tested, I would say that it would likely leak but that would be a very rare occurrence and would be a very specific failure which wouldn’t be likely.

Very durable so far with my testing.

Lots of living space – good for two people.  Palace for one.

Vestibule offers you a lot of space for cooking and gear.  For tall people it be hard to hunker in but it is completely useable.

Ventilation is excellent and even with camping out in 10+ hours of rain I didn’t have any issues with moisture build up.

Mesh door and vent which not all 4 season tents have

Very compressible

Great storage sack

Color : Love it or hate it, this is what you get with a sierra design product.  I often refer to their color schemes as tele tubby colors.  I don’t hate it but I do wish they would go with dark earth tones as that would open up their products to a new market of individuals.  I see the comments on their products in my video and the most common complaint are the colors.

Not the smallest of tents; will need some space to setup

Pros:
Mesh increases versatility
Strong waterproof DriZone material
Ventilation
Jake's corners and internal guylines(optional) increase tents strength in high winds
Adequately sized for two people and gear
Lightweight and compact in fastpack mode
Price
This tent comes in component parts. Because the vestibule zips off, you can better divide up the weight of the tent / poles between two carriers.
Once sealed up, will hold in some heat!

Cons:

Cheap tent stakes included
Non-Reflective Guy Lines

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Best Backpacking Pillow Ever? - Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Pillow



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Like Beautiful Pictures? Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing the Snugpak Basecamp OPS Air Pillow!



Link : http://www.proforceequipment.com/product-details.php?id=572&catid=24

Weight : 85g to 2.9oz

Price : Retail is $19 / strangely on Amazon at the time of filming, there was one company who is selling this pillow….for $73.44 plus $4.49

Colors : Olive Coyote and Navy Blue

The Snugpak Basecamp Air Pillow inflates just right, whether you like a hard pillow or one with some movement/flexibility., you decide how you want it. This one is tough, high quality and durable. When not in use it can be easily deflated and stored. Light and compact, it comes with its own stuff sack and repair kit.

SIZE 18 x 10 x 3in | 45 x 25 x 8cm
PACK SIZE 4 x 5in | 10 x 13cm
WEIGHT 3oz (85g)
FABRIC 30D Stretch Fabric/TPU Coating

Review :

Very nice product. Good quality

Lightweight

Nice storage stuff sack

Pillow materials are soft and comfortable; pleasant to have against your face and skin.  A lot of pillows on the market are not very comfortable and will require you to wrap them in different material

Good solid Valve. Not Cheap or flimsy like some.



Easy to inflate..

Easy to release the air and fold it.



Stuff sack is perfectly sized.



When inflated, it is incredibly soft; not hard or harsh when laying upon it.



This is not a super thick pillow; about 3 inches when inflated.

Pro Tip : If you need more thickness, release some of the air and then fold the pillow in half; perfect solution!



Oddity 1 : When inflating your pad, it is incredible loud!. It sounds like a jet engine!. Not a con, just worth mentioning.



Oddity 2 : Pad is supposed to come with a repair kit. Mine review model didn’t have one and I’m not sure if that is because it is a T&E model or it was a mistake.



To Sum It Up :

This has to be one of my favorite pillows; it’s perfect for backpacking and camping.

Great in a tent.

Great in a hammock.


Monday, February 19, 2018

Old but Awesome - Arc’teryx Covert Collar Zip Sweater – Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing the Arc’teryx Covert Collar Zip Sweater; a very thick and warm sweater which is still easy to find today and is often times very inexpensive.  This is one of those products which I receive a lot of questions about.



Link : Your best bet is to find one of these used on eBay as they have been discontinued some years back.  Note : There is a modern Covert jacket which features a full zip which costs $200

 Price :  When these were being offered these would sell for around the $160 range but since they can only be purchased used you will find them on eBay for around $60 - $80.  At times you will see an auction listing for as low as $8 like I did at the time of filming.

I purchased mine back in 2015 for $40 and let me tell you, this is one heck of a nice sweater.

Features ¼ collar zip and is one of the thickest fleece jackets that I have ever seen.  It is what I would refer to as a heavy weight fleece sweater.

Looks like Wool
Made from Polartec® Thermal Pro – 100% polyester
Keeps you warm, dry by wicking away moisture, very breathable.
Features a small stretch-woven laminate sleeve pocket with welt-closure zipper

Pros :

Misty drizzle deep in the back country, too cold for light base layer but too warm and pushing it too hard (timed ride pick up) for the windstopper or rain jacket. Got damp but stayed warm and still pleanty breathable enough to let heat out. Water seemed to collect mostly in cuffs and shirt bottom for easy ringing excess water. This was a full day of pushing too. Was very impressed and was one of those days you're glad you paid the extra cash!

It is made out of a fleece knit where the fabric resembles a traditional knit sweater more that a traditional fleece pull-over. It seems far more warm than any of my other fleece pull-overs.

I love the color of this sweater; it’s not bright or flamboyant; it almost has a tactical feel to it and I think that is why I get so many messages about it.  Over the years, I can’t even count how many times I have been asked about it.

Great as a layering piece

Flattering fit

For hiking, backpacking, sky, going to town, etc, this is an awesome sweater!

Cons :

The sizing for this seems small in my opinion and that may be because it is form fitting but this is a medium and it fits like a small.

Even used the price tag is high but for this level of thickness and warmth it is worth it.

They are short in the torso length so keep that in mind

Not wind resistant…but it’s as sweater….I say this because if I didn’t mention it I would hear about it later from that one viewer; “You didn’t say that it wouldn’t block the wind.”

Very small collar; it isn’t going to block much.


Sunday, February 18, 2018

That is Going In My Office! - Viewer Mail #40



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's mail time again and as always I are honored and thankful!
That is definitely going in my Office!




Thursday, February 15, 2018

Cheap Gear Challenge #1 - Overnight Adventure - There Will Be Problems




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the first episode of the Cheap Gear Challenge!
This is an overnight adventure which features a strong focus on budget gear...
there will be failures....

Enjoy!  More adventures on the way.


Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Is this Innovation? - Sierra Designs Flex Capacitor - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Sierra Designs Flex Capacitor;
a lightweight pack which is truly different from other products out on the market!

Let the honest review begin now!

….

Link : https://sierradesigns.com/flex-capacitor/

Features

Expandable 40-60L volume (volume varies between sizes)
Ultralight weight design
2 torso sizes (non-adjustable)
4 hip belt sizes
U-shaped top access zipper
Zippered stash pocket on lid
Removable reservoir sleeve
Shoulder strap water bottle pocket
Stretch mesh side water bottle pockets
Two hip belt pockets
Compression straps
Ice axe/trekking pole loop

Suspension Features

Lightweight "Y-FLEX" suspension
EVA foam hip belt and shoulder straps
Raised lumbar and scapula pads (EVA foam)
Load lifter straps
Hip belt stabilizer straps
Adjustable hip belt




Sunday, February 11, 2018

Awesome or Gimmick? - Dragon Heatwear Wyvern Womens Heated Jacket



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Susan is reviewing a Heated Jacket from Dragon Heatwear.

Will it be awesome or will she find this to be a gimmick.

Honest review is coming up now!

Link : https://dragonheatwear.com/collections/womens/products/wyvern-womens-heated-jacket

...




Thursday, February 8, 2018

Explorers - Day Hike Adventure with Photos and Stories



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Explorers....
Hitting the Trails....

Susan and I head into VA to do some exploring and found some great trails!  Enjoy the adventure as we go from trail to trail, tell stories and share some of the photos which Luke took.




Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Hot or Not - UCO Sweetfire Strikable Fire Starter - Review



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Fire from Sugar?
7 Minute Match?
Hot or Not?
Find out Now.

This is the review of the UCO Sweetfire Strikable Fire Starter.

….

UCO Link : https://www.ucogear.com/sweetfire-strikeable-fire-starter-mt--sfp

Amazon Link : https://www.amazon.com/UCO-SweetFire-Strikeable-Firestarter-Piece/dp/B01L2V5E6A

Price on Amazon : $7.30
Price on UCO : $5.99
Weight Per Package : 4.7oz
Weight per Match : .2 of an oz
5 tenders are 1oz

Tip : Light and then hold at a downward angel to light the others sides

The Sweetfire Strikeable Fire Starter is not only sweet for your gear collection, it's sweet for the planet. Made from a sugarcane by-product called bagasse, this key ingredient is already used around the world as a renewable biofuel. Each of these match points (there are 20 per box) is infused with vegetable wax to allow for up to 7 minutes of burn time per each point. There's also no need to bring matches to light the Sweetfire as each match point has a strikeable tip that can conveniently be used with the striker on the box.

It’s not a match but rather a strikeable fire starter and therefore bridges functions between a match and a compressed fiber fire starter

Pros :

  • Small form factor
  • In the right conditions they can burn for a long time.
  • Can carry many without much added weight
  • No strong odor like some similar products
  • Easy start for a fire or wood stove (good weather)
  • Long burn time – UCO claims 7 minutes and I have gotten up to 10 with my testing.  When pushing passed the 6 minute or so mark the flame isn’t very hot or effective.
  • Burns when wet and in rain/snow
  • Environmentally sustainable product
  • Can be lit with a ferro rod if you take the time to scrap some of the fuel into a pile.
  • Can be lit with a lighter


Cons :

  •  Strike point is not waterproof and will get gummy if damp enough.
  •  Match will absorb water if exposed and will fall apart…but can still be lighted with a lighter
  •   No windproof – will need shelter in the wind
  •  Not strike-anywhere
  • Cost/unit higher than alternatives


Uses :

For calm weather and for wood stoves, these are awesome. You could wake in the morning, grab one of these, throw it in your stove, put some wood on it and go brush your teeth, use the bathroom, then come back and your water is boiling.

These are great in good weather, not the best in rough conditions.

Recommendation :

Make the striking point storm proof as this would make the product much more usable

Great for perfect weather conditions.

Car camping

Hunting

Situations where you can do a better job at keeping them dry


Sunday, February 4, 2018

Not So Quick - How To Setup the Sierra Designs Convert 2



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Being able to see how easy a tent can be pitched is very important to the purchasing process.  With that in mind, here is how to setup the Sierra Designs 4 Season Convert 2 tent.

….

Link : Link :  https://sierradesigns.com/convert2/


Thursday, February 1, 2018

Warm, Lightweight, Less Expensive, Excellent Quality - UGQ Bandit Top Quilt



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview

Today Luke is reviewing the UGQ Bandit Top Quilt!

Light, Warm and Less Expensive than other companies!

….

Link : https://ugqoutdoor.com/top-quilts/bandit/

Weight : 1lbs 13oz on my scale

Price : As Shipped $297.95.  Can be customized for each user.

When it comes to price, this is afford for a custom made quilt. I have other quilts which are for less harsh temps that cost almost double the price of this one here. Very competitive!

All BANDIT Quilts include a 40d Silpoly Stuff Sack and our Pad Attachment System (Single Strap).

With a custom order like this, there is going to be a wait time which is common across all companies like this one.  At the time of filming, wait times were running 9 – 10 weeks!  Again this is very common with smaller companies who are offering custom products.

The loft on this quilt is amazing!

Awesome for backpacking, camping and hammock use

When compared to other companies; similarly speced quilts would run;

Zpacks : Around the $360 price range

Enlightened : $300

Katabatic Gear  : $460

Without a doubt I would recommend this company and their products as I am more than thrilled with what I have received here.  Absolutely awesome in terms of quality and construction.  Very fair pricing which puts most of their competitors to shame.  Very well thoughtout and very customizable in terms of your order.


Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Snugpak Basecamp OPS Elite XL Self-Inflating Mat with Built In Pillow



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Snugpak Basecamp OPS Elite XL Self-Inflating Mat which claims to have a built in pillow.

Will Luke approve?

Find out now!



Link : http://www.proforceequipment.com/product-details.php?id=568&catid=24
Weight : 1700g / 3.74lbs
Price : Retail is $99
Colors : OD Green and Blue

SIZE OPEN 77 x 24 x 2in | 195 x 62 x 5cm
PACK SIZE 7 x 25in | 18 x 63cm
WEIGHT TBD
FABRIC TOP 75D Polyester Pongee/TPU
FABRIC BOTTOM 100% Polyester Peach Brushed/TPU
FOAM 20kg/m3 PU - Jet stream Wave Form

Review :

This pad is huge! Long, wide and heavy.

Only for car camping or situations where you can deliver your gear.. Only a giant is going to carry this pad.

Great quality materials.

Very comfortable; good thickness, comfortable even for side sleepers.. Material isn’t annoying to your skin like some sleeping pads.

Inflates on it’s own.

Easy to release the air and roll it up.

Cons :
I’m not a fan of the built in pillow. I see where they are going with it but in my opinion it isn’t really a pillow.

The top of the pad has some additional thickness but it’s not enough to equal a pillow. For me, I would be using my backpack or some clothes for a pillow with this pad.




Sunday, January 28, 2018

AlpineAire Foods Three Cheese Chicken Pasta Camper's Cafe



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

It's time for Camper's Cafe where Susan and Luke try out backpacking foods from all around the world.  Today we have Three Cheese Chicken Pasta from AlpineAire Foods.  What do you think the odds are that this makes Luke Angry?

Find out now!

Link : https://www.alpineaire.com/us/us/411-60441-three-cheese-chicken-pasta

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Winter Storm Stealth Overnight Adventure -Guardians of the Forest




Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is a Winter Storm Stealth Overnight Adventure which features 3 Guardians of the Forest!  This happens to be one of my most memorable of trips...find out why now!

Enjoy everyone!

...

Gear List :

Sierra Designs Flex Capacitor Backpack

Mountain Laurel Designs Ground Sheet

Golite Shangri 3 Tent

Thermarest XTherm Sleeping Pad

German Military Shooting Pad

Swiss Military M71 Stove

Golite Adrenaline 0F Quilt

Mountain House Meal

Toaks Titanium Spoon

Mountain Laurel Designs Titanium Mug

Toaks Titanium Cup with Handle - 750ml

Kifaru Ultralight Pullout Bas for Organizing

Sunjack Light Stick

Woolly Merino Wool Long Sleeve

Scarpa Kailash GTX Boots

Mammut Jacket - Very old. Not sure of the model.

Fjallraven Barents Pro

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

US Military Cold Weather Pants and Parka – Gen III Level 7



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the US Military Cold Weather Pants and Parka; Gen III Level 7
Serious Warmth!

...

Link : eBay or Military Surplus Stores

Price : $39 - $65 – Don’t purchase on Amazon; those sellers overcharge…BIG TIME

Sizes : Small Regular to 2xl Tall

Extreme Cold Weather Parka Genuine US Military Gen III L7 Primaloft Med Reg Grey

Extreme Cold Weather Parka Jacket Medium Regular Coat  - Urban Grey! Slightly Used By U. S. Army In Excellent Condition! Official US Army Military Issue! PCU Level 7! With hood! Genuine Military Surplus! NSN # 8415-01-538-6289 8415015386289

Water resistant outer shell and PrimaLoft® Sport, thermal bonded, high-loft insulation

Highly durable and breathable
Maintains warmth even when wet
Thongs on zippers for ease of use when wearing gloves
Two-Way center-front zipper with protective wind flap
Nylon reinforced elbows
Two front zipper pockets
Ripstop Nylon inner lining
Bottom hem with elastic cord for adjustability
High collar with collapsible, stowable insulated hood
Velcro® fasteners for rand and name plates
Level 7 ECWCS - Extended/Extreme Cold Weather Clothing System
Increased warmth with significantly less weight than previous generation ECWCS

* Level-7 part of the extended cold weather clothing system (ECWCS)
* PRIMALOFT insulation technology for high performance comfort and superior warmth
* Water Resistant
* Superior Warmth
* Lightweight
* Thongs On Zippers
·       Heaviest, outermost ECWCS layer (Designated as 'Level VII' by the Army)
·       Currently issued by the US Military
·       Designed for use in temperatures as low as -40 degrees
·       Made in the USA

Based on layering systems currently utilized by mountaineering professionals and designed by the U.S. Army, the GEN III Extended Cold Weather Clothing System (ECWCS) has proven to be a game-changer for the modern warfighter. Using proprietary materials and technologically advanced construction methods, ECWCS garments allow the wearer to comfortably operate and sustain a variety of operations in the most extreme conditions.

These GEN III Extended Cold Weather Clothing System (ECWCS) Parkas feature a two-way center-front zipper opening with a protective wind flap, nylon reinforced elbows, two front zipper pockets, a rip stop nylon inner lining and an elastic cord in the bottom hem for adjustability. It is also constructed with a collar containing a collapsible insulated hood with drawstring that stows easily inside the collar. In addition, there are Velcro fasteners to attach rank badges and name plates as well as elastic cuffs with Velcro adjustment straps.

Technical Information
Scent Control: No
Insulation: Yes, Primaloft
Fabric: Proprietary materials
Windproof: Yes
National Stock Number : 8415-01-074-9420

…..

Super warm – Can be used as a sleeping bag in some conditions
Bulky – because of the size it is a bit unwieldly

This jacket is legit....Best I've worn in winter conditions...Wore the jacket and pant in 15 degree weather during a winter camping trip last season......I was extremely warm. When paired with a mid layer..(upper and lower)...incredibly warm...Definitely buy a size down...I'm a big dude...6 foot..210 lbs...So I thought I'd buy a large long....Epic mistake...Fits extremely big...Other than that....Jacket is phenomenal...

I would suggest sizing down because these are large.


Sunday, January 21, 2018

My Daily Carry - Kershaw Cryo II Pocket Knife Review - Blade Perfection



Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Kershaw Cryo II Pocket Knife which happens to be his knife of choice (daily carry) for many reasons.

Razor Sharp
Inexpensive
Easy to Sharpen



Link : https://www.amazon.com/Kershaw-1556TI-3-25-inch-Carbo-Nitride-4-Position/dp/B00AU6NWP4

Price : $30.96 –

Weight : 5.5oz -

I don’t remember how long ago it was, a number of years, a viewer sent me this knife and it has been in my pocket ever since.  It’s likely that there are a million videos on this knife out there as it has been on the market for some time but I thought that I would share with you all what I personally carry.

….

·       SpeedSafe® assisted opening
·       Frame lock, lockbar stabilizer
·       Flipper and thumbstud
·       4-position deep-carry pocketclip (tip-up/tip-down; left/right)
·       Steel: 8Cr13MoV, titanium carbo-nitride coating
·       Handle: 410 stainless steel, titanium carbo-nitride coating
·       Blade length: 3.25 in. (8.3 cm)
·       Closed length: 4.4 in. (11.1 cm)
·       Overall length: 7.75 in. (19.7 cm)
·       Weight: 5.5 oz. (155.9 g)

Lanyard hole

Quality : The Cryo 1 is a good knife but it has always felt a bit small to me.  The Cryo 2 is perfect in my opinion and it has enough weight to feel substantial. Not too heavy, not too light.  I personally wouldn’t want to go any heavier than this.   I like the gray titanium color.  The blackwash version of this knife is around $5 more expensive but it does look good.

Blade : Out of the box, very sharp.  Thanks to the steel, it is also easy to sharpen which I have had to do a number of times over the years. The back of the blade isn’t capable of throwing sparks.  The coating does not flake or peel off. I have used this on many apples without issues. The worst that I have heard happens with the coating is that it rubs off or fades over time. The sharpening angle is 18 – 22 degrees.  Kershaw offers free lifetime sharpening.

The blade has withstood all of the abuse which I have put it through;

Cutting, wood work, rope cutting, weedeater string, wire cutting, screwdriver work, wire cutter, and everything else.

The steel is good, not the best but it shouldn’t be for the price.

Budget Chinese steel

Hallow Grind on the blade.

Blade is perfectly centered

Never had an issue with locking or unlocking.

No play play – no wiggle

Wipes open due to a spring; excellent speed

Excellent balance

Opening : Exceptionally easy and satisfying!

Thumb stud hasn’t destroyed my pockets even after all of these years.  That’s a testimate to the knife and to my pants.  The thumbstud is next to the framelock for left handed users.  Doable but not as elegant as the other side.

Grip : Excellent, no issues with slipping.  Gimping on the blade is very usable. Handle: 410 stainless steel, titanium carbo-nitride coating

Gimping on top and bottom for control over the blade

Finger guard at the bottom;

The knife is thin.

Pocket Clip :  Excellent quality and there are four positions with a torque bit

Doesn’t rip your pants up

Doesn’t fallout EVER

Issues : As far as mine goes, I haven’t had any with years of use. I have seen a constant complaint of breaking pocket clips.

..

This is an incredible bargain and I would easily purchase this knife again if I had to.  I like this knife so much that if I had to pick one pocket knife, it would be this one.  It’s sharp, strong, looks good, and it is fast!  Concealable, good weight.  All of these factors make for the best EDC knife that I have ever used.  Very thin!

This is my edc blade.  This is my backpacking knife.  This is my secondary bushcraft knife.